We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Reina Paguera(Peguera)(Great Value!)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Morlans(Peguera)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$163
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
284
189
54
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
189
54
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree boat tripsea viewoverlooking the beachlarge walk in showerprivate gatenh hotelthursday eveningbeach roompool areaexcellent hotelthe staff were extremely helpfula la carte restaurantpublic areascharm and characterb and bexcellent weekstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel half board for a week at the end of August. Upon arrival the staff on reception seemed frosty. The rooms were clean but basic, slippers and dressing gowns were given on request but not provided otherwise also a bit dark and oldfashioned in the hallways. During the evening meal there was a vast amount of food to chose from, considering the size of the hotel and everything was fresh and tasty. Breakfast was very good, except for the skimmed milk always being sour and their was no option of having hot chocolate! The staff at meal times were amazing, very polite too good for this hotel. The beach was brilliant, clean, very calm and not over-crowded. There was a good atmosphere around the hotel and the maids were always kind and friendly. The main reason we would not chose to return is that you would expect more for what you pay, last year we went on a holiday to crete with higher standards and paid much less, although some may disagree as the beach is so nice and just a step out of the hotel this compensates. Drinks were very expensive. Quite a few of the guests return every year and my mum spoke to a couple of them who claim the standard is increasingly dropping. If it had cost 2/3 of the price we would in no doubt be returning for a holiday next year. CLEAN. FOOD AND STAFF GREAT. BAD VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We travel extensivly, booking commercial flights direct with the airlines and accommodation direct with the hotel.
We have just returned from a week in the Villamil (Aug 2012). It did not quite live up to our expectations. Our room, 401, was in the original Tower part of the main building. The air-conditioning was almost non-existent (exacerbated by a daytime temp of 39 deg C and night time temp in excess of 29 deg C). They tried to repair it, twice, with very little improvement – They were unable to provide a move of room and claimed not to have any fans available. So, we had to live with the discomfort for the week (after paying almost £1200 for our B&B stay).

Another problem with room 401 was that it’s on the 4th floor, and the lifts only go to the 3rd!! When we checked in, we were offered assistance with our luggage and, having been shown the lifts, declined the offer. We then found ourselves carrying two large cases up two flights of stairs, from lift to room. In fact, the stairs were actually the “Fire escape” for all floors. I have to say that the room was large, clean had comfortable beds and an excellent bathroom. The major downside was the aforementioned AC problem and only 4 small windows.

The upside for the hotel is: Great Location, nice grounds and pool area, friendly and happy staff, who give a good service. Very good breakfast and reasonable priced drinks.
The downside is that the hotel certainly appears to be living on it’s past glory and reputation. And, for an hotel rated as 4+ star the furnishings were starting to look a bit worn and dated. There was no air conditioning in the public areas or in the lift and this means you end up “damp” as soon as you move around the hotel. As a comparison, have a look at the Cliff Bay (Porto Bay) hotel in Funchal, Madeira for proper 4/5 star luxury.

Peguera is a very nice resort – more upmarket than the adjacent “British” themed resorts. We had previously owned property in Santa Ponsa for 14 years and have not been back to Mallorca since we disposed of it, some 12 years ago. We specifically chose Peguera, because our prior experience showed that the “German” resorts deliver higher standards (though, surprisingly, lower prices in the shops, bars and restaurants) and, not a tracksuit or synthetic football shirt in sight.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room, before taking your cases in! Checkout the AC and access. Think twice if offered room 401 (even though it has a sea view - if you stand at one of the four small windows)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymru1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A very nice hotel in keeping with the Hesperia hotels we have stayed in before. As we were having a short break this time I booked a standard room and a shared transfer - both were a mistake. Standard rooms are ok when you are a bit younger and on a budget but we are passed that now and due to the noisy aircon in room 23 we upgraded after the first night to a Junior Suite. The standard room was fine apart from the noise. The transfer booked via Expedia was a joke. 3 hours after getting off the plane we arrived at the hotel after sitting on the bus for an hour at the airport waiting for other pick ups. We had already decided on and booked a taxi back when we received a fax with the bus pick up time of 6.45 am for the return journey. The trip to the airport should take 30 minutes and our flight was at 11.30 am.

Apart from this the hotel is very luxurious, peaceful, no shortage of loungers, lots of Germans, food very good either buffet or a la carte and drinks reasonably priced. Service is excellent although the staff do mix up their English and German which is quite funny. After a deluge rainfall, the staff worked very hard to clear the debris and keep everything running.

Room Tip: Not room 23. Ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherino56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our four days in the beachside Hesperia Villamil, Peguera could have been a risk-laden trip down memory lane…my parents had taken me there twice in the early sixties, merely seven years or so after its construction. Its inevitable modernisation could have been a disappointment; maybe the old heart of the hotel had been ripped out?

Not at all. The Villamil retains all of the style and many of the furniture, fixtures and fittings of the past and the black and white photos lining the corridors and staircases tell their own story of the days when the hotel was a venue for the glamorous post-war smart set. Most pleasing of all is the retention of a wide, semi-circular terrace overlooking the sea; it’s arguably the hotel’s most attractive feature and is the perfect venue for pre or post-dinner drinks.

We occupied a junior suite with a sea view (room 221). It was spacious, comfortable and airy with an en-suite bathroom which might have been modern in the 1980s and therefore had a charm of its own.

The hotel has been considerably extended over the years but so have the grounds…there’s a lovely garden between the hotel extension and the sea and the beach itself is now sandy, wide and long; previously the waves used to lap against the rocks below the hotel wall.

The swimming pool however has not been expanded to cope with the extra guests and is therefore usually crowded, mostly with children and their inflatable swimming aids. Best to be nifty first thing with the towels on the loungers; Germans and British make up a large proportion of the clientele and the traditions of that contest for the prime pool-side spot remain a feature of the early morning routine!

The small size of the pool is a negative perhaps…except that the sheltered Peguera bay is effectively a massive swimming pool in its own right; children can wade for some thirty or forty metres before going out of their depth.

The food is not necessarily the hotel’s strongest suit…the buffet breakfasts are fine, taken on a terrace overlooking the garden and lunch (available in the garden) is also adequate. The hotel stages themed menus for dinner (barbeque and Italian food was available during our stay) but fine dining is only available on a limited number of evenings during the week.

This takes place in a smaller restaurant directly overlooking the beach. We ate well at what had to be the best table right by the open window …seafood was our obvious and delicious choice.

“Location, location, location” is as important a principle for the hotelier as for the estate agent and the Villamil holds prime position in Peguera. But the quality of the staff and their welcome is as important and the Villamil gets top marks for this too. From check-in to check-out, we were treated with courtesy and consideration.

A small but significant example; on our first night I placed a blanket under my one pillow for extra support - there didn’t seem to be another pillow available in the room – but the following day the maid had provided another pillow without it being requested. The hotel also organizes occasional functions; we were invited to a cocktail party on our first evening and also took a boat trip to see a spectacular sunset over the sea..

So I would recommend the Villamil as an ideal hotel for a family holiday….or for couples of a certain age. It does not specifically offer a vibrant night-life though the town is certainly lively enough after dark. In summary, you can be confident of a relaxing and comfortable stay in a hotel which retains much of the charm and character of a bygone age whilst also offering all the facilities you’d expect in the 21st century.

Room Tip: ASk for a room in "The Tower"
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RB27952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel is rated as 4 stars & one can imagine the grandeur of the hotel when it first opened & Paguera was a destination. The hotel was clean but basic. Staff very friendly.

An evening drink at the bar was a lovely setting, but only peanuts or olives to eat. No snacks.

The swimming pool is rather small, but there is easy access to the beach.

Paguera is rather tacky.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer extension facing the sea are probably the best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews