We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I can't really fault this hotel, we had a fantastic 5 day break and they made our stay the best experience it could possibly be. I must stress that this is a destination for a relaxing quiet holiday and if you are looking for a clubbing, lively and nightlife break, it is not for you. Probably more suitable for older guests.
It is an adults only hotel, probably due to the fact that it is perched on a cliff top overlooking the sea. Absolutely stunning views from all public areas, and our room had the most beautiful view across the sea.
The food is good, a decent variety, with the added bonus of a grill chef providing quite a few selections at every sitting. There was never a problem getting a table or waiting for trays to be refilled when empty.
You do have to be out and about early to get a sun bed, but there are plenty of alternative seating options round the grounds. There are two pools and a small shallow pool, also a hot tub, all clean and attractive. Sports, activities, gym, all in all plenty to do.
The hotel is clean airy and spacious, as are the rooms.and all of the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Mostly German and Polish guests when we were there, but some English. The staff seemed to understand all languages very well, so no communication problems.
There is a beautiful beach a short walk away, and a small town area to the front of the hotel. The square seems to be the hub of most activities and there is a market and dancing in the open air a couple of times a week as well as regular entertainment at the hotel.
We loved our visit, and I think you would be hard to please if you are not satisfied with the quality and service it offers.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, I would imagine most rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank calico9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Director General at Hotel JS Cape Colom, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear calico9,
Thank you for your kind review of JS Cape Colom hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed all the services of our hotel.
Our team’s passion shines through in their service delivery, and it is purely through their hard work and efforts that we always receive fantastic comments. I will to share your kind comments with them.

We are humbled by your high praise and thank you for taking the time to publish your opinion from your recent stay with us.

We sincerely hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
JS Cape Colom Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    148
    45
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
213
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It was great to be back at the Cape Colom for the start of their 2013 season. It was lovely to see all the same staff as the previous year. The rooms have been freshly painted and there is lovely new outdoor furniture and sunbeds. Sadly the weather was not very good to sunbathe but we will back later in the year to try out the new furniture. Food excellent as ever, plenty of variety. The all-inclusive option is such good value.

Can't wait to return later in the year. It's a great hotel, fab location and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My best friend and I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. We went B & B as we were told there were plenty of places to eat near the Hotel, and there were. On arrival the Hotel reception were very helpful and friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of the sea. We had the sun on the balcony first thing in the morning til midday. Breakfast had everything you could possibly want. There were more than enough sun loungers so there was no need to reserve any even though people did!! If you book a transfer from the airport to the hotel make sure you know exactly were you are meeting your driver as we were left waiting in the wrong place and ended up having to use a local airport taxi which actually ended up cheaper!! Mainly due to how fast he was driving!! We also chose this hotel because it was adults only which meant it was lovely and quiet during the day. However it can get quite noisy in the evening! We found all the staff very helpful and the Hotel was kept very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleybudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here with a friend on her recommendation. She has been a few times this year and we booked a last minute break for 3 nights all inclusive and flights for £150 each. We had the most amazing time. We were very very lucky with the weather and the hotel itself was lovely.

Sunbathing overlooking the sea is an amazing experience, scenery that not many can boast and with a choice of two pools it was never crowded.

The all-inclusive was brilliant- always a good choice and different foods to try. We arrived at 12am and they opened up the restaurant for us to have bread and ham/cheese before we went to bed.
There is always a chef cooking something fresh as well which is a lovely touch and adds a little luxury. I am lactose intolerant but emailed the hotel in advance and they were extremely accommodating. They let me know what I could/couldn't eat and bought lactose free milk for me for my arrival. I was never short of anything to eat and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times - no matter how many times I asked 'is this in butter or oil?'!

The rooms were clean and spacious with amazing views and big balconies.

All this, and a brilliant location!! Porto Colom was a short twenty minute stroll with lovely bars and restaurants but there are plenty more restaurants to choose from within a five minute walk from the hotel.

Would not hesitate to recommend. They could not have done more for us!

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask for any requests. They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alice_farrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My third visit to the Cape Colom hotel this year. July, September & October. I think the food is lovely and always lots of choice, with the added bonus of the show cooking. All-inclusive option fantastic. Even when we arrived very late, we were able to have fresh bread, ham, cheeses etc...Staff very friendly and helpful, in particular the restarurant staff and reception. Oliver the manager has a good rapport with all the guests, always greeting you with a smile.

Lovely outdoor area overlooking the sea. Plenty of room to sun bathe with a choice of two swimming pools. Amazing views.

Great views too from the top floor of the hotel. Lovely gym, steam room, sauna, treatment rooms etc... All very modern and clean.

Rooms spacious with great sea views.

Great location. 10 minutes walk to the lovely Cala Marcal beach and a short stroll to the port at Porto Colom.

Overall a great hotel in an envious location. Can't wait to return in 2013 ! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We usually stay at Cala D'Or but decided to try this Hotel as we'd never been to an Adults only Hotel. Wouldn't choose this Hotel or go to Porto Colom again. A week was too long as there was minimal entertainment, and the hour per evening that they tried was absolutely dire. Would have died of boredom if we hadn't took a pack of cards. No nice shops or walks, walking round the harbour wasn't pleasant, paths etc filthy and strong sewage smells.

Staff reasonably helpful although we asked for our room to be sprayed as the mozzies were rife but this request was refused, all they were interested in was selling us a tin of repellent (the same as we'd took with us). I got an infected bite which resulted in a very expensive doctors visit and a prescription for antibiotics, many thanks to Oliver for finding an open chemist on a Spanish holiday and fetching them for me.

Bedroom and bathroom very small and dated, lovely sea view from the balcony. Food average, sometimes luke warm but nice pancakes cooked while you wait. Nice fresh bread to fill up on. Drinks weak and served in paper cups by barstaff who are not very friendly, we eventually saw one of them smile on our last day! Small pool freezing cold, large pool all roped off into lanes for serious swimmers so we never went in. Steps down into the sea are a nice touch. Nice beach 15 mins walk. The gym looked ok but we didn't use it as I only had flip flop type shoes with me.

I think its worh paying a bit more for a 4* hotel in a nicer part of Majorca.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

On arrival lady on reception very helpful,welcome drink waiting for us which was a nice surprise. As said before the views from this hotel are amazing but unfortuneatley thats where the amazing ends! The food was the WORST i have ever encountered and i travel alot, chips, and supposed meat?? bones with fat on i think more describes it. Drinks were ok but cocktails were from a dispenser and not very strong, bar man very nice but woman very rude and she charged me 1.5euros for a glass of milk?? all inclusive i thought!! we spent every day on the beach 10 mins away and that was the best bit of our holiday. The hotel is very geared towards the germans so if you dont enjoy their comapy and their rudeness then i wouldnt recomend you staying here, the other worrying thing is that the food was never hot always tepid just waiting for a bout of stomach upsets i think. Stay somewhere else if i was you.

Room Tip: higher rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worcwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
39.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
36.8 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
30.8 mi away
AluaSoul Palma
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#1 of 7 in Porto Colom
631 reviews
28.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
34.4 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Cape Colom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Cape Colom

Property: Hotel JS Cape Colom
Address: C/ Asuncion, 14, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JS Cape Colom 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel JS Cape Colom has a spectacular cliff-top setting in Porto Colom, Mallorca. It offers incredible views, spa facilities and a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel has over 1000 m² of terraces and gardens, with direct access to the sea. The buffet restaurant offers local and international foods as well as show cooking. There is also a snack bar by the pool. The Cape Colom's spa includes sauna, jacuzzi and pressure showers, as well as massages. It also has a gym, and excellent sports facilities. Porto Colom is one of Mallorca's best natural harbours, and is 500 metres from the sandy beach of Cala Marsal. Activities including scuba diving, fishing and sailing are on offer here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JS Cape Colom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Cape Colom Hotel Porto Colom
Hotel Cape Colom
Cape Colom Porto
Hotel JS Cape Colom Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing