We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zafiro Palmanova
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cabau Aquasol(Palmanova)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Don Bigote(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Zafiro Palace Palmanova(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OLA Hotel Panama(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
FERGUS Bermudas(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Globales Mimosa(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Senses Palmanova(Palmanova)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
462
256
65
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
256
65
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal terracebouncy castleviva hotelkids poolself cateringjose mariakids clubt shirt paintingpirate ship and slidesfootball pitchpool areayoung childrennext yearevening buffetevery nightfamily holidayroof terrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We've just returned from an 8 days stay at the Viva Palmanova. We went bed & breakfast as this suited us. The hotel is beautiful though the rooms and other areas could do with a refresh of paint. The hotel is situated just 200 yards from the main street in Palma Nova and about 300 yards from the beach, which is fabulous. We've been to Palma Nova before but wanted better accommodation than we'd previously stayed in. The Viva Palmanova doesn't disappoint. The food is excellent. The staff good except for a couple of the bar men, more on this later.
The hotel was 95% full of Scandinavian families, with very young children, aged up to about 5 or 6 and most families had on average 3 kids. Now we love kids but when they're all screaming in tantrums for no apparent reason it get a bit overwhelming. There is loads for kids to do, including the pirate ship. The entertainment staff get the all the kids dressed up pirates with faces painted as well and take them off to the ship.
There are 5 pools, 3 for kiddies and very safe with a lifeguard on duty till about 6pm. The adult pools are about 1.78 mtrs deep, ok if you are a confident swimmer but maybe too deep for those who are not great swimmers. There is a separate pool for adults over 18 only which is about 1.58 mtrs deep, perfect for everybody and the pool is surrounded by the balinese sunbeds with cotton drapes around each one. Fabulous, and you can still hear the kids having a great time just outside the pool.
The entertainment was good for the kids but adult entertainment was pretty poor and finished at 10pm. Safe to say you didn't get wakened up each night with noise which was appreciated. Of course there is plenty to do outside the hotel. You are only a 10 minute walk from Magaluf where you can see the sights, and as parents we wouldn't want to know what our sons got up to if going there. Never mind they are there to have a great time and by the looks of some of them that's what they were having, even at 2pm in the afternoon. The booze cruise was regular and witnessing the state of some of the young kids when they came off the boat was worrying.
Anyway back to the hotel. We had a wee problem with a couple of the waiters being ignorant and arrogant on our 1st night. Never paid much attention and we were prepared to let it lie until it happened again on the second night. We'd read so many reports of how everyone was singing the praises of the bar staff but we were shocked at their attitude. Another complaint at reception where we asked for the duty manager, who wasn't on duty! After more discussion a duty manager appeared, Jose, who apparently was the restaurant manager and after discussing our issues he offered us a couple of drinks at the bar, which we politely refused. Telling him the service was totally unacceptable he then offered to make us all inclusive for the rest of our holiday. We accepted his offer but we didn't go looking for this, we only wanted to be treated with a bit of respect considering we were guests of the hotel. The remainder of the holiday was fine, though we think we were getting special treatment because we'd complained. To be honest it was getting a bit sickening, the barmen and manager would come over and say is everything ok all the time.
All in all, a lovely hotel, more suitable for families with young children. In our opinion this is not suitable for 18-30 year olds. Drinks at the bar, if not all inclusive, a bit expensive. A wine plus a pint cost 9.15 euros, the same drink can be had at any of the bars on the main street in Palma Nova for about 4 euros. Just down the street from the Viva Palmanova was Papi's bar, good food and reasonable prices for a beer.
A special mention needs to go to some of the staff, particularly Tete who worked in the restaurant and bar service. Pleasant service at all times and the reception staff who were really customer focussed. Another mention needs to go to one of the managers/directors who didn't believe the complaints we'd raised (not wearing a name badge). He actually tried to infer that the manager we'd spoken on the previous night wasn't on duty!! 'He doesn't work Sundays' was his comment. Soon proved him wrong.

Room Tip: If you've any grievance speak to the management and don't let them fob you off with a pittance drink. Remember you've paid probably more for this hotel compared to other hotels roundabout
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

So the 4 of us spent a week during half term into early June 2014 and a pleasant stay. The premises are not lets say shiny and brand new, yet they are absolutely fit for an enjoyable visit. The food is lovely and brilliant as with the allinc option which we purchased. The staff were always excellent in the restaurant and bar. The premises has fantastic opportunities for the kids to have a stay to remember. From the Pirate Pool play area, the actual playground with bouncy castle etc, the daily kids club and the evening Mini Disco! They have a character called BUFO who all the kids really buy into. (look up online vids). Other families we met were all friendly and the place has a healthy mix of different nationalities visiting. The beach and shops are very close to stroll to and generally close to magaluff but far enough to not get rowdy. private transfers are cost effective and very good. We had a Merc 9 seater with driver for the price of a taxi. Free laundry service on site which we didn't need but is handy and the gym is very good and hardly used. Worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sundeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited this hotel over half term with 5 and 7 yr olds.To start just like to say for the 5th year that we have visited Palm Nova in May the weather was bad think next year take the Kids out of school and come early June.

We had a pool view apartment which was fine as all we did was sleep in it only problem was that we had room 2117 which was right next to reception so we were woken most mornings by people either booking in or leaving with the wheels of there suitcases on the tiled floor.

We booked self catering and we ate at pirates on Magalluf beach couple of times and was lovely but the kids wanted to get back to the hotel to meet up with friends every night we ended up Upgrading to all Inclusive last 3 days as drinks not that cheap in hotel and not much time to eat we personally would still come self catering when we return but the staff like Tiote and Jose in the restaurant were very good.

The pools were cold but we noticed more because we had a lot of cloud but in high summer would be perfect to cool off,our children loved the pirate pools and the play park was perfect for them.The Entertainement staff were very very good with the children but it is not the clubs where you book them in and see them in a couple of hours they seemed to come and go all the time and it seemed mainly for under 5s.

The evening Entertainement was fine started with Bufo for an hour and then would be a show which we enjoyed,would of been better perhaps with a disco for the kids so they could of had a dance and finished at 10 when people drifted off to bed.

To close would say the hotel lovely and clean the staff excellent could do with rooms being bit updated but if it meant being even more expensive to stay at than it is would put some people off and would say only 50 percent of visitors were British which was fine and everyone got on fine.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2117
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigianCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from 7 days at the Viva PalmaNova. (6 Jun to 13 Jun). This hotel chain was recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. Our 4 year old girl and 10 month boy thoroughly enjoyed their stay here (as did my wife and I).

The hotel is 5 mins from the beach - either via steps just across from the entrance or down the hill (we preferred turning right out the entrance as we had a pram). The hotel supermarket is just at the door. We didn't see too much of Palma Nova as we preferred to stay in the hotel and use the all inclusive package.

We had a Royal Terrace room which was lovely, the roof space is great with day bed, couch, table & chairs and jacuzzi. However we didn't use it much as preferred to be by the pool. The room is good, not massive but functional. We were charged €4 per day for a cot. Free WiFi good across the hotel.

The hotel really caters for children, however good news if you don't have kids - the lovely adults pool with day beds all around it is hardly used. I think I saw 2 people max in there the whole time we were there.

The other pools are nice and the kids pool is great with 9 slides and who can forget the big bucket!!! Our 4 year old spent most of her time here and our 10 month also loved it. The baby pool (with a large umbrella to shade it) was also nice. Loungers by the kids pool can be hard to come by after 10am however there is a fair amount of coming and going so you can be lucky.

The kids play park is also great with pirate ship, bouncy castle etc. Plus there is a football pitch.

We were all inclusive and loved it. A freezer full of free ice lollies at the bar was great (however also another freezer available to pay for if you want to). Breakfast and dinner were buffet with plenty of choice, lunch could be buffet or from the menu, both great. No complaints about the food or drinks available.

What made the holiday was the kids entertainment. The team really work hard and make a lot of effort. The kids disco at night was great to get them dancing. Our girl took a shine to the girls - Hanna, Emmi and Laura who were all lovely. The day activities were also good, our girl attended a good few and enjoyed them. I also went along for adult football a few times.

The evening shows were good, although we sadly couldn't always see them as the kids were getting tired.

Loved the mix of nationalities at the hotel, we spoke with people from Sweden, Norway, Ireland and Germany.

Overall, would recommend this hotel to families and we are already looking at going back next year!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms will be better (with building 2 facing the stage for evening entertainment). We were in building 4 which was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScotsCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for a week, one adult & two teenagers (13 & 14) and had a fantastic time!
This hotel clearly caters for younger children, & do so extremely well, however, the teenagers were never bored, we all had a super time. The wifi worked everywhere which was a bonus, the pools were great & I thoroughly enjoyed the adult only pool, very relaxing.
I would highly recommend this hotel for all age groups. We were AI & couldn't fault the food, service & all the staff.
Thank you VIVA for the lovely holiday :o)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HEPKEEGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews