We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Harbour View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Pleasantly surprised whilst visiting Mallorca to find this adult only hotel which was peaceful and calm. Our room was spacious and cleaned to perfection every day. Had a great view of the harbour and a lovely balcony. The pool area was, although across the road, quiet and peaceful. The food was buffet style, which on the first day I thought would be boring by the end of the week, but each day there was a different varied selection of dishes - definitely something to suit every taste. Breakfast was served outside, again excellent choice and of very good quality. The hotel staff were extremely friendly. Porto Colom itself was small, calm and I guess quiet but there was a good choice of bars. Definitely a place to visit without a family if you want to just chill out!

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JayneB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much Jayne for your review ,we will pass your complimlents to the staff , they really appriciate it and will keep them motivated. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you again next year in Ola Vistamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this hotel after reading reviews, although at the time didn't realise it was an adults only hotel (bonus travelling in August!). I took the advice of previous reviews and upgraded the shuttle to max 4 stops and was so relieved we did. We actually ended up with a private transfer and got there in about 50 mins. On arrival hotel, check in was fast (glass of champagne to welcome us was a nice touch). Room was spacious, clean and modern, only downside was they don't supply in room tea/coffee facilties (although I think you could hire them) we hired the fridge 15 euros for the week, and decided on drinking alcohol instead in our room ;-).....The food was amazing, fab selection for breakfast each morning and the evening meal also had a fantastic choice daily. Yes the pool is over the one road which has minimal traffic and the restaurant is situated over the road (different direction) but I liked that fact....hotel was quieter as a result of it. Entertainment was ok but we went out most nights, preferring to sample the atmosphere of the resort. Flamenco night was good though and well worth spending a night in the hotel just to watch that.

The area was just what we wanted, although it did exceed out expectations, it is pretty quiet, very Majorcan so if you're looking for nightlife, this is not the place for you to visit. On a Friday and Sunday night they have a Spanish singer in the square with the locals dancing a variety of line dancing/zumba/sequence dancing, even a couple of Welsh were dancing the one night!

All in all, was not disappointed one bit, always said I would never return to the same hotel however this has now changed my mind.....I would go back in an instant.

Staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming....an amazing experience from start to finish!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room floor, and pref a Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Karen we sincerely want to thank you for your review , we will pass your compliments to our staff , they really appreciate it and will keep them motivated. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you again next year in Ola Vistamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel looked good to start with, but when we were told the pool was across the road and then the dining room, was across another, we started to think twice about our choice! Our room was ok, though why an 'adult only' hotel can't provide tea & coffee making facilities, in the room, amazes me! We'd asked for a high floor. We were given the 1st floor. The food was average and boring. The pool, being surrounded by roads, was never peaceful. If you were opposite the hotel entrance, the coaches doing non-stop pick-ups & drop-offs, was very annoying. Entertainment was very mediocre. The surrounding area is rather run down and the pavements could do with a good jet wash! Dog mess was a problem. The "sandy beach," is not actually in Porto Colom, but a good 10-20minutes walk away. However, it is worth it! The beach at Cala Marcal, is lovely. There are several steps leading down to it though, so could cause a problem for some. Luckily, for the 10 days we were there, the weather was great or I think we may've gone home early. We would not go to Porto Colom again. Having written all this, which is all rather disappointing, I will say that the staff at Hotel Vistamar, were very friendly and hard working.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We sincerely want to thank you for your review , we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations about the hotel , we are trying every day to improve ourself every day . We will pass our compliments to our staff , they will appreciate it and keep them motivated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Being a little bit of a holiday snob I have always been a little wary of Spain thus this was my first visit to Majorca and I am so glad we chose to stay in Porto Colom. This is a lovely little unspoilt town with a beautiful harbour and also a sandy beach. It is extremely quiet so if you would like to dance the night away in clubs and late bars then this is not the place for you. However if you would like to relax, drink beautiful wine and eat tasty food then this is the place for you.

El Vistamar did not disappoint our expectations and we were greeted on arrival with a glass of sparkling wine. We heard horror stories of 3 hour transfers but we got a taxi and it took 50mins - this cost around £50 but was worth the money as we arrived at 11pm. We did get the transfer bus back to airport and it only took 1hr 30mins so not so bad.

I would recommend walking around the harbour (around 20mins from hotel) as there are a few really lovely restaurants. We ate at a place called HPC and I had some of the best scallops I have ever tasted. This wasn't a cheap meal but was worth every penny. There is also a little square around 10mins walk from the hotel with 2 really yummy tapas restaurants that we also tried. The locals tend to also eat around this square so you get to sample some dancing and singing too. The beach is a little cove and around a 15min walk but it is worth it as the sea was turquoise, snorkelling was great and the sand was lovely and soft. The cost for 2 sunbeds and a parasol was 12 euros for the day. There is also a Spar close by that has a bakery where you can buy nice fresh baguettes, meats and cheese to make sandwiches for the beach (don't eat/drink at the beach bar it was a rip off! 1.70 for a packet of crisps!!)

My thoughts of the hotel are:
- Fab breakfast with everything you could possibly want
- Breakfast is served on the terrace next to the pool which is really lovely
- Friendly and helpful staff especially the bar staff and Douzie who does a little bit of everything
- Nice pool area and no having to get up at silly o clock to get a sunbed (beds available all day)
- Evening meals were generally good with lots of selection. Paella night was yummy.
- Room was modern and comfortable
- Ask for a sea view: we did when booking and had a fab view of the harbour
- Evening entertainment was hit and miss, it was very quiet in the bar, take some cards.
- Hotel is spotless as are the pool areas.
- Cocktail night was nice as they place candles around the pool and cover the sun loungers.
- Definitely earns its 4 stars.

All in all we had an amazingly relaxed holiday filled with sunshine, napping, eating, drinking and enjoying the lovely surroundings. I would have no hesitation in recommending El Vistamar!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KWHITE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We sincerely want to thank you for you review , we are really pleased that you had a wonderful stay in Ola Vistamar . We will pass your compliments to the bar and the rest of the staff, they will really appreciate it and will keep them motivated. We really hope to see you next year in Ola Vistamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lasting memory of this place was walking past a fisherman sitting on the ground fixing his nets with the backdrop of little boats bobbing on the sparkling sea.

Locations don’t get much better than this.

If you are looking for complete relaxation and a quiet life and value for money this is it.

This hotel was very cheap for half board and the food was excellent.

Balcony Room 502 gets no sun in the afternoon. The dining room is across the road – not in the main hotel. The pool and pool bar are across the road also. Lovely pool area great service and excellent food at the pool bar.

Small flat screen TV with 3 English channels. Also free WiFi

Very pleasant cleaner and all the staff very professional.

The dining area has an upstairs area and a downstairs area.
All extras are charged for separately. eg safe, fridge kettle. There is an upgrade package which includes access to a 2nd pool. Didn't see anyone use it during our stay.

There is a lovely little beach with a beach bar about 20 mins walk away. Along the seafront and to the left you can walk to the supermarket, chemist and bank machine.

Entertainment was good. I enjoyed the pianist in the bar and "The Human Flag."

If you are looking for peace and quiet in a nice location and don’t mind that things are not on your doorstep then I highly recommend this hotel for just good value.

Room Tip: Pay for a harbour view. We didn't because the weather wasn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fined4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We sincerely want to thank you for your review . We will pass your compliments to our staff , the really appreciate it and will keep them motivated . We are really pleased that you had a good stay with us and really hope to see you again next year in Ola Vistamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Found this fab hotel at the last minute when we were looking for a couples only holiday where we could totally relax and enjoy a very small resort. The bay in Porto Colom is beautiful and trying my luck and after reviewing the hotel on here I emailed them asking for a high level with views of the bay room. We were not disappointed and were on the 6th floor with beautiful views. The hotel staff go out of their way to make sure that you have a great stay, calling for a taxi for us and helping with trips if needed. The food was excellent given that it was buffet, the chef works hard to mix it up a bit. The resort itself is very quiet but beautiful and we quickly settled in. The hotel is exceptionally clean. We booked a private transfer and arrived in approx. 40-50 minutes and were offered a lovely glass of chilled champagne on arrival. All in all if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday in a lovely Majorcan village then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Email and ask for a high level and bay view, you might just get lucky xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pinara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We sincerely want to thank you for your review , we will pass your compliments to our staff , they will appreciate it and keep them motivated . We are happy you had a good stay with us and we really hope to see again in Ola Vistamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on a 4* rating and "Adults only" wanting a few quiet days in relative luxury. Nice touch with glass of bubbly on arrival, then disappointment with room allocation. We discovered that they put you facing side street with bar, so you go back and pay extra for an "upgrade" or join the "Elite Club" for a fee.
This theme for paying extra for things like, fridge, and safe, (both in the room), really is old hat and disappointing. The dining arrangements didn't fare much better and puts undue pressure on the staff, who I have to say, were very efficient and friendly throughout. The "Trousers for Dinner" needs to go, this is 2014, the customer is king.
Porto Colom is a quiet, unspoiled, beautiful little spot, the El Vistamar Hotel needs to change it's policies, and stop the surcharges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Responsable relations publiques at OLA Hotel El Vistamar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We sincerely want to thank you for your review , as well for the critics . We are trying to improve ourself every day and we are taking those critics with us for in the future . We will pass your compliments to our staff , they will appreciate it and keep them motivated. We really hope to see you agin in Ola Vistamar .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portocolom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
JS Es Corso
JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,069 reviews
39.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Price Range: £33 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing