We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of Senses Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senses Palmanova
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my partner have just got back from a week in Mallorca. Delfin playa was not actually the hotel we had booked - however as our hotel was having a 'problem with the plumbing' we were moved to the delfin playa for 4 nights.

Upon arrival at the delfin playa we were greeted by an extremely grumpy spanish night porter who clearly did not want to talk to us. He gave us our room key and no other info about the hotel. So we had to ask about times for breakfast, lunch etc. He then told us the WRONG times for breakfast stating it was 7-9am when it was actually, we found out the next day, 8-10am. Why let staff run the desk who know so little about the hotel? Some other questions we asked he couldn't answer at all.

When we got to the room we were so disappointed. Pretty sure we may have been given the worst room possible in the entire hotel!! It was on the 3rd floor (which was actually only one floor up) so we ended up looking out onto the flat roof of the hotel entrance. It was loud, smelly and we were constantly joined by fag ends landing on the room sending an awful smell into our room. The bathroom was tiny and didn't even have any shelves to put your stuff on? So you had to leave all your toiletries in the main room and walk backwards and forwards to get them!

DO NOT TRUST THE MANAGEMENT!!! We were made to look complete fools by the manager Benito who told us one thing, and our actual hotel another. The communication between the two hotels was horrendous and left me in tears on two occasions. Upon arriving at our actual hotel after 4 days, the manager their basically told me that everything Benito had said was incorrect regarding our stay and we were completely blind sighted!! Is this the new thing in hotels to lie to your guests and leave them high and dry?! We werent even allowed to use the hotel phone to talk to our actual hotel so i ended up using my mobile at a ridiculous charge!!!

Good things? The hotel is right on the beach and i would say that is the ONLY good thing. Food is terrible with around 5 trays of food per night + chips + bread. Needless to say we went hungry on more than one occasion. I feel sorry for the staff who work here because some were genuinely lovely, especially the ladies around the bar/restaurant, but they are totally let down by poor management.

All i can say is thank god we didnt have to stay here for more than 4 days....

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - all other rooms are not worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiggi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Lottie_Emma

We regret that your experience with us was not as expected.

We have made the appropiate inquieres, and our staff told us that you seemed so happy to be with us and that you were always kind with us. In order to explain it, we will send you a private message.

Anyway, we want to clarify that our staff never lies and that our rules require to do our best for helping our guest. We all are qualified professionals to do our work excellently, so we are legit.

Kind regards,
Puri F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location that is the only thing good for it .I wasn't going to write anything but it's really not that good ,if you want evening entertainment this is not for you there is hardly any and if there is it caters for the Spanish ,and it is very poor .I'm 24 and I was bored out of my head and has to spend money going out every night the snack wasn't open which was rubbish and the whole hotel was full of Germans ,the only other English I saw in the hotel the whole holiday was a couple my age who didn't like the hotel either, the food was ok but a lot off fish .the gym was all broken and the swimming pool was dirty ,and people put towels on the beds and go out for the whole day nothing gets done about it, the bar waiter was very rude and didn't make convo with us, the receptionist were very good with helping with are problems, are balcony was intop of the kitchen and had a massive van so was very noisy. would never go back but palma nova is a very lovely place but choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojo24198922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Jojo24198922,

We regret to know that your experience has not been up to expectation. We take into account every single comment of our guest and work in order to improve our services and products.

Hope you could give us a chance.

Regards
Puri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The only positive about this hotel was the cleaning staff, they were so lovely and kind, also the young lady at the reception was very helpful when it came to looking for sites to see, every other staff member seemed preoccupied and busy, the "entertainer" was slightly intimidating and as we were leaving to return home came to us and asked us to write a good review for the hotel, which was very rude. there was no entertainment for anyone young, (early 20's- mid 30's) only 2 things in the "gym" were working, when it comes to booking the hotel i feel as though people should be made aware that there is an older side to the hotel, which we stayed in, there was no mini fridge which meant that drinks would get warm very quickly, for a warm climate this is silly as we had to constantly go buy cold drinks or request a cup of ice from the bar. the hotel is great if you just want a place to lay your head at night because the beach and surrounding area is lovely. other than that, not a 4*

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty4693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Mrs Shorty4693,
Thank you to take a time writing about your stay in our hotel.
We're happy to know that our work was good for you, and we take note of every tip that was not enough fine as your point of view.
Thak you to help us to improve our services.
Regards,
Puri F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Even though I thought this hotel was clean. there was no fridge/mini bar! In a hot climate you like to bring drinks back to your room.... There wasnt even any bottled water Even if there was you couldnt keep it cold There was a spot for one but nothing in there! Very unusual for ANY hotel There was no tea or coffee making facilities No welcome pack or ironing board or iron Dont count on there being a room for you Even if you paid months in advance!!!! We had booked two rooms and was told there was a slight problem We had come all the way from Australia!!! Very un professional Location Great..... Pool OK Breakfast good..... Four star,,,,, No way

Room Tip: If your a couple ask for Matromony room Otherwise it will be two single beds pushed together!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

DearGazza401,
As we told to your colleague, we are really sorry that your experience has not met your expectations. We will take into account all your tips.
Kind regards
Puri F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Do not be put off by some of the not so great reviews. We have just arrived back from a four night stay in the Delfin Playa and had a fantastic break. Gabriel the hotel director and Javier one of the receptionist went out of their way to help and assist us and incredibly helpful and professional. The rooms were large and very clear, we has room 231 and air conditioning was good. The food was great and we had lots of choice and variety and it was always hot. The pool area was quiet and very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back. The hotel had entertainer called Karuna and she was very professional and had great rapport with all her guests, she was friendly and got all the guests involved.

Room Tip: We had 231 and this was a very clean and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starbar1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Starbar1414,

Thank you very much for your kind words! Javier and Gabriel are glad to know that hey helped you, and also Karuna, who is happy to know that you got a nice time between us.

If you want to be updated about our activities and offers, fan our fanpage on facebook facebook.com/delfinhotels

Kind regards,
Puri F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On the positive,this Hotel is very clean and is in a great posiyion for transport,beach ,bars and restaurants.BUT......no minibar/fridge,no room service menu ,no toiletries pack,no tea and coffee making facillities,no iron or ironing board.when we arrived we had booked 2 rooms one for myself and my partner and one for my teenage son,they told us the.y had a slight problem and could only offer us a room with for beds Just for the first night after that our previously booked rooms would be ready.In compensation they offered us all inlcusive lunch and dinner,as we had only booked B&B.We accepted reluctantly.The room they gave us had cockroaches and no aircon'.Our second room the next day which they class as a double is really 2 single beds pushed together.4 star in Spain is definetly not the same as 4,3 or even 2 star anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

DearGazza401,
sorry that your experience has not met your expectations. We listen all the reviews and we take into account every tip in order to improve our services.
Kind regards
Puri F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Delfin Playa in Palmanova and probably the most disappointing accomodation we have ever stayed in. After few nights looking we booked the Delfin based on its 4 star status and location. Don't get me wrong....location is very good but that's where the positives STOP! Arrived and was quite excited in reception as seemed very modern. My & my wife whee asked to take a seat while they dealt with another check in to which I overheard them being re-located to another hotel as they where fully booked and they received upgrade to All inclusive.....lucky get away for them I would say. We then checked in and thought good things at this point until we received room key card and told room was in building across the road which was also linked by underground hallway. On crossing the road one look at building made us concerned, followed by entering block (my wife renamed this prison block) it looked very dated and nobody going about and just not very inviting. We went upstairs to 1st floor to our room and gutted, room was like a throw back to 1970's with rough cast walls and really basic furniture etc. the balcony was entered by means of a large full length window with a glazed door also like ancient. View was great though, about 6 feet from a derelict facing wall and roofs of other buildings....worst view ever. (Room 114 by the way) I went straight across to reception and complained about room and we joked about the '4 star' rating and mentioned that the air conditioning was very poor. I asked for a room change and was told fully booked but should manage a move in 1 to 2 days. Needless to say that never happened! We paid for half board but found breakfast was good but only did first night for evening meal as food selection and quality we thought wad poor so didn't want the hotel to completely ruin our short break so went out for tea each night which was great (a must try is the Zen restaurant along the coast of Torrenova which is a 10 minute walk) nothing more to say about hotel as we tried to stay away and found getting showered and changed before heading out at night impossible due to really poor air con (which was never looked at after complaining couple of times) to sum it up and sharing views of staff......good hotel in its day (I guess 30 years ago) no money being reinvested hence looks very dated and really should be a poor 3 star at very best. We have 2-3 breaks abroad each year to 3/4 star and this is the worst to date.
Don't be fooled by the 4 star a some earlier reviews that read ok may be due to receiving rooms in the more modern looking block.....not the Prison Block!
Sorry if my review sounds harsh but I believe in honesty as I hate how this could have easily ruined our time in Majorca.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Breboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri F, Community Manager at Senses Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Breboy,
We're sorry that your experience has not met your expectations. We will take your complaints and suggestions, and we will review some of the aspects that do not fit our processes: those that ensure a 4 star service and attention.
Kind regards,
Puri F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fergus Style Palmanova
Fergus Style Palmanova
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
1,447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senses Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senses Palmanova

Address: Calle Hermanos Montcada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Delfin Playa)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £80 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senses Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front, facing Palmanova's Blue Flag beach, this hotel consists of a main building and an annex. It has been completely refurbished and offers 6 outdoor pools, most with swim ups, and a Spa with free indoor pool, whirlpool tub, hydrotherapy, Turkish bath, sauna and gym, as well as massage cabins. The modern, air-conditioned rooms come with a balcony and most have sea views. All have a free safe, fridge, satellite LCD TV and coffee & tea making facilities, as well as a bathroom with bathrobes, slippers and a hair dryer. The Privilege rooms have exclusive daytime access to a roof-top pool and bar with spectacular views. In addition to the buffet restaurant and the pool’s snack bar, there is a gourmet à la carte restaurant and a fully-equipped 2300 sq ft. Conference and Banquet Hall. There is a dress code for both restaurants. Other services include: free Wi-Fi, private parking, porter service, pool towels and laundry services. The hotel is wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Senses Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Playa Palma Nova
Senses Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing