We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, but not four star accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cala Fornells
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but not four star accommodation”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Cala Fornells, mainly due to location and the lovely staff. However the hotel itself is looking tired, the decore in the rooms and common areas is very dated (green plastic chandeliers anyone?) and the pool area is not furnished at all. Interesting that the last reviewer received a bowl of fruit, bottle of wine and water on arrival, sadly this was not the case for us. We paid extra for a superior room which was very large with a big terrace and a beautiful view of the water. The mini bar was not stocked, but could be on request. There aren't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and an iron and ironing board can be requested. The in room safe is 3€/day and 10€ deposit is required for each beach towel which could be exchanged for a fresh towel between noon and 8pm on the top floor pool deck. There were four English channels on the tv (12" which could only be viewed from the bed, not the couch which was a shame) with no movies etc. Free wifi in the lobby and terrace only.

We ate breakfast in the hotel daily and dinner on three nights. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful if you arrive at the start; food is not regularly restocked. The eggs (scrambled everyday and either hard boiled or fried) aren't made fresh but kept warm in a bain-marie therefore a either dry and warm or oily and warm. Dinner was 19€ for a salad and dessert buffet with daily specials and a choice of two main dishes. The buffet food was fresh and tasty, the mains were precooked (after ordering they took less than 30 seconds to arrive at your table) and tasteless. The choice was usually meat or fish with a sauce which was reminiscent of my 1980s cookbooks. It was fun watching the staff collect the left overs for their own breakfast and dinner just before closing! We walked into town for dinner once, which was less than half the price and twice as nice. The walk is beautiful and there are a few nice restaurants on the way that look worth visiting. The hotel also runs a shuttle bus four times a day to and from the town.

There were a few small systems in place that we found odd, eg deck chairs could be reserved from 7am the morning prior, so if you're a late sleeper then you often miss a good spot. If you forget to change your beach towel the night before, you have to wait until midday to do so. Dinner reservations need to be made the morning of, and unless you have booked half-board, you are encouraged to have dinner later as those guests are given priority. The hotel predominantly caters to English and German elderly couples, a lot of whom seem to visit every year. If this is you, then you'll love it! We felt a bit out of place being only in our early 30s!

Sometimes it's the small details that make a difference to the overall experience; such details made this hotel feel less than four stars.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank emahamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    77
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
111
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When we arrived at Cala Fornells I was struck by how beautiful the cove is and the hotel is nestled across the road. Not that you would mind as the only traffic would be holiday makers like ourselves. The reception staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble for them. The room were perfect which was complete with a basket of fruit, bottle of wine and two bottles of water. Our view from our room was one of looking over our cove with sand and a beautiful expanse of blue Mediterranean waters. I can't praise this hotel enough. Free towels, free tennis, free parking all of which I have had to pay for in different hotels. The nearest town is Peguera where we would taxi in and walk back (walk was about 10 mins and all downhill). Would definitely go back - as some many other guests do. Has two swimming pools - one indoor and one outside. Fitness room - again free, with sauna etc.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated so I couldn't tell you what room to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This family run hotel dates originally from the post-war period; its long-serving staff try very hard to please; it has a number of guest who return year after year.

The public spaces are beginning to show their age; some feel gloomy and subterranean: one fellow guest compared the windowless library to a Chapel of Rest.

The buffet dinner menu, with only two choices of main course was a bit repetitive and limited; boiled eggs with mayo and a dot of ketchup were clearly the Chef’s speciality.

The Head Waiter does have certain resemblance to Manuel from Fawlty Towers but is so well- intended it is difficult to be too critical, but some other guests didn't see the funny side.

On busy days at the beach there is a formal system of reserving recliners, but any such explanation seemed to have been "lost in translation". Wine coolers at dinner and other times were a similarly selective offering.

Having paid for a Superior room upgrade we were irritated to discover the safe required a 3 Euro daily payment; there was no full length mirror for the fashion conscious; the air-con was barely adequate, but thankfully opening a window allowed in a cooling sea breeze.

Overall it is perfectly fine for a short break, and by local standards represents reasonable value for money, but don’t expect a Four Star experience. A sense of humour definitely is an advantage. We intend returning to Mallorca, but probably not to Cala Fornells.

Room Tip: Do clarify exactly what is meant by a Superior room: they do seem to vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herestaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Took the shuttle bus from the airport which was excellent value at 26 Euros return for two, but it did take two hours so be prepared. However to get a taxi would have been 120 euros so we thought it was worth the journey time. Maybe I would recommend exploring other options. It was well worth the wait as we felt we had found our perfect holiday hideaway on arrival. It was quiet, peaceful and a very pretty setting. The beach was a stone throw from the hotel with gorgeous sand and clear aqua green sea. Our room was perfect, very comfortable, cleaned daily and balcony over looking the sea. We did b and b as we enjoy eating out. We didnt think the breakfast was very good so we were glad we chose this option. Of an evening we walked into Peguera along the winding road which was hilly but easily doable. All along the way our pretty, private villas which makes the journey very interesting. We splashed out and eat at Casa Luis which we highly recommend. We had mixed weather so took advantage of the hotel's free tennis court every day. This place is great for a relaxing, recharge-the-batteries break. Recommend 100 percent.

Room Tip: Think all rooms had a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMcD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is in a very pleasant quiet bay - quite small with not a lot of sand and most sunbeds are on various levels of rock. The hotel itself is a bit dated but the location, excellent staff and largish rooms make up for this. The beds were quite comfy - we like a firm mattress. The covers were faded nylon though - a little investment in the decor could transform the room. Each room has a nice balcony overlooking the terrace and sea - with a little table and 2 chairs.

The breakfast buffet is extensive and quite well prepared. Glass of bubbly included if required.

The roof top pool could be great but it's a bit 'under-developed and, again could be transformed with a little TLC. There was a cold breeze blowing when we were there which made this space almost unusable without a thick woolly.

The terrace is very nicely laid out and there is excellent table service at very reasonable prices.

Overall very good value at the price we paid but not quite a true four star hotel.

The nearest quality restaurants (of which there are a number) are 15-20 minutes walk away on a very hilly and rather dangerous curving road - but well worth the walk. Our favourites: La Gritta and La Gran Tortuga.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Usually stay in Peguera but had a lower budget this year having just moved house. We couldn't fault this hotel for cleanliness, service, food and location. The only problem I had was the weather in early May which wasn't hot enough for me. Parking was very convenient and safe with an allocated parking space at the rear of the hotel. The only criticism is small which is the cost of the safe in the room which I think was 3 euro per day - rather steep in my opinion it being free at our usual hotel in Peguera.

Room Tip: As far as I could ascertain all the rooms have sea view which was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellors500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel last June for 4 nights... Without our 3 wonderful children. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff are amazing especially Roberto guest Manager.
The Hotel is immaculate and not just in the public areas but the rooms too. Bathrooms balconies etc. pool area are all cleaned thoroughly every morning.
The beach is gorgeous small and again immaculate...
I would say it is not suitable for v young children as there is a road in between the hotel and beach and steps down to the beach but we will take our children once our youngest is not a busy 2 year old.
We have just booked to go back again this June for my husbands Birthday and we will continue to go back here every year...
Before this we stayed at The port Adriano Hotel over 15 times in the last 5 years we like to have a 5 star standard holiday and The Hotel Cala Fornells is now our preferred choice.
Mr & Mrs Williams

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
#15 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
#1 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#10 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Fornells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Fornells

Property: Hotel Cala Fornells
Address: Carretera Cala Fornells 76, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peguera
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Peguera
#8 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Fornells 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cala Fornells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Fornells Peguera
Cala Fornells Majorca
Hotel Cala Fornells Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing