We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited with husband and 2sons of 11 and 13 , apartment lovely very clean and spacious with all we could need including towels, tea towels and all kitchen utencils , lounge and bedroom each have patio doors leading to a huge balcony with views over the pool , the owners and their 2 sons are lovely and couldn't do enough for us - totally recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of August 2014 for a week.

The complex is around 500m from the main street in Paguera, so in an excellent position. Even though we had 2 young sons, we had no problems with the hill that other visitors found, although I can understand if you have mobility issues this may be a challenge.

The transfer bus drops you about 100m from the complex, but this is primarily due to the width of the road rather than the gradient of the hill, so again no issues from us.

Jamie, the owner, gave us a warm welcome on arrival. However, one area for improvement would be to give us some useful things to know. For example, we had no idea where to put our rubbish, we didn't know the gas supply was from a canister and how to turn it on, we didn't know when the rooms would be cleaned, there was a box of parasols but we had no idea whether anyone could use them etc etc.

We found the rooms to be very cluttered with loads of nic nacs around. Plates on the wall, a broken lamp shade, ceramic frogs, ceramic cactus, all the type of things that would give Alex Polizzi sleepless nights if she came to film an episode of the 'Hotel Inspector'. The corridors were also very cluttered with more nic nacs. I would have said that by getting rid of these items the complex would be easier to clean and by more visitor friendly. I was also concerned that in a fire, escape routes would be hindered and the clutter would be highly flammable. As I have put later in my review, the owners are clearly concerned with safety on their premises so it is strange this has been ignored.

For my demographic of a young family, this is not an ideal set up as we were constantly trying to calm our sons down so they didn't break anything. On holiday, I like to have a clean basic apartment rather than worrying about other peoples fragile belongings getting broken.

The apartment was of a basic standard and was reasonably clean. There was signs of wear including a large hole in the ceiling of the bathroom, mould in the shower and a large gap at the bottom of the shower door meaning the bathroom got flooded whenever the shower was used. As the water is of a high salt content, this meant the bathroom smelt. The surfaces in the kitchen were worn and burnt where hot pans had been put down, however, the kitchen seemed clean.

There was 2 single beds in the bedroom and 2 converted sofas in the lounge / kitchen. As previous reviewers have said, the balcony is enormous with 2 sunloungers, a couple of chairs and a useful drying rack.

The apartments are not air conditioned, which I missed when booking, so are very hot even with the windows open until around 2 in the morning during August. Again, not ideal with children so please bear this in mind when booking.

Overall, I thought the price paid was a fair reflection of the standard of accommodation.

One thing I would question is the amount of notices around the apartment block for fairly ridiculous things. For example, there is an A4 notice by the front door asking you to switch off the light when leaving the toilet and another stating 'SAFETY FIRST Attention! Do not climb across your balconies'. There were no fewer than 4 safety notices in the room and a whole board of them in the lounge of the block.

The pool was fantastic, the kids had a great time except for one occasion when they were told off by the owner for jumping in, still not convinced that jumping into an empty 1.8m pool is dangerous, but it's his apartment block so I am happy to comply with his rules. Sun loungers were plentiful and we never had an issue getting one. We didn't eat at the apartments, but the food looked fine. Drinks were reasonably priced as they had a total monopoly in the area.

Another thing to note is the apartments are in a residential area and therefore the bar closes at 7. Therefore evening meals and drinks need to be in Paguera, again for us this caused no issues, but one to bear in mind if you have limited mobility.

For us, we enjoyed out holiday, especially Paguera itself. However, I don't think this particular hotel is set up for younger families. It is better for couples and therefore we won't be returning while our children are young. However, it does offer value for money and many residents are obviously there on extended breaks which shows the lower rate compared to other accommodation in the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigAlIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYNE AND WEAR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for 17 nights after reading the reviews and as it's a 2 star we didn't know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. We have stayed in worse 3 star apartments. They were very clean, large and homely with everything needed for self catering. The pool area was lovely and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. They are set up a hill in a residential area so very peaceful at night. 5/10 minutes walk and you reach the main strip and beach with numerous bars and restaurants, lots of choice depending on what you want to spend. Our favourites were locals place Poppins, Casa Enrique and the more expensive La Pampa who have a 'specials' board most nights. There are two supermarkets nearby on the main road with the one named Pepe the smaller and more expensive of the two. Also on Tuesdays there is a market along the street between the two supermarkets.
This is a very family friendly resort and we would definitely go back to Atalaya Bosque to stay.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEP990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Chose this apartment thanks to the other reviews we read but it was even better than we thought .We wouldn't necessarily describe the apartments as basic, because for a 2 star rating, we thought they were quite smart. They are set in what appears to be a mostly residential area about 5-10 minutes walk up a hill from the main resort. The apartment we stayed in had a large lounge diner, well supplied kitchen. Two large sofas in the lounge, large bed and nice bathroom. All very clean and really quite homely. Huge covered balcony with two sun loungers, coffee table and seating for four. All the balconies are set back from each other, so you are not overlooked and quite a lot of them overlook the pool. Two pools, one for small children and a larger pool for adults. Plenty of sun loungers, all of which seem to get the sun most of the day. The owners were delightful, Jaime and Marie and on leaving we were bid farewell as if we were old friends. The resort itself has just about every type of restaurant you could wish for, from great pizzas to tapas. We particularly liked Gabrieles and the sister restaurant on the beach Gaby. They offer a very good value set menu of 3 courses. Rendezvous, San Marco for a great pizza and Neptune for a superb tapas with generous portions. I don't eat meat and they were very happy to alter the dish I chose. Lots of shops for souvenirs or to spoil yourself and lots of bars for a cocktail all very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Metaxagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After the first time in this peaceful and welcoming hotel we are home refreshed and ready to face the world again. The apartment was basic but clean and spacious with a large balcony, the pool area has an adult pool and a kids pool, both very clean with plenty of sunbeds available even though the hotel was full.
The owners are very welcoming and happy to make your stay easy, they swapped out our satellite receiver from German to English on the first day so the little one could watch some Cbeebies. Towels are changed and apartment is cleaned a couple of times a week.
The hotel is about 20 apartments and situated at the back of the resort up a slight hill and it's very peaceful. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away and has a very long shallow slope into the sea so it's ideal for kids, add in some great restaurants (not to mention ice creams) and it makes for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Now on our 11th year here and it just gets better and better everything we need is here large apartments plenty big enough for 4 adults lovely pool area with 2 pools including shallow children's pool, bar and eating area.Apartments facilities are good from home and he you don't have......they will have!! Try it out you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After our 10th year at Atalaya Bosque it couldn't get any better, Jaime (The Owner) is now more of a family member than the manager, the people who visit, old and new all get on so well as if they have known each other for years, some of them have!!! We will certainly be back again next year if not soon this year, if it's a quiet holiday you're after, it's here, if it's a socialising holiday you're after, it's also here. Quiet on an evening but only 5 minutes from the many restaurants, bars and shops. Some of the local spanish bars are sometimes the best bet ie Poppins, Es fassett, Alhambra and the same with some of the restuarants ie C'an Miguel, Enriques and Rendezvous, overall a wonderful and pleasant resort and a VERY welcoming family run Apartment!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are VERY spacious with a very large balcony as big as 2 standard balconies!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peguera hotels
1.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
#2 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
0.2 mi away
Valentin Paguera Hotel & Aptos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#11 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
FERGUS Club Europa
FERGUS Club Europa
#7 of 52 in Peguera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
#13 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque

Property: Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque
Address: Bosque 18, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Peguera
#7 Family Hotel in Peguera
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Atalaya Bosque Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing