We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a couple DONT GO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On the whole the hotel,staff and food are very good but there is an accident waiting to happen in the restaurant.Loads of small children,many under 5 walking about with plates and glasses.The parents seem to abandon them.The saving grace of the hotel is the adult only areas,pool and dining.When we were there on 26th June there were apparently almost 800 children so if you are a couple DONT GO !

Room Tip: Main hotel building room 1327
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Noreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Noreen,

thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, and thank you for your good valuation of our whole hotel, staff and food. It is true that there are plenty of children in our resort, as we are offering a wide range of different activities, services and facilities for them. But we also try to satisfy our adults-only guests needs, providing spaces like the SOUTH area which is adults only or a separate adults-only area in the restaurant.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you back again in a future occasion.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
There are newer reviews for Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Cala mandia having travelled as two adults.

We have stayed in similar resorts before but what sets Cala Mandia apart is that they actively enforce the "adults only areas"

The adults pool and bar provided a lovely relaxing experience protected from the kiddie bedlam which was only about fifty yards away but could have been miles away as you were so protected from them.

Using the adult pool meant that you didn't have to join the morning fight for sun beds which seemed to happen by the main pool as there were aways plenty of beds available including generously kingsized soft beds on individual little jetty's which jutted out ove the pool edge.

Special mention must be given to Jorge and Shiva who were exceptional in the standard of care they provided to their customers. Both were equally adept at creating the wonderful cocktails on offer.

Now onto the other areas of the hotel. The whole complex was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Staff in all areas were very friendly and always ready with a smile and a cheery greeting. The main buffet restaurant was quite busy but it did have an outside adults only eating area which meant you only had to run the kiddie gauntlet when visiting the buffet to choose your food. On the subject of food it was magnificent. Always plenty to choose from and of a much better standard than you would perhaps anticipate in a mass catering venue.. We didn't try any of the other restaurants as you had to pre book the day before and we never quite knew what we would fancy on the day.

Mention should be given to the entertainment team. Matt and Marco are a kind of Ant and Dec double act who oversee the main evening entertainment which was quite varied in both content and standard. The Temptations tribute and the magician were our favourites. As others have pointed out the bars close early but that wasn't a major problem for us.

There is a lovely little beach adjacent to the hotel and an even better one about 10 minutes walk away but apart from that there isn't much as Cala Mandia just a handful of shops. But its only a cheap taxi ride to Porto Cristo which has a few more facilities and from there you can catch a boat trip further up or down the coast so you can use that as a kind of public transport if you want to visit bigger resorts such as Cala Millor.

We only have a couple of small negatives to say about the hotel. Firstly the gym is boiling hot (you have to ask at reception for the air con to be turned on) also they didn't have a rowing machine which is hubby's torture equipment of choice. And the other thing is that 30 Euros a week for wi fi is far too expensive.

But all in all a fantastic holiday in a great hotel. Will think of returning there but will book direct with the hotel as there seem to be much better deals available

Room Tip: We stayed in block A overlooking pool which had a great view of the distant mountains and a side vie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sue,

thank you very much for this kind and detailed review about your stay in our resort. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel also without kids, and that you rated positively our adults only areas and services. Thank you for all your feedback, which is an important part of our success as it helps us to know our guests needs and it ensures that we go on improving our services day by day.

We are looking forward meeting you for one of your next holidays!

Best regards from Cala Mandia,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We travelled as a family of 4 with my 2 sons 19 & 22 years and was slightly worried from reading previous reviews that the Hotels was going to be full of children! it was, as advertised it is a family Hotel.... but having the 'Adults Areas' you didn't have to get involved with children if you didn't want too! apart from walking too and from various areas. We had one of the 2 bedroomed apartment's in Block B, it was very nice and clean and very spacious, the only reason this area is classed as the 'Quiet area' is because there is not any entertainment going on!!! there is still lots of children and noise though.... The food was excellent in all restaurants and the 50's Diner is a must its 12 euros each but well worth it! food is amazing and Francesco & Daniela will entertain you with some dancing from Grease they were fantastic!
The Adult pool area and bar was so relaxing, background music playing all day, no fighting for sun beds any day or actual beds round the pool for luxury... truly relaxing. Jorge, Christian and my friend Shiva were the perfect bar staff, all premium brand alcohol and amazing cocktails too nothing was too much a great asset to the Hotel! there was a lovely ambiance in the evening too....
Entertainment in the other bar was good too very busy with families and got very hot, if I had to give the Hotel a tip it would be change the location of the Entertainment area as it is too small I can't imagine what it must be like once the kids break up and the Hotel is full!!

Beaches are 5 minutes away pretty coves with clear blue sea and sand!
My boys got friendly with the entertainments team so went out with them a few nights, not really the Hotel for 17 -25 year olds I don't think!! the adults bar closed at 11pm each night and the other 2 at midnight then it was deadly silent.
Porto Cristo is just 5 mins down the road easy access by Bus, Taxi or the ting ting train or like us we walked it..... if your feeling energetic!!
Anyway well done the Cala Mandia great Holiday with fantastic, friendly, helpful staff.....

Room Tip: Block A if your Adults only, slightly quieter area overlooking the Adult Pool and Bar area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Louise,

thank you for posting such a nice and detailed review about your experience in our Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Adults Only Areas, and that you rate positive our food offer. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they will be very happy about your words.

We are looking forward meeting you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we have just returned from cala mandia resort and had a lovely relaxing break, no complaints at all, we have no young family and the adult only areas are superb,the hotel is kept in an immaculate state , the food was very good and much variety, all the staff had happy welcoming faces and were so obliging, the best hotel we have visited.jamie the thomson rep also did his upmost to welcome and be there for the guests.

Room Tip: we were accomodated in b block the quiet area and it was just fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulavidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Paul,

thank you so much for posting this nice review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that our guests feel comfortable during their stay, so we know we did a good job. It was a pleasure hosting you in our resort, we are looking forward meeting you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a great week at the cala mandia! First holiday abroad with are 4 year old little girl. The hotel is excellent for families with young children, three sections to chose from all with a different vibe to them, so its almost like your staying at 3 hotels in one! We had a family room in section b the quiet area which was perfect for us. Lovely big room with separate sleeping area for are daughter. The beach is 5mins away, lovely little beach, but beware to hire beds and parrsol it will set you back 12 euros! We only went once as we preferred all the lovely pools at hotel! Food and drink was excellent, so much chioce and loads of it. Are daughter went to the kids club 4 times, throughly enjoyed it! A speacial mention to Baianca who looked after her very well. The whole hotel is kept immaculatly clean and staff all friendly. All in all would highly recommend this hotel and would definately return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank maxine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Maxine,

thank you for your recommendation! We are very glad to read your good valuation of our resort and of our services. We are really happy that you appreciate our efforts and are looking forward welcoming you back again in Cala Mandia in the future.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at this amazing hotel. We have a 5 and a 4 year old and they loved it. I think that the range of pools is fantastic for all ages and everything is so close ..I know some people find the road inbetween an issue but personally we actually liked it as it felt we were out a bit more...the traffic is safe and lots of crossings etc.
The food was of a high standard. We stayed at the Holiday Village last year and the food there was no where close. The coffee is the only thing that lets the food etc down. Good range of alcohol and drinks...the rose in the bar is horrid :( but on tap lovely. The white wine again by the bottle on the acidic side but again nice on tap. I suffered a bad tummy one night and felt terrible but I think it was a bug rather than the food as everything was so nice and clean and the chefs so attentive to everything.
I do have one big negative to the hotel....and something for parents of young kids to note...the patio doors are not lockable with a key...so I had to sleep apart from my husband as we were worried our very cheeky 4 year old would get out on the balcony alone in the night/morning etc and we were on the top floor. I would knowingly requested a ground floor knowing this. My husband seems to think the front door was also the same as you could open it without a key...just worth a mention?
The staff were amazing and so friendly. Everywhere you looked someone was cleaning or doing something to help. The animation team lovely but at times the entertainment dire...but with kids the main thing is a great day with nice food, clean areas and lovely pools...all great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyandshiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that we could meet your expectations and that you were satisfied about your experience. Thank you for your feedback, which helps us to go on improving day by day.

Best regards from Cala Mandia,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are just back from a week in the sun at Insotel Cala Mandia, we had lots of family fun. The food was tremendous, hats off to the restaurant staff. It was busy with lots of families, so madness ensued, which they handled really well. Here are our thoughts:
- Sushi night was fabulous, very well done! I have to say all of the food was fantastic and we ate way too much.
- Our apartment, although quite small for 4 of us, was clean and comfy with a safe in the room
- We were on floor 2, lifts were annoying as we had buggy & couldn't take stairs
- The staff were brilliant, and our rep Lauren really helped me out with Goat's milk that I was told would be available & in the end wasn't
- There was something for everyone to do, the little fountain area was perfect for both our boys (2 & 5)
- you pay a deposit for towels that you can change twice during a week and get the full deposit back, so well worth it
- The swimming pools were fab, very clean and ample for all
- Playparks well maintained and very impressed with them
- The splashpark was lots of fun, although it was extremely busy :(

Things that were a little annoying:
- despite it being stated that you were not allowed to reserve sunbeds with towels, people still did this & some didn't come down til well gone 11 when we were heading back up to room or to the beach
- Had to pay a deposit for a kettle and no coffee, tea, etc in the room
- being on the 2nd floor meant we had to use lift to get to dinner, but it was only a small irritation
- photographers taking pics by the pool - I found this really weird!
- 50's restaurant was lovely, we were served food, there was dancing and cool music, but I am not sure it was worth the additional 36 euros we paid
- an hour from the airport, which with two youngsters was really hard!
- I've only given an average for the sleep quality cause for me, despite the air con being on, I was still roasting hot, this was as we had small duvets on beds rather than sheets. Also, for me, the bed was too hard.

Tips for future travellers:
- Take sun tan lotion, it's expensive in the local shops
- If you like spirits ask by name, one first few days we have local gin then moved onto Tanqueray and tonic, so much better
- If you can get away with not using a buggy do, so you are not needing to use lifts, this was the most annoying part of out trip

What I always do in reviews is ask the family if they would do it again, this is a true reflection on whether it was value for money and all of them want to go again next year, so I think that sums it up! Despite the minor irritations, the holiday was great and met everyone's needs.

Room Tip: we were on floor 2 whilst good as quiet, annoying if you had buggy. you could also only use one set...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Jo,

thank you for your great review. We are very happy to may learn from your experience and take your vision into account to achieve maximum adaption to our guests needs. Thank you for your fantastic rating of our restaurants and food, it makes us happy to hear that our efforts are well rewarded. Thank you for all your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cristo
5.2 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#5 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,859 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 11 in Porto Cristo
591 reviews
22.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
24.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
775 reviews
5.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa

Address: Federico Garcia Lorca s/n | Porto Cristo Novo, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Cristo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Family Hotel in Porto Cristo
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Cristo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cristo
Price Range: £158 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Hotel Cala Mandia
Cala Mandia
Insotel Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa Porto Cristo, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing