We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so bad, not so good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Portocolom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Portocolom
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not so bad, not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The price is the only good experience

The bed was unconfortable and the room needs to be cleaned better

Breakfast without choice and frozen cheese and ham.....

The receiption manager forgot to smile during 2 days...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DptComunicacion, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Portocolom, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días,

Le agradecemos que haya tomado su tiempo en dejarnos unos comentarios sobre el hostal, lamentamos que haya tenido estos pequeños inconvenientes que intentaremos solucionar lo más pronto posible.

En cuanto a la limpieza, a diario tenemos una persona que se encarga de esta tarea, hablaremos directamente con ella para comentarle su opinión con el objetivo de que no se vuelva a repetir.

Le aconsejamos que vuelva de nuevo a nuestro hostal en otra ocasión.

Un saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely evening here by virtue of the candlelit and nicely laid tables, the music drifting from upstairs and looking out on the harbour. I really felt however that this place is over priced (€50 a head) given that my calamari was chewy, my tortellini was thick and under filled and every course they brought one dish then had to wait for 5 minutes for the other!

I wouldn't go back and would try out one of the many other options!

Sent from my iPhone

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DptComunicacion, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Portocolom, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, trasladaremos sus comentarios a nuestro equipo de cocina. Lamentamos que haya tenido esta mala experiencia con el servicio, se trató de un problema puntual. Le esperamos de nuevo en nuestro restaurante.

Un saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Colom hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here last December, room was lovely and large, very clean, staff where amazing, breakfast was yum! The restaurant is fantastic, we went back to the resturant in April and the staff recognized us was made to feel so welcome, food to die for,setting is lovely, definately will be returning when we return to mallorca in the next few weeks. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benbridge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

To be honest, this hostal is not worth the money they charge for their rooms (ath least not during high oder middle season).
At night, the garbage collector wakes you up and after that the collector of glasses will not let you fall asleep.
The water of the shower is as salty as the sea, just 50m away. Additionally, don't expect hot water!
The staff is friendly, but the hostal is definitively not worth its money.
A very disappointing hostal!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Have stayed in 7 or 8 Majorcan hotels and self catering places but this beats them all.
Not on grounds of luxury, as the acommodation is no better than a UK Travel-lodge or a Formule une in France but because the rooms are quiet, parking is plentiful, easy and free,,
there is free wifi and use of a pc. One has a balcony to hang kit out to dry (Lycra if you must know!) and space to put bikes safely. The beach at Cala Marcal has never been crowded when we have been but possibly lt may be in high summer.
The staff are friendly and helpful and this seems to generate a good atmosphere in which guests acknowledge each other, which is not all that usual.
The reason for the enthusiasm is that the breakfasts are really excellent and varied. You can
stuff yourself and last until dinner if need be. Even better is the fact that the HPC restaurant is really exceptional as indeed are the 4 or 5 others within 200 metres. If you want cheaper typical
pizzas and basic grub then you can get that 1km walk away at Cala Marcal.
Have been before and will list this as preference #1 for Majorcan stays

Room Tip: You should not stay here if the room is your main/ONLY criterion for holiday choice as they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

To be honest we had a problem of noise with the first room but were immediately given a different room which was lovely. Clean, large, two balconies, ample storage space, aircon and wifi. The staff were extremely friendly and obviously spoke various languages. I would have given five stars but to me the only thing lacking was a kettle in the room. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The best wifi is closest to the hostal entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabaspre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

For anybody who wants to be close to the water and in the "center" of Portocolom, this is the right place. Clean but lousy looking rooms in a back house across a little backstreet. Breakfastroom is very nice and open to the mail street along the water line.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliRStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Colom hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
OLA Hotel El Vistamar
#1 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#5 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cala Marsal
Cala Marsal
#3 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Porto Colom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orange Colom - Seaside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Portocolom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Portocolom

Property: Hostal Portocolom
Address: Calle Cristofor Colom 5, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Portocolom 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Hostel HPC Portocolom it´s located in one of the largest natural harbors in Mallorca, just at seven miles from the village to it belongs, Felanitx,it´s about 60 km from Palma de Mallorca, it´s today one of the most charming places of the island.With a perfect weather and a picturesque setting, the Hostal HPC Portocolom offers the best service and facilities where you can enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday or simply of a short break to visit this charming fishing village, or to do adventure sports.The hostel has 14 fully equipped rooms and a delightful restaurant by the sea. Admire the unique sunrise from the terrace of our restaurant.Hostel Services:Elegant restaurant with spectacular sea viewsBuffet breakfast included in the room rateFree internetfax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Portocolom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Portocolom Porto Colom, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing