We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, a true bistro restaurant in Mallorca!”

La Magrana Cafe-Bistro
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“At last, a true bistro restaurant in Mallorca!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

La Magrana Cafe is a real gem in Porto Cristo! After the bad experiences in Porto Colom (see my reviews), this bistro restaurant is a welcome change for our vacation in Mallorca. The atmosphere and ambience is relaxed and friendly. This is a real restaurant - there are no neon lights or flashing pizza signs here! You dine in a beautiful garden with olive trees with church bells chiming in the background. Service is attentive and friendly. We had bread olives and Alioli for starters, followed by medallions of pork with orange, and fried cod in a rich tomato and capers sauce. The entire evening was superb, relaxed, and thoroughly enjoyable. We have never felt more at home at a restaurant! La Magrana Cafe saved our culinary holiday, and you would be mad not to try it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfingmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    80
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our trip to Porto Cristo”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We accidentally found La Magrana by walking towards the church tower to see more of Porto Cristo. This small restaurant was fully booked and we then made reservations for later in the week. We were early for our reservation and this became our good luck because the chef was able to meet with us personally to explain some of the items on the menu. It was all great - the pork tenderloin, the chicken curry, the fresh vegetables and the salmon tartar. We ordered family style and shared each of the plates amongst our group of four. If I would have found this restaurant on night one, i would never have gone anywhere else. A beautiful location, great food, friendly staff and a "magic chef" - it was as if the stars aligned for a perfect night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We tried the special "pa amb oli" (bread with tomato and olive oil) it was delicious! and for dessert an almond cake with vanilla ice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This small cafe located next to the church in Porto Cristo is definitely worth a visit. We stopped by Saturday evening at eight o'clock, but unfortunately all tables were occupied or reserved. So we made a reservation for Monday evening.
This was the right decision! We had a table in the garden - a lovely decor with many beautiful decorations and an amazing atmosphere. At first the menu looked a bit odd for our kids, but we went for several small dishes for sharing - and the kids as well as we loved it! Tapas with a different twist. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices - payed 93 Euro for 6 dishes, a great bottle of wine and several bottles of water - which left the 4 of us very full.
Very charming place and we recommend it for everyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAarhus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you visit Porto Cristo go and eat here it is just like being in someones house this place is up beside the church! Great home cooked fresh food, loved this place, great eating outdoors in the courtyard.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank golfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Magrana Cafe-Bistro also viewed

Porto Cristo, Majorca
 
Porto Cristo, Majorca
 

Been to La Magrana Cafe-Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing