We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to the beach”
Review of Cala Marsal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cala Marsal
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel reception very posh, Rooms modern and clean. Food very good but quite 'foreign' tasting for some things. Pools clean and grounds well looked after. Cala marsal area very quiet and there is a local spar to get all the essentials (which isn't too badly priced). If your looking for night life? then there isn't any. Maid's excellent. Staff very helpful but don't know much English. Overall a very nice hotel and very reasonable :)

Room Tip: A room not looking onto the pool, as they do play music throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ToryRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just returned from this hotel two days ago and it was just brilliant. The hotel is absolutely stunning and set in the most beautiful grounds. Rooms were of a good size as was the bathroom and we were very fortunate to have a fantastic view too. Food was great too with a huge choice for everyone and the restaurant staff were always pleasant and ready to help with anything. We hired a car for a few days as there is not a great deal to do in the resort itself, but we found this really good value for money and the reception staff were more than willing to advise us on areas to visit which was a huge help. In the evenings we spent most nights watching our entertainment crew and they didn't disappoint us at all. They were the most friendly group of people you could ever imagine. Amazing with kids and had time for everyone, old and young alike. Had us taking part in team sports, dancing on the stage and even learning Spanish by the pool. Priceless!! Not much more I can say about this except to say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Four of us went and our ages range from 49 to 70 and each and everyone of us had a fab time. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela-Gateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very attractive looking hotel with lovely grounds. Room not very large but very nicely furnished and extremely clean. Good sized bathroom and balcony overlooking front entrance of hotel. Several pools, but daytime entertainment meant banging loud music for long periods around the pools, impossible to relax. No choice in the matter but to hear it , one pool slightly better on the ears. Sunbeds rather old and extremely uncomfortable. They could'nt be adjusted either.Lovely little playground for children, tennis court, and football area. Easy walk through grounds to a lovely beach which was not long but quite deep. plenty of people on it but not crowded, always room. Water didn't get too deep too quickly. Hotel not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, with steps in hotel and quite steepish hill to get into cala marsal village area. cala marsal area very pleasant though, and a very nice walk to porto colom harbour, which was lovely.
With regards food in hotel, it was truly awful. Restaurant was exactly like a very busy and noisy canteen, just noise and no ambience. Food very uninspiring, couple of deserts were quite nice, but main course options terrible. Think I have been very honest, and would return to the resort and cala marsal area but not this hotel. Best thing about it is the grounds, the hotel room and the public interior areas of hotel. Very nice bar area by the way on the ground floor, with lovely outside area, not so nice on lower area where entertanment held, very noisy and crowded, due to all inclusive option I imagine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have just returned from this hotel and had a brilliant time ! My husband , me and our 15 month old were so impressed we would defiantly return , the food was excellent , plenty of variety , the rooms were cleaned every day and was big enough to get a cot in and wheel our pram in and out , all air con and mini fridge , pools were lovely , but we spent most of our time at the beautiful beach , which was only a short walk through the gardens , which we took a packed lunch provided from the hotel which was really nice , you just need to order it before 8 the nite before , we also hired a car for two days from the local rental place , drove to inca Market , well worth a look ! All in all can't fault it , it was really relaxing , would most Definatly return !!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trayg2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a fantastic hotel-great for children. The pools are really clean, there is a little park in the grounds and lovely little walks. The beautiful beach and the small 'village' are 150m away, and if you want to venture further the bus stop is just outside the hotel. There is a lot of choice of food, very varied and you can mix and match your meals nightly. Though if you expect English cuisine you will be disappointed, but hey you're not in England! The only downside were the lifts, there are 3 and they fit 5 to 8 people in. There are so many guests, it basically is pot luck whether the lift arrives at your floor, especially at peak times;be prepared to do some walking up and down stairs. Would go back tomorrow!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alessandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago and I have to say that it was a diffrent hotel back then...
I booked transfer with the hotel,on their website. Confirmed few weeks before our arrival.
We arrived at the airport at 22.00 and realised there's no taxi booked for us. I rang the hotel and was told to go to one of the offices at the airport and that they will have our names and will then transfer us to the hotel.
Unfortunatelly they didn't have our names on their list. They told us that the hotel booked the transfer very late and that is why they don't have it in their system...
We had to wait for 2 hours before there was a taxi organised for us..The worst thing was that we had a baby with us...
I have to say that our stay was ok,but It was better few years ago.
Animation during the day is very poor-same programme every day ( it gets really boring after 10 days...), same music. The animation team in 2008 was way better.
Food was ok. Hotel caters mainly french guests,but everyone will find something that will suite their needs.
Reception staff could be trained a bit better. Our friends stayed with us,but they were leaving 3 days before us and I went a day before to confirm their transfer and receptionist had no idea what to do and how to organise it ( she was blonde-don't remember her name). She told us to come back in the morning. Next day I asked her in the evening if it will be a taxi or a bus and she didn't now again....
There was a gentleman working at reception that was very helpfull.I think his name was Sr Mas,but I'm not sure.
Anyway the hotel is nice and clean and in great location.
My only advise is to book the tranfer by yourself-taxi from the airport charges the same rate as the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anka323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice quiet location next to lovely small beach (blue flag).
Hotel good facilities - 4 pools, family friendly, organised events.
Mix f european guests but don't believe moaning on this site about a third were English and if you don't want to be on holiday with other Europeans go to Weston Super Mare
Plenty of choice for food (we were half board)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulSmithbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portocolom
41.8 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#15 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#1 of 7 in Portocolom
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Portocolom
758 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Marsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Marsal

Address: Calle Cala Marcal 11, 07670 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Price Range: £41 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Marsal 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cala Marsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Marsal Porto Colom
Cala Marsal Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing