We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort for families, nearby beaches & restaraunts”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort for families, nearby beaches & restaraunts”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed four nights at this resort - although it wasn't really geared towards our demographic (late 20's couple). Despite this, we enjoyed the location of the resort, and how it was a little quieter than the Magaluff hotels near the booming nightlife. The room was okay - nothing fancy - the beds were rather hard and uncomfortable. Also - we spotted a mouse in our apartment the first afternoon. They sent maintenance to catch the mouse - and we did not have any further problems. The entertainment is geared towards young children - however we enjoyed the kareoke night and the spinning classes each morning. The pool is very crowded every day, so it is advised to get down there early to reserve a chair. We had the buffet one night - which was not very appetizing, however there are plenty of tasty restaraunts very close by. The resort is very "loud" so if you like to rest in the eveining or sleep in, this is not for you. We were woken up each night at 8 pm for the disco, and at 10 each morning for spinning class. Overall a nice place - would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdfun707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    198
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
420
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed a week in Palmanova in June. The hotel has excellent pool areas and entertainment for kids.

We had a room with a terrace and with a view of the pool, very nice. The room was clean althought smelled heavyly of smoke. Kitchen utilities were ok, not good but the standard.

We ate quite a few times at the hotel restaurant - main courses and pizzas were excellent, starters not.

Location of the hotel is good, peaceful yet close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I stayed for a week in these apartments with my wife and 2 young daughters and I have to say that I wished I had booked for a 2nd week.

Check in was quick and friendly. We had a room on the ground floor with a pool view and a private garden. The garden had their own sun loungers, we found this very handy if one of the kids wanted to go to bed during the day for a sleep.

The complex had a number of pools ranging from a paddling pool up to an over 18s pool. There was a playground, football astroturf pitch and a small gym. There was a nice bar/restaurant area and an outside stage where there was a kids disco in the evening and some entertainment shows. These shows varied and some were better than others. The entertainment staff looked after the children with different activities during the day and were very professional.

The apartment itself is not very big but is adequate. There are 2 single beds joined together in the bedroom and there are 2 sofa beds in the living room area. The week we stayed they had just introduced a kettle and coffee maker as standard in the rooms. However a toaster and safety deposit key had to be hired out. Towels for the pool can be got at reception with a deposit paid.

There was a great mixture of nationalities staying at the complex, Scandanavians, Dutch, German, Italians as well as Irish and English.

The only negatives were perhaps the kids disco was a bit too young for my 8 year old and they could of catered a bit for kids of all ages. The apartment itself was a little small and not the nicest I've ever stayed in. However I do think the positives outweighed the negatives and I will defintely return soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I travelled to this hotel in May 2009. After staying in various hotels in Palma Nova I can safely say this one was the best. The location is excellent away from the noise of the nightlife but only a 5 minute walk to the strip if you want it and 5 minutes the other way to Palma Nova Beach.

The reception staff on the whole are friendly although we did find they did have a tendency to be a bit patronising depneding on who you got.

The rooms are great for a aparthotels - we asked for an upper floor pool facing which is exactly what we got. There is a nice lounge area and bedroom (a little on the small side). A well equipped kitchenette and lots of storage space. Compared to some aparthotels I have stayed in this was one of the best rooms.

The food was great some of the best I have had in a hotel - although there was a lack of variety sometimes it was always fresh and edible and was always something I could eat and I am a fussy eater.

It was 5 euros for 2 cokes in the restaurant with dinner which is slightly steep but this is due to the exchange rate - a lot of people are getting caught out and running out of money. Remember is more or less one for one at the moment so everything is pretty much double what it cost (we got caught up when paying for the room as the price we booked at was quoted in euros). 2 vodka and cokes in the resort were about 8-10 euros.

The pool area was nice and the pools great although I have to agree with other comments that it was freezing - it was only towards the end of the stay once we climitased to the ice cold water that we could go into it.

The big disappointment was the charge for the Adult Chill out Pool - they have introduced a 14 euro for 2 people charge for this. There was no mention of this on any literature before we arrived and there is a small notice on reception highlighting the charge. (Although I do believe they now say this on their website). When we spoke to the staff about this they were very unsympathetic and said that some charges do incur for facilities - this may well be but they should state as they do with the others that this incurred a charge. We ended up not being able to use this factility despite the fact this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel.

We did not attend any of the evening entertainment but as we overlooked the pool we could hear some of it - it seemed to be pretty average and wasnt very well attended. There are also day activities which seemed to be quite popular.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and once the euro/pound rate improves it will certainly be value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcrookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We have visited Palmanova numerous time now over the last 5 years. The resort itself is perfect for recharging and taking things that little bit slower (just how a holiday should be). Its clean, safe and easily reached from the airport.

There are more bars and places to eat than you could ever imagine. However, quality and value does vary widely. Oue favourite bar/restaurant is found next to Son Matius and called El Mecca. Good food, good prices but the staff are amazing. If you have young children then you must take them there. The staff clearly love children and bring them toys and food to keep them entertained.

Anyway...Viva Palmanova. This was our second visit.

On one rainy day in Palmanova we decided to investigate the different hotels in Palmanova to find any hidden gems. We didn't. Viva Palmanova is easily the best on appearance and standard. Its aimed at the German market, which should not put anyone off. This simply means that the hotel offers a better standard of just about everything. There are guests from all over europe staying at the hotel, Italian, French, Spanish, German, British and Scandinavian. For me this added to the enjoyment of the hotel. And no towels are not permitted on the sunbeds by the pool and this appeared to be respected by all.

We stayed here on a self catering basis although the hotel do ofefr upgrades for breakfast, HB or all inclusive. However, this way very expensive. Breakfast alone was an extra 15 euros per person per day!!!

It is prefect for families with young children as the entertainment team do their best to occupy the young ones. If you do visit this hotel with young children (and I strongly recommend you do) then I guarantee they will love BUFO. This is the hotels mascot.

OK the bad points...

1) The swimming pool is freezing. Its spotless and very attractive but only because no one will go in it.
2) The bar prices are very high. This is also caused by the euro/pound rate. A pint of lager will cost about £4.00.
3) The hotel tends to close down at about 10pm. This will not a problem for us, but I am sure others may wish to extend their evening beyond this time.

And thats about it. Its a fab hotel and no doubt we will visit again. It may not be the cheapest but as everyone knows - you get what you pay for!!!

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandBenOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My family and I have just got back from an enjoyable stay at the Viva Palmanova. Overall we had a good time but found that as with most Hotels you find certain things that that you like, and others that you don’t. So here’s my version of the good, the bad and the ugly.

Firstly the good

a) The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout
b) The kids entertainment team work hard keeping the children entertained and they do a great job
c) The Lunch time all inclusive meal is cooked fresh from a menu via the outside snack bar. This was always fantastic.
d) The overall setting and layout was very relaxing
e) The staff on the whole were very friendly and always tried to help.
f) The quality of the Hotel guests was good – You’re far more likely to find parents that call their kids Finlay and Amelia rather that those that just F and blind at them.

The Adequate

a) The rooms were ok,
b) Breakfast in the main restaurant was nice but dinner tended to be very repetitive.

The not so good!

a) We asked Alpha rooms for a ground floor but when we arrived the Hotel claimed these were more expensive even though there was no mention of this on the website.
b) The All inclusive program isn’t actually all inclusive, again no mention on the website but basically you get to eat breakfast between 8am &10am. Lunch is served between Noon & 3pm, and lastly dinner is 6pm through to 8pm. Outside of these times you or your kids can’t get any ice cream, food, drinks etc. Also they have an all inclusive light and an all inclusive ultra. If you want to upgrade you can do but as I’d already paid £150 a night a stay in the hotel I felt I’d already paid enough.
c) The Evening entertainment is pretty poor; we spent Sunday night watching pink panther cartoons (I kid you not). A couple of nights were provided by the kids club team, we had some flamenco dancers, a duo, a signing group of youngsters and a magician who was easily the best of the lot. We met some families from Scotland and we all agreed that the entertainment 'could have' and probably 'should have' been much better.
d) The evening’s entertainment finishes starts at 8am with the mini disco and finishes at 10pm. Your all inclusive evening drink time doesn’t start until 8.30pm but by 10pm everyone is going to bed. No music nothing! The bar stays open till 11pm but it ends up being empty.
e) They have an adults only area which has it’s own pool, this area looks really nice but again what you’re not told is that it cost 14 Euros each to spend the day in there, again no mention on Alpha rooms or the Hotels website.
f) The outdoor pools are only fit for polar bears and Eskimo’s. My daughter would swim in the Arctic Ocean but even she jumped straight back out. I don’t think I saw one person in either pool at any point in time. Surely the Hotel could invest in 1 outdoor heated pool????

I would go back but only once some of the points above have been looked at. This Hotel has the potential to be Fantastic but for me end us being just Ok.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott-36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The whole complex was clean and the decor was very modern. We were upgraded on arrival to an apartment with a huge terrace over looking the gardens.
It is really close to the beach and only a few minutes walk from some great bars and restaurants.
Great for couple and families.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrie2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Property: Zafiro Palmanova
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viva Palmanova & Spa hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing