We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place all round”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked this self catering holiday through "On The Beach" who were efficient and professional, no hidden costs unlike some other companies I checked with.
Most reviews I read of Ola Cecelia apartments seemed ok, I tend to ignore a lot of petty complaints and take most with a pinch of salt. (Jeez, some people really do seem to think everything should be brand new just for them every holiday !!).
Arriving in the resort you pass Cala Marsal beach which is a blue flag beach and is breathtaking, this is literally 800 yards walk from the apartments.
Booing in at reception we found that the 1 Bed Apt we booked was not available, only a studio which was disappointing, however the receptionist did admit that all our paperwork was correct and that the Cecilia thenselves had made the mistake. (the receptionist was very apologetic and genuinely sorry for the mistake).
As I'm a realist and accept things can go wrong I do believe that it is how the problem is sorted out that counts.
We were offered the "All Inclusive" upgrade free until the following day when a 1 Bed Apt would be ready or if we preferred we could have the "All Inclusive" upgrade free for our whole stay if we stayed in the studio. Well, the reason that we paid a bit more for the larger 1 Bed Apt is that one of the three in our party does snore really loudly affecting everyones sleep. We tried the studio and it wasn't a good nights sleep so we moved in to the Apt the next day which was much larger and was perfect with the separate bedroom. The receptionist did also give us a second day "All Inclusive" for our trouble. We were more than happy with the way our problem was resolved.
As for the Hotel itself, what can i say........it was very, very good, The pool was cleaned every day, there were gardeners, maids and maintenance people working every day, the bar and restaurant staff were all friendly and approachable. (apartment was cleaned and fresh towels every third day).It made for a relaxing holiday which is the reason we chose Porto Colom knowing it was a quiet resort, if you want nightclubs, discos and more to do take the bus or a taxi 7km to Cala D'or.
There are a few bars and restaurants near by, some overlooking the beach which is a nice place to be at sunset, we ate in all the local restaurants, food standards were very high in all but I have to recommend the Paella in Restaurant Mar, it was fantastic.
If you want to go further afield a 20 minute walk will take you to the harbour/marina where there are a number of restaurants and bars.
All in all The Ola Cecilia was a great place and it would be unfair of me to single out any member of staff for special praise as they all did a wonderful job keeping everyone happy.

Room Tip: Don't book a studio, the 1 Bed Apartments are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your extensive review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your praise to every member of the staff.
We hope to see you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    241
    169
    76
    69
See reviews for
307
250
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a week at the Ola Cecilia, 5 adults, 3 children aged 2, 4 and 5. Enjoyed every minute. Weather was great, sunshine all day. In my opinion don't listen to the bad reviews. Apartments were spacious, we got two beds in bedroom and 2 beds in living room area. Pool area clean, we got sunbeds without any problem. We found the food most of the times very good. There were plenty of different salads, different types of dressings, lovely fresh bread, pasta, choice of fish, meat, vegetables and the chips were some of the best. We went all inclusive and it worked out a very cheap holiday. Staff always helpful, courteous and had a smile on their faces. The animation team were excellent with the children. The reception staff knowledgeable and helpful. Waiters cheerful and friendly. Children loved the mini disco and we got pleasure from watching them dance and join in with the other kids. The two eldest enjoyed the kids club. Ok if you haven't got young children it may not be for you. One negative it is a long way from the airport and we flew back at 7 am and was picked up by coach at 2.25 am.! It took two hours to get to the airport. If we went again would attempt to book a mini bus from the airport and not pay for transfer. Highly recommended. Also forgot to mention the beach is beautiful. Like a picture postcard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the childrens playground were quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnieSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review,
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly pass on your thanks to the entertaiment team, reception and waiting staff to motivate them to keep up the good service for future clients.
We hope to see you next year again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Wow this is and old school cheap and cheerful hotel.
When we arrived we reminded receptionist who was very pleasant that we requested a quiet room and where given a key to an apartment across the road above some empty shops, could have been in Beirut block from the look of it
The room however was spacious but in need of modernising and touches like the bathroom taps etc where missing all their chrome.
The hotels very tacky entertainment started around 9.30pm, we'd had a long day so tried to relax in the room with the LOUD Agado style music blaring out from the "entertainment room/ bar". The next morning we asked again for a quiet room and moved more into the complex which was much quieter but still the rooms where in need of an overhaul with holes in the wall where they had moved the toilet and the bath looked like it had been siliconed by a one armed blind man ( pictures uploaded)

We had booked half board thank god as I pity the all inclusive people who had to endure the same low quality food all holiday. The breakfast was the only meal which was acceptable, although they spoilt this with fruit juices which contained homeopathic concentrations of fruit juice and the fruit selection was frozen or tinned.

Chips came with everything, even breakfast, I say chips as they where based on potato but stone cold and vile. The meat was generally cheap and nasty chicken drum sticks and some unknown fish which contained more bones than the British museum, but the puddings where another level! Always green jelly to keep the kids awake, pink blamonge and other creations, one if which I photographed as it looked like a digestive biscuit frisby contest in a field of cow pats!

Needless to say we ate the evening meal on 2 nights of 7 and didn't hang around the hotel at all during the day.

On one occasion we popped in the hotel bar where the entertainment was bingo, everybody was drinking from tiny plastic cups which contained one gulp of beer, these where only for the all inclusive client. when I received a glass as I was paying! At the end if the bar where 3-4 baskets containing wots it style crisps and other cheap snacks which had been mauled by children and a handwritten sign saying" for all inclusive people only" as if it was some valuable perk.... laughable!


All in all if you like bingo, Agado, Iceland food and drinking from plastic thimbles it's the place for you however the beach nearby is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede7620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay.
We try to offer value for money holidays to all our guests, we are sorry you didn’t experience it this way during you holiday with us.
We will pass on your comments to the hotel direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Colom hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Horrible hotel it was a disaster the plug socket was hanging off the wall, there was an unlocked door that went next door (luckily next door people were nice) the bar man was also very rude, the food was discussing (no food during the day), I would nether come back!.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you did’t enjoy your stay with us.
We do indeed have a few communicating rooms for families, we are sorry the door wasn’t locked on the first day.After you came to reception and reported that the door wasn’t locked, the technician came and replaced the lock and the door remained shut for the rest of your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

booked this last minute for a week in the sun. flew with easy jet and even though french air traffic on strike we only had a short delay.our first time with easy jet we found them very efficient.the apartment was spotlessly clean but as we were self catering the facilities were very basic a two ring hob and a whistle kettle and a fridge the place is ready for a major re furb but the beds were very comfortable if you are self catreing there is a small supermarket within the complex and we spotted a wonderful resaurant opposite the hotel reception called visatmar the food in there was brill the staff treated you like you were family {it is a family run place} and it was reasonably priced the hotel staff were again really friendly and helpful i would say if you have a family go to this place they do all inc as well as half board and there is a wonderful entertainment team for the kiddies.porto colom is a beautiful area the beach is fantastic its very laid back and may be a bit quiet for some but we loved its charm but if did go back to ola cecillia i wouldnt do self catering i would maybe do b&b.

Room Tip: try book an apartment the studios dont have much to separate you from your neighbour.just a low meta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 968kathleenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the animation team.
We hope to see you next year again in any of the 3 regimes we offer: Self catering, Half board and all inclusive. If you want B&B you should book self catering and when you arrive you can arrange the breakfast directly with the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just returned from a holiday at Ola Aparthotel Cecilia and we had a blast ,went on an all inclusive and the food and drinks were excellent,staff cant do enough for you and overall this hotel is very good but the outstanding feture of all was the
Animation Team within ola who were pure class who went above and beyond their requirments and worked tirelessly to make sure you enjoyed your stay so i behalf of me and my family i would like to say a huge thank you to,Anna,Yuri,Manwella and Carlito for making our stay at Ola Amazeing and very mush look forward to staying there again next year...

Room Tip: My only grip was cost of Wifi @ €6.00 per day,Free in most restaurants near by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alercaev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, the animation team and our staff that much.
We will certainly pass on your comments to our very good animation team :Anna,Yuri,Manuela and Carlito in order to motivate them to keep doing an excellent job with future clients.
We hope to see you next year again for an animated holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was out 4th time to visit the hotel and we loved it more than ever. Staff are lovely and the apartments are really clean. They cant do enough for you. We met some lovely people. We went all inclusive and the food was lovely a great variety. The Anamation team were great with the kids and trying to get everyone involved with daily activities. A big shout out to Carlitos , Juraj , Anna and Manuela for making our holiday a memorable one!!!!!! We will be back for a 5th time :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Aparthotel Cecilia, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy you enjoyed you stay at our hotel.
We will certainly pass on your thanks to Carlitos, Juraj, Anna and Manuela in order to motivate them for future clients.
We will be welcoming you again next year for the 5th time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Colom
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Porto Colom
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
342 reviews
4.4 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#8 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Blue Sea Don Jaime
#56 of 58 in Cala Millor
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Porto Colom
1,051 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Aparthotel Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Aparthotel Cecilia

Property: OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
Address: Calle Gavina s/n, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Aparthotel Cecilia 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Aparthotel Cecilia is an apartments complex, located a short walk from Cala Marcal beach in Porto Colom, Mallorca. It is made out of different Mediterranean style buildings, over 3 floors, distributed most of them around a central area, with a swimming pool in that has a children section, surrounded by terraces and sun-beds where you can sunbathe, chill out and enjoy the sunny weather of Mallorca.The activities of our animation team enhance the stay of children and adults,inviting to enjoy the open air sport facilities. All in all, the Ola Aparthotel Cecilia, is an ideal resort to enjoy your family holydays by the beach in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, HostelWorld, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Aparthotel Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Aparthotel Cecilia Hotel Porto Colom
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing