We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL GEM”
Review of Bella Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella Maria
Ranked #2 of 3 Portocolom B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we stayed at these apartments for 10days in july 2014, they are large and spacious and contain everything you need large sitting dining, double bedroom, large bathroom and we had no 8 which had two large balconies one overlooking the pool and one overlooking the street. you are made very welcome by tomeu and maria and are looked after from the moment you arrive until you leave. a welcome addition was the pool large enough for a swim or cooling off. the apartments also have the best staff we have met in spain and they all look after you, but two gems that are usually miss out was the cleaning lady and the chef. the cleaner could not speak English and we could not speak Spanish so we both ended up shrugging shoulders laughing going on our ways till we met again and the same happened. the chef makes the most excellent meals and is to be recommended for her paella which I have reviewed under the cana tomeu restraint I would recommend these apartments to everyone and this will not be our last visit. I would also like to thank all the staff who were concerned when my wife got a root canal infection a dentist was sorted and everyone came and asked her how she was and took a real genuine interest in her. I would like to thank everyone for a most excellent enjoyable relaxing holiday

Room Tip: room 8 excellent
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Bella Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last wk was a great place to stay we had rm 7 which was pool view with the sun till about 8 o'clock would def recommend you ask for room 7 or 8 even 1 or 2 but there right above kitchen food was very good and reasonable prices very quiet but just what we were looking for no much for kids but if you want a quiet hol this is the place to be only 5 mins bus ride to cala dor which I would highly recommend , the rooms at bella Marie were fantastic very welcoming maid was in every other day only downside you had yo hold the shower yourself as the hook didn't work but no big prob

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pros:
-Friendly and welcoming staff
-The owner (Tomeu) and his family make you feel at home throughout your stay
-Spacious apartment
-Air conditioning
-On-street parking always available
-Small pool
-Great location for exploring the island and 10 minute walk away from a nice, sandy beach (Cala Marcal)
-Very good restaurant on site
-Cheap and convenient car and scooter rental available through owner
-Relatively calm, noise free location
-Large furnished balcony
-Kitchen provided with necessary utensils
-Cleaning every other day
-Freshly cooked breakfast onsite (various options available)
-Very comfortable, firm mattresses

Cons:
-No sea view (view either at gardens or at other hotel)
-Bathroom and certain furniture outdated
-Kitchen utensils needs replacement and new hob needed
-Small TV

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lili T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks with my wife was given a 2 bedroom apt but told I would have to move after 2 days as a family were arriving. were shown the 2 rooms but weren't told he let out the other room so to my surprise I went to use the 2nd rooms en-suite to find a screaming person when I walked in on them communication would've been nice.

good points:-

large apts for 2 people
cleaned every other day with towel change
free A/C
2 balconies
lovely and helpful staff

not so good points:-

rusty cutlery in the rooms
rusty 2 ring cooker( of which only one worked) took an hour to cook sausage and onions.
extra charges you only find out when you've checked in. (30 euro for the safe for 2 weeks) no option but to pay as the safe key is attached to your room key.
ate once in the restaurant and was given alli olli and bread which wasn't ordered but we were charged 3 euros, like everyone else thought I thought it was free.
every night we had a coffee in the bar when we came back from having dinner and he tried everynight to pour brandy into the coffee even thought being told no.
your told not to use the A/C for more than 15 mins at a time as it costs lots of money.
your told not to use a lot of hot water as it costs a lot of money.
your told not to leave your TV on stand by as it costs a lot of money.
bedding wasn't changed the 2 weeks we stayed there.
the cleaner starts to clean the restaurant at 8am every day so that's your alarm clock as she drags the tables and chairs around and the radio gets turned on.
at the start of the 2nd week the apts had a visitor from the sea down the road, Fernando the duck, decide to use the pool as its own personal pool/toilet/restaurant. not only did the owners try and rid us of its company, they fed and watered it every day so the pool was not used for a week as Fernando used the pool and poolside as a toilet.

overall this place needs some money spent on it to bring it up to date but cant see tommy spending it as hes pretty tightfisted with his cash. I wouldn't stay at these apts again as I go self catering because I like to cook and couldn't in these apts. the area of porto colom is ideal for a peaceful and restful holiday for a week at most. good bus links to around the island and some lovely cafes and restaurants around. cala marcal beach is a 15 mins stroll away and is well worth the walk for beach lovers. Tommies wife Maria is a lovely person and very welcoming without being imposing unlike tommy and his nephew

Room Tip: top floor room to get a sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank padsybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a lovely week in Majorca at the Bella Maria, the apartment no 6 was very spacious and clean, the down side was the views from the balconies, one was the wall of another apartment block and the other was dumping area for old furniture, there was no kettle or toaster either so we had to boil water in saucepan to make a drink. The owner tommy and Maria were friendly, the nephew who works in the evening was very nice too. The area was very picturesque with some nice walks, the beach a sandy bay was very clean with plenty of sunbeds for hire and the sea was really warm too. If you want a quite and relaxing holiday this is the place for you !!!!

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracey1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just come back from a week of sun, the apartment (no. 2) was very spacious with 2 balconies as it's on the corner just above the pool. The air-con is free & there is Wi-Fi at 5 euros for 24 hrs. The room is above the restaurant but surprisingly there was little noise from the kitchen. They start breakfast at 9 so no rude awakening. Very friendly hosts & staff who are helpful & informative. The location is relaxing as there are no noisy bars so you can have a good nights sleep. The port is a minutes walk and the beach at Calla Marcel is 10 minutes walk which is a beautiful sandy bay. There are plenty of walks with fantastic scenery and old Porto Colom is a must for fish restaurants and shops with good stocked supermarkets.
If you want a relaxing holiday its the place to go as the atmosphere is perfect to unwind.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room no 3 looked like they had more sun.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a long weekend in Mallorca and stayed at Bella Maria. The welcome was superb and we were looked after the whole time. Tommy and Maria were lovely hosts and attentive. The apartment was spacious and clean and the pizzas we enjoyed for lunch on our arrival were delicious.
The catamaran trip from the harbour, which can be booked through Tommy was a wonderful day out to Calla D'Or.
Highly recommend Bella Maria if you want a quiet escape without coach loads of tourists. The restaurant on the seafront two streets down from Bella Maria was fantastic.
Overall, a superb short break, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portocolom hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Portocolom
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#1 of 7 in Portocolom
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Portocolom
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Portocolom
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Portocolom
Hostal Portocolom
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maria

Address: Calle Alcala Gali Pc s/n, 07670 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portocolom
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bella Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Maria Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing