We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here vs Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hubby and I (early 30s, no kids) stayed here as a one-week kick off to a six week summer holiday around Europe and the Middle East. Went through Thomson. Heads up-over 2 hours from airport to resort with hotel drop offs, etc. Both there and return-quite irritating as an impatient start to our vacation. As Canadians, we're very fortunate to have similar 'All Inclusive' deals to Mexico, Cuba, etc for a similar price point from Gatwick to Majorca.

Resort-beautiful, well maintained property. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not too big - easy to get around, very full, but never crowded. Activities available, but we're more 'book and beach' people. Definately caters to the family crowd - many there, with children under 10. The '20 minute walk to the marina' was closer o 45 mins...and we're both fairly fit people. Humidity and heat also a factor. Do taxi to old town-worth it. Appearance-3.5-4* in line with Mexico/Cuba resorts. Seemed smaller than those in general as well.

Rooms-went with the basic room...and it was basic. Quite ugly, frankly. Did not help get in the holiday mood. Unfortunately, our room was also over the garbage bins in the back-which, there was no smell, but garbage/bottle pick up was LOUD. We would have moved rooms, but were told none were available in our category; plus, being on holiday, chose to 'go with the flow' instead of have it upset us. Basic room like a 2.5*-clean. Similar to 3* in Mexico, 4* in Cuba.

Food-plentiful, but surprisingly boring. Best bet was the live/fresh cooking meat station at the buffet; at times cold cts and cheese were well done. Pizza was surprisingly good - lunch was always a better bet for pizza; the dinner pizza sometimes featured the leftovers from lunch. Lots of variety, but bland, bland, bland. Lunch shack by kiddie pool area had quite good burgers. A la carte menu limited - we chose not to go, based on others who said buffet was better. Better than Cuban resort food by far, much more limited (especially in quality/taste) than Mexican resorts. No 24 hour food and/or room service common in Mexico AIs.

Beach-gorgeous! Shallow, warm, clear water. Small issue with jellyfish (quite large and easy to spot) one day. This was tough for us as it made us more wary of going into the water - hard to enjoy if you have to be vigilent. Very easy to walk up and down the beach strech. Beach - better than Puerto Vallarta, better than Cancun (tends to be wavy), slightly less than Mayan Riviera (the jellyfish take off major points), less than Varadero (best beach).

BIG TIP-very limited palapa seating - we got there early afternoon, and there were none available for that day. Look for the guys in orange shirts. You need cash with you, and you need to pay in full. I literally stayed with one of them while I sent hubby back to the room to get the full amount in cash-lucky for us, we could get one 'reserved' for 6/7 days of our trip. One benfit of this was never having to worry about rushing to 'save a seat'; one drawback is we've never had to pay for beach beds before. Pool loungers are included. Pool are is large, kiddiepool is away from the beach, so not too invasive with the young ones. Only a few awkward tusstles for beach loungers with the Polish guests who assumed we were done after lunch, and came back and found them in our chairs. Pointing out our reserved sign helped, but still awkward. Again, these are limited, so if you are not lukcy enough to pay for one you have a towel and the beach-that's it. Also bizarre you had to supply your own beach towel (thanks for the tip TA)-we've never had to do that before. BIG MINUS-every other AI (Kenya, Thailand, Mexico, Cuba) have never paid for beach lounger rental nor had to bring own towel. Boo.

Booze-flows freely, but no 'slushy' drinks. Sangria and cava a bonus. Like in Cuba, they only supplied small, cheap plastic cups. Knowing this in advance, we both brought insulated coffee mugs from home to drink on the beach (this keeps the drinks cool, and also prevents sand from blowing in). First three days - refilled no problem. Then, it was suddenly "against policy"-no one would clarify how...Still brought them to the buffet, usually to fill up with water to have in the room. Equal to Cuba (supply, small cups), less than Mexico. Very odd about the travel mug rules changing ubruptly.

In sum, I see this place as a solid 4*, with a great beach and mediocre food. Excellent for families, but as a couples holiday, look to another resort, or pay for the upgraded rooms - look how different they look in the pics.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid being put near the garbage disposal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ukiegirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here during half term October 2013 and loved it. The location is brilliant as it's well outside of Alcudia although we walked to the marina and back one day - quite a long way. You step out of the back of the hotel straight onto soft sand. The sea is clear and quite shallow and safe for bathing for quite a long way out making it perfect for safe swimming. You have to pay for the sunbeds on the beach (about £4 each, per day) and there are several up and down the beach. Beware of quite a few beach traders - hair braids, sunglasses, massages, melon & coconuts! There are some shops on the road nearby with bars etc. The food in the hotel was fine - plenty of choice and all inclusive which was great for breakfast, lunch by the pool and dinner. Free bar was great too although there were some fairly long queues here. The bedroom was OK - not the best we've had but clean and comfortable enough. The entertainment was OK. The hotel really is a good choice for families with children because of the early evening entertainment and the excellent large play and pool area for children which is round the corner from the main pool so other people aren't bombarded with small children all day. The beach is certainly a main attraction, in fact, we never swam in the hotel pool as we preferred the sea. There are showers on the hotel site to get rid of unwanted sand after a beach visit! The sea was cleaner where the hotel is situated and it wasn't quite as good the nearer you got to Alcudia. Large TV lounge near the bar showed the big football matches on. We are a couple in our 50's and although we weren't travelling with our children, we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Write or email the hotel in advance of arrival - ask for a sea view room or side sea-view room. App...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beverleyaburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just recently returned from this absolute gem in the North West of Majorca in Alcudia. We went all inclusive as we have been doing for a few years now and it was a pleasure, specially for the kids ( 7 & 8 years old) . From our collection at the airport by A2B transfers to our booking-in at the hotel, everything ran to plan. We opted for a suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a sea view which was amazing - the girls had their own bedroom and bathroom which gave us plenty of space to move around in without tripping over one another. Service throughout the hotel was excellent and the staff in the dining room, kitchen and various bars and restaurants were amazing. We were a bit apprehensive regarding the level of amenities that would be available seeing that it was nearing the end of season but that soon disappeared after our arrival ......... everything operated as normal apart from the Miramar restaurant which alternated with the main restaurant over lunch times. A great vote of thanks goes to the amazing animation team who really put themselves out for the children right through the day and into the night ........ activities were held from about 11 every morning and the girls and guys from the team ( Auime, Denme, Veronica, Esther & Mark ) would walk around and collect all the kids for the days activities. Each night there was a kids disco from about 8 o'clock with the whole animation team (+ Coco ) which ran though until 9 and even thereafter some of the team members would stay behind to look after the kids during the normal evening entertainment, wonderful, thanks to you all. Facilities for the adults were also great - a full range of cocktails, spirits, beer, cava, wine, ice cream and food was available throughout the day as it was for the kids with their own Happy Hamburger kiosk near the kids pools where they could eat to their hearts content all day long. I don't know how anybody can complain about the food - we had a different selection every night of the 6 days that we spent there and there was always plenty to eat, breakfast, lunch and dinner !! Rushing to get a pool lounger ......never! There are plenty of pool loungers to go around both at the adults pool and the kids complex so no bother there and even if they did fill up during peak season, the beach is just a few steps further ........ and what a beach, soft white sand and a shallow ocean that you can paddle into for 40 or 50 yards and only then do you get to waist height. If you do decide to eat out there are dozens of restaurants within walking distance giving you a variety of different cuisines to choose from. Would we return to this hotel???........... absolutely, in a heartbeat !

Room Tip: Check out the online pictures of the various rooms and do read the revues by past occupants - the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our first holiday abroad as a couple, and definitely could not fault the hotel, staff or location. All regularly exceeded our expectations.

We went for the all inclusive package; which could have been an issue as I have a gluten intolerance, but Gustavo, Ines (who worked in the restaurant) and the chefs, all took care of me and made it a very easy and enjoyable experience.

There was always something to do at the hotel - we got to try Zumba on the beach, Beach Volleyball, Archery, ping pong :), darts (I think they even did shooting, although we didn't try that one! The hotel was clean, with air conditioning in the rooms, a balcony and all you could need from a bathroom / WC. It was definitely a great holiday to remember.

The location of the hotel is perfect for all your needs. Fairly central, beach literally on your door step, quiet but without being too remote. Just a short walk into the port of Alcudia, and a stones throw away from the nearest bus stop so you could use the great local bus service that runs on the Island to visit the other local towns / villages.

You can hire bikes at a shop just around the corner - the island is perfect for biking, with bike paths!! A novelty from where we live!!

All in all, it was a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arrived early hours and was welcomed with a smile, we were all offered refreshments and was sorted with our rooms quickly and efficiently. The rooms were basic but comfortable, the mattresses were a little uncomfortable but the staff will change if you go to the reception. They were clean but lacking in draw space, the bathrooms have glass doors and sinks which we didn't like. We had clean bedding but not always daily and clean towels everyday. But overall you don't go away to spend hours in your room. The staff from cleaning to management were amazing always polite, helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. The entertainment staff were completely crackers( in a good way) always happy and a warm welcome was given everyday, they would come around and ask if you wanted to join in any activities, if you didn't they weren't pushy. Most of the evening entertainment was good, some of the outside entertainers not so but mostly a good time was had by all. We would say if you wanted a seat go early. The pool was lovely, cleaned daily, although plenty of sunbeds, but you would have to go early, but not like the January sales rush. Poolside food and drink were great, cold drinks, ice-creams a plenty, the burger bar was great, just right for a lunchtime snack, the staff who manned it were brilliant. The food in general throughout the hotel was good and if there wasn't something out you wanted just ask the staff and something would be sorted. Yes all inclusive food can be repetitive but there was something different everyday and when you have a fussy eater with you this can be a nightmare but I can happily say they went away everyday with a full tummy. The location was situated in a lovely spot straight onto the beach which was gorgeous only let down was the almost daily appearance of jelly fish, just look out for the flags. This hotel is great for all. A little background music around poolside would be nice. The 2 Thomson reps were fantastic Amy and Ross. They were there everyday and mostly for the whole day, nothing was too much trouble for them, they would come and have a natter with you if you were around, just brilliant 2 of the best reps we've had. The place it's self was lovely, short bus rides to different parts or a taxi which doesn't cost much. Will definitely return. Keep it up Condesa!

Room Tip: Sea view room or side room If you have any problems see the reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our first holiday abroad with our 19 month old daughter and we can definitely recommend all inclusive on the beach holiday and this hotel fits the bill perfectly. We actually managed to relax and keep our daughter entertained and happy. We paid €9 a day for the sun beds on the beach because we prefer the beach to the pool anyway plus my daughter was kept occupied with buckets and spades etc. the pool at the hotel was a bit on the cold side too. Plus it was a little crowded around the pool. We preferred being with the Europeans on the beach rather than with some of the loud brash Brits at the poolside.
Our room (183) had a limited view of the sea (exactly as it said on the booking), I would consider upgrading next time. Our swimwear didn't dry properly on the balcony because there was no direct sunlight. Room was decent, it does lack storage a bit and we did have a couple of ants. I would recommend taking your own hair dryer, ours didn't work but even if it had it wouldn't have been much good. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed. It is a shame that the hotel don't offer beach/pool towels.
The food was lovely and varied. The salads were amazing! The staff are so friendly and always acknowledge you and they made a big fuss of our daughter every time. Childrens entertainment was first class and the staff work really hard and it's clear to see they really enjoy their job. I'm looking forward to returning and our daughter will be that little older to join in properly. We even bought the childrens music cd that they use and my daughter is still dancing to it.
Overall we had an excellent holiday, the location is perfect and the rooms and food good. The staff are a real credit to the hotel, they all take pride in their work and every member of staff we came into contact with acknowledged us and made a fuss of our daughter including the waiting staff, reception staff, shop staff, bar staff, waiting staff, entertainment and cleaning staff.
We'd love to return next year but I have a feeling we will end up booking a deal with a free child place.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want a sea or pool view but don't if you'd prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just had a great week at this hotel, not to sound too snobby, if you look at some of the hotels I have visited this year then I was expecting something different. I cannot fault the place at all, rooms a bit small with little storage but hey! we spent the week in the sun, on the beach and winning at BINGO!!!
a short review as I am so busy at the moment, best thing was is that I left my phone at home as well.

Just one warning don't leave your bags unattended on the beach, a nice German lad near us had his pinched when he went for lunch, and then as if by magic all the massage people and lucky lucky lads went AWOL for the rest of the day, make of that as you will but I am not Miss Marple........as said I am not a snob so enjoy this hotel as it is a really well run ship

Room Tip: If you have a room in Summer overlooking the stage then expect some noise from the 'turns'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#6 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,055 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
1.9 mi away
Zafiro Tropic
Zafiro Tropic
#12 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condesa de la Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condesa de la Bahia

Address: Calle Roselles 4, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £80 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Condesa de la Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This All Inclusive hotel directly at the beachfront of Alcudia is most suitable for families. Its completely refurbished rooms offer not only excellent comfort but also contemporary style. Without leaving the hotel guests enjoy numerous fun and sports activities, as well as the hotels entertainment programmes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Condesa de la Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa De La Bahia Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Condesa Bahia
Hotel Condesa De La Bahia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing