We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Having returned from here today I really do wish I was gong back soon.

Positives - good selection of food for all tastes. It's peaceful. Grounds are well maintained. Rooms are a nice size. Staff are helpful. Pools are adequate for the amount of people. Vista de reay restaurant was superb.

Negatives - the bathrooms are a little dated but don't let that put you off. Putting towels out early is a must. Lots of steps. Bins get full quickly. The shuttle bus doesn't run in the evening but a taxi is only 5 euros. When using the shower, be careful as the door has a gap underneath and it floods the floor.

Top tips - have lunch at the vista de reay restaurant everyday and make sure you book early to get your free evening meal there. Join in with some of the activities. Get to know the waiters in the restaurants, it saves time. Wake up calls are free and if you have a really early flight and will miss breakfast, let reception know and they will do you some (even though it is a strange combination). Ask for extra pillows if you want them.

Enjoy it this hotel it is really good and it is a shame it won't be a Thomson holiday next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    386
    151
    52
    33
See reviews for
125
784
18
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel and relaxed atmosphere the second pool is much quieter that the main pool near the main complex however this is also very quiet so both are as good as each otehr however the beds are more luxurious which helps it become a much more romantic.

The food in the hotel was very good always a lot to choose from no matter what time you went especially the deserts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and fiancé have just come back from a week at the Galatzo hotel and we had the most relaxing time. Our first experience at the airport was pretty poor as the Thompson rep put us on the wrong bus and we're quite rude when we weren't sure of the 'resort' we were on (it was 3am!) luckily the coach driver added us onto the end of his list!
Our room was okay, nice big bathroom but there was a hint of the smell of mould.
We tended to stay at the slightly louder pool (which was still quiet) as we wanted to be able to have a giggle and talk and not feel like we had to be quiet. The only reason I haven't given his 5/5 is because my new cream bikini went green! As did my white sun dress and my partner's swim shorts... ph levels must've been high!
The reps were really good, particularly Helen who would always come round and check how we were. Bar staff work incredibly hard. Shout out to Lars who is really funny!
The range of activities was good: archery, shooting, aqua gym, ping pong...I think they could've done football or water polo in the bigger pool.
Pick your sun beds wisely at the big pool...there's a bit too much shade so people were changing sun beds midway through the day!
Food was really good-we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. Tapas was a bit disappointing as it was essentially potato and fish! The al la carte restaurant was amazing.
Entertainment was really good- particularly the house duo Penny and Rob who are fantastic! Really down to earth and will spend time talking to you after their set and incredibly talented. Drinks queue at the bar was a bit strange but...orderly I guess?
We'd read that he average age was 70+ but we found that couples were either in their 20s or 40-50s. We made great friends with all ages!
Overall, a great holiday with friendly people and good food. Would recommend had it not been changing hands in a few months.
Now to try and get chlorine out of my clothes!!

Room Tip: We had a villa which was nice and bigger than the hotel rooms. One man had a suite which had a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first holiday without the kids, we went with my sister and brother in law to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary (double wedding). Everything was great, food, pool. Balinese beds, staff, room, drink and entertainment. Couldn't have asked for better staff, so not sure why the negative words on them. Alexandro (entertainment team) was such a great part of our holiday. The only negative things were the glasses and plates left around the pool area at times and my husband got a nasty burn from the steam room (sent company to Thompson's). It's quite a walk to the beach, which we did but we wasn't really there for that. We were in a upstaged bungalow type room, so I guess that was why we have no complaints there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kkatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from our first stay at the Luabay Galatzo. both my husband and myself loved every aspect of this hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was amazing literally spoilt for choice. If you don't like the food here you must be incredibly fussy eaters!. We loved both the Tapas and Vista Del Ray restaurants. Only criticism was the service at the Vista Del Ray was poor. We sat without any service for over 15 minutes and had to call the waiter for a glass of water in the July heat this wasn't good. The scenery in and around the hotel grounds and swimming pools is so pretty. We are sorry we have missed this hotel until now! We have travelled far and wide and this equals many of the best hotels we have stayed in. This is a fantastic hotel in a wonderful couples only location. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. We hope to come back again one day and are very sad Thomsons are leaving!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Levante if you have mobility problems too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a week here in June this year. I can say this hotel by far is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. Food was excellent. Freshly cooked veal, pork and fish etc served throughout dining. Deserts are available in abundance and waiting staff are more than helpful if you take the time engage them in conversation. Relaxing setting and if you stay near the main pool you can get served drinks within seconds. I genuinely can't understand how people can have a bad thing to say about this hotel. We would definitely go back if only the hotel wasn't changing to a family hotel this October.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent a lovely relaxing week at this beautiful hotel at the end of July. It was our first holiday without children and we were hoping for a quiet break and to be spoilt. It did not fall far short.

Initially our room was very dark and looked on to a sandy bank but within 30 minutes of contacting reception we were upgraded to a junior suite with limited sea view at no extra cost. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds on a hillside (hundreds of steps) but is very spacious with two pools. We spent the majority of our time at the lower pool which is very quiet with amazing views and you are able to get a sun bed with parasol well into the late morning. Very little towel reserving. It is however woefully understaffed with two girls working very hard to serve food at lunchtime and staff the bar. Be prepared to wait. Unfortunately in the late afternoon the residents of villas nearby sneak in to use the pool, some with children. Strange for an adults only hotel. We raised this with the staff but were told it was allowed!

The main restaurant is typical all inclusive, no problem as that is what you expect with enough variety to suit every taste. The tapas and a la carte are well worth a visit, good food and lovely to be waited on.

The evening entertainment is excellent with an English duo on most nights. As stated in other reviews however, the queue for the bar is ludicrous, sometimes 15 people, but at least it's orderly and the staff are working hard to serve everyone, just order extra drinks on your visit there.

Palma city is well worth a visit, 25 euros each way in a taxi.

The Thomson rep unfortunately was useless, she didn't know any answers to questions and didn't really seem to care. Advised us we needed to give 24 hour notice to order breakfast on the day we were leaving due to early start, at the leavers meeting 12 hours before we were due to depart.

All in all though a good holiday, nice hotel and would recommend.

Room Tip: In the lavante building ensure your room ends in an even number
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiresfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Villamil
Hesperia Villamil
#2 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#8 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.7 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Property: Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing