We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but don't look over the fenceline”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Very nice place to chill out, soak in the sun, and not go anywhere with the kids for a short time. Variety of pools to break up the age groups and activities kept everyone happy. Mini-market attached to the hotel perfect for all the little things. Rooms wonderfully functional and clean, ours on the ground floor had it's own semi-private hedged-in garden area with lounge chairs. Food good but nothing spectacular. Drinks ridiculously expensive. The perimeter greenery was sparse in a few areas, giving an odd and unsightly view of abandoned, overgrown fields and commercial sites surrounding the hotel. Book a room looking inward (pool) to avoid that view. Five minute walk to a good sandy beach includes about 100 stairs. Town right around the hotel doens't sparkle in the light of day - looks like it is heavily used by the party crowd at night and the broken bottles, trash, and smell linger (though we did see city employees doing their best to clean up).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernerInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Okay, so this hotel is not a place for a quiet holiday but if you are looking for a fun filled family holiday with kids, this really is as good as it gets. We have previously checked TripAdvisor for a great place to stay in Majorca and the Viva Palma Nova stood out. We were not disappointed. We arrived very late 12.30am but Erica on reception was brilliant the moment we stepped into the door with a warm smile and welcoming demeanour.

The Hotel doesn't look big at the entrance but it is a good size. The marble entrance is warm and clean looking. The rooms have a sitting area and bedroom and a very useful kitchenette with full sized fridge. This got used a lot. The air conditioning worked great and kept us cool at all times. The weather outside was over 30c. The beds are a little hard, but we were so exhausted at the end of each day, it didn't matter.

The pool area is brilliant. Three main pools to choose from, and a kids pool to die for, with play slides, water fun park slide tube and a fun frog which our little granddaughetsr loved. There's an enclosed 5 a side football area, tennis courts and loads more. This hotel seems to have thought of just about everything.

We travel extensively and it's one of the best equipped hotels I have ever visited. The bar and food are fairly priced. There is an excellent kids fun club and loads of sun beds although towels do appear on them from an early time which was fairly annoying. There are plenty of staff and also an extensive entertainment program.

Our rooms (4105, 4107 & 4109) were located behind and away from the outside stage area where the entertainment went on. This was an ideal location with steps near to our room going directly to the pool area. I am not sure I would have liked a room directly opposite the stage. I am sure it would have been quite noisy - these rooms start with a 1 number.

All in all, one of the best hotel stays we have experienced. It's not quiet, but the kids will love it. A great supermarket at the entrance to the hotel and 2 minutes to shops and restaurants. Try Maritimo's for great evening food (not too cheap but super location over looking the bay) and Katies for breakfast. Both highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i61Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed here for a week with our handicapped adult son. The first thing to say is that the place is beautiful, with plants and flowers everywhere. It is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and really helpful. We had a "privilege" room with pool view, which meant that as well as ground floor terrace we had a garden with sun beds, which felt private but central. Stupidly I left some valuables out on the terrace one night, but their security noticed that and took them in for safe keeping until the next morning. Good service, or what?
The evening entertainment was excellent, (the kids entertainment seemed popular too), the pools were great ( we particularly liked the 18+ "relax" area, with shaded beds and drapes and a kid-free pool and jacusi), there were no crowds or queues anywhere (plenty of sun beds, plenty of space in the restaurant), and although we were self catering, when we had the food, it was fine.
The only problem for us was the wheelchair. There are quite a lot of steps around the place. These can be avoided, there are ramps and non-stepped routes giving access to all ares, so if you have a wheel chair don't rule this out, but it is a consideration. The ramp from the lift on floor 1 to reception is a bit steep if your wheelchair occupant has a bit of weight. The quickest easiest way down the beach is by a long line of steps, no good for wheelchairs. There is another wheelchair friendly route, but it is a bit of a diversion, and a bit of a slog on the way back up (although taxis are cheap and the drivers very helpful).
The last paragraph is irrelevant to most people, and for them, I recommend Viva Palmanova very highly. We had a great time with a wheelchair, but, like I said, not ideal, but still recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandwDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed here over Easter this year and found the hotel wonderful! The location is perfect...so close to all amenities and only two mins to the beach. The rooms were spotless and cleaned most days! The facilities at the hotel are amazing!! Everything you could possible want! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! I would really reccomend this hotel for families as during the day there were so many activities for the children to do! We really had a wonderful stay at this hotel! :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeenzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Pros: Excellent grounds with more then 2 pools, great hotel for families with lots of activites all day long, walking distance to 3 beaches, large rooms.

Cons: The beds weren't very comfortable and house keeping is only done 5 days a week.

In general, we loved this hotel and felt that it was a very good value! The adult pool is fantastic if you don't have kids!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed here for 10 days in June . The hotel is slightly back from the beach, 300mts ,in a nice quite area of Palma Nova. Room facilites were standard we had a one bedroom apartment ( we had a privilaged apartment ,ground floor ,but talking to other guests all apartments are very similar) . Hygeine standards were very high throughout the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and Kids Club staff were excellent . Nightly discos for kids and shows afterwards, really very enjoyable and safe for kids of all ages .Excellent array of swimming pools , kiddies pool with slides and 3 other pools all of varying depth .We stayed on a BB basis , we also stayed in hotel a couple of nights for dinner . Food was always very good and staff in the resturant were very friendly.
There are a good mixture of nationalities staying at the hotel from all over europe .
The area around the hotel as numerous Bars and Reaturants within a short walking distance.
To sum up an excellent hotel ,good staff ,safe and spotless would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irelandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Great loaction, great hotel, great food, great value - very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
1,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £51 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing