We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couple with a daughter ”

Soma Restaurant & wine bar
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Soma Restaurant & wine bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Cristo
Price range: US$11 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couple with a daughter ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic dinner, lovely place, unique views, and the best the food and wine, I'll recommend to anyone with a taste for good gastronomic experience, attention for the detail on the dishes and the way it is served, great atmosphere, and superb service
Thanks Some for a great evening !!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Xavi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    49
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Half Board, Heavenly, Foodie Treat!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We ate here last week while staying at the Apartamentos Porto Drach (see separate review). We were concerned whether my non-fish eating husband would find enough to eat at the Soma restaurant having read reviews here. It was fine though as there was always a veggie alternative for each of the three courses, so all but the most fussy or those with particular diets should be OK. I wouldn't be at all surprised if they would be able to rustle you up something else if the latter is an issue, as the chef there is amazing and obviously very experienced.
The food was consistently excellent (apart from burger on the Saturday) and we always found a dish to delight our taste buds. I have never eaten such good quality or flavoursome food, when staying half board in Spain. As a smaller restaurant they are able to give dishes the attention needed to create the delectable delights they do! A feast for the eyes as well as the tummy, the dishes were small but so tasty, which is just how it suits us. We went away satisfied but not overly bloated just right for an evening stroll around the pretty port in which the restaurant is set.
The service was excellent and this makes me doubt a previous reviewer getting 'looks' from the staff. I found the staff to be pleasant, friendly and always ready to serve with a smile. The only looks we noticed were smiles and attentiveness and we witnessed the staff working relentlessly hard and handling matters with professionalism.
Others we met, just arriving, were concerned about the half board option having read Tripadvisor but if you love exquisite food, fear not! You are in for a week of scrumptious Soma treats! Beun Apetito!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank terrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“New owners and not to be confused as being part of Porto Drach apartments. They are two separate businesses.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Can only comment on the half board food provided as a Jet2 customer in the adjacent Porto Drach apartments . The food was limited as no choice provided at evening meal but well presented and generally ok. Staff, especially Maika, spoke excellent English and very helpful with a sense of humour. The new owners need to decide what they want from the restaurant/ wine bar. Upmarket food/ wine bar or food provided for the apartments next door. Difficult to do both as target market is different . We did not eat from the a la carte menu, but from the food we saw provided to people ordering from this looked good . Filet steak cooked medium rare looked appetising . Good choice of whisky and gins. Good wine list and choice of cava /champagnes. Tattinger, Laurent Perrier, Moët. I had cava privat 2011 @ 19euros per bottle and enjoyed. Soma could be good if targeted correctly and knew their market. Give it a chance and go for a drink at least but don't mistake it as part of the Porto Drach apartments , which are very good value in terms of space , staff and position .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lobsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
“What can one say”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The previous review says it all except the staff well what can one say, one is lost for words they are dreadfully rude have attitude and every thing is too much trouble , we asked for the pasta for our grandson not to be fried in butter but just served after being cooked well you would think I asked for the moon , we had dirty looks,head and shoulder shrugs then told in no uncertain terms forget it. Trying to get him something to eat as we had also came as half board guests was like trying to get blood out of a stone,we didn't dare ask for any other variation on the food for the rest of our holiday and were outcasts with THE LOOK for the rest of our stay we were treated as a nuisance rather than valued guests .we have travelled extensively and used all standards of hotels and restaurants and have had our far share of poor service however this exceeds all previous experience.this is the first bad review I have written but feel it needs to be said , I normally give generous tips as I think the job demands a lot but this time the only tip I will be giving at the end of the week is "lose the attitude before you lose your restaurant" aparto drach ditch the restaurant as it's damaging your wonderful apartments

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chawton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Used for half board by the adjacent Aparthotel PortoDrach. Appears to under new ownership. Ignore the menu posted outside as this appears to relate to the previous regime. There is no choice, and presumably the favourable reviews. Each day features a 3 course set menu (NO CHOICE AT ALL) that makes school meals look like a gourmet experience. Ingredients are budgeted out of existence e.g. a paella that was pure rice fortified by a solitary prawn, stale bread and a signature style of frozen food.
Breakfast is a farce. Cups and saucers rarely available. Coffee cups that are too small so that the machine delivers a measure that overflows and then.....no saucer.
The ambience is completed by plastic patio style chairs!
I pity the poor waitresses who smile despite the Fawlty Towers disaster unfolding around them.
AVOID

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Metaldread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soma Restaurant & wine bar also viewed

Porto Cristo, Majorca
 
Porto Cristo, Majorca
 
Porto Cristo, Majorca
Porto Cristo, Majorca
 

Been to Soma Restaurant & wine bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing