We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a great room 1049. I really don't like big hotels but we go now we have a child but this was really good. No noisy music by pool - only at aqua aerobic time which is fine. The hotel is split up by the road but somewhere that big will always involve moving around road or not and you don't leave kids unsupervised. Room cleanliness v good. Food good too. Drinks good - rose on tap ok but the rise from bar was good. Staff always v polite and helpful. I would recommend this no problem at all. Likely to visit again and or try insotel elsewhere - seems a great chain. Porto Cristo small but lovely of an evening but the waterway

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ollerwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for posting your kind review about your holiday in the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We feel proud that we could meet with your expectations, although - as you say in your report - you normally don't like big hotels. Thank you also for your good valuation of our food and of the cleanliness. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back again in a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Flies on food. Wasps on drink dispensers. Cheap undrinkable wine. Watered down beer. Not a resort but 3 separate buildings separated by a busy road and on a roundabout. Fight for sunbeds in the morning. Rude staff. Queues to get served at bar in evening for up to 20 minutes. One bar staff in high season August for a hotel that is at 100% occupancy. Rusty and dirty shower that had to be re silicon during our stay. Rubbish in gardens. Broken pots which my daughter cut her foot on. Allocation of a room that was across the busy very uneven road for my family which included a disabled 8 year old in a wheelchair with 24/7 care needs and which was extensively informed to thomsons prior to departure. Arrival disabled taxi booked by thomsons driver on phone and reading text whilst driving us on both arrival and departure. Awful experience and not worth the money. Marketed as kids den and family suite - actually two plain white painted very basic rooms with TV's on wall. Empty fridge, basic beds, smelly pillows. Damp smell in room throughout. Wifi 30euros per device. So 2 kids 60euros.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOURBOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay in the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We are very sorry to hear that you have been disappointed by our services, as it is really important for us to provide you a comfortable holiday and to satisfy your expectations.

We regret that all the different proposals we offered you during your stay were not accepted, we would have liked to have been allowed to help to improve your holidays.

Thank you again for your comments. We will pass your feedback to the different departments in order to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Simone



Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A great hotel, very clean and the staff are really kind, friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and very comfortable, the family room had a separate kids den as standard. The walk in shower was great.
Food was plentiful and tasty but not much variety from day to day. The snacks and lunches became a bit monotonous by the end of the week.
A good range of spirits in the all inclusive but as is often the case the wine included was poor quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room in area B (quiet zone), which has a lovely uncrowded restaurant, "flower power re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 412CarolA412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa for your recent holiday. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time in our resort, thank you for your feedback which will be followed up to go on improving all our services. We hope you turned back home with a lot of nice memories from your family holiday in Cala Mandia; it would be a pleasure welcoming you again next year.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a fantastic time we took our son (14 ) and daughter (9 ) considering this a mainly family oriented resort it's not as noisy as you would think. Brilliant variety of food. top notch. The nearby beach although busy is fantastic with pretty fish near the shore to see. the hotel catered for all needs very well. The water park with slide is a great bonus. we have already booked for next year....... Get in early rooms go quick

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones with gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chef405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear client,

we feel very proud to hear that you have passed a great time in our resort, and that you have already booked your next holiday with us. Thank you for your nice words regarding our facilites, the food and the Cala Mandia beach. We are looking forward welcoming you back next summer season.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The resort and its facilities are very good - the staff are wonderful and very efficient. The reception staff could do with brushing up their English skills and there needs to be more staff in on check-in times. There was a long wait when we arrived - not what you want after an early flight and a long bus journey!

The food at this resort was definitely sub-standard. Everything was over-cooked or processed, the wine was horrific (no surprise as it's served by tap!!) and the coffee was freeze dried with freeze dried milk too - really?! You can choose to book into one of the "restaurants" at the resort, rather than Le Grand Buffet but DON'T DO IT! The food is even worse and would you believe they charge you for going to the diner?? Very very disappointing. If you like food I would recommend you find a different resort. Also the gym had no aircon and was sweltering and stinky.

Plus points: The pools are awesome and the life guards do a very good job - shame about the towel reservationists. The rooms are absolutely fine. We had a 6 month old and a 3 year old and it was a very relaxing, fun holiday. Again, the staff, particularly the staff in Le Grand Buffet are awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Horse,

thank you for posting a review about your recent stay in the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We are glad to read that you had a relaxing and fun holiday with your little ones. Thank you for all your feedback which will be duly followed up to ensure that all our services are at the high standard we are used to work with.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future here in Cala Mandia,

Kind regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hi ,
I will keep it simply ,its like a five star butlins ,thousands of children having a loud time. They say there are adult sections ? One pool which is nice but the rest of the time you are with the kids . They need to have a re think .Staff not very friendly ,rooms ok and in fairness the food was good .
We did not find one happy couple , one last thing we went on the cateraman trip which was fine but spent 4.5 hors . yes 4.5 hors on the coach picking people up .Thomsons you are dropping your standards .

Regards

andy

Room Tip: Couples please don't go , you might be ok with children but its very hectic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Andy,

thank you for your review. We really lament to hear that your stay in our adults only section did not meet your expectations. In august the resort is fully booked and there are many children, but we also try to satisfy the adults' needs and provide our guests in the South area with a huge adults-only pool with a lounge pool bar. In the main restaurant, there is an area of the terrace only for adults, in order to provide a quiet area.
We also are very sorry to hear that you felt that our staff was not friendly as it is one of the items that our guest always value as something very positive.
Thank you again for your comments, and thank you for yout good valuation of the food and our rooms.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for a week, family of 5 (2 x adults, 3 x children, 16,14 and 11). Everything about the place is great (apart from 2 bad days of weather!). Food is great and a varied selection that caters for all. The locking of the sunbeds we thought was an excellent idea as it stopped people leaving towels out overnight. Rooms were clean and tidy and everyone from the cleaners to the management were very friendly and accommodating. The one slight issue was with checking out, we had to be out by 12pm midday yet our flight was not until the early hours of the next day and we were not due to be collected until 11pm that evening. There was no late checkout and although we still had full use of the facilities we had to use the communal showers in the gym to get showered and changed. It might be worth considering allowing guests with this scenario to have the use of a room for 30 mins to an hour (at a small cost). I'm sure theres plenty of rooms available.

Room Tip: Family rooms in block C are quiet but all other areas are still ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InsotelHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Mike

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the food and with the facilities offered. Regarding your comment about the late check out at departure, we feel sorry that in your case there was no possibility of a late-check out of your room. We always try to do all our best to make it possible to those clients who request a late check-out, depending on availability on the departure day. Thank you again for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again in a further occasion.

Best regards,

Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cristo
1.4 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aparthotel Porto Drach
Aparthotel Porto Drach
#1 of 11 in Porto Cristo
602 reviews
22.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
818 reviews
5.4 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
18.8 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa

Address: Federico Garcia Lorca s/n | Porto Cristo Novo, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Cristo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Family Hotel in Porto Cristo
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cristo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cristo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cristo
Price Range: £158 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Hotel Cala Mandia
Cala Mandia
Insotel Hotel Porto Cristo
Insotel Cala Mandia Resort & Spa Porto Cristo, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing