We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scorchio!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scorchio!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent Holiday, all inclusive! lovely
ps bring your chinos or incur the wrath of elderly men who look disapprovingly at tailored shorts for dinner, "rules are rules" is one quip I heard while trying to enjoy my dinner...I for one feel that this rule is a farce, and if your opinion of class is so limited you have issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tone910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    386
    150
    52
    33
See reviews for
125
783
17
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As with all reviews they are peoples opinions, and we are sorry Robbie of Scotland but we did not see the Hotel as you did,and GOOD LUCK by the way with your treatment, we have been there.
When we booked the holiday and with what we paid, we did not expect anything other than a cheap and cheerful Hotel, but when we arrived, the cheerful was missing.
We went through reception, and were given our room number and we were told to go through the far door, no porters no nothing just find your own way. We don't think we have ever been anywhere that did not have any porters to give you a little help, whatever the status of the Hotel,.
We eventually arrived at our room which was spacious but dark and not a lot in it.The first day we asked for another pllow, but we stayed all week but did not get one. There was a fridge but no mini bar, very unusual for an all inclusive.
The food was mediocre at best and although we were all inc. we went down to Peguera 3 times for dinner. The 2 a' la carte restaurants were a let down and when we were in 2 couples left before being served and went to the buffet for dinner.
There was a dress code for dinner but not adhered to although there are signs informing you what the dress code is. If you are going to have a dress code adhere to it, or don't have a dress code.
We were very dissapointed with the whole experience and we went there not expecting much at all and we did not even get that. To summarise, at the end of September this will no longer be a Thomson Hotel and I think because of this they have reduced ther investment and commitment to it.
This above points are not just our opinion but all around the Hotel you could hear people complaining about similar things.

Jean and Alan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent holiday. As my husband was due for cancer treatment upon our return we were looking for a relaxing all inclusive holiday to set him up for what lay ahead. We couldn't have asked for a better result. From the day we arrived where we were given champagne on arrival to the day we left when they laid on an out of hours breakfast this hotel and it's staff could not have been better.

Richard the Thompson rep deserves special mention for looking after us and organising a surprise treat in our room for my birthday which occurred while we were there.

Helen and Alejandro the Animation Team kept us amused throughout our stay but not in an 'in your face way' like some other hotels we have stayed in.

The resident duo Penny and Rob aka The Notes were especially good. They even played our wedding song as a special request on our last night. I could listen to them over and over again and wish them good luck in their recording career.

As the World Cup started while we were there I worried about it taking over the hotel but with two pool/bar areas you could escape it if you wanted to. But with Dutch and Spanish bar staff it was great fun to be involved in the first games. Special mention to Lars, Roman and Tomas the bar staff who made our evenings the most entertaining!

The beauty of this hotel is you have two pool areas so if you want to escape annoying guests (sad to say one loud mouthed Welsh man did put a damper on a few days of our holiday) you have somewhere else to go.

We enjoyed our stay here so much my parents are now booked for September. Such a shame it won't be a Thompson resort next year as I am sure we would have booked again at the drop of a hat.

Now sitting with my husband during his chemo we can look back on this holiday with fond memories and remember all the amazing sunsets we watched at the Vista de Rey listening to Rob and Penny.

Tips : ask for a room in the Levant Building. Book your tables at the Tapas bar and Vista de Rey on site restaurants well in advance and you can also book more than once. No need to take your own beach towel as ones can be acquired with returnable deposit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank robbiedogScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a week at the Galatzo I would definitely recommend a visit. The hotel has a very laid back, relaxed feel about it.

Our room was based in the main hotel overlooking the pool and sea. It was more of a suite than a room as it had a lounge area with sofa/tv/bistro set etc and a large balcony. Everything was beautifully clean and well maintained.

The large, main pool has a few day time activities while the smaller pool lower down in the complex has a more chilled out feel to it. We were told at our welcome meeting that the hotel didn't allow people reserving sunbeds with towels....sadly this wasn't true and was a bit of an issue (particularly around the main pool). It's worth noting that you don't need to pack towels. You can hire towels from the hotel for a €15 deposit which is fab.

There are quite a few steps around the complex as it is set into a hillside which works out well for working off the lovely food. The main restaurant is buffet style but also has a chef cooking stir fried vegetables, fajitas, squid, veal, steak etc.... There is a lovely tapas restaurant which serves amazing food and an a la carte restaurant which both have to be booked. The only negative (and very minor) issue is that the person that these two restaurants had to be booked with was rarely available when we were told they would be.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. They can't do enough to help. The hotel runs a shuttle service into town each hour which was always exactly on time and if there were too many people for the journey they'd come back as many times as necessary.

I feel the entertainment was pitched just right for the hotel and it's clientele (however the entertainment ends at 11pm and the bar closes at midnight). The entertainment staff were lovely and the Thomson rep was readily available. Our flight in was really late and we arrived after the bar and restaurant was closed (although reception is 24hr) but they'd plated up a lovely cold snack ready for our arrival which was perfect.

We heard rumours that the hotel will very shortly be removing the all inclusive option which is a shame as there is nothing around the hotel within easy walking distance. We also heard that Thomson may not be there next year so I'd definitely recommend a visit while you can. I've looked at prices for next year and it's showing no availability so maybe it's true......

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Got back from this hotel on 7th june feeling a bit disappointed.We had paid for a sea view and maybe last year our room would have had a sea view but it was all over grown with palm trees.
The room however was basic a little dated but was kept clean.
The dining room however was a different matter.The food was quite often cold.The plates were on most occasions dirty and the cups were all chipped.Im no snob but that's not what im use to.
The reception staff had asked for our passports and tickets on arrival.When we went back for them they had lost our tickets and was adamant we hadn't given them to them.They were really rude.Good job our rep Richard stepped in and sorted it all for us.
The entertainment was really shocking.Probably the worst I have seen.For a couple of nights we over heard that they were still auditioning for acts so why wasn't this done before the season started.Also we were all cramped into a small room.On the last night of our stay that had the stage outside all working and the atmosphere was a lot better then.
in the uk we were given a list of all the excursions to do whilst there.we decided to wait until we got there to book although we really fancied the 4x4 safari day out.When we got there we were told that it wasn't available for british....then why did I get given a list with it on I ask myself.
Also it should state in the Thomson book that the nearest town Paguera does not cater for the british.
Apparently this hotel is not going to be available in the Thomson brochure for next year.I wouldn't have wanted to come back.
There was a couple of positives....One being the staff.They work lots of hours and are so very friendly and made me laugh on lots of occasions...especially Tomas.The other was the swimming pool at vista del rey.No matter what time you went you could always get a sunbed and it really was like paradise down there.it was so peaceful.We spent a lot of time down there.
The weather was really good to us also.
Hopefully the hotel will get all the slip ups sorted for people going later in the season.

Room Tip: We had room 332 which they said was one of the best rooms in the hotel.The room was nice and had aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a bit late but I felt I had to write a review. We stayed here on an all inclusive holiday at the beginning of May, which happened to be the first week of the summer season. It is a lovely hotel with some amazing views. The hotel and gardens were well kept and clean. We had 2 evening meals at the restaurant by the bottom pool and they were great. We also ate in the tapas restaurant which again was good. The food in the main dining room was of a good standard with plenty of choice. The rooms were spacious with excellent bathrooms. all staff were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more accessable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked Luabay Galatzo for two weeks, 3rd to 17th June and what an amazing, relaxing holiday it was. We were greeted with bubbly on arrival and our cases taken to our room. We were on the third floor overlooking the pool with a partial sea view.
Richard, our Thomson Rep was brilliant. Very informative during the welcome meeting, helpful and friendly throughout the holiday and really made us feel welcome. Helen who organised the entertainment was really lovely too, very friendly and a pleasure to chat to.
There are 2 pools, both equally as nice and getting sun beds was not a problem.
3 restaurants to choose from, 2 you needed to book in advance and all had their own character, and with no extra costs with us being all inclusive. We loved the Vista de Rey restaurant, mainly for the calm feel and entertainment. Penny and Rob, the English duo were superb, very talented and we especially liked the Jazz band. The bar staff were funny and had so much energy and the restaurant staff also worked very hard; Hiring a car was easy too.
The hotel and grounds are on lots of levels and a lovely venue to watch the sunset.
Walking down to. Pegeura took about half an hour and was a challenge walking back up! You could take the courtesy mini bus which went 3 times in the morning on the hour and 3 times late afternoon, but we needed to walk off all the delicious food!
To sum up, a fabulous holiday with great enthusiastic staff.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and was quiet with lovely views. The trees obscure the sea quite a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Villamil
Hesperia Villamil
#2 of 52 in Peguera
433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#6 of 52 in Peguera
156 reviews
2.7 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
1,051 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
449 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Property: Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing