We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We liked it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We liked it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We booked 10 days at this hotel, and we were very satisfied of our choice. We were with our kid and another pair, and we liked it very much. The hotel is very friendly, also the staff. We arrived at hotel at 10.30 am, and there was no problem to check-in, in spit our voucher-check-in hour 2 pm. The breakfast menu is the same one every morning, but there is enough to choose from, inclusive fresh fruits. But the coffee from the machine, … I couldn’t drink it. The dinner meals are various, and alternate every evening – fish, veal, pork, even shells. Also, there are a lot of deserts and fruits. By the way, a bottle of Spanish wine is about 10 Euros, price that I think its ok.
The restaurant personal is very helpful and friendly too.
About the pools, we were out only first day, and couple of hours in our finally day, and we choose the snack-bar-pool.
The rest of days, we traveled a lot, with a hired car, Mallorca is absolutely fabulous. Try to get to some calla beaches, are amazing (Calla Lombards, Es Trenc, …). Also, it’s really worth a trip to Cap Formentor & beache’s. In fact, in Mallorca you find almost the hole kind of beaches! Trip to Palma - Soler - Port de Soler – Deia – Valldemosa, it’s a long day journey, but it make all the time & “money”. So, get a car for entire of your vacation, and enjoy & delight with Mallorca.
Tip:
The hotel-guest are split in tow groups for dinner: from 6.30 to 9.30 p.m., and 8.00 to 9.00 p.m., because the restaurant capacity. So, if you like to go visit Mallorca, try to get the second-group-dinner, other wise you don’t get the dinner (or you hurry up home, and miss the sun, sea, ….). For us it was no problem to change our dinner-hour, from 6.30 pm to 8.00 pm, just the second day we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishumora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    264
    86
    24
    15
See reviews for
80
414
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We knew Porto Colom would be quiet and it is, local bus service was handy, especially for other East Coast resorts. Porto Colom is ok but a bit scruffy and smelly in places. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late after a flight delay and horrendous transfer journey with Holiday Taxis minibus ending up with the driver dumping our suitcases in the middle of the road in the dark and driving off without saying a word. The hotel had not saved us any food even though we were halfboard, not even a sandwich, and no room service so we were advised to go to a nearby bar. We had requested quiet rooms, my balcony was on the side road opposite a bar and my friend's was overlooking the patio outside the bar where the entertainment was! Both the breakfast and evening meals were a disappointment. Fine if you like salad and cold food for each meal. Anything else was cheap or processed food, generally tough or burnt. The hot drink machines at breakfast were frequently breaking down. Both the restaurant and pools are across a road so not attached to the hotel, we were lucky with out weather but it must be difficult when it rains. We didn't have time for breakfast when being picked up early on our last morning but were told the night porter would supply breakfast. After taking half an hour to track him down he offered us a very stale dry croissant and undrinkable coffee that seemed to have been brewing all night. Bar drinks are very expensive, a G & T at 6euros, an ice cream at the pool 3 euros. Rooms were ok in size but the beds were hard and the walls paper thin. I would consider this hotel a 3 star

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We are a young couple and booked a 3 day break in Porto colom. The hotel was lovely, and we were very pleased with the facilities. However, there is hardly anything to do other than a few restaurants so if you are thinking of going for a week, it might be wise to hire a car. Overall, a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield-Inglaterra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

This hotel is great value for money in a perfect location. I went with my husband for a short break. We were there the week before the season started so it was very quiet, exactly what we wanted.

The hotel itself is clean, the staff are helpful, the facilities are good (the swimming pool areas are great, the gym leaves a lot to be desired but then who goes on holiday to go to the gym?), the food is brilliant and the rooms are great. Ask for a high level room with a sea view; spectacular views of the harbour and the sea.

The beach is a 10 min walk away, really pretty and not busy at all at the time we were there. We didnt check out any of the bars as not many things were open when we were there.

We booked the hotel through lowcostholidays.com, v good price. The transfer from the airport is approx 45 mins. We booked this through resorthoppa, everything went smoothly so would reccomend them.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We found this hotel whilst looking at length on the internet, for late 'deals' in Majorca and were influenced by some of the many previous positive reviews. You will not find this in any UK holiday brochure. From our experience , having just come back from 11 nights in the hotel, we can say that it lived up to all expectations and more--- one of the best value deals we have had anywhere in the world! The 'deal' for us worked out at £40 per room per night , half board -- booked directly with the hotel.

Porto Colom is a quiet fishing port/marina not at all touristy and it is an easy 4k walk from the hotel around the harbours edge to the lighthouse-- en route there are hundreds of small fishing boats and numerous sailing/motor boats and there are many cafes, restaurants etc . Footpaths also take you to coves/ beaches, nearby. For those wanting a sandy beach and good swimming, Cala Marsal is any easy 10 min walk from the hotel and there is some night life there, but this closeby resort looked a little run down and soulless to us and the signs of a recession are very clear, unfortunately.

The Hotel: Lovely . Rooms on floors 4 and above give you the best harbour views, so try and get those. The hotel has an annexe immediately across the road ( right on the harbour front) where the restaurant is located--- this annexe also has about a dozen rooms which are in a wonderful position , so well worth having , if available ( no lift though to the 2 floors). Rooms are spotlessly clean, staff are very welcoming / friendly both in reception and the restaurant.

Breakfasts and Dinners provided plenty of choice and the food was very good.

So--- great value, peaceful resort, nice people and easy / reliable airport transfers ( see www.majorca-airport-transfers.com ).

Can't speak highly enough about the whole experience-- just great.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandLesley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

First ever trip to Mallorca lovely island. Porto Colom is picturesque and quiet with all night life at the time of year we were there based around hotels. If you're looking for a peaceful break in lovely surroundings this hotel is perfect. The rooms are comfortable and clean although some things may annoy, i know its picky but things like the shower head not mounting on the wall its hand held, the AC making a brave roaring sound but not doing much of anything, and the walls being paper thin irritate in what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Ahh the food! Beleive everything you read here! We fully except that when you book a package holiday half board you will be eating trough food (buffet) and don't expect michelin star dining but this is the worst, all the produce appeared to be of good quality but was murdered by the so called chefs. The hotel facilities i.e. pool areas gym sauna jacuzzi indoor pool are second to none, and the staff are friendly and helpful, but a car is a must as Porto Colom is quiet remote.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickMagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Really lovely hotel, beautiful rooms,Quiet resort, though we found a banging Cuban bar for when we were in the mood to party! (follow the pavement right around the bay and as you turn the corner there it is, you cant miss it!)
Meals were excellent, though dinner would be better without the split shifts 6.30-7.30 or 8-9; an hour is a rush to enjoy the wonderful food and it is swiftly removed at 9. You can save any bottle of wine to enjoy with your meal the following evening.
Champagne and cake were a wonderful compliment to my husbands big birthday; thank you to the staff involved
The restaurant manageress is just lovely Katalina (blonde lady with a clip board). She was very helpful to us on a number of occasions; indeed all the staff were exellent, we enjoyed a glass of bubbly on arrival too.
The pool bar was a quiet area too; drinks were expensive so we chose the beach 5 mins walk away with shops near to buy your own drinks. Be warned 11 EUROS for 2 sunbeds and a parasol!!!! But you can buy a parasol from the shop for 7 Euros and cheap mats if you dont mind the sand.
Cala D'or, Palma and many other places are easily accessible by bus.
No tea and coffee making facilities so we took our own.

QWERTY travel were WORSE THAN USELESS. No transfers (I asked for these to be included). Emails and letters of confirmation from them came only 2 days before we travelled, after many many phone calls and emails. The staff were not at all helpful, bordering rude and never once returned a promised phone call. I had to call Monarch myself to make sure we were booked onto the flight and find out our baggage allowance. Monarch were brilliant as were Resort hopper. We will never ever book with Qwerty travel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
30.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
30.5 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
39.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel El Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel El Vistamar

Property: OLA Hotel El Vistamar
Address: Germans Pinzon, 18, 07060 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel El Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA El Vistamar hotel enjoys a fabulous location in the bay of Porto Colom in Mallorca, with breathtaking views over the sea and this picturesque fishing village. Cala Marçal beach is about 800 metres from the hotel, nearby there are nice restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the centre of Porto Colom.The rooms are elegantly decorated with Mediterranean style, all of which feature en-suite facilities, air conditioning in high season and a comfortably furnished balcony. . In addition to an inviting outdoor pool area there are also tennis courts, a fitness room, mini golf, a Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All public areas are air conditioned and there is a free wi-fi area in the lobby. The restaurant offers a varied selection of buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. You can enjoy snacks and drinks from the poolside bar whilst you relax on the sun terraces during the day. After the sun has gone down you can retire to the lounge bar for a few cocktails and occasional entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Hotel El Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Hotel Porto Colom
Ola El Vistamar
Ola Hotel Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing