We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars- Give me a break! Hugely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Reviewed 26 March 2008

The location is really nice, but the hotel is totally rundown and in need of a serious rehab. The staff is totally uninspired and depressing. We saw one of the waiters chugging a beer in the kitchen, and knew we were in for trouble! The meals were pretty terrible- dining room had absolutely no ambience- felt like a hospital cafeteria. The guest rooms are ok, but we had no shampoo or soap in the room. Our toilet was leaky, which meant we had to take the top off and fiddle with it in the middle of the night... I suppose it's a good incentive to be outside and exploring as much as possible, but it's definitely not what you expect for 4 stars, and the prices the Coronado charges. I would definitely think twice, or three or four times, before booking this place!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Oaklandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

We were apprehensive before we stayed at the Hotel after reading previous reviews. But we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we got on well with Pepe the Barman. We couldn't understand why other reviews had given him such a slating. Although we must say the Receiptionist could do with some customer service training, she was quite short with you. We had hired a car from the airport and didn't realise that you had to have a parking pass to use the hotel carpark. We got away with it for a couple of nights, only to be told 'NO TICKET, NO PARKING'! It would have been helpful if this was explained from the beginning of our stay, so for remainder of our holiday we parked in the street.

We ate in the hotel most nights and although the food had a very spanish influence, we always found something to eat, and that was very nice.

The views from the hotel are fantastic!

I

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MattRach456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Hotel Coronado, Peguera, Majorca, Sep 10th-13th 07

My sister came over from California so we went to Majorca with my parents for 4 days last week. I picked the hotel from the pictures online and wasn't disappointed with either the setting or the views, they were exactly what I wanted, excellent. The hotel was nice enough, rooms were reasonably clean and pretty comfortable.

As other people have commented the staff are pretty poor, what few there are. We got off to a bad start with the girl on reception when she couldn't find our booking even though it was right there on her list, after that she was friendly enough but the guy in the bar is dreadful, guests really were an inconvenience to him, I had to wonder if I was being unfair and he was actually mute.

Worse than Pepe was the food, it was appalling in quality, there was choice but that didn't make it any better. Why do hotels think they are offering a good deal to give you "free dinner"??
I think they would do themselves a favour if they skipped the free dinner as it isn't expensive to eat out and at least put on a decent breakfast. Nobody wants to eat rubbish when they are on holiday. The dried fruit was worse than dry and tasted of dust, the bacon was so undercooked as to be almost raw, it was too awful to reflect on. It was all done on the very very cheap and blatantly obviously.

We ate out in Calla Fornells or Peguera as we had a hire car and were unable to walk too far as my father is blind.

I would go to the same area again for the view but I wouldn't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We visited the hotel knowing the beach and views were exceptional- which they were. The rooms were clean ,but without any shampoo, tissues etc. However we had alovely view. BUT THE STAFFS ATTITUDE WAS DREADFUL. The bar waiter had no will to please or even be pleasant, inspite of being tipped. The dinner was terrible, infact there was none left and it was cleared away without even offering us a desert. we never took advantage of our half board on the second night! And on our booking we were led to believe HB cold be taken as lunch or dinner which we were told was not the case. we were 9 mature educated ladies and although we had wonderfull weather , swimming etc the hotel staff were exceptionally rude,the receptionist being the only exception.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

My partner and I recently visited Cala D'or in Majorca and spent a lovely week in a self catering apartment and decided that on the last night of our holiday we would treat ourselves to a hotel near Palma before we flew home.

We chose Hotel Coronado as it had good reviews, was affordable and looked nice on the website. We arrived at 2pm and checked in (2 hours after their recommended check in time). We were not disapointed with the location - the views from this hotel are amazing but the staff at the reception desk were not particularly welcoming. We went straight to get a late lunch and then returned to the hotel at 3pm to go up to our room and get changed after our long journey.

When we arrived at our room it had not been cleaned and we had wait in the room for at least 20mins whilst the poor cleaner had to run round us to clean the room. I then decided to have a shower - not knowing that it would take ages as the water literally trickled out the shower head.

The local beach is small but beautiful and we went for a quick swim (it is mostly shady in the afternoon) and then back to the hotel pool - lets just say a length on this pool is probably a width on a normal pool. We were looking forward to having dinner as it was half board and included in the price of the hotel. We were both bitterly disapointed, we knew it would be self service - but the quality of the food was not what we expected. Even the chips were not cooked properly and my piece of chicken was still pink inside. To our great surprise a lady on the table next to us said it was the best meal they'd had all week - my partner and I just looked at each other in amazement and thanked our lucky stars we had only booked one night at this hotel.

After a particularly disapointing dinner we decided to go to bed - I asked reception for another pillow for the bed and was treated like I'd asked for the moon. A couple of hours later it hadn't arrived and I went searching for it and found it in the corridor - don't even ask! As we rested our tired heads ready to sleep a party boat drew up into the bay and proceeded to play 'pumping techno' music until 4am - we then had 2 hours sleep before we had to get up for our flight home! I won't even go into the fact our air conditioning didn't work .... need I say more! Stay in Cala Fornells because it is beautiful but i would not recommend Hotel Coronado!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs31London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

My wife and i plus two children age 15 and 19 stayed here and were very pleasantly surprised Having booked it last minuite wasn't sure what to expect. The room with sea view was clean and functional the food was varied and good we were on half board the pool had plenty of comfortable sun loungers also down on the rocky beach (had to pay 3 eur. for these) The view was superb and the hotel was nice and quiet No disco/club etc.
Most importantly the staff actually put the guest first pleasant charming unobtrusive service nothing was too much trouble. Would i go back you bet i would!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We were assigned this Hotel at the last minute as our original hotel was overbooked, so we were somewhat dubious, our fears where however unfounded.
this was a definite 4 star hotel with a small sandy beach at the bottom of the hotel drive, 90% of rooms had a sea view all rooms had balconies or terraces, free air conditioning, maid service every day, food was great, myhusband managed to find something to eat every day and he is a 'lasagne & chips' kind of person, whereas i am a little more daring, seafood salad, typical mallorcan dishes, fresh fish , you name it, something different everyday, all piping hot and plenty of choice, it is self service however so dont expect al a carte style eating.

plenty of poolside loungers seating, no fight for the sun loungers!
lovely clean seawater pool with kids pool, stairs down to further sunlounging area, (free) next to sea/beach with beach bar.

small kids play area in shaded pine trees near pool sunbathing aarea, slide, climbing frame swings etc, all new and well maintained.
only downside is no local shops, nearerst is 10/15 minutes walk up and down hills , bit too quiet for kids, no clubs or entertainment, perfect for couples wanting a relaxing holiday, no 'brits abroad' type guests either, so no rowdiness at night, no entertainment as such, did have pianist in a couple of times which was quite nice.
resort is near paguera(20 min walk) with hotel shuttle 4 times a day, paguera is typical spanish resort with usual shops and bars, large beach.
whole area is predominantly german, with very little english signs etc, but i think it was better for it.
would recommend but would hire a car next time as did feel a little isolated

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kittie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peguera hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#10 of 52 in Peguera
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
Hotel Petit Cala Fornells
#16 of 52 in Peguera
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotel Lido Park
#12 of 52 in Peguera
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
#7 of 52 in Peguera
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cupidor
Cupidor
#20 of 52 in Peguera
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa

Address: Carretera Cala Fornells s/n, 07055 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Peguera
#11 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
Price Range: £99 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coronado Thallasso Peguera
Hotel Coronado Thallasso And Spa
Coronado Hotel Peguera
Hotel Coronado Thalasso & Spa Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing