We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - best holiday in ages to our surprise !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Universal Hotel Lido Park
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel - best holiday in ages to our surprise !!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Never thought of going to Majorca but the flights were cheap for Easter holidays & the hotel looked great value too. What a fantastic time we had - everything was perfect for us. Hotel rooms large & clean - our son had a bed screened off giving us privacy. Huge bathroom with loads of space to put your things. Nice balcony looking out towards the sea & pool rather than a view of the other sections of the Hotel as some rooms have. Staff - brilliant - we all tried to speak French, German & English and had some fun getting by. We rather like being the only English folk there as it helps to relax when you don't find yourself listening in to our peoples chatter. The Manager was in the Restaurant every evening ....most unusual & attentive he always found time to speak to us. The waiting staff were faultless, polite & had a great sense of humour Jose in particular (what a joy)...nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous food - we booked half board without realising it as the price was so good ! Buffet breakfast & Super ....SO much choice & different themes in an evening...beautifully presented. The grounds are immaculate & yes there are 87 steps down to the beach but it didn't matter as it is all terraced so you can stop/sit on loungers part way down if you wish. At that time of year there was no charge for loungers & loads of space but I imagine at peak time it could be different. The outdoor pool was too cold for us at that time but the indoor pool was nice. The sea was also a bit chilly but it didn't stop our son. The noise from the live acts did travel to our room (but it didn't go on too late), as did some noise from around the pool when we had the patio doors open (peak time you wouldn't do that but have the a/c on) but we love our sleep & always travel with wax earplugs so just popped them in & it wasn't a problem. We'd love to go back at a similar off peak time as peak would be too hot for us anyway. Best time had in ages & most unexpected !

Room Tip: We had a superior twin with a partial seaview - better than those facing the other blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannik e, Gerente at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Hagafamily,

Thank you for your details and good review of their stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you have had a wonderful holiday with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next summer in hotel Lido Park!

Sunny regards from Mallorca
Manager Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    103
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
90
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in the Lido Park last summer for 10 days and we are going again this summer.
The hotel is very clean and the rooms are big. Both buffets breakfast and dinner are good quality with enough of choise. The staff is helpful and we love the location on the top of the rock so it's calm. The beach is close and in the evening you don't have all the noise of the center. The isolation could be better with the rooms but it's the same thing everywhere in Southern Europe.
This hotel is a good choice for a family. We didn't stay in the pool during the day but the clients who do, need to pay a small extra for the long chairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms were calm as the hotel is located outside the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannik e, Gerente at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Rita
Thank you for your feeback! We are very happy you liked our hotel, mention positively our food quality and cleanlyness. We will forward your feedback to our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next summer in hotel Lido Park!
Sunny regards from Mallorca
Manager Hotel Lido Park
Universal Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

... what's the deal with the table system? A table is to be appointed and kept throughout the staying. Fine. Almost until the middle of the stay we had "temporary" tables, different ones for lunch and dinners, had to get up in the middle of the meal because it was the wrong table... Please! Is it really necessary? We are all grown-ups.
I also could use some explanations regarding the bottle of water, that cost 3,75€, and comes to the table with a very poorly secured cork. you know, it kinda looks they fill them in with tap water and give them to the stupid customer to pay. And I saw a fellow guest order a bottle of wine and it came to the table already OPEN! That is a no-no!
I find it a bit unexplicable the fact that an hotel, by the beach, with swimming pool, could extort their guests like that for the long chairs and the umbrellas. Haven't we payed enough? Ah, plus the Wi-fi that keeps losing signal, is again extra.
Let's admit, this hotel isn't cheap and with all this extras, we feel like we are really getting "milked".
On the plus side, I really enjoyed the clean rooms and the beach. Paguera itself its also nice, not to hectic and with a bit of entertaining for all. But for the the Germans in particular! My god, it looked like I was transported to another dimension: Tropical Germany! It's cute but scary.

Room Tip: Rooms near the game rooms: no elevator, you need to carry your bag up and down the stairs. Not so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tany_Sophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We made a spur-of-the-moment decision and there was not much to chose from. This hotel had a high rating - I can only think that all the reviews are from Swiss and German visitors, whose main interest is hiking and do not mind the details which we found irritating or unpleasant: In 50 years of travelling and staying in all sort of hotels, this was the first time I have had to pay to use the safe in the room! After having paid, I was given a key but the safe still did not work. The next day I had to ask the director to come up and enter a magic number. I also paid a deposit on the key, which I did not get back....never mind. I have never seen such a small bar of soap, terrible quality (that and liquid soap in the bathtub/shower was the sum total of toiletries provided). The breakfast buffet was ok, but started to look very tired after a few hours. There was a - locked - corresponding door and as it was very thin, the people next door, who talked loudly through the night, might as well have been in our room. We did not use the beach or sun loungers, but could see from the labels attached that these to had to be paid for! How this hotel has a four star rating is a mystery to me. The rooms were very simple and the bathroom did not get cleaned properly during our stay. On the positive side, the receptionist was friendly and helpful (booking taxis and restaurants) and the view from our room was very pretty. It was nice having breakfast out on the terrace (though I really can't stand those rubbish bins on the table). We never dined in the hotel. There are only two small lifts, which is nowhere near enough for a hotel this size, but at least we got a bit of exercise walking up and down those stairs.
We are returning to Majorca next month, but not to this hotel. I am probably a spoiled old lady, but the price did not reflect the quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReseN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannik e, Manager at Universal Hotel Lido Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear ReseN18
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location, our service and the friendly staff.
The safe in the rooms are from an external insurance company, therefore there is a charge but on the other hand it's more secure than many other hotels. It's a double security system with key lock and number lock, the use is explained in the instructions on the door. We are very sorry if you did not get back your deposit payment, please write us an email with all your contact details to refund the amount.
We are happy you liked our varied breakfast buffet which offers almost 150 products and enjoyed the beautiful view on the restaurant terrace. The bins are asked by most of the customers who find it practically and useful. If you would have informed us during your stay we could have removed it from your table.
We must apologize if the cleanliness in the room did not meet your requirements. We will give your feedback to the housekeeper. We have a quality programme running and try to continiously improve all our services.
We would be happy to welcoming you again in an Universal Hotel in Mallorca.
Best regards
Yannik Erhart
Universal Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel has a 4* rating, but really it is only 3*. It is situated in a pleasant area of Peguera on a hill side and has good views and pleasant terraces with sunbeds. It is very expensive compared to Riu and does not offer lot of the facilities Riu offers (1.5 x the Riu price). The restaurant buffet is more limited. No coffee jugs. The rooms are noisy, the internal door does not stop any incoming noise late at night or early morning. The balcony door in our room was faulty and during the 6 days stay did not get mended satisfactorily. It mainly caters for the Swiss and Germans and I am surprised they put up with it. We only went because my mum lives in Switzerland and it was her birthday present.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rericha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peguera hotels
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
0.8 mi away
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
#1 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#11 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valentin Reina Paguera
Valentin Reina Paguera
#8 of 52 in Peguera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
Grupotel Nilo & Spa
#13 of 52 in Peguera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverly Playa
Beverly Playa
#33 of 52 in Peguera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Lido Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Lido Park

Property: Universal Hotel Lido Park
Address: Calle Jose Guevara 4, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Peguera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Universal Hotel Lido Park 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Hotel Lido Park rises majestically up above a crag overlooking two extensive sandy beaches. Guests have a totally clear view of the bay of Peguera. The surrounding area offers on the one hand, entertainment possibilities including shops, restaurants, cafes and discotheques, and on the other, pine groves with romantic walks, perfect for strolling in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Hotel Lido Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Park Peguera
Lido Park Hotel Peguera
Universal Hotel Lido Park Majorca/Peguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing