We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great last minute holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great last minute holiday”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My adult daughter & I stayed for a week last minute holiday(22nd-29th April 14) Our room was overlooking the adults only pool, which to my surprise was monitored by the lifeguard & bar staff explaining to parents that there was a separate pool for families. The room was large with a separate lounge area that doubled as a second bedroom with a TV in both areas. We also had a fridge, however there were no tea/coffee making or cooking facilities if you wanted a kettle you could get one from reception for a 20 euro deposit.(it was not an apartment)
The hotel is clean & very well run, staff efficient & friendly. The food was well cooked with a varied choice and as a bonus there was an adults only seating section in the restaurant.
On the whole we had a great relaxing holiday, our only gripe was that you needed deposits for everything safe, kettle, microwave & even had to pay for WiFi (if you wanted them) oh & the holiday rep we never did get to see her!!
As a last minute holiday we got this on a really good deal. I was looking to come back with my husband later in the year however I would NOT pay the full price, so unless I can get another deal...............?

Room Tip: The value rating is for what we paid for the holiday, not the full price one & I haven't rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMK666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear client,

thank you for writing your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments help us to go on improving day by day. Thank you also for metioning the adults only section in the restaurant.

We are looking forward meeting you soon back again.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    603
    256
    82
    69
See reviews for
1,294
205
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this hotel has everything we had a large suite with 2 tvs very comfy beds and a large shower . the food was excellent! plenty of choice and well cooked , several pools and one adult only pool the rep jamie for first choice was very helpful,he did everything he could to make our stay wonderfull, we would recomend this hotel to any one , most of the holiday makers were french but this really didnt matter to us ,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Judith,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely holiday at our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. Your feedback encourages our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in a further occasion.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from 1 week's holiday at this resort (18-25 May). We have two children (age 7 and 15 months). This is a perfect family resort. We stayed in Block A (looking over pool), the room had been refurbished and was very modern with separate room for children to sleep which was a bonus. Block C is also quite good as near the childrens splash pool. Block B is quite area.

There are lots of pools, splash area, fountains, 2 parks and slides to suit both our childrens ages and a beach very close to the hotel.

The time of year was perfect (1 rainy day when we unpacked and looked around the hotel and facilities and 1 cloudy day when we went on the little train right outside the hotel to Porto Cristo (you can get off at many stops - like the Caves) but other than that the weather was warm but not too hot). As it was out of school holidays it also wasn't too busy. I can imagine it would be very busy in July/August so you may struggle with getting a sunbed! Not sure I would fancy going to a large hotel at that time of year?

There is an "adults only" pool which looked amazing but we didn't get chance to try this. Not sure I would want to visit this hotel if I didn't have children with me! Definitely set up for more for families although it does cater for adults which is great (adults only part of the restaurant too).

There was plenty of choice with food (and I am fussy) for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I can highly recommend the pancakes and omelette cooked in front of you to order! Our one disappointment - we were excited to eat in the 50's restaurant (when I tried to book as soon as we got there we were told it was only open Mon-Wed and was fully booked)! Not sure if it's open all the time in season - so best check!

Also great choice of alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, hot drinks and ice creams.

As a couple and family we have travelled a lot and stayed in many hotels and I have to say we were very impressed with this one. Very clean, polite staff and great food and facilities. I would highly recommend this hotel for families. We have never really said we would want to go back to the same place twice as there as so many hotels and destinations to try but we would consider it for this hotel.

The area around the hotel is quiet. Usually we want to go out in the evening to eat or go on excursions but this year with a young toddler we were happy to stay within the hotel and use the facilities and beach so we didn't need anything else. It just depends what you want out of the holiday.

We requested a low level room as we had a pushchair. There are lifts but still a lot of steps - I recommend take a lightweight buggy as we did a lot of carrying up and down steps as often the lifts took ages to get to different floors!

Room Tip: Block A - refurbished near restaurant and reception Block C - children's pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Emma,

we are very happy to read your wonderful and detailed comments about our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. Your recommendation and the fact that you are considering to repeat with our resort for a further holiday make us very happy and encourage us in our daily work.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Cala Mandia,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king's lynn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just come back from this hotel on the 24 May after spending 11 nights there. The hotel itself is clean, extremely well run and staff are very efficient and very pleasant at the same time. We had an apartment on Plana 2 which was very spacious and well appointed.
LOTS of swimming pools, all very clean with lifeguards but water VERY cold. We only managed to get in on last 3 days when weather was hot to warm us when we got out.
The entertainment highlights were The Beatles night and Gary Barlow night and the Magician, which all sadly lasted for only a very short time and then there was nothing for adults for the rest of evening. We spent last few nights around bar at adult area pool sampling the cocktails with a rather pleasant barlady named Sheva.
We booked this as a Thomson Platinum 5 star but think the hordes of under school age children stops it being this rating. We realised it was a family orientated hotel but were not prepared for the shouting, wailing, naughty behaviours and general mayhem created by all these toddlers and babies. Obviously, some parents were in control but not all. We naively thought most kids would be at school but perhaps their half term was earlier than in our County, because there were also children of school age present! The same behaviours were also experienced in the bar during entertainment time.
The only saving grace for us was the completely adult only pool and bar and the small OUTSIDE dining area saved for adults. If it hadn't been for these two things I think we would have been in despair. Think owners really should provide adult only entertainment area and lounge area.
We had a day trip to Palma which was brilliant, although the bus trip took an hour and a half to two hours picking up along the way. Also several other little resorts along the coast easily reached by local bus service which is very efficient and cheap. You can also use the Ting Ting train which is nice if not in a hurry.
I must also say that Jamie the Thomson rep and his new young lady assistant were extremely pleasant and helpful and I commend them.
Overall a good holiday and believe it or not we did manage to relax!
Having said all that, we did have a lovely relaxing holiday and thought the area was

Room Tip: We were in an apartment on Plana 2 on the second floor and overlooked the street outside to the righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to receive your positive comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts! Our resort in fact is a family resort, although there are more quiet "adults only"-spaces offered to our clients travelling without children or for those parents whose children are passing a funny time with our entertainers in the Insi Club.

We appreciate all your feedback and would be very glad to welcome you back again in a further occasion.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in block C, room 2234 overlooking kids pool and kids club, top floor. Familiy holiday for 10 days with two children under 5 years of age.

I would say that this is a very good family holiday venue, certainly for those who have / like kids. Ideal for slightly older kids rather than those in pram / buggy!

First of all the good:

Food: Excellent quality and lots of quanitity in the main buffet areas. Lots of fresh salads, show cooking, varied diet etc. never spoilt for choice at the main restaurant. Surf and 50's diner restaurants were really good, although if booking, have to book at reception at 8am to get table, and later booking slots had 'left over choice' as desserts etc. not restocked.

Drinks: Soft drinks (fruit juices and mixed coke, fanta, sprite etc) as well as beer, wine (white, red and rose) plus tea/ coffee / chocolate all on tap at each bar / restaurant. Other drinks from the bar - excellent choice and quality, could ask for main brands with all inclusive without a problem.

Staff: generally very helpful, cheery and nothing too much trouble. The Isotel entertainment and kids club team are especially enthusiastic and full of energy 24/7. Bar staff great and very friendly.

Cleanliness: generally first class, room cleanin could have been better but all main areas spotless, longers and pools pressure washed and all tidy.

Facilities: from indoor pool and spa, fantastic water park on site, kids play areas, tennis, football and basket ball courts, not to mention all the day and evening entertainment - lots for older kids and adults alike.

Now for some areas which to get this really up to a 4 or 5 star resort, should be considered:

Location: the hotel is isolated with just a few shops and local restaurant with no local 'town' as such without a good walk.... The beach was not really accessible to buggies with no path just the soft sand.

Layout: Reviews and the website mention about the different areas, but what is not clear is that the furthest accomodation in family area block C (such as rooms 2234) is a good half mile walk up / down hill from the main reception and breakfast / evening dining in block A! Entrance to area B & C are very steep and slippery in the rain, especially with buggy! Having to navigate these in the rain and crossing two roads to get to area A is not ideal, and would challenge less mobile. Porter service was not offered or advertised - need to ask!

Lifts: No lift in area C (the family area) so heavy suitcases, kids, buggies etc. have to be lugged up three or four flights of stairs by hand (if on top floor). We ended up parking the buggy at the bottom of the stairs each day - not ideal.

Baths: No bath just shower - beware if kids not used to it! Overhead Rain shower was great but all or nothing for kids to get wet, and the 'handheld' shower attachment was just too powerful. Nice for adults though!

Air con: In the room was hot! Did not cool the room down at all. Slept with balcony door open the first few nights, but as smoking neighbours moved in, suffered with ot room, and all 4 of us cuaght cold / bug after the first night with air con on!

Main Restaurant: The 'inside' main food area is on three tiers so small kids plus food plates going up and down stairs is not a good mix - head for the one level 'outdoor dining'.

Reception staff: whilst good and friendly were over worked, and often had long queues at reception not just check in but at other times as well.

Pathways: Main 'ramps' down to main restaurant and within lounge area are only wide enough for one at a time, so buggy one way system had to operate - could be a bit wider to allow two buggies to pass one another each way.

Closures: It was not reported on booking with Thomson, or at check in or anywhere else, that one of the main area a pools, and the whole of area B with 2 pools, bars and 'Flower Power' restaurant were closed due to refurb prior to peak season or just being slightly off peak season. As a result, all other areas busier than normal. Should have been highlighted.

Opening: The water park only open 10.30am to 5.30pm daily - so other areas busy outside of this, limited opening of indoor pool for families.

Food: The hot plates were not hot enough and unless you timed it right for fresh cooked food, mainly luke warm after any time. Peak times food was replced, so hooter than at other times.

The usual 'sponge cake and cream' desserts so popular on the continent could have been supplemented with some other buscuit base, pastry or other such desserts.

Ice cream: If you have picky kids like us, the ice cream offering of a stocked fridge with hand held ice creams only rather than 'tubs to scoop' may not be ideal. Orange or green ice lollies mainly, although some tubs, ice cream sandwich and other things were ocassionally available.

If the surf and Flower power restaurants also did breakfasts - this would make it far better for block C and B residents.

Generally a really nice hotel who with better information on what to expect may receive an even better rating going forward. Would i recommend - perhaps - to familes with older kids or stay in area A.

Room Tip: Pick area A if adult only or difficult with movement, B if you want a quiet life, and C for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calorman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking your time to write this detailed review about your stay in our resort. We are very grateful for your feedback, which helps us to go on improving our services. Thank you for all your comments, we will take them into consideration.

We are looking forward meeting you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here in May, 2 adults and one 16 year old. Extremely pleased with our room (superior family suite in zone A) which was very spacious, modern and clean and over-looked the adult pool area. Cleaners always did a great job throughout our stay. Food was excellent quality and varied options so something there for everyone, staff very efficient at changing tables and replenishing the food and always kept area clean (food was always at good temperature). Same goes for the rest of the hotel. Great choice of hot and cold snacks by pool area all afternoon. All staff were very friendly. We have absolutely no complaint but would mention that this hotel is really best for families with very young children and would not recommend for adults/teenagers as we were in the minority, noticeably in the evenings.

Room Tip: Zone A is where main block is (reception and dining room and spa) Overlooking adult pool area much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Julie,

we are very happy to receive your positive feedback about your holiday in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking your time to post your experience.

It would be a pleasure to host you again next season.

P.D. During school holidays there are less toddlers and young children but more older children and teens in the resort.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort. We were surprised when we arrived how many children there seemed to be. We had booked a Superior Suite and to be honest the room was nice and very clean, great we thought. We then decided to have some lunch before the restaurant closed, food wasn't bad although not that hot. Had a quick look around to get our bearings and spent a couple of hours at the adult pool which was very clean and peaceful. We thought our first impressions had been a bit hasty regarding the amount of children we had first seen. Dressed for the evening and went for dinner. Once we had found a table that was set we helped ourselves to the buffet. Although there was not a bad variety all the food was only lukewarm. We then decided to go to the area where there was entertainment. Oh my god I have never seen so many children. The entertainment was the entertainment team themselves and was terrible at best but the worst thing was the area next to this which was a lounge area was turned into what could only be described as a war zone. Chair cushions were piled up in the middle of the room and children were diving on these. This was the scenario for the rest of our stay, days not bad in the adult pool area but evenings were terrible. We did however enjoy some of the acts bought in i.e The Beatles, Gary Barlow etc but as soon as these finished and the children were taken to bed the bar closed. We sat with another couple one evening and the bar was closed at 11 and we were left sitting in the dark with all the drinks machines locked up. Bed was normally by 11o/c as there was nothing else to do. No adult area's exist in this hotel in the evening. We did have a word with our rep who suggested he may be able to send us to another hotel for 1 evening further around the coast if we wanted to pay for a taxi . So to sum up if you are adults GIVE THIS HOTEL A MISS.

Room Tip: We stayed in block A which is the main area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Lorraine,

thank you for taking your time to post your comments about your recent stay with us in the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room.
Our resort is mainly a family hotel, although we also try to offer alternative spaces and areas for our guests travelling without children. As you mentioned, there is the Adults Only South Pool area and Bar, which is opened until 23hrs every night, in order to provide a more quiet - and not family orientaded - area for couples during day and evening. Also in our Main Restaurant we provide an area on the terrace for adults only, overlooking the south pool.

We appreciate your comments which are an important feedback for us in order to go on improving all our services. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back again in a further occasion.

Best regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cristo
5.2 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
18.8 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
5.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
THB Felip Class
THB Felip Class
#5 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa

Property: Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
Address: Federico Garcia Lorca s/n | Porto Cristo Novo, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Cristo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Family Hotel in Porto Cristo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cristo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Hotel Cala Mandia
Cala Mandia
Insotel Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa Porto Cristo, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing