We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday, can't wait to return!”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent our first all inclusive holiday here as a family, my partner & our 3 year old daughter. We had our reservations about whether the hotel would live up to our expectations so only booked a week. We wished we had booked another week. Our room was lovely, modern, clean & good size.
We found the all inclusive food excellent! Lots of variety, plenty of it, good quality & the fact we were also able, as added choice, to order from a set menu rather just the buffet was really good.
The pools & entertainments were great. We would have liked to take advantage of the kids club a bit more but at 3 yrs old our daughter was a little too young, but she did LOVE the kids disco & the entertainment each evening.
Having an adult only pool was wonderful too! A little bit of extra luxury which we took it in turns to use made our holiday even more relaxing.
We barely left the complex on our week there but just a few minutes stroll to the town & beautiful sandy beach was perfect.
We found our week in June was just right in terms of the hotel not being too crowded, not too many kids, staff weren't run ragged so we pretty much always received friendly service. One negative for me was that I, as a female, received service from a couple of the guys in the outside bar which made me feel a bit uneasy, just they were little on the sleazy side & I felt quite uncomfortable on couple of occasions, but saying that it certainly didn't put us off going again as overall this holiday was perfect! We actually came home feeling completely rested & relaxed, even with a 3 yr old in tow! We will definitely be going back.

Stayed: June 2014
9  Thank Katharine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose to stay in this hotel as it was a bit more up market than hotels around. Our first impressions were great, lovely grass in our garden with our own hammock and two loungers. Room was lovely with a big comfy double bed, we even had dressing gowns incase we got nippy in 40 degrees heat! Clientele wasn't on our wave length, all dressed up in frock and dressed pants and sitting on sofa like seats to have a drink in the evening. We chose to all invade the apartments next door - cas saboners throughout the day and take advantage of the happy hour in the evening. If you want a lovely friendly holiday with brilliant entertainment staff go to the cas saboners for less money but a better holiday all around!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We are not typical 'all inclusive' holidays types and worried that we'd feel a bit like trapped monkeys but not at all!
We really enjoyed our holiday, the food was of a high standard (2 restaurants buffet and al a carte), entertainment for the kids was excellent (something on pretty much every hour, t.shirt printing, games, treasure hunts) and the rooms much better than I had anticipated, they were clean and what you'd expect for a 4 star.
The beach was a 2 minute walk away(out of the complex). Bars and restaurants locally were cafés and typical Brits abroad type places (palma nova is like the Spanish equivalent of Blackpool!) but as we mainly stayed in the hotel as we were all inc this was fine. The beach was lovely late in the evening whilst it was still quiet, a few ok restaurants and my kids loved playing on the promenade but I wouldn't venture any further as gets very close to Magaluf. Entertainment was take it or leave it, not pushy with it at all and an adults only pool to escape all the kids. The only negative point was I was expecting a better kids club but it wasn't really secure, you'd drop the kids off and they didn't even ask when you'd be back, for a contact no etc, so if you had young ones this would be a problem. They were excellent with the kids and really looked after them but i just felt uneasy not telling them where i'd be or leaving a number. I sat close enough by that I'd get 30 mins peace but couldn't leave them for any real period of time.
All in all a really excellent hotel. Would happily return but probably to a different part of the island (viva have hotels all over Mallorca) as would like some nice traditional Spanish places close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

They should really stop advertising the wifi, since it is impossible to even do simple tasks such as checking email or checking news. It is only working okay early in the morning when everybody sleeps, which is unacceptable today. Which is why i need to give this hotel one star only, since many people require basic internet access on a hotel, no matter what the cost is.

The rest of the hotel is okay standard, but the in-house Viva entertainment is also something I would not miss, it is horrible to listen to.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mr. H, Jonas,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay in Viva Palmanova.
We are very sorry to hear that the lack of a good working wifi has been such a big disappointment for you.

Of course we realize that for many guests a good wifi is an important asset and that is why we were one of the first hotel chains to offer free wifi throughout the hotel
Our wifi has been working very good last year and also most of this year, until a few weeks ago.
Due to an important increase on internet traffic our system has appeared not to be sufficient, and we have ordered an important increase on our bandwidth to our internet provider
We expect to have a complete and fast access again before the end of this week, and that is why we will still advertise the wifi in the future

We can see that on a daily basis, still thousands of people are connected to our system and are downloading 1 TB of dates every day.
So the system is still working, but just not sufficient for the demand we have.

We hope you understand that the problem with our wifi not working as good as it should have, was just temporary and not something easy to fix ourselves, since it depended on our internet provider.
I do understand that for you this improvement comes too late, but I hope that you will give Viva Hotels another chance in the future, to see for yourself that what I am telling you is true and our internet is working again as good as always.

Kind regards,
Marco Heitinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel for one weeks stay on the 22nd July 2014. I had emailed the Hotel previous to arriving to request a ground floor room as I have a sleepwalking issue and a fear of heights. On arrival I was advised that ground floor rooms were all privelage rooms and if we wanted one then we had to pay extra. We felt that we had paid enough so didn't agree and took a first floor apartment instead. There was no help with luggage despite the management and other staff around watching us struggle with 4 cases, a pram a child and toddler. The apartment was reasonable but not 4 star by any means. The furniture needs an upgrade but still it was clean and comfortable for us. So, the pool areas are excellent for adults and kids. The pirate ship is a massive bonus. The negatives - the waiter service in the day and evening is shocking for drinks and food. It is not the waiters fault as they do their best but their is not enough of them especially at night. We were waiting on several occasions for 45 mins each time for drinks. Even then we often got the wrong drinks or they forgot to put the orders in. This wouldn't be a prob if another bar was open to collect from. It was waiter service only. Every resident was fuming about this. The evening shows consisted of a mini disco followed by a little kids show and then another show. The kids entertainers do try their best but sadly it is little uninspiring. The after shows were pretty poor and lacked atmosphere. I feel for the entertainers as it was soul destroying to watch. Viva needs to go back to old times and bring in outside entertainers. They did indeed bring in an outside act twice. One a magician who was damn right rubbish and another was Chinese acrobats who should be re-named Chinese jugglers. Their own flying team who perform tribute acts just lacked a certain something and the shows were quite cheesy. The kids seemed to enjoy them
But I think they would enjoy watching paint dry by 9.00pm. The shows were over by 10.00pm and most people went off to bed and looked glad to be off. The bar was open till 12.00 but no point hanging around to sit waiting on drinks. Finally, the bathrooms are like death traps in this hotel. The shower screens can't open out fully as they are blocked by a wall leaving access to the bath or shower somewhat tricky. My daughter got into the bath one evening and slipped causing an eye injury. The baths are very slippy due to no bottom grips. The hand rail is out of reach to some due to the ridiculous way the screen opens. The manager was kind enough to look in on us as we had to ask for medical assistance but alas there was no reasoning as to why there was no bath slip mats or dried on grips in the baths. This needs to be addressed as our girls accident could have been far worse. This is a second visit to a viva hotel and in the past we found the food to be of better quality but not this time around. You get the impression that the group is trying to cut back financially and it shows unfortunately. Sorry Viva it will be the last visit from us and other guests did indeed feel the same. On a last note, as a Brit you are in a minority here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thepiedpipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a great family hotel and it was our fifth visit here! We are a family of four with two girls aged 6 and 9. The mini club has always been a huge hit from the t shirt making to the mini disco at night.The pirate ship is great fun for the children as is the childrens play area! The best room we have stayed in is the Royal Terrace! This is a great space to relax as it is has a sun bed, jacuzzi, table and chairs and a comfy seating area! We have the breakfast buffet which is great especially if you have fussy eaters as there is plenty of choice even low fat options! The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the gardens are maintained beautifully. The staff are always courteous and friendly. The only downside for us this time was that we seemed to turn invisible at night time as it would take ages for a waiter to notice us so that we could order a drink! Highly recommend this hotel to any family looking for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMurphys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we like the viva brand after our last visit to cian picafort. The whole stay was nice. When you arrive the desk were polite and saw we had a room request. Arriving early the room was ready at 13.00 and very nice and clean. We were a family of two adults and two kids but I would think the sofa bed would not sleep two as the sofa part is were one would have to sleep and was rock hard. Good pools and kids play areas which again are kept very well. Only issue was the towels on the sun beds. Every where there are signs not to reserve before 9am but they are ignored some of the towels are removed by the life guards but instead of taking them to his station they fold them up next to the beds so I saw a few disagreements were people had thought the person sat on them had removed them. The towels are received from reception which is good which means you don't have to use your own and can be replaced every two days in the week. The food was nice but plain pizza at the evening buffet would be nice as they are lovely. Bar staff are pleasant and the restaurant staff are very friendly. The only problem I would say is the entertainment at night. The viva entertainment team are the same people that look after the kids clubs during the day. They do a fantastic job with the clubs working hard with the kids but they can not act. On the Saturday they acted a new pirate show. It was a crash all week after the cheesy mini disco which the kids love they have people come in to sing/act which is ok but Saturday must be more expensive so they make the staff do the show. I hope they review this. I feel sorry for the viva team having to do a uncomfortable task. I would ask for a odd number room as they face the pool. Avoid block four even numbers as the look out onto a empty bit of land which looks like a dumping ground. Overall the hotel and stay was very nice and would recommend this highly

Room Tip: avoid block four even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank madennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
1,153 reviews
39.2 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £79 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing