We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly top marks, but....”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nearly top marks, but....”
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed from 17th-24th February 2009. Booked direct with Viva hotels, so welcome pack on arrival, Fruit, wine, welcome drink for all of us at the bar. Check in quick, prepaid £280.00 for the pool view apartment for the week, good value. Apartment was good, practical and clean, shower was excellent for a hotel.

Maid service 5 times ,left a couple of euros a day for her, did a lovely job. Facilities were good in the hotel, indoor pool ok,but small, outdoor pools fantastic ( bit chilly- paddling only -but it was Feb!). Kids pool was good fun for them, in summer I imagine it would be fabulous. There is a wonderful looking adults pool area, but with kids in tow, just caught a peek but luxurious beds, jacuzzi and pool etc.

Location good, 3 mins to beach( crystal clear seas) , 2 mins to shops, bars etc. Recommend Mercadona in Son Caliu for shopping. Thoroughly recommend Floridas restaurant & Prince Williams Pub( good value & Family friendly )which is out of the hotel, turn right, down to bottom of the the road, turn left for Floridas, straight on for prince William.Carlos at floridas a real character, good with kids, Kelly at prince williams lovely lady, good to talk to her to get the lowdown on where to go etc.

We had a car for the week, highlights were, Coves D'arta ( fabulous caves), Palma Aquarium ( bit pricey), Port Soller ( Scenic ), Alcudia old town( traditional) plus there is loads more to do!.

Anyway, rambling a bit, so back to the Hotel.....
So here is why it doesnt get 5*. The bar prices were too high, I expect to pay more in a hotel but £3.00 per half a lager is too hefty. Also we would have liked a kettle, so we asked for one. They told me they didnt have any, but they did have an agreement with a local "kettle" company ( is there such a thing!) , and required £16 and £10 deposit. Now really, I went down the road and bought one for 8 euros, so that was a bit of a con!.

So to sum up the Viva, excellent hotel, good facilities, good location, Good Hotel, we will go back again, so have no fears booking this property.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madgreek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    202
    49
    10
    5
See reviews for
425
108
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2009

it was absoloutley brilliant been there twice and wouldn't hesitate to go back again. the staff were so helpful and friendly we had a trauma with the travel agences though we had to arrive 2 days late because a member of the party was ill and the travel agences did not ring up to say we were coming so we lost our room. But then the staff were so helpful they found us a free room and were in almost every day to clean it, the hotel is absoloutley spotless.Thepools are amazing all we did was swim and sun bathe. the best holiday we have ever had!!!!!! Hope to be back there soon!!!

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — nothing it was brill
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank XxXangelXxX73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We stayed for a week me my grandson and daughter in a self-catering apartment the hotel room was lovely, the room has a microwave, fridge with freezer compartment. No kettle or tea making facilities but didn't matter because we took a travel kettle. There’s a brilliant hair dryer in the bathroom. Good sized television three English channels all news but who cares about television when there’s 5 pools to choose from 3 outdoor pools including the over 18's pool which is great, the beds in there were so comfy plus its got a built in Jacuzzi. Other outdoor pools were a bit chilli but we went in October. Indoor pool is great little small but it was very clean. Jacuzzi in there to Sauna in the changing rooms plus next to the changing rooms a great gym didn't go in it but looked great. The grounds surrounding the pools are lovely with little sculptures dotted around. Restaurant and bar was nice all right prices, entertainment was good. Lobby and Reception was lovely with palm tree through the centre of the room. The shop was all right bit pricey compared to other local spars. Payphones outside. Overall our holiday was lovely and would recommend it to anybody I know.

From The Bevan Family
xx

  • Liked — The Pools
  • Disliked — The View Of From Our Balcony
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank megamattyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed for 5 nights at Viva Palmanova and had a great time. The hotel has fantastic facilities, staff very friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to the beach. My 2 yr old son loved the daily entertainment (which I was surprised still occurred in Sept). We stayed half board and the food was lovely, looked forward to our evening meal, particularly the Japanese themed night! The only disappointment was even though we had an apartment with a kitchen there was no kettle. You have to rent this (and the keys to the safe in the wardrobe) at a weekly rate + deposit for each.

  • Liked — The facilities
  • Disliked — The beds - two singles pushed together
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ness_hayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Stayed at Viva Palmanova 17/8-24/8. Booked this because we had previously stayed at a Viva hotel and were very pleased. This time we were even more pleased. The hotel is fantastic. Very impressive reception area with friendly staff. We had an apartment overlooking the pool area which was great. There are four pools - a large deep one with a waterfall flowing into a more shallow pool where you can stand and play ball games etc. Then there was a children's pool with mini waterpark feature of a slide and bucket of water, fountains and another slide. Finally there was a pool just for adults which was amazing. All around the pool are double beds with muslin-type drapes around. They are shaded above by rush screens. At one end of the pool are two jacuzzis and the whole place is so tranquil, it looks like a Roman spa. The pool area is meticulously cleaned every morning, as is the rest of the hotel. There was always an army of cleaners at work. The room was cleaned 6 times out of 7. The areas surrounding the pool are lovely too - lots of trees and greenery. The bar around the pool serves snacks/meals at great prices - unlike some where they rip you off. There is a continuous entertainment programme for both kids and adults and you are welcome to join in anything you choose. My kids aged 11 and 9 absolutely loved it and were never bored. There was also a bouncy castle, table tennis, pool table, football pitch and lots of water games. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from a fabulous beach and there is a supermarket within the hotel and plenty of shops, bars, restaurants etc nearby. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone - you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The fantastic pool area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MistyExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Stayed here for a long weekend in June and had an amazing holiday!
Gorgeous lobby and very friendly, helpful desk staff - small problem with reservation sorted out efficiently. All hotel staff were very pleasant.
Welcome pack with fruit and bubbly - Lovely room - spotless and tasteful with good balcony - small kitchen - we were self catering but only ate breakfast in room - ate out every night - kitchen may have not been good enough to cook a full meal in but that did not bother us.
Stunning, immaculate pool area - looked like loads to do for the kids and fab adults only relaxation pool, never had a problem getting a lounger at any time of day.
Resort is great fun - plenty to see and do if you want it but perfect to relax, eat, drink and recharge if thats more your thing.
Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Liked — Modern, spotless hotel, amazing pool area, lovely staff and perfect location for both Palma Nova and Magaluf
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

we have just returned from a two week stay at the viva palmanova, me my husband and our 5 yr old son. we have stayed at many hotels in palmanova including the two either side of the viva. what can i say but amazing, the best hotel we've stayed at so far. we tried to see if we could find any faults even minor ones but we couldn't. the place is spotless, constantly cleaning, the rooms are lovely and are kept clean and the hotel even recycles its own rubbish. around the complex are extensive garden areas which are very nice and immaculate. the pool areas are fantastic. there is a deep pool and down below that there is a pool which is one depth right the way across the pool no slopping which was brilliant for our five yr old son who could stand up and the water only came to his chest, no danger of him wondering in to any deep parts. there was also a miracle splash pool which had little slides and flumes in it, the deepest part just coming past my sons knees absolutly brilliant. There was also a relaxing pool for over 18s, i could not believe this when i saw it, when you walk through there are two jaccusies on either side as you walk down the steps into the water, along the side of the pool there are double beds with pillows. which is shaded and complete with drapes(unbelievable) but you can still lie in the sun if you want as there are also sun loungers along the side of the pool also. talking of sun loungers no matter what time we went down to the pool area we could always get loungers no problem, as you are not allowed to reserve them early hours of the morning like most people do in hotels. you dont really need to take towels on holiday with you either as they do a pool hire service, i dont know how much this was as i never used it. The kids club is brilliant never seen a kids club as good or come close to this the club starts at 10am till about 5pm and they do everything with them, sand bottles, t. shirt painting, pool activities, fooball, land hockey the list is endless. they even get the children to practice for a show in the night time for the adults once a week were they recieve medals for their efforts, while the adults sit down to watch the entertainment the children can go and watch movies in the theatre. They have a mini disco and their own super hero charactor Bufo which the kids love, they even have Bufo meals that come in the box, and on childrens day they have treasure hunts with the kids entertainers who dress up as pirates and they go hunting all over the complex for the treasure even running through the miracle pool. my son was fully dressed when doing this trainers and all but loved every minute. the entertainment doesnt stop even for the adults with pool football, pool volleyball, land football, gladiators in the big pool that was fun to watch. theres a putting green on site , tennis, football pitch, basketball, sauna, own supermarket(bit pricey)but if you walk to the bottom of the road by the pizza place and go across the road there is a bip which is very cheap,but if you want even cheaper when you come out the hotel go left you will see the civil gaurd building to the right cut through there and follow the road about a ten minute walk and you will come to the eroski centre here the prices are silly can of beer 40 cent. 6 cans of pepsi 2.40 euros you will pay between 1 and 1.50 euros for one in the resort. Tom Browns is a great place to eat and you get free drinks with your meals. the viva is in a prime location also across the road is a large amount of steps great going down murder coming up. this is a short cut to the beach which is beautiful. crystal clear water and white sand. The burger bar on the corner does a great steak and onion baguette too. magaluf is just around the corner if thats what you want, but the viva is far enough away so you dont hear any of the noise. i'm sure theres lots i've left out about how good this hotel is. the staff are very friendly. The guests who stay here tend to be mainly scandanavian, german, and dutch a few irish, scots and english a mixture which is good. my son made friends with a dutch boy and kids being kids find things much easier in communicating. he also made an irish.friend. the first language spoken at the hotel is english anyway and everyone speaks multi languages so theres no problems. My son cried his eyes out when we were leaving and Urwin and Nick from the kids club actally came over and gave him a big hug and waved him off, i'm sure Louise would have done the same but it was her day off. Brilliant hotel, great people will definatley be going back again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — disliked nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Property: Zafiro Palmanova
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing