We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just home from Ola Cecilia. Lovely week in a lovely resort. We were on the opposite side from the Reception and Pool, having turned down a ground level, pool facing apartment (we just prefer not to be ground level). Our Apartment (Room 530) was huge, with a double balcony and sea view to front and side - loads of room for our family (3 adults and a 12 year old). Basic but adequate, clean and maid service 3 times in the week. You need to ask for an Air Con Remote and you pay 20 euros refundable deposit. We were AI board, plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and staff friendly and efficient. Soft and Alcoholic drinks, crisps, nuts and Ice Cream available from the Pool Bar 11am until 11pm. Great size pool, where ball games and inflatable’s are welcome. Whole of main pool is deep but this is not an issue as most youngsters were wearing arms bands and there is small children’s pool attached. Always loads of sunbeds available, no matter what time of day we went to the pool. Lovely evening walks across the beautiful beach to the local shops or a little further on to the picturesque harbour of Porto Colom (approx 20 minute walk to harbour). We had a lovely day out to nearby Porto Cristo and the Caves of Drach - just 15km on the local bus from Cala Marsal costing 4.60 euros per person/each way - well worth a visit. We had a great holiday and feel we got great value for money.

Room Tip: Our Room (530) with Sea views was opposite side of the road to reception.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This holiday did what it says on the tin.
It is a 3 star holiday and doesn't pretend to be anything else.
Bearing this in mind, we had a fantastic holiday, the food was variable and catered for all nationalities. We went all inclusive, the food as stated was very good and the drinks were also very good.
Although we went as a couple, we would say that this aparthotel is perfect for families, with the fantastic entertainment team keeping everyone amused all day with games and shows in the evening.
Nearby is a superb beach with safe bathing for the kids with local bars and restaurants.
We would recommend the Cecilia to everyone looking for a good value holiday.
Our personal thanks to all the friendly staff and also for the pleasant company of Mick and Carol from Sunderland.
Margaret & David

Room Tip: Most of the accommodation is across a side road (Not Busy). If you want to avoid this, ask for a ro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ola Cecilia is a quiet, family hotel. Basic, but clean. With limited crockery (no problem if your all inclusive. )! Staff are friendly. Good activities and shows by entertainment team. A wide range of activities. Wide range of food and drink. Lots of plants and greenary. Pool is spacious and clean. Beautiful beach nearby, with lots of cafe's, shops, restaurants and activities. Ask for rooms between 100 & 300. As are quiet but near facilities.

Room Tip: 100_300 are quiet but near facilities.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Firstly ignore the bad reviews, this place isn't 5* accommodation but you're not paying for that privilege. The cost of our holiday was competitively cheap & worth it.

We arrived at 2am & the pleasant guy behind the desk was excellent to say the time of day, he explained the basics & where our room was but understood that we were ready to collapse so said if we had any questions just pop back later, apologising for his English which was bad because he too was tired, we understood every word & we felt welcome.

Its easier to get the negatives out of the way first because there are so few...
The crowing cockerel from 0430 each morning was a pain, we were told it was nothing to do with the Hotel itself & that they'd tried chasing it away & removing it but it kept returning, it was frustrating.
On the Friday night (only this one night) music from somewhere in the bar area was thumping out until gone 4am... luckily my kids are heavy sleepers, I don't have that advantage, it was unnecessary & out of order.
The restaurant was very warm at times due to a/c malfunction & once or twice I had to duck outside to the sunshine just to cool down.
The food - not to my personal tastes or desires, but my mother enjoyed each night more than the last, so split opinion within our group. But there was always at least one option, often more, that I would and did eat, so not terrible, but be prepared to try new things & take your first bite with your eyes closed! It tasted better than it looked.
The younger female staff who generally worked the bar, sometimes the restaurant, she was as pretty as you like, but very moody and extremely unfriendly especially to my son. i'm not a 'precious parent' so when he slipped (down to his own doing, running on tiled floor with wet feet) & I just looked at him & told him to stand up & stop being daft, I didn't need to see her frown, shake her head, huff & puff & lecture him in broken English before finally pouring my drink. This & a couple of other 'run ins' with this one staff made it quite tense when we saw her as ALL the other members of staff were polite, courteous, friendly & efficient.

^^ so in all 5 minor & to be fair petty and irrelevant negatives during a weeks stay in a busy hotel with many far more demanding guests than us

Right so the POSTIVES, I simply can't mention them all...
The majority of the staff were brilliant, the reception ladies were polite, friendly & knowledgeable, the bar staff efficient, the 'entertainment' staff friendly & the 'restaurant marshall' despite looking mean as anything was very friendly and excellent with my young disabled daughter. couldn't ask for more.
The room was cleaned twice, bedding changed three times.
Fridge in room convenient for beers, milk & juice.
Very spacious room, although could do with a slight update.
Pleasant surroundings.
Everywhere was clean & tidy.
Pool cleaned daily, sunbeds washed down and area sloshed out.
Enough food to stuff yourself at any meal time.
Friendly atmosphere, family orientated.
Great selection of alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks to cater every taste.

In all, definitely worth it, the holiday was a success, not in any small part by the well running & competence of this hotel.

General Observations :
Plastic cups around a pool is 'the norm', besides that, its sensible.
If you're a veggie, then that's your choice, however I was distressed to find one night that the lovely looking lasagne was in fact spinach not meat.. eugh. but that's 'my bad'. plenty of salads, breads & non meat dishes were on display, if not clearly marked.
The hotel is a 'good walk' from civilisation. The area is very quiet with only a small number of eateries & shops in the vicinity, and even if you walk around the beach & up the hill into the town of PortoColom you won't find much more there, we did find a lovely bar called 'Harrys' which was perfectly pleasant & has a good selection of ices for the children with a friendly girl serving, but ultimately if you want proper souvenir shops or even a sleeve of ciggys, you have to travel further afield.
We travelled by bus to Cala D'or twice, the buses (are timetabled) to run regularly but the time they run to is quite sporadic, so be prepared to wait for one but its worth it, Cala D'or is nice, busier without being hectic and very scenic.

DONT BE PUT OFF by my negatives or the fussiness of other reviews, if you want cheap & cheerful, you won't regret this place.

Room Tip: We had room 207, a ground floor apartment within the main complex, over looking the green, far enoug...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we booked for 5 days 12 - 17 july - i contacted the hotel prior to ask if poss to have a pool view high up - we got 2nd (top) floor over the pool - hotel is lovely and clean - predominently German hotel but plenty of English there. Breakfast has bacon egg etc but each day different type of sausages - all food very hot - just weird food times really 8 - 11.30 breakfast 12 -1.30 lunch and 7-9pm for tea - the snack bar is just sandwiches and crisps. So if you have a late brekkie and no lunch you would be ready for your evening meal.
Staff work hard - the entertainments try to involve everyone and the dance around the pool after the pool games is entertainment in itself - however the evening entertainment is a bit odd - the guy who does tai chi in the morning was balancing glasses of red wine on his head one night and put another man on his shoulders turned around once and put him down again ! the bingo is very confusing to say the least.
Its in a very quiet location - there are 2 bars around the corner and by 1.30 am everywhere is closed up so if you have a late flight in - get some water or change for the machine as you wont be able to get a drink anywhere.
Overall a very nice hotel with friendly staff - no complaints

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayjay1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at this resort for 8 nights from the 13th July hotel was fine we were in room 203 ground floor food was ok not a lot of choose but always salad fruit pasta etc staff are very good Maria in reception met all I needs she should be working in a 4plus hotel, Anna and Christina who work in reset rant and bar are lovely girls and did the hotel proud I think Roberto who is in charge of animation team is very I'm up here your down there with the rest of the animation team not good to see but he is also very nice pool is very deep but kept clean room was clean but needs updating but you must remember this is 3 star maybe 2 star, but good 2 star got woke up at 6am each morning by a family of cockrells all part of the fun no rush for sun beds. Beach is amazing not much to do out side the hotel but very peacefully porta colum town is lovely met some amazing people here which always makes a holiday

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank rachelgb270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

15-7-2014 til 22-7-202014


Porto Colom is a very pretty place and very quiet. So for anyone wanting a peaceful break this is the place.

During our stay people staying were predominantly German and Russian.

I booked this hotel following reading and trip advisor reviews for three weeks prior to booking our week. When booking a holiday we always ensure where ever we go the hotel we book has got air con as this is always a priority to us.

We stayed in room 312

Room was dated but clean and tidy. Maid when we saw her was friendly. Beds were never changed but towels was changed twice.

we had a problem with the air con from the day we arrived and promised on a daily bais this would get sorted. One of our party was very ill, we were desperate to get the air con sorted to help with their tempeture. When I complained reception staff spoke over the walkie talkie to a guy in Spanish, conversation was never fed back as to what was discussed and she would just walk away from the counter. So I never knew or will know whether conversation was related to my complaint. On day 6 we got fed up of asking. We were told to return everyday to see if a room was available to change but when we got there we were told all rooms had been allocated.

We ere told during the week that the air had failed in a number of rooms as well as in reception? soon as you get to your room check your air con prior to unpacking!!!

I am unable to comment on the food because we were self catering although We did have breakfast one morning, if you like garlic sausage and chips for brekkie then you won't be too disappointed. Visited the little restaurant just outside the ceceila apartments called the Visatmar everyday, it is very clean and food was great. Not too expensive either. Breakfast was great.

Pool was a dream, please beware the main pool is over 6 foot deep in some places - all the blue flat beds are uncomfortable, the support bars stick in your back. So ensure you're up early for the green beds that can be positioned for comfort.

entertainment team was lovely and friendly mainly geared to adults though. The young Bulgarian guy - his name begins with R was particularly friendly and was the only one who got involved specifically with any of the sports. So make sure you get him in the water!!!!

I know that the hotel was dealing with peak times but didn't find the front desk staff as helpful as previous trip advisor reviews had stated.

on the last night there was people messing around right into the early hours. Room phones were ringing for ages and people could be heard shouting. Our bus picked us up at 4.30am for a 10 am flight. we went to reception at 4am to drop our key for our room off, reception was all locked up, we rang the bell about four times in the end the bus driver tired the door again then left the key behind a plant pot.

The views from the M and R bar over looking the beach is a beautiful location.

taxi to the nearest chemist and bank is approx 8 euro return.





Would I go back to Porto Colom.....yes

ola ceceila apartments.....never.

Room Tip: 314 to 317 Rooms on the opposite side of the road were discussed around the pool, people staying...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portocolom
3.9 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Portocolom
345 reviews
27.7 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#70 of 78 in Playa de Palma
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Portocolom
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#1 of 7 in Portocolom
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Aparthotel Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Aparthotel Cecilia

Address: Calle Gavina s/n, 07670 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Aparthotel Cecilia 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Aparthotel Cecilia is an apartments complex, located a short walk from Cala Marcal beach in Porto Colom, Mallorca. It is made out of different Mediterranean style buildings, over 3 floors, distributed most of them around a central area, with a swimming pool in that has a children section, surrounded by terraces and sun-beds where you can sunbathe, chill out and enjoy the sunny weather of Mallorca.The activities of our animation team enhance the stay of children and adults,inviting to enjoy the open air sport facilities. All in all, the Ola Aparthotel Cecilia, is an ideal resort to enjoy your family holydays by the beach in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Aparthotel Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Aparthotel Cecilia Hotel Porto Colom
Ola Aparthotel Cecilia Porto Colom
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing