We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs woodger”
Review of OLA Tomir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OLA Tomir
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mrs woodger”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous family hotel for 3 stars, little dated but extremely clean and could have room/maid service everyday if wanted, also extremely friendly/helpful staff, plenty of sunbeds and pool area again very clean and the grounds are very well maintained too, only given 4 star rating as I thought the bar was a little pricey, but overall a great hotel for self catering.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    251
    174
    57
    37
See reviews for
269
222
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up here by a quirk of fate but it proved to our benefit

The hotel is modest but clean and the staff are nothing but courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble even phoning the local pharmacist to see if it was open for us.

Whilst we didn't try the food (lots of decent restaurants within walking distant) it did look good and the bar was reasonably priced

Highly recommended we will be staying at sister hotels again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank woodgy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just back from 9 nights stay at this hotel with our 2 kids aged 8 and 10. The hotel although not modern is well maintained and clean throughout. The Swimming pool was sparkling clean and warm and was open until late at night which was great fun. We stayed on a B&B Basis, the breakfast was lovely - 1 fault - The cook needs to learn how to Fry an Egg ! Apart from that the selection of food, quality and quantity were faultless. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The 2 guys working on the bar - worked their socks off tirelessly - always with a smile on their faces. The Entertainment team were great too, a good variety of acts during the week including a couple of professional shows. The hotel is located on a bit of a hill with a 10 minute walk down to the lovely beach to the right of the marina. We need the exercise so have no complaints about that. The restaurants near the hotel were quite pricey - due to marina nearby no doubt, so a bus to Palma Nova or Magaluf for Dinner is a good idea if you are on a budget.

If I could suggest any improvements it would be to put an Electric Oven in the self catering rooms as 2 hobs limits what you can cook and provide free Wifi for guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

Well done Ola Tomir.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emkaybeesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bramhall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

what a lovely hotel, great location and facilities , all rooms have A/C, the entertainment staff were brilliant. Bar drink were expensive but no one bothered if took own drinks down to the bar area. I have three kids age 3,5,8 and there was loads for them to do. Great bus service at the top of the road into Palma Nova and Magaluf.
Nightly enetertainment and they have an Icelands at the front of the hotel although this is expensive, best to go to Mercadona which is along the bus route or taxi which is only four euros. Marine world also at the top of the road but didnt visit.
The only thing I didnt like was lack of shade, the shaded area is at the deep end of the pool which is no good for supervising children in the splash pool,no umberellas either and with temperature of 36 I got frazzled even with factor tor fifty on.
But I would definately go back to the Tomir, I didnt want to leave

Room Tip: Definately ask for poolside view as the sea view is actually a building site lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lozzarowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carndonagh, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from family holiday at Ola tomir aparthotel, as we had booked the cheapest self catering holiday we could find I feared the worst when our transfer rolled up to the door of our accommodation, I had a picture in my head of a cross between a refugee camp and a holiday inn but I was pleasantly surprised by what I found as we entered reception. As you can imagine after a day of travel with three young children both my wife and I just wanted to get to bed so we were delighted that our rooms were ready and we were booked in quickly and efficiently and directed to the lifts.
Our apartment was spotlessly clean, kitchen/living area with patio doors opening onto small balcony overlooking the pool, plenty of crockery for five and a two ring ceramic hob which after a bit of examination as to how it worked proved to be very efficient, three dials, two controlling the rings and one being a timer, so if the timer was not activated neither ring worked, I bet that confused a few previous residents :-)
We had two bedrooms, well I say two but in reality it was one split in two by a stud wall made from the construction equivalent of rice paper, to access the inner bedroom which had the double bed one had to go through twin bed where two of our children were supposed to sleep, our third had to use either the sofa/ bed in the living area or the camp bed provided. After a bit of thought and by physically moving all the beds we ended up with all the kids in single beds in the inner bedroom and myself and my wife in the bedroom nearest the living area and then thankfully we had a good nights rest.
The first morning was to be followed by six more of blazing sunshine, our view from the balcony set the tone for the remainder of our holiday, 7am and rows of sun loungers set out below us with towels across them, it appears that while the English learned nothing about football from world champions Germany they have surpassed them in grabbing all the best positions in the sun, Union Jack towels as far as I could see, thankfully there were ample loungers and places to put them so for anybody who wanted to take their time in arriving at the pool there was no need to panic.
The pool area was very clean, tiles polished and pool cleaned on a daily basis, life guard on duty from early until around six, no inflatables allowed and this rule seemed to be enforced without exception, there was a separate pool for young kids which meant there was plenty of room for all to enjoy the sun.
We ate in the restaurant on a couple of occasion, food well prepared and reasonably priced although the soft drinks and ice creams were in my opinion overpriced, 3.50 for a kit Kat cornetto! and 1.70 for one small scoop of generic ice cream in a cone was over the top. A word of warning if you have young kids, the pool area and cafe is covered with game machines and pool tables, a lot in my experience were taking money but not working, two out of three pool tables were out of order with no signs informing you of this, so I found the best way of dealing with this was by saying the word "no" to my kids a lot.
This is a clean good value hotel for families who are looking for a pool holiday on a budget, staff are friendly and efficient, Luis on reception was particularly helpful on the few occasions I had any queries and Julio in the bar area kept the food flowing during the hottest parts of the day. Not much to do around the hotel but I would recommend a trip to either of the two beaches beside the marina, beautiful locations and plenty of space and a nice break from the pool.
A very enjoyable week and would like to return to the island in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get room over pool but not over bar area if you like an early night although in fairness ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Invited to go to Portal Nous In Majorca to celebrate a family 50th birthday , so decided to go for two week jolly, stayed at Ola Tomir and thoroughly enjoyed it. Apartments are spacious and well equipped,cleaned regularly,and well serviced. Staff very friendly and helpful , nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. went room only so cannot comment on food or service in dining room, but always found bar staff ok. Hotel was fully booked while we were there but we never had any trouble finding sunbeds around the pool whenever we wanted them. Enjoyed the resort it is a good central place to stay if like us you enjoy walking and getting about , the walk up to Palma Nova and then on to Magaluf is really pleasant and Santa Ponsa is well worth a visit too. All in all would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have much better views especially the ones overlooking the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sugardew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just back !! Entertainment was very good for family and breakfast was the usual expected. The staff was all very good an helpful (life guard well yet to see a smile an never interacted with eny one just his food bang on 1130!!!! an his Mobile unbelievable an only time he got off his but to inform the new holiday makers no ly low in large pool !!!! In the evening never toilet roll left !! An no body bother to fill it up pints of beer started at 450 then with complaints too expensive went then to 320 ice corneto 350 !!! Again far too expensive !!
We ate out every evening mostly celias as was never disappointed very nice couple an did everything to please nothing was a bother had choice form the 3 course special steak was to die for as the satay chicken ! Also was nice to visit the marina. Very expensive but the victory Chinese was reasonable priced an very good , visited the little French caffe after reading good reviews well not impressed ! Waited 40 min for our food lasangne was slapped on plate no salad as requested an 3 of us there 2 meals arrived together then mine 5 min later plain to see mine was in micro an further 5 min coleslaw arrived I'd see the point if the tables were all full but the were not fair to say I did get a apology ,also had the bonoffee it was ok tin off Nestlé Carmel nowt special !! .

Room Tip: Bck of hotel was quiet an not noisy as expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clarecaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portals Nous
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
Hotel RD Mar de Portals
#5 of 7 in Portals Nous
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RD Costa Portals
Hotel RD Costa Portals
#73 of 182 in Calvia
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OD Port Portals
OD Port Portals
#34 of 182 in Calvia
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
Portals Hills Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in Portals Nous
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bendinat
Hotel Bendinat
#4 of 7 in Portals Nous
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Tomir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Tomir

Property: OLA Tomir
Address: C/ Miguel de Cervantes 4, 07015 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Ola Aparthotel Tomir)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Portals Nous
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Tomir 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular resort, located conveniently close to the Port of Punta Portals, Palmanova and Palma, with its magnificent views of the Costa d’en Blanes beach and nearby Palmanova, is a club for active and family holidays. The marine zoo Marineland is only a few meters away.24-hour reception desk, bar-lounge, buffet restaurant, TV lounge,entertainment and activities hall and mini-club. The solarium on the terrace is surrounded by gardens, with complimentary lounge chairs, in addition to a large swimming pool for adults and a pool for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Tomir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Aparthotel Tomir Hotel Portals Nous
Ola Aparthotel Tomir Portals Nous
OLA Tomir Portals Nous, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing