We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Calm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bahia
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bahia in August 2013. From the moment we arrived we could see that this was going to be a lovely relaxing hotel, with friendly helpful reception staff happy to address all our needs. This proved to be the case for the week.

There is beautiful furniture, artwork and large bouquets of fresh lilies and roses in the drawing room. A lovely tranquil verandah with soft seating, cut roses on the tables and with views over the pool and out to the sea. There were also fresh roses in the room upon arrival.

The room itself was lovely, but a bit on the small side for the price paid (there is only one tariff for double rooms in the hotel, some of which looked bigger, from what we could see, and some of which overlooked the pool and the sea). It lacked storage space and electrical outlets (1 in the room & 1 in the bathroom). There were too many chairs cluttering the room for its size (4 including a footstool). There was a decent sized private balcony (albeit which overlooked a car park).

The bathroom was bright, well appointed and had a good shower. There were fresh towels provided every day, and large beach towels were provided for use at the hotel pools & spa.

The dining room, for breakfast, was a perfect scene of tranquility. The decor, with artwork and textile drapes, the soft background music and the lovely staff made it a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We might have expected a hot buffet included, but the usual continental buffet including fresh fruit, bread, pastries etc. was quite adequate, and coffee was served to the table. We discovered, after a couple of days, that cooked eggs, bacon etc. was being provided from the kitchen to those who asked. This service should have been made clear from day 1.

We were sure that dinner would have been nice as well, but we chose to eat out and explore the local restaurants. The menu appeared to be quite old fashioned and German oriented. Some traditional local cuisine may have tempted us in.

The pool area at the front of the hotel is lovely. Secluded from the road by mature trees and bushes. The pool was always kept very clean and fresh and there are lovely clean toilets and a shower cubicle beside. The surrounding gardens, with stunning trees and plants, were neat and tidy. It would just have been nice to be able to make use of these facilities (see below). We were forced to spend much of our time on the beach, pay for the overpriced sun loungers (and shades), cope with the crowds, the security of our belongings, and swim in the (at the time) algae contaminated water.

There are not enough sun loungers around the pool. These were all commandeered from early morning by guests leaving their towels on them. We witnessed guests doing this; then not using them for the entire day, without any discouragement. There is also a soft seating area, which was not fully utilised, and could have accommodated more sun loungers.

There is a lovely bar and lounge just off the pool area with outdoor seating and a large flat screen TV and grand piano inside. We only used the bar once, for a light lunch and drinks (which were delicious), but were disappointed after paying the bill to discover that we were overcharged (for a meal that wasn't even available at 3pm). The bar staff were extremely rude, discourteous and unprofessional in resolving the issue. We didn't return to the pool bar again for that reason.

There is also an indoor spa area with another pool, gym equipment, sauna and showers. We used this on one occasion, and again the pool and all facilities were beautifully clean.

At night the hotel was quiet, which was very peaceful, we had no problem falling asleep. Bliss.

Room Tip: Tariff seems to be the same regardless of room size. Ask for a bigger one, or one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halidiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    44
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lovely quaint hotel set in the beach resort of Peguera.

Yes the resort and hotel have mainly continetal clientel, but this was no problem whatsoever.

Even though we travelled the 2nd week of August, the hotel did not appear to be busy. There were always sunbeds avaialable around the very nice outdoor pool and at times we were the only ones using it!

The pool bar is very good. Excellent lunches and the staff here (as they were all across the hotel) provide excellent service.

The room we were in was 103 in the extension at the side. It was quite small, but with a lovely stone floor, good bathroom and super outside area. The only reason I have not rated 5 stars is that it was under the dining room and you could hear furniture being dragged around on the floor above from around 0615 each morning! Please chaps. lift and carry at that early hour with guests underneath.......
Also a fridge would have added that ittle bit of extra comfort to have a cold drink on the lovely patio.

The breakfast buffet was as good as I have seen in Europe, with an array of choices and cooked eggs and bacon available, along with the nicest coffee we have ever tasted!

We went for a relaxing break and that is exactly what we got. Thank you Bahia :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just had a super break at Hotel Bahia in Peguera. This is a beautiful, relaxing hotel. It has loads of charm and character, the rooms are lovely, and very clean, the garden is very pretty. We had a wonderful big balcony giving on to the pool! The food is also good and copious. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Thank you very much in particular to our waiters, Mojtar, Jose (Pepe), and Miguel, who were very kind and helpful. While we were at the hotel, there was a very enjoyable jazz/blues concert. We would definitely go back, just for the hotel! My little boy loved it as well. Although the main street of Peguera itself is not very attractive and very commercialised, the hotel is very well situated, with very easy access to the beach and buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big balcony, facing the sea! Perhaps if you'd like it to be a little quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Loved this hotel!
Very tranquil, lovely pool area and gardens. Rooms not massive but perfectly adequate, nice bathroom, large balcony (with a pool view). Comfy beds and spotlessly clean.
We only had B&B and the breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice (cereal, eggs, fruit, meats, cheeses, pastries, bread rolls) and fresh eggs cooked to order (fried, poached anyway you wanted!)
The staff were very polite and friendly.
Hotel is in an excellent location, 2 mins to beach or bars and restaurants. No fridge in room but not a problem as a mini mart next door to get the cold beers from!
Definitely recommend it and we will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view. Rooms 201-205, or 301-305
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Bahia and would definitely return there again.
The rooms are a touch small but the en suites and the overall cleanliness definately makes up for this. No lifts to higher floors though so ok if you are fit !
The grounds and hotel, including the dining room, are unusually clean and crisp and fresh roses daily add a wonderful scent to a charming hotel. Small and quiet the ambience is tranquil away from noise and children.Not a good place for families.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts offer a good fresh comprehensive range of tasty choices. A very nice place to stay and well recommended.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are twin only a few are double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 959SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel along many of our wedding guests. We were treated like royalty. The pool is lovely and the grounds are immaculate. The staff are wonderful and are extremely attentive. The food is great as well with a huge buffet breakfast served until 11am!
We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The manager Joan is fantastic and will accommodate your every need. All the rooms are spacious and cleaned daily most with lovely balconies looking out onto the pool or onto the gardens at the back.
Many of our friends brought their kids/ babies as well and the hotel couldnt have been helpful with all our needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone be it couples, families or solo. We loved our stay at the Bahia and were so sad to leave it - we truly felt part of the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I stayedbhere for a long w/e and loved the hotels charm and service, not too stuffy, just right. Great for couples and families with younger kids. Food was excellent and different each evening.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peguera hotels
1.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
#1 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hesperia Villamil
Hesperia Villamil
#2 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valentin Paguera Hotel & Aptos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
#13 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Lido Park
0.3 mi away
Valentin Reina Paguera
Valentin Reina Paguera
#8 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia

Property: Hotel Bahia
Address: Avenida Peguera 81, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Peguera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#5 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Paguera Hotel
Hotel Bahia Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing