We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Galatzo for a relaxing 3 days after a cruise on board the Thomson Dream.I have nothing bad to say about our experience at all.The staff were excellent in all respects,the accomodation was first class,although we did find there was a smell in the toilet,but we just left the door of that room shut and used the toilet in the bathroom.We found the food was more to other european tastes than English but there was plenty so it was just a matter of pick and choose to your own tastes,although we did try the a la carte restaurant on the Sunday and that was really good.We wanted to book for the following night but unfortunately they didn't open on Mondays.It was only a 20 minute walk into Peguera,but if you didn't fancy the walk the hotel ran a courtesy bus quite frequently.The only down side of this hotel is that it really isn't suitable for people with walking difficulties,as there are quite a few steps to negotiate although ramps are provided for wheelchairs and the like.Altogether it was a most pleasant stay and we would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return there in the not too distant future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil02Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

How shall I describe our Whitsun week holiday at The Laubay Galatzo, Peguera?
Relaxing, calming, soothing, chilling, unwinding, rejuvenating, restful and peaceful.
Yeah, that just about covers it.
Good food, more than acceptable alcoholic drinks, excellent service and an atmosphere that is very conducive to making friends. We met and befriended so many people from all over the UK and this added to our overall experience. Being a Thomson Couples hotel the guests range in age from 20-80 years old, in our view a better mix than in a Gold hotel where the average age is quite high.
The staff in all parts of the hotel make you feel very welcome. The bar staff in particular (Tomas and Roman are bonkers), go out of their way to give an individual service no matter how many people are waiting to be served. The young ladies serving in the Vista De Rey a-la-carte restaurant are a delight and our late in the week visit left us wishing we had booked it more than the once. The main restaurant is very well manned and here too the service is excellent, even at peak times. The only queue you might see is a few people watching and waiting for the freshly cooked fish, meat and stir fry.
There are two pools, both with bars. The main pool sees a young chef cook a little something for lunch by the side of the bar for those who wanted to stay all day in the sun. Admittedly it was mainly burgers or hot dogs but the Paella day was a nice touch. The bottom pool, outside the Vista De Rey, offers greater tranquillity and has a more luxurious setting.
We had booked a room on a high floor with a bath but were handed the keys to a ground floor room with just a shower. On seeing just how nice the room was we decided not to bother changing.
On the entertainment note, we were lucky enough to arrive the same day as a temporary resident duo, Little Rum Club from London. They were excellent. Playing by the main pool for an hour at lunchtime, outside the Vista De Rey in the evening on two occasions, and in the Lobby Bar on the other evenings. On Monday nights a Jazz trio play outside the Vista and they are very good at what they do. There is also another show in the Lobby bar on Mondays. Flamenco dancers took to the floor during our stay.
There is a courtesy bus to Pegeura every day but it only seats 8 so there is normally a wait to use it. This is not really a problem as the driver will keep journeying back and forth until all passengers are dealt with. Maybe a bit more seating could be installed at the queuing area to help the older guests. We spent a couple of hours in Pegeura which is a nice clean resort with plenty of shops and bars and a fairly long and inviting beach. It was however, a relief to get the bus back and leave the hustle and bustle for the relative calm of the Galatzo.
Richard, the Thomson Rep seemed to be available at all times and was both cheery and helpful which was well in keeping with this lovely friendly hotel.
We went on holiday to do absolutely nothing but relax and we found The Luabay Galatzo to be the perfect place to achieve this. We have already recommended this hotel to several of our friends and work colleagues and are ourselves planning our next trip there, hopefully later this year, and we can’t wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Marie G
" Brilliant holiday"

Definitely the place for couples to get away from it all. Set in a high position in lovely grounds away from the traffic and noise of Peguera resort but easily accessible to walkers and drivers. Courtesy bus from hotel is available for anyone to use. Great selection of food and drinks served by very friendly staff. Two a la carte restaurants available (booking required). Two swimming pools each with bar service. The gym facilities were excellent to help keep off the extra pounds!
We would definitely return and only wish we'd booked two weeks!

Room Tip: Best rooms in the bungalows. Good sea view and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for us. We wanted a relaxing holiday, and that is what we got. The food was good, and I can't praise the staff enough. They were all very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar staff in the lobby were extremely good. There was entertainment on every night in the lobby bar, which was very good. We would definately recommend this hotel to our friends.This hotel wouldn't really suit people with any walking difficulties as it is situated at the top of a hill.We would difinately go back here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly hotel this is the one to choose. The villa we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returned home yesterday after 1 week. This was a fantastic holiday. I have never known such lovely, helpful staff, without exception, nothing was too much trouble. A glass of sparkling wine was given to us as we checked in. Everything was included. So lovely and quiet, beautiful setting. Room was lovely too, nice and quiet, stunning views. The food was wonderful and all drinks and snacks were available with a great variety. I would definitely be delighted to return here again. I cannot praise this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the views are simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you have booked the Luabay and have been avidly reading these reviews for reassurance that you made the right choice then fear not - you most certainly did, and how.

Great food, great staff and great outdoor areas, not to mention a top quality gym, indoor swimming pool, spa and sauna area.

The gardens are a joy, kept immaculately clean and full of quirky passages and steps for access to perfectly maintained grassed, treed and flowered areas.

But for my wife and I the pierre de resistance of the Galatzo's outdoor offerings is the outer swimming pool and chill out area at the far end of the complex - a 5star facility if I've ever seen one.

As well as the pool and chill out facilities there is the ala carte restaurant, part of which is used for sit-down lunches which are waiter served (its of course help yourself in the main restaurant and there is obviously much more choice); there's the poolside bar and there's a classy 1950s style bar attached to the restaurant buidling which opens at night.

There are plenty of quality sunbeds around the pool and in the surroundinng gardens; a nice touch is whicker 'benches' which offer a respite from the sun by being placed under extensive mature trees and shrubs. There are very flashy four-poster style sun beds, but these come at a cost -25euros a day!!!!!!ill

Surrounding the whole intimate chill-out area are some of the Galatzo's most impressive rooms - 'villas' or bungalows; we had one which was immacuately furnished and had seaviews.

However, there were complaints about some rooms housed in the main buidlings - mostly ground floor rooms which had no view to speak of. The rep said that the vast majority were allocated other rooms when requested.

Also the ala carte menu was a no, no for my wife and I - no choice of starter or desert and no coffee or cheese and biscuits.

One of the major pluses of the Galatzo was the attitude of the reception, bar and restaurant staff - nothing was too much trouble. Always a smile on their faces, they obviously took great pride in what they were doing.

The sad news is that Luabay have not renewed their contract with Thomson for next year; its seems the corporate world has learnt of the Galatzo's impressive facilities and are moving in.

So thank you Luabay for a great holiday and my wife and I wish you well for the future.

Room Tip: A bungalow in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Trainsboatsandplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent one week at the Luabay and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel was clean with friendly and helpful staff. The facilities were good, food enjoyable and the complex although busy did not appear so as it is a large site spread out with a number of different complexes. The only draw backs are 1) if you have difficulty climbing or walking as it is set on a hillside with lots of steps and 2) we arrived late at night and would have liked to been shown to our accommodation and the signage was not overly clear. Otherwise this is a great location / hotel and we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheeklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.8 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
926 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotel Lido Park
#13 of 52 in Peguera
217 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
Price Range: £85 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing