We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing break at a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break at a little gem”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What an amazing week! Before arriving at the hotel we had read the reviews and although mostly good there were a few that worried us. However after spending a week at the Luabay Galatzo hotel all that we can say is what an incredibly dyllic resort this is! We are a mid-20s couple who were looking for a classy hotel and this place more than exceeded our expectations. The hotel is set in the hilltops near Paguera, perfectly tranquil with incredible views of the sea and Majorca mountains. The hotel itself has beautiful gardens and two nice sized pools that had plenty of sun beds surrounding them. The main pool had a relaxing sofa area and VIP beds around the outskirts which added luxury and class to the hotel. The second pool which we used throughout had a bar open all day and regular entertainment throughout the day. The Thomson holiday event organiser Helen was always on hand with activities and the hotel leisure staff put on activities throughout the day. The hotel duet singers performed most days with covers of modern and old classic songs and featured a number of times in the evening entertainment. Evening entertainment included the duet on 3 occasions, a Buble/Sinatra tribute, a jazz group along with a fashion show in the week we were here. Although not much variety it was entertaining and the hilarity of a middle aged guest singing karaoke was social suicide but tears were running down my face! Now the food and drink, which lets face it is one of most important thing about holidays, did not disappoint. As all inclusive guests we had buffet breakfast lunch and dinner, with snacks such as BBQ and paella served poolside daily. The food had great variety and was good quality, although the A la Carte and tapas menus were limited and not as filling as we hoped. But overall we ate like kings all week which was great! The drinks were the only slight let down, as there was only San Miguel as the lager option and the spirits were not well known brands, plus the cocktails were not of our usual quality in the bars we are used to back home. Nonetheless it wasn't anything to complain about and it did not stop us having a good time. Furthermore the hotel had a decent gym and excellent spa facilities including an indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and ice bath. Nice little touches along with the hammocks in the siesta part of the terrace. Lastly Paguera itself, which after a free shuttle bus service from the hotel, is a historic town that had some lovely little bars and bistros along with a few nice clean beaches. The town itself looked well maintained and some great viewpoints, I'm sure you can find your next Facebook profile picture on the seafront. Overall we fully recommend the hotel and the holiday resort, the weather was scorching and if you are looking for a beautiful hotel that has plenty to offer then go to the Luabay Galatzo hotel! 9/10

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room for that extra luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    397
    158
    53
    33
See reviews for
133
820
18
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel facilities and grounds are great. The food was even better than expected however the hotel resturants and bars are very understaffed resulting in poor service.

It's a shame as it really detracts from the overall experience at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheekychipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just come back from week at this hotel with hubby,
Lovely staff who were friendly and helpful from the reception staff to the cleaners who all had a smile and a hello for you.
Agree some very small negatives chipped plates etc(so what didnt spoil our holiday)
Understaffed but staff who were there running it excellent.
Room was good had a balcony shower bed etc all you need really
Food was very good lots of choice hot and the staff were polite even thou I did get asked to move so some bigwigs could sit where I was, he did ask nicely so I did nt mind really..
Special mention to Lars who was a pleasure to meet Helen who chatted to all to make sure they were ok...

Room Tip: If you have problems with mobility advise you to ask for main hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 855katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Mixed feelings about his hotel. My husband and I booked this last minute through Thomsons Couples range. On arriving in our room, after a problem with the missing door cards we found the air-con wasn't working properly and although we had requested a pool view we were overlooking the car park so I went to Reception and explained, there were no pool views left but they could offer us a "bungalow" so we went to have a look, it was at the far end of the resort and what we saw on the way through seemed OK, the bungalow was a suite without a kitchen but had 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies and I could see the sea, lovely spacious area for a week, much better feeling so we accepted. We went back to get out luggage to find someone looking at the air-con, very quick maintenance service.

Other reviews mentioned a charge for iron, ironing board and safes, we didn't pay for any of it so if you are charged query it.

Towels are rentable at 15 euros each not mentioned at checkin but at the bottom of paperwork handed with room cards etc, Water in the room is not automatic, you can request one bottle a day from Reception, strange for any hotel and especially all inclusive.

There is a timeshare complex next to the hotel they seem to think they can come and go as they please using the facilities, although those on All Inclusive are given bands some of the staff still serve people at the bar without and also allow them to use the pool. 3 children turned up one day decided to occupy the 2 sun beds next to us at the quiet pool. I reported this to the Thomson rep who advised me she would mention to the hotel management as the overall owner of the timeshare complex has advised their visitors they can use the pools etc, not happy that we pay full price and other get the use the facilities. She said she would get back to me, we hadn't heard anything so at our departure meeting I asked what the feedback was and was advised the hotel would be speaking to the timeshare company.

Quiet pool clean and very relaxing when you don't have the children in the timeshare whining.

Staffing levels were poor in all areas, queuing for drinks in the lobby bar every night, waiting for ages to be served at the quiet pool.

The A La Carte restaurant can be booked, not many tables per night when they are open, menu for main course the same every night and really not a great standard. Chipped crockery.

Tapas restaurant was OK but wasn't what I expected as tapas.

Buffet wasn't bad, great variety of food for breakfast, lunch and evening meal, albeit quite a lot of processed food but at least there was fresh cooked fish and meat each day. Eggs and omelets were not cooked to order so could be laying out for a while.

Chipped crockery in abundance in buffet restaurant.

Staff all very friendly even though they are under pressure.

Evening entertainment good in parts, the resident group the Notes were very good. Male singer was great. Jazz band really disappointing. Helen tried to get everyone involved.

Lots of day time activities if you wish to take part.

2 pools, main pool had all the activities and was always packed, we chose the quiet pool to soak up the sun and relax.

Peguera itself was very disappointing. Was hoping for more of a Spanish feel but found it has a high German influence. The timeshare properties were more in keeping with what I imagine Spain to me like

There is no way this should be classed 4 star, 3 at a push.

Staff work hard but there should be more as service for the number of customers is too slow.

We certainly wouldn't go back to the area or hotel as not for us.

For anyone who read my previous review I apologise if it was at all offensive, Trip Advisor removed it I think because I used an inappropriate word with stars.

Room Tip: If you are not happy see if they have a different location, we had one of the bungalows which was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pound50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Having returned from here today I really do wish I was gong back soon.

Positives - good selection of food for all tastes. It's peaceful. Grounds are well maintained. Rooms are a nice size. Staff are helpful. Pools are adequate for the amount of people. Vista de reay restaurant was superb.

Negatives - the bathrooms are a little dated but don't let that put you off. Putting towels out early is a must. Lots of steps. Bins get full quickly. The shuttle bus doesn't run in the evening but a taxi is only 5 euros. When using the shower, be careful as the door has a gap underneath and it floods the floor.

Top tips - have lunch at the vista de reay restaurant everyday and make sure you book early to get your free evening meal there. Join in with some of the activities. Get to know the waiters in the restaurants, it saves time. Wake up calls are free and if you have a really early flight and will miss breakfast, let reception know and they will do you some (even though it is a strange combination). Ask for extra pillows if you want them.

Enjoy it this hotel it is really good and it is a shame it won't be a Thomson holiday next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel and relaxed atmosphere the second pool is much quieter that the main pool near the main complex however this is also very quiet so both are as good as each otehr however the beds are more luxurious which helps it become a much more romantic.

The food in the hotel was very good always a lot to choose from no matter what time you went especially the deserts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and fiancé have just come back from a week at the Galatzo hotel and we had the most relaxing time. Our first experience at the airport was pretty poor as the Thompson rep put us on the wrong bus and we're quite rude when we weren't sure of the 'resort' we were on (it was 3am!) luckily the coach driver added us onto the end of his list!
Our room was okay, nice big bathroom but there was a hint of the smell of mould.
We tended to stay at the slightly louder pool (which was still quiet) as we wanted to be able to have a giggle and talk and not feel like we had to be quiet. The only reason I haven't given his 5/5 is because my new cream bikini went green! As did my white sun dress and my partner's swim shorts... ph levels must've been high!
The reps were really good, particularly Helen who would always come round and check how we were. Bar staff work incredibly hard. Shout out to Lars who is really funny!
The range of activities was good: archery, shooting, aqua gym, ping pong...I think they could've done football or water polo in the bigger pool.
Pick your sun beds wisely at the big pool...there's a bit too much shade so people were changing sun beds midway through the day!
Food was really good-we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. Tapas was a bit disappointing as it was essentially potato and fish! The al la carte restaurant was amazing.
Entertainment was really good- particularly the house duo Penny and Rob who are fantastic! Really down to earth and will spend time talking to you after their set and incredibly talented. Drinks queue at the bar was a bit strange but...orderly I guess?
We'd read that he average age was 70+ but we found that couples were either in their 20s or 40-50s. We made great friends with all ages!
Overall, a great holiday with friendly people and good food. Would recommend had it not been changing hands in a few months.
Now to try and get chlorine out of my clothes!!

Room Tip: We had a villa which was nice and bigger than the hotel rooms. One man had a suite which had a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,165 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#11 of 52 in Peguera
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valentin Paguera Hotel & Aptos
22.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Property: Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#6 Family Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing