We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review”
Review of OLA Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OLA Hotel Panama
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel.
I feel it has gone down hill. Looking a bit tatty and tired now. Good location though.Full of stag and hen doos which was when we stayed. So not good for families.
On the 2nd day there was a major leak in the reception area which I believe was a toilet pipe which was left dripping and stinking for a further 2 days.Not very nice at all.Especially as it was right next to the entrance to the dining room.

Staff.
Staff were friendly and very helpful. The entertainment staff were constantly on the go but the entertainment was mainly aimed at the french.

Rooms.
Basic and bog standard.They have a fridge, Safe shower and bath, Although if you have a shower it floods the bathroom. The towel rack was hanging off the wall and we noticed little black insects around the sink and bed.

Food.
I am not a fussy eater but on this visit the food was bland and repetitive and usually just luke warm. You could tell they had turned what they had served for lunch into another dish for dinner.We ate out most nights.
The best meal was the breakfast. which we ate every day.

Location.
The location is ok. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and surrounding bars. Also close to a local Eroski supermarket situated at the top of the hill.

The drink and snack bar.
All local beers,wines and spirits. All soft drinks and all help yourself. Which is great as you do not have to queue to get a drink. Didnt see it being abused. Snacks are a bit hit and miss. Cakes, Biscuits, cold meats, Cheese and crisps.

Overall.
We would not recommend this hotel and would not return.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with pool view have a view of the ocean. Room 128 is a pool view but there is a palm t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April All Inclusive - we have a 3 and a 5 year old. I found the hotel to be clean and the staff helpful. The room are big (family room) and have a fridge and hairdryer. The pool area was good and had a childrens pool which was perfect for us. The self serve bar was brilliant, help yourself to all drinks and snacks 11-11pm. The food/restaurant was sufficient lots of choice and chips every night. After 4 nights of the same kind of food, I was happy to get home. If I was staying for more than a week l would definitely have to eat out a few nights. Although there was variety in the food it all tasted very similar. The breakfast was the best! The hotel wasn't that busy when we stayed, I imagine in peak season it wouldn't be as pleasant due to fighting for sun beds (the pool area isn't huge) and queuing for food and drink. But brilliant value for our 4 night Easter break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Location is very good, 5 minute walk to a lovely beach with shallow waters. Handful,of local shops and bars around the corner, 20 minute walk into magaluf.

Hotel is old and a bit tired, as are most of them in this area. Rooms are basic and clean. Small bathroom, ok,shower. Plenty of wardrobe space and full length mirrors but room is dimly lit. The view from the room was terrible (105), overlooking the street and quite noisy.

Food was ok, my expectations were quite low having never done an all inclusive before, but if have to say the breakfast was much better than I expected, lunch and dinner also offered plenty of choice, but on all servings the food could have been hotter, and the dining room is just too small and badly laid out. I would dread to think what it's like in high season.

Pool was clean, plenty of sun loungers,but not enough patio/terrace to sun bath without being almost on top of your neighbour.

The bar was unstaffed and guests can help themselves to hot or cold drinks alcoholic and soft all day long which we thought was great, however the overpowering smell of sick that surrounded the bar area made you want to run a mile.

Entertainment - the usual cheesy, poorly put together performance by the reps was enough to drive you to drink.

We only stayed 3 days, so overall it was OK for what we paid. Couldn't imagine spending a full week here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, eCommerce Manager at OLA Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great value for money

We stayed here as 4 couples. We had rooms together which were very spacious. The shower was fantastic and rooms equipped with a hair dryer. Food was delicious although the restaraunt layout was a little snug. Self service bar with quality drinks was ideal for us and we never witnessed it being abused. Great location for shops bars and restaurants. Clean hotel with friendly staff. For what we paid it was an absolute bargain and I would Definately return with friends again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ljdoyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

6 of us (4 adults and 2 children) stayed here from 13-20 april.
We arrived just before 12 noon and were checked in and given our room keys straight away.
We were given two adjoining rooms (as asked for) on the 2nd floor with great hillside views.
both rooms consisted of a double bed and a couch that converted to two beds, large enough balcony, tv (Which we didn't use) and a safe in the wardrobe)
We did have a problem with one of our room doors not locking but this was resolved fairly quickly and we were given our safety deposit box free for the week.
Bathroom with shower only and hairdryer (our shower wasn't very powerful but the shower next door was fantastic!!)
Breakfast served 8-10am and had everything - breads, pastries, cheeses, meats, yogurts, dried fruits, two or three types of eggs, bacon, sausages, beans etc. also lots of fresh fruit.
Lunch served 12.30-2.30pm - salads, soup, vegetables, a pasta dish with sauce and 2 or three meat choices each day (one day there were pig trotters and another rabbit!!). there are signs above each dish to tell you what they are. One day there was paella, another day pizza and another spring rolls. And there was always chips!! Personally I found the meat choices a bit too heavy for lunch but there was always something to choose from.
Evening meal served 7-pm and was a bit the same as lunchtime.
The bar area opened at 11am and was self service - teas, coffees, soft drinks and fruit drinks. Red, white and rose wine and beer and cava all on tap (but we have to ask to get the cava fixed!!) Cocktail machine with children friendly cocktails.
Lots of bottles of local alcohol (some sniffing of the bottles to work out what was what!!) and a bucket of ice.
Snacks were crisps, nuts, breads, cheeses, meats and pastries.
Pool area was nice and clean with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas (we arrived just a day after the hotel had opened so it was quite quiet. It did fill up during the week and one particular day was extremely busy - not one spare sunbed to be had!!) The pool area got the sun all day (we didn't venture up to the roof top terrace)
The pool was absolutely freezing the first few days - but as the hotel was just open that couldn't be helped. the only way to brave it was to jump in (or use the slide into the pool!!) there was a lifeguard on everyday.
There's a pool table (1 euro 50 per game) and a ping pong table. there's also a small "adventure park" attached.
Now to the entertainment. the guys were fantastic (Fabio, Veronica and Amandine) - working form 10am til after 10pm at night 6 days a week!! And Fabio spoke four languages - english, spanish, french and italian!!
During the day there were various activities - rifle shooting, water polo, archery, darts, french bowls etc but you didn't need to join in if you didn't want to.
My nephews pestered Fabio for a game of football and he did get teams together and took them to the football park (this is right next to the hotel) My nephew spent a few enjoyable hours playing chess with his friend and Veronica (and he's only 8!!)
We went to see the flamenco dancers down at the beach which was a nice way to spend a few hours). there was also a paella demonstration at the beach.
Each night started with the mini disco (I am the music man, heads shoulder knees and toes etc) and there was something on every night - bingo, a pop quiz, a man v woman challenge and a cabaret (which involved some male holiday makers dressing up as women!!).
The guys did work very hard but the entertainment area is not very large so we ended up sitting outside most nights but could still see the fun.
there is a "crazy" golf course outside the hotel but it is really a waste of space - not very user friendly - this space would be better turned into a ramp for disabled access as there is no access and you have to carry your cases down the steps to reception.
Hotel is a few minutes stroll from the fantastic wide, clean beach and there's a great pub on the corner called Banana Joes that sells pints of san miguel for 1 1/2 euros!!
Overall, a great family hotel - I would not recommend this hotel for young couples or groups of friends.
This hotel is right beside the Lively hotel (the one featured in the Magaluf Weekender) so I think this hotel would be noisy during ther summer.

Room Tip: try not to get a room facing the football park as some of them are below street level with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 6footsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Ola Panama for a week. It was ok. Basic. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room and the restaurant doesnt open for breakfast until 8am. No satellite tv only a small old tv which you have to pay ten euro deposit to obtain the remote control. The pillows on the beds were inadequate and we asked several times for extra ones but they werent forthcoming. It was very noisy at night with drunk people coming back from a night out and kids crying. However the food was good with lots of choice and it was very handy for the beach. We would not go there again. Palmanova itself is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have just came back from palmanova staying at this hotel with my 14 year old son.We got of to a bad start as they didn't have a room for us on the first night. They put us in the hotel across the road. we ate drank and enjoyed the entertainment at the panama. As promest our room was available after breakfast.
my son never left the hotel enjoying all activity,s they put on. the entertainment on a night was very good, from flemengio dancers to parrot shows. the entertainment team were great for adults and kids. The food was very good. there was stuff there that I didn't like but I got a good meal at every sitting even tried some dishes I had never had before. every one from manager to domestic staff were great. some parts of hotel needs modernising as a bit tiered. I met a family there and we are planning to go there next year. As soon as we can get booked. margy from Newcastle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margy164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#15 of 38 in Palmanova
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Panama

Address: Calle Paris 4, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Ola Club Panama)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range: £74 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ola Club Panama is an All Inclusive hotel, located in Palmanova, not faraway from a beautiful Beach, where you can rest by the sea and play nautical sports..Palmanova is a tourist resort with lots of leisure facilities, like a water park, the dolphins show at Marineland, tennis clubs, go-carting and much more. At night, a wide choice of restaurants, shops, bars and discos let you to enjoy a lively atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OLA Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Panama Hotel Palma Nova
Ola Hotel Palma Nova
OLA Hotel Panama Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing