We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of OLA Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OLA Hotel Panama
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I spent a week in this hotel from 29 June until 6 July. On arrival I was disappointed at the exterior view of the hotel - badly in need of some redecoration; no ramp provision for anyone with a mobility issue (which I did not have). The main reception area was fine and the receptionist helpful in providing me with relevant information; our room was ready.

Our room had two double beds in it which surprised me as I expected two twin beds however that was okay. The room itself was okay; the TV was somewhat dated although I did not watch any whilst there. The bathroom was also okay with the shower and toilet functioning as they should.

The dining room I felt was a bit "tight" for the numbers of guests - tables were fairly close together and in my opinion there was potential for accidents with people milling around with food. The quality of the food was average.

The self-service bar was novel however given what this holiday cost I would have preferred to have had drinks served to me - I can serve myself at any time when at home. The range of snacks provided was poor and consisted of crisps, bread, cheese and salami; again for the price I would have expected to see chips, burgers, pizza at least. One thing I was very disappointed at was the lack of bottled water being available at the hotel - my previous experiences of all-inclusive holidays are such that bottled water was freely available. Given it was not this has to be purchased from the local supermarket.

I would not go back to this hotel if I returned to Palma Nova and will be feeding back this information to my holiday provider. I accept that the hotel is only 3-star but for the cost I expected more.

I have tried to be objective with this review and hope its useful to others.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the main road which did not particularly bother us. Its very easy to hear p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    368
    241
    129
    75
See reviews for
437
315
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was fine, nice big rooms, cleaned every day but Sunday, on the whole the food was good, always found something we liked. Bar was self service which was brilliant, it worked no queuing to be served, plenty of snacks laid on if you wanted them, pool area and terrace could have done with being bigger, entertainment was ok, there were a lot of French people there, but also quite a lot of English.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from 10 nights. We requested a quiet room and were located on the 6th floor,which was perfect and we slept really well. Our friends were on first floor and were disturbed nightly by the noise of other guests returning to their rooms.
Hotel was mainly French holiday makers, however on two occasions they were quite disrespectful. Namely we went in for lunch- having sat on our sun beds all morning and our our return a French guy had lifted the towels and sat on the bed. He would not move, asking "did you pay for this sunbed?". Fortunately I spoke French and indicated we had only been 30 mins for lunch and we showed him the manual on reception staiting that you could vacate the sunbed for 30 mins and he moved but not before his girlfriend threw our stuff over the back of the sunbed. Another time we were asleep and another French guy pinched our umbrella.
Go to the solarium on the 7th floor-over 18s only but no shade. Soft drinks in the small room next to entrance of solarium.
We found the air conditioning restriction a little mean;once you hired the control it only was turned on between 7pm and 3am- come on Europe catch up with the usa and other parts of the world and keep us Brits nice and cool.
We went out for the football but sadly england were knocked out. Most channels on TV were French , englishx2 only but not too much of a concern.
All the staff were fab and we ended up communicating to them in French and did much better this way.
Definitely back for the euro football in 2 years.

Room Tip: 6th floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we arrived there on 3rd of June 14 for a two week stay, i must say extremely disappointed where to start the rooms were pretended to be cleaned they would sweep the dirt under the bed, what they could be bothered to anyway, dust and hair everywhere, and if you wanted your sheets changed you would have to mark them with a pen to ensure they were done. the staff are rude and abusive even racist towards English guests as it is a prominently French hotel don't expect a warm welcome or happy stay its like they don't want you there just happy to take your money and that's it. its a waste of time to try and complain as you will be laughed at and made to feel insignificant. you wont get any sleep as its very loud at night from people screaming and shouting all night on the street and neighbouring hotels and that's without the noise from this hotel, the food is repulsive i wouldn't serve it to a dead dog the pool area is cramped and hardly any sunbeds with dead wasps and hair floating about with stones and sand on the bottom, basically its a dump avoid at all costs. but the resort of palma nova is beautiful would return just definatley not in this so called hotel all its good for is knocking down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

just got back after a week in this hotel.1st impressions from entrance and reception lounge were really good. polite receptionist and very helpful. had to wait 30mins for room to be ready no problem and went and had a look round pool area. 1st thing I noticed was the pool picture that is shown to advertise the hotel has been taken very professionally to make it look very large which is definatley not the case. the entertainment staff were very friendly until you spoke to them and they found you were English, they never spoke to us again. as other reviews state it is mainly French and old French ,felt like gods waiting room. they were very ignorant and very very greedy considering everything was free, I even caught a few of them filling their bags with food to take to their room.
the food was ok, breakfast not so good 1 morning I was nearly sick when I put some rancid bacon in my mouth. didn't do lunch much but evening meals were ok (chips and pork, chips and pork.) every night but a few other dishes aswell.
got into room and went for a shower, noticed the shower drain didn't seem to fit the tray but thought seeing as it had just been cleaned it must be ok. obviously not as reception rung while showering saying I had flooded the room below, (sorry). so couldnt use shower till next night till it was fixed.rooms were basic but did the job, really need updating.cleaners in every day except Saturday and towels changed. help yourself bar is good idea and again the French oldies made every effort to empty it.
I would not say it was value for money as all inclusive and I wouldn't stay there again.
and the last comment must go to the 3 silly English tarts (the Jeremy kylers) who must have woke everyone up in the hotel and the 1 across the road, probably about 1500 people at 4am in the morning with their silly singing and screaming for 2 hours. these hotels should get their act together, they have the customers money so bad behaviour should lead to eviction and a fine from the police. I think this episode will stick in a lot of peoples minds and prevent them from returning to this hotel. lets just hope when these silly girls have to go on holiday in future with their fatherless kids they come across the same behaviour. as for me and the wife we will attempt to find somewhere a bit more upmarket which shouldn't be too difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived here on 8th June, 7 adults 2 children 1 infant. Had an early flight and all but 1 of our rooms were ready. The lifts were extremely small & had to tip the pushchairs on end to get in.As we also had to do several lift rides to get the luggage upstairs.
Room was clean but shower leaked terribly over the floor every day. We were told there would be a cot in the room for the infant, but were then charged 6 euros per night for it!! We were not made aware of this charge & my daughter had to pay for it out of her holiday spend, so left her short. Cots should be FREE !!!!! We did not pay additional for aircon. It was ok sleeping with the balcony door ajar, but was noisy from the traffic & drunken revellers outside. As Char1995 said there were a bunch of brit lads on a stag. There was trouble one night but this was dealt with swiftly & appropriately. It was just one person misbehaving & the rest of the group were very apologetic. The responsible person also apologied to many people.. (I was a little disturbed that they were giving us Brits a bad name, but was relieved (in a way) to see that later in the week there were 2 x groups of french lads who were just as noisy!) The food was a little repetative, but breakfast was definitely the best meal of the day.We also had chicken one day & when we cut the toddlers piece it was pink & raw inside. We had to be very careful then when feeding the children. The help yourself bar was a good idea, no queues. Snack bar was left out all day.
The pool was small and a severe lack of sunbeds, but the children really enjoyed the small pool, & it was nice to see that it was not too boisterous for the infant. By the end of the week the toddlers were swimming in the large pool.
Kids enjoyed the entertainers, and they were all very nice to the adults, always saying good morning to everyone.
Once the kids disco was over we went out of the hotel (Rafaels Bar Amigos right next door for a quiet drink, or sports bar just up the road for the footy)
The hotel was quite clean, but on our first day, in the lounge area we saw 6 (yes 6 !!) cockroaches. Whilst we understood that it is a hot country, it did stop us allowing the children to crawl around the floor (especially as people were just treading on them (DONT do this! it just spread the eggs around on the bottom of your shoes))
Also, I had read a previous review that the snack area smelt of vomit. But it is actually from over use of bleach on the the old mops , giving off a cheesey bleachy smell.
The dining area could get a little crowded but not too bad - would have been better if not for a few French guests who either pushed in or just stood in the way & did not move even when you said excuse me (3 times !)
Acces to the hotel was down a steep flight of steps - difficult with pushchairs
DEFINITELY not suitable for disabled/ wheelchair users. Saw the most bizarre thing in the week. Workmen came & fitted a hoist/seat by the pool to allow disabled people to get in.
Bizarre because 1. You have to get down at least 20 steps to enter the hotel . 2, to get to the pool / terrace you have to climb another flight of steps, then 3. to get to the pool you have to climb ANOTHER flight of steps. and then.. 4. the area where the hoist chair was, was along a narrow strip by the pool - impossible to get a wheelchair along, which meant that 5. you had to climb another set of steps up along & then down again !!!
There was no water available after 11pm. Our infant needed hot water for his bottle. Thank goodness we took a travel kettle because that would have been an extortionate 11 euros per night to hire!
On the subject of water... we used the local supermarket a couple of minutes walk away. There, the water was 25 cents for a large bottle - on the main raod 120-170 !! rip off! Supermarket was good for buying nappies etc as well
Palma Nova is a lovely resort - streets & beach very clean
Beach - 4.5 Euros per sunbed, 4.5 euros per umbrella so that can work out expensive. Luckily we only had one day on the beach - we all preferred to stay around the pool, & it was a lot better having food & drink on tap for the kids (the beach bar wanted 6 euros for a plate of chips!!)
On a positive note the hotel was close to the beach, shops and restaurants and bars (and far away enough from rowdy Magaluf) . And thank you for the bottle of champagne (?) that was in the room for one of our birthdays.
Unsure if we would stay here again, but to be honest, we booked this hotel on a 'cheapy' so although it did not exceed our expectations we all felt that we got what we paid for. The kids had a fantastic time, & for us, the weather & the pool made it all worth while
If you have children this is a value hotel

Room Tip: Road side is noisy, lots of coaches . Pool side is noisier during the day & up till the bar clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy sweet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

i dont know where all these bad comments come from.. you get what you pay for. we have just come back as a family of 4.. we had a great time the staff that work with the kids are great always got time for the kids very playfull and nice.. my kids took a shine to them.. all staff where great even the life gaurd very pleasant.. only downfall was the food for children not very good but if you have kids who eat anything cant go wrong... shops and beach so close loads to do for kids just outside the hotel.. waterpark a ten min ride away and aquamarrienland 10 mins away..met some lovely people. quiet a lot of french but you dont come on holiday to be with english people so all these bad comments are uncalled for id give it 7 out of 10 for everything if u want 5* pay for it...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#26 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Panama

Property: OLA Hotel Panama
Address: Calle Paris 4, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Ola Club Panama)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ola Club Panama is an All Inclusive hotel, located in Palmanova, not faraway from a beautiful Beach, where you can rest by the sea and play nautical sports..Palmanova is a tourist resort with lots of leisure facilities, like a water park, the dolphins show at Marineland, tennis clubs, go-carting and much more. At night, a wide choice of restaurants, shops, bars and discos let you to enjoy a lively atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your OLA Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Panama Hotel Palma Nova
Ola Hotel Palma Nova
OLA Hotel Panama Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing