We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got what we paid for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for a week. We stayed in 634 & 635 which were not poolside rooms but had a seaview. The rooms were very very basic but they were very clean. The cleaners worked very hard and were friendly. Reception were always helpful. The food was above average for a 3-star hotel, the bar has a rule in the evenings that you can only have 2 drinks per person if staying on an AI basis which can be frustrating as there was only one bartender serving, who worked hard to keep the queue moving. Could have done with another member of staff to help at the bar. Pool was busy when we were there and if you do go here, be up early to get the "green" sunbeds not the blue ones which were uncomfortable. All in all it is a nice resort!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em00700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

On arrival we found and parked up ok. Reception staff were lovely to us and gave us our all inclusive bands so we could get in the restaurant for dinner before close. Restaurant is underground, and down steep steps. Food was food but not especially nice I lived on bread and salad for the week!
We went to our room and hated it smelly dated and bunk beds. We went and complained and wanted to upgrade but there isn't any other sorts of rooms after being given the keys to several to look at. We found one that would do but the accommodation is very basic here. The air con don't work and there is no window to leave open for ventilation so we had to sleep with our patio door open!!!!! We were in the block of 400s and the courtyard out the back had the house keeping staffs room so from early in the morning they crashed metal cages about so was noisy from the staff (they did give us something to sit and watch and found it amusing that on a Sunday morning they all came out with white paint and painted everything they could see) but the guests and area were nice and peaceful. TV didn't work. No kettle in the room.
We fell in love with Majorca and forgot all about the room being a bit rubbish. The bar was ok. No one explained the all inclusive dos n donts so just have to wing it and watch others.
Staff were nice. Entertainment wasn't that good but I work in holiday camps so get spoilt so don't listen to me on that.
Didn't use the pool but that side of the street was nice n pretty. We were on the other side of the street that was just white blocks of flats. This is not a hell hole but it is cheap option!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been to an Ola hotel before, so we thought we could rely on the name. We weren't disappointed. This is not a big hotel which means the buildings are only three storey and you get the sun on the pool area for much longer. The main building is just the reception and the bar, the pool is behind, then the apartments are beyond the pool or across the road which sounds awful, but it is only a minute's walk away. We were all-inclusive, as were a lot of people. The room was pleasant and had enough space for three of us. There was a kitchenette which meant a fridge to keep bottled water cool for night time. I'm not sure how good it was to actually cater for yourself, but there were some people doing this. The cleaning staff were very friendly and the room was clean. We had a pool view from our balcony. This sort of hotel is what you make of it. The entertainment is not for everyone, but we did partake of some of the sporting activities such as water polo, pétanque, rifle shooting, volleyball, yoga (very pleasant on a shaded, grassy area) and Zumba. My six year old went to the Mini-Club several times and to the Mini-Disco in the evening. The pool is one of the only bad points. The children's area is 0.60m deep and is great. The main pool measures from 1.65 to 2.20 m so it is practically impossible to stand up in it. Having said that, it was very well used by us and others. It was very clean and inflatables and balls were allowed in it. The life guard was there from 11am to 7pm. We had to evacuate the pool on the first afternoon as there had been an "accident" courtesy of a leaky swim nappy. The pool was well cleaned afterwards. The beach is only a few minutes walk away and it is beautiful. We are not big beach goers as we tend to stay by the pool, but it was so close and so good that we went for a while almost every day. It is clean, busy, well monitored with flags (there was the odd jellyfish alert) and the sea was shallow for a long way out so very safe to play and swim in. There were a few waves towards the end of our stay (courtesy of Hurricaine Bertha) and they were great to play in. One other good thing about the pool is that we could always get a sunbed as there were stacks of them. Now onto the food...beware of any reviews on this subject (including mine) as food is a very subjective topic. There was plenty of food, there was plenty of variety and it was restocked regularly. We thought it was good and especially appreciated the lunches which weren't just chips, sausages and burgers. If your idea of heaven is chips, sausages and burgers then you will probably not like the food as it isn't England and therefore not English food. I like to go abroad and eat differently, so although there are chips available every meal (including breakfast) I didn't bother having them. There is a lot of varied salad every day, soup and fresh bread, several hot alternatives such as fish, pork, veal, chicken, turkey, paella and always pasta and a sauce. There is a variety of fresh fruit and the desserts were lovely. Breakfast offered fresh pastries and bread, cold stuff, cereals, hot counter and fresh fruit. Drinks are obviously included and they were OK. Some people thought the beer was a bit weak in percentage, but that is probably not a bad thing as some people sit and drink from the allowed hours of 11 am to 11 pm and there was no drunken behaviour at all. The only poor thing was the coffee served at the bar which was very insipid. Breakfast coffee was good (from the right hand machine)! The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. I had to print off our boarding passes (thanks to Ryan Air's latest change which now means no bun fight for seats and we had seats booked all together for no charge). The hotel is geared up for this and you have to e-mail your boarding passes to the reception and they will print them off at a cost of €1 each. There are a few shops very close by including a Spar. These sell everything a Ryan Air traveller with no hold luggage could want. My adaptor packed up after two days and they sold them for €3. A litre of bottled water was about 70 cents. They also have loads of beach stuff like inflatables and buckets and spades at reasonable prices. The gift shop nearby sells phone cards; flip flops for about €3...what I'm trying to tell you is that you are not going to get ripped off even in the height of season. On an evening, the bar gets a bit warm, but the patio area is cooler. The dining room is a bit warm, but the room's air conditioning was brilliant. The reps were very good and had to contend with one of them being admitted to hospital, yet the activities still went on. We had a really good holiday and came home relaxed and refreshed.
We did hire a car one day which cost €70 or so. We shared with another two people so it wasn't too bad. We went across to Port de Soller which is one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited so I would recommend it. It is a natural bay with a palm tree lined front with lovely restaurants and a beach and sea just as good as Porto Colom. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank cas94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just home from Ola Cecilia. Lovely week in a lovely resort. We were on the opposite side from the Reception and Pool, having turned down a ground level, pool facing apartment (we just prefer not to be ground level). Our Apartment (Room 530) was huge, with a double balcony and sea view to front and side - loads of room for our family (3 adults and a 12 year old). Basic but adequate, clean and maid service 3 times in the week. You need to ask for an Air Con Remote and you pay 20 euros refundable deposit. We were AI board, plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and staff friendly and efficient. Soft and Alcoholic drinks, crisps, nuts and Ice Cream available from the Pool Bar 11am until 11pm. Great size pool, where ball games and inflatable’s are welcome. Whole of main pool is deep but this is not an issue as most youngsters were wearing arms bands and there is small children’s pool attached. Always loads of sunbeds available, no matter what time of day we went to the pool. Lovely evening walks across the beautiful beach to the local shops or a little further on to the picturesque harbour of Porto Colom (approx 20 minute walk to harbour). We had a lovely day out to nearby Porto Cristo and the Caves of Drach - just 15km on the local bus from Cala Marsal costing 4.60 euros per person/each way - well worth a visit. We had a great holiday and feel we got great value for money.

Room Tip: Our Room (530) with Sea views was opposite side of the road to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This holiday did what it says on the tin.
It is a 3 star holiday and doesn't pretend to be anything else.
Bearing this in mind, we had a fantastic holiday, the food was variable and catered for all nationalities. We went all inclusive, the food as stated was very good and the drinks were also very good.
Although we went as a couple, we would say that this aparthotel is perfect for families, with the fantastic entertainment team keeping everyone amused all day with games and shows in the evening.
Nearby is a superb beach with safe bathing for the kids with local bars and restaurants.
We would recommend the Cecilia to everyone looking for a good value holiday.
Our personal thanks to all the friendly staff and also for the pleasant company of Mick and Carol from Sunderland.
Margaret & David

Room Tip: Most of the accommodation is across a side road (Not Busy). If you want to avoid this, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ola Cecilia is a quiet, family hotel. Basic, but clean. With limited crockery (no problem if your all inclusive. )! Staff are friendly. Good activities and shows by entertainment team. A wide range of activities. Wide range of food and drink. Lots of plants and greenary. Pool is spacious and clean. Beautiful beach nearby, with lots of cafe's, shops, restaurants and activities. Ask for rooms between 100 & 300. As are quiet but near facilities.

Room Tip: 100_300 are quiet but near facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Firstly ignore the bad reviews, this place isn't 5* accommodation but you're not paying for that privilege. The cost of our holiday was competitively cheap & worth it.

We arrived at 2am & the pleasant guy behind the desk was excellent to say the time of day, he explained the basics & where our room was but understood that we were ready to collapse so said if we had any questions just pop back later, apologising for his English which was bad because he too was tired, we understood every word & we felt welcome.

Its easier to get the negatives out of the way first because there are so few...
The crowing cockerel from 0430 each morning was a pain, we were told it was nothing to do with the Hotel itself & that they'd tried chasing it away & removing it but it kept returning, it was frustrating.
On the Friday night (only this one night) music from somewhere in the bar area was thumping out until gone 4am... luckily my kids are heavy sleepers, I don't have that advantage, it was unnecessary & out of order.
The restaurant was very warm at times due to a/c malfunction & once or twice I had to duck outside to the sunshine just to cool down.
The food - not to my personal tastes or desires, but my mother enjoyed each night more than the last, so split opinion within our group. But there was always at least one option, often more, that I would and did eat, so not terrible, but be prepared to try new things & take your first bite with your eyes closed! It tasted better than it looked.
The younger female staff who generally worked the bar, sometimes the restaurant, she was as pretty as you like, but very moody and extremely unfriendly especially to my son. i'm not a 'precious parent' so when he slipped (down to his own doing, running on tiled floor with wet feet) & I just looked at him & told him to stand up & stop being daft, I didn't need to see her frown, shake her head, huff & puff & lecture him in broken English before finally pouring my drink. This & a couple of other 'run ins' with this one staff made it quite tense when we saw her as ALL the other members of staff were polite, courteous, friendly & efficient.

^^ so in all 5 minor & to be fair petty and irrelevant negatives during a weeks stay in a busy hotel with many far more demanding guests than us

Right so the POSTIVES, I simply can't mention them all...
The majority of the staff were brilliant, the reception ladies were polite, friendly & knowledgeable, the bar staff efficient, the 'entertainment' staff friendly & the 'restaurant marshall' despite looking mean as anything was very friendly and excellent with my young disabled daughter. couldn't ask for more.
The room was cleaned twice, bedding changed three times.
Fridge in room convenient for beers, milk & juice.
Very spacious room, although could do with a slight update.
Pleasant surroundings.
Everywhere was clean & tidy.
Pool cleaned daily, sunbeds washed down and area sloshed out.
Enough food to stuff yourself at any meal time.
Friendly atmosphere, family orientated.
Great selection of alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks to cater every taste.

In all, definitely worth it, the holiday was a success, not in any small part by the well running & competence of this hotel.

General Observations :
Plastic cups around a pool is 'the norm', besides that, its sensible.
If you're a veggie, then that's your choice, however I was distressed to find one night that the lovely looking lasagne was in fact spinach not meat.. eugh. but that's 'my bad'. plenty of salads, breads & non meat dishes were on display, if not clearly marked.
The hotel is a 'good walk' from civilisation. The area is very quiet with only a small number of eateries & shops in the vicinity, and even if you walk around the beach & up the hill into the town of PortoColom you won't find much more there, we did find a lovely bar called 'Harrys' which was perfectly pleasant & has a good selection of ices for the children with a friendly girl serving, but ultimately if you want proper souvenir shops or even a sleeve of ciggys, you have to travel further afield.
We travelled by bus to Cala D'or twice, the buses (are timetabled) to run regularly but the time they run to is quite sporadic, so be prepared to wait for one but its worth it, Cala D'or is nice, busier without being hectic and very scenic.

DONT BE PUT OFF by my negatives or the fussiness of other reviews, if you want cheap & cheerful, you won't regret this place.

Room Tip: We had room 207, a ground floor apartment within the main complex, over looking the green, far enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portocolom hotels
0.5 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#1 of 7 in Portocolom
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Portocolom
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel JS Es Corso
Hotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Portocolom
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Apartments Mallorca Portomar
3.1 mi away
Finca S'Aigo
Finca S'Aigo
#7 of 7 in Portocolom
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Aparthotel Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Aparthotel Cecilia

Address: Calle Gavina s/n, 07670 Portocolom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Portocolom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Portocolom
Price Range: £60 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OLA Aparthotel Cecilia 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Aparthotel Cecilia is an apartments complex, located a short walk from Cala Marcal beach in Porto Colom, Mallorca. It is made out of different Mediterranean style buildings, over 3 floors, distributed most of them around a central area, with a swimming pool in that has a children section, surrounded by terraces and sun-beds where you can sunbathe, chill out and enjoy the sunny weather of Mallorca.The activities of our animation team enhance the stay of children and adults,inviting to enjoy the open air sport facilities. All in all, the Ola Aparthotel Cecilia, is an ideal resort to enjoy your family holydays by the beach in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Aparthotel Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Aparthotel Cecilia Hotel Porto Colom
Ola Aparthotel Cecilia Porto Colom
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia Portocolom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing