We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can one say”

Soma Restaurant & wine bar
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Soma Restaurant & wine bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Cristo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, Kentucky
1 review
“What can one say”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The previous review says it all except the staff well what can one say, one is lost for words they are dreadfully rude have attitude and every thing is too much trouble , we asked for the pasta for our grandson not to be fried in butter but just served after being cooked well you would think I asked for the moon , we had dirty looks,head and shoulder shrugs then told in no uncertain terms forget it. Trying to get him something to eat as we had also came as half board guests was like trying to get blood out of a stone,we didn't dare ask for any other variation on the food for the rest of our holiday and were outcasts with THE LOOK for the rest of our stay we were treated as a nuisance rather than valued guests .we have travelled extensively and used all standards of hotels and restaurants and have had our far share of poor service however this exceeds all previous experience.this is the first bad review I have written but feel it needs to be said , I normally give generous tips as I think the job demands a lot but this time the only tip I will be giving at the end of the week is "lose the attitude before you lose your restaurant" aparto drach ditch the restaurant as it's damaging your wonderful apartments

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    51
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chawton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Used for half board by the adjacent Aparthotel PortoDrach. Appears to under new ownership. Ignore the menu posted outside as this appears to relate to the previous regime. There is no choice, and presumably the favourable reviews. Each day features a 3 course set menu (NO CHOICE AT ALL) that makes school meals look like a gourmet experience. Ingredients are budgeted out of existence e.g. a paella that was pure rice fortified by a solitary prawn, stale bread and a signature style of frozen food.
Breakfast is a farce. Cups and saucers rarely available. Coffee cups that are too small so that the machine delivers a measure that overflows and then.....no saucer.
The ambience is completed by plastic patio style chairs!
I pity the poor waitresses who smile despite the Fawlty Towers disaster unfolding around them.
AVOID

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Metaldread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were staying in the Hotel Drach next door and ate here every night as a half board guest. The food was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTom1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soma by John the Scotsman”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Fantastic location overlooking Porto Cristo Marina.Fairly upmarket and fairly expensive,but a good varied menu.Excellent cocktails,friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChilledJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
264 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My friend and I ate an amazing meal here whilst in Porto Cristo.

We started with a lovely jug of sangria to share and then were presented with bread, olives and alioli. We shared ham croquettes and creaking prawns (prawn tempura). A complimentary starter of black pudding and apple spring rolls were then provided and these were amazing.

We shared a mixed paella and were delighted. We left with very full tummys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soma Restaurant & wine bar also viewed

Porto Cristo, Majorca
 
Porto Cristo, Majorca
 
Porto Cristo, Majorca
Porto Cristo, Majorca
 

Been to Soma Restaurant & wine bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing