We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy going relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cala Fornells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cala Fornells
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easy going relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Cala Fornells for 4 nights early April. We'll run hotel, clean with a good restaurant. The bedroom was cleaned and restocked every day. The hotel is is situated in a quiet small bay with a small beach area opposite and with good walks to the woods behind the hotel in the direction of Camp de Mar. We had a car so the free parking by key fob to the garage was an added bonus. Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank South_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    75
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
105
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel around 10 years ago and this was our first chance to revisit while staying nearby in Camp de Mar. Little has changed - an idyllic location overlooking the bay towards Peguera with a lovely small beach in front of the hotel along with sunbathing decks along the waterside. Being a dead end the traffic can become congested as there is also parking nearby for a popular series of rambles through the pine forest and across the headland to adjacent coves and all the way to Camp de Mar - fine for the fit and able but a challenge otherwise. The hotel is one of three here and enjoys the best patio overlooking the bay - in fact we spent a good few hours this time just relaxing, enjoying first coffee and then a light lunch and beer - not a massive menu choice but perfectly acceptable for lunch and the location is superb. The walk into Peguera is around 20-30 minutes depending on fitness and speed and this has all the amenities of a mature resort, including supermarkets, beach, restaurants and shops. there is also a bus service to Palma and, in the opposite direction, Port De Andratz. Taxis are also plentiful for those who prefer. Happy to find that some things don't change with the passing years we may well add this to our list for future visits, but not in high season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifftech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the hotel, we had a fabulous time. The hotel itself is quaint and the rooms are lovely. Great views looking out to the ocean. The room as was the hotel was spotless. Ok so it may be a little bit dated but this adds to the charm of the place. The staff at reception and the bar were excellent. The breakfast was basic but all you could need but what a view from the breakfast room, stunning. We found all the staff friendly and attentive. We hired a car for the whole 8 days and were given a dedicated parking space free of charge. The roof terrace is wonderful, catching the last of the sun with an ice cold glass of cava. The boys here are wonderful and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would return and are hoping to next year. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening but chose 2 restaurants, Casa Luis and (the one opposite with fantastic sea views) both great. We usually pick the end of September as the temperatures are comfortable, I have to say the temperatures were much higher than average! We had room service 3 times, pizza, salad and wine which was lovely as the view from the balcony was beautiful. There is a little bit of noise from coaches dropping off but this didn't bother us at all and certainly didn't have any impact on our stay.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chamberlainspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice hotel at the beach, away from the busy boulevards. Good place to use as starting point for hikes through the beautifull nature of Mallorca. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast is good, but the dinner (buffet) is a disappointment.

Room Tip: the rooms at the first floor, facing the sea, have a very nice and large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Friends that have stayed here spoke very highly of the Hotel and in fact have returned on several occasions so I suppose this speaks volumes... our experience was pleasant but would not return purely because there are too many reasons not to.. it is expensive for what you get.. The hotel is very dated but amusing... there is no proper bar and a singer appears once or twice a week to sing on the terrace outside.. the terrace is on the road which is a dead end...and there are constant coaches arriving collecting and dropping off guests at this Hotel, its smaller sister hotel the Petit Fornells and the only other one in cala fornells (the Coronado) the coaches are really noisy and cumbersome and spend ages polluting the area with their engines.. a massive problem for the people outside eating or drinking outside ... the pretty bay is lovely but not really a beach.. this again is noisy and busy and you can hear the coaches and vehicles all day long which ruins the ambience.... the room we had was facing the road but had a nice sea view...complimentary toiletries are horrendous so take your own and the pillows are pancake thin so ask for 3 or 4... the hotel is absolutely not geared up for and i have no idea why anyone would want to take their children there as there is nothing for them to do...... unfortunately the only two children in the hotel whilst we were there were in the room next door and were soooooo noisy.... it made our stay really unpleasant because the the walls are paper thin .... the reception staff were very helpful and perfectly lovely but the dining staff were awful... we found them to be unpleasant, slow and lazy at breakfast and dinner.. we only ate in the restaurant twice at night as the food was disgusting.. we found a few lovely restaurants nearby.... casa Luis and La Gritta which were fabulous... there is a bar opposite the Hotel called Es Viver and is attached to the Hotel Coronado.. the food and staff in there are also pretty rubbish .. the bar is very loud at night and the noise carries across the bay.... there is a great roof terrace on the hotel which is lovely and has great views and is quiet.. there is a little snack bar which serves a fabulous club sandwich and great coffee. the staff up on the roof are great.. escape up there if you go.... regardless of the hotel issues and the coaches, we had a nice holiday as the weather was good - we were there for a friends birthday but don't think we would return. there are so many other more beautiful places... we went in the local town of Peguera which is actually very pleasant.. their are the usual gifts shops but they are of a better quality than the usual 'kiss me quick' places.. nice cafes, nice bag and clothes shops if you like that type of thing.. there is a brilliant hire company called trike hire which is well worth a visit.. take a trike on a tour into the mountains for 4/5 hours.. apart from our pals birthday party, this was the highlight and absolutely the best thing we did all week.. ..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HELEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had booked his hotel for 6 nights and were so disappointed that we left after 2 nights with a penalty. The room we were given was extremely small, the bathroom as well. Everything is very old fashioned, a television that you cannot find nowadays anywhere else, I guess.

All the rooms have a nice view on a beach, but between this beach and the hotel there is a very noisy road, with trafic bothering you starting from 4 o clock in the morning until around 22:00 in the evening, so impossible to sleep with an opened window. When you are at the beach you can hear the cars passing by, the tourist buses as well, no rest at all.

I really would not recoment you going there, there are so many nice and quite places in Majorca that are much cheaper. I would give this hotel 3* and not 4, the only thing that was nice is the staff, but even though there were still free rooms in the hotel, when we left they made us pay a penalty, they could have done a commercial effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibi20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here one night as we were overbooked at the Petit Cala Fornells. We had a nice room with a nice view of the sea. We did use the option of the sun loungers at the beach, where you can reserve you own "set", so no race to the beach to get a "set" before breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaneReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peguera
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Villamil
Hesperia Villamil
#2 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
#15 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
#1 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#7 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Fornells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Fornells

Property: Hotel Cala Fornells
Address: Carretera Cala Fornells 76, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peguera
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Peguera
#8 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Fornells 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cala Fornells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Fornells Peguera
Cala Fornells Majorca
Hotel Cala Fornells Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing