We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We travelled as a couple here in July and do agree with the many other reviews that state this is a family hotel however, we had an amazing time!!

Where to start...

Rooms - The room is small, but how much time do you really spend there?! The bathroom looked nice, however our shower did flood the whole bathroom floor whenever we used it. Air Con was amazing, so cool! A lot of people complain so maybe we were just lucky! Bed's were okay, not the comfiest but they were fine for a week, however they did make a really loud noise when moving around!! The cleaners start around 9am and you can hear them moving furniture in other rooms, so not good when you want a lay in. You can also hear everything in the corridor, from kids running, kids crying to people just wheeling a suitcase. All rooms have a good size balcony and we had a lovely limited sea view! We were glad to not be pool side as well as this is where the entertainment is held at night.

Pool - We booked through Thomson, and I think the photo on their website is slightly misleading as it looks a lot bigger than what it actually is! However, it was still okay as I didn't think many people really used it! It was very cold when you first got in and took a while to get used to!

Sunbeds - As all hotels people get up early to reserve there sunbeds, however, we usually came down by the pool around 11am and always managed to find 2 sunbeds together!

Beach - The beach is absolutely gorgeous and we spent a lot of our time in the sea! The beach is all sand and you can rent sunbeds for the week, however, we were fine just using our towels on the sand! You can walk out extremely far in the sea before it starts to get deep! It is also a gorgeous clear blue! I have read reviews about there being jellyfish in there but we didn't come across any on our stay!

Entertainment - The Animacion team were amazing! They worked really hard throughout the day to put on fun activities for those of all ages! One reason my review only gets 4 stars however, is because I do think there needs to be more activities for adults, my boyfriend really enjoys Water polo, however, this was only on 3 times a week - would have been good if this could have been an activity done every day, as it was popular. The beach volleyball however was very good for adults and again very popular. As for the evening entertainment, they had a kids disco from 8-9, with the same songs every single night (uh!) after this they did have a show every night, so it was nice to sit and have a drink while watching!

Restaurant/Food - The buffet restaurant opens at about 6/6:30 and if you get in straight away you get pick of a table and also lovely hot food and no queues! However, if you do want to spend an extra hour around the pool or on the beach and go for food slightly later, it is packed!! And there are massive queues for food and the food is only warm by this time! Desserts are absolutely amazing though! Yum! We ate out on one day and also had a meal in the A la Carte restaurant to get away but the buffet restaurant and this was really nice and much more relaxed! They also have a place called Happy Burger which is open from about 1130-530, the burgers are gorgeous and the man that works in there most days (didn't catch his name unfortunately) is always smiling and friendly!!

Cleanliness - The whole hotel is extremely clean looking, the cleaners work really long hours and we often saw them mopping the pool area and constantly emptying bins! They are amazing!

We ventured out on a couple of days, once to Alcudia Town to have a look around the many souvenir shops they have and we also booked a Thomson excursion to Marineland where we saw a dolphin show, sea lion show and parrot show, they also have an amazing restaurant here which is right on the beach so you get a great view while eating lunch!

Overall, we had a really good stay here! However, the reason for my 4 stars and not 5 is purely down to the food and the lack of things for adults! This wouldn't stop us coming back though!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Hanzz2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our third stay at the Condesa although this year's holiday was not as enjoyable as the previous ones.

The Hotel is in an excellent position right on the beach and is great for families. The pool is a decent size although the daily water polo and the number of people using bats and balls and playing catch meant that the pool wasn't as pleasant as it could have been.

The food was okay but I would say it has gone downhill since last year and it is a bit of a scrum to get to the food unless you arrive at the restaurant before opening time, and even then it can be very busy.

Overall it was an enjoyable holiday but on the last day one of our group suffered a severed tendon in one of his hands after the sink in the disabled toilet in the lobby collapsed as he was leaning on it. The hotel tried to stop him finding us to tell us what had happened as they obviously didn't want someone walking through the hotel covered in blood. When we returned to the hotel after our companion had had emergency surgery the lady on reception called us over to ask how the patient was. She then pretty much said it was his own fault as he should not have been using the disabled toilet and suggested that he must have been up to no good. All I can say is that it is lucky this didn't happen to a disabled person as it could have been much much worse.

All evidence of the incident was quickly removed and the hotel seemed fairly uninterested in our companion's condition and was more concerned about making sure we knew they were blaming him for the incident. As our companion was under 18 and required a 3 day hospital stay his father flew to Majorca and we came home. The hotel manager visited the hospital the and seemed keen to 'do a deal' rather than have the matter taken further. I probably shouldn't say any more than that!

So it was generally a nice holiday, although the hotel has gone downhill a bit and our final day and night were ruined due to the accident.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank a_bad_ending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have been here for the last few years but this was the first time to stay in this hotel. We choose it as we often passed it on the beach and always thought it was a perfect location, which it is and just beside the boardwalk on the beautiful beach of Playa de Muro. Pools are lovely and staff excellent as well as rooms perfect however the food was just awful. It was piles of buffet and you did not know what you were getting and all tasted the same. Had a few nice meals out and really enjoyed the holiday but 1 week was enough of the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Liz057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Condesa after a weeks cruise. The location is fantastic right on the beach and you can walk out 100m into the sea. We paid €9 a day to have 2 sunbeds and a straw umbrella and this was a god send as the hotel is very busy and really for families not couples, our mistake not theirs! Initially the room we had (109A) was right next to the lifts and overlooking a dirty roof with a couple of old hotel towels on it. The noise from the lifts and stairs was constant but we were moved to a room away from the lifts with no hassle.
The rooms are good although they do not have basic facilities I would expect in a four star room such as a wee kettle for tea/coffee or optional bottled water. I've also never stayed in a four star hotel that didn't provide a beach towel unless you were willing to pay to rent one.
As I've said this is really a hotel for families and provides well for the children and the animation team seemed very good in this respect.
HOWEVER the major issue with the Condesa is the food. There is quite a bit of choice but the hot food is cold and the cold food (fruit, sushi) is warm! In short all food is room temperature! Apparently Thomson are aware of this and are approaching the issue at management level. Looking back at the previous reviews this seems to be a long standing problem. There's also no process of queuing etc in the dinning room and it's a free for all. Fortunately we were in a position to eat out each evening and there are some great local restaurants. We had an all inclusive package that is far from all inclusive. It consist of local house spirits, house wine, soft drinks and local beer. Not being big drinkers this was not a problem for us but worth noting. The only hot food that was actually hot was from the burger bar at lunch as the lunchtime buffet was also cold. As I said if the hot food was hot there would be a bit of choice. If you can overlook the scrum to fill your plate then it would be sufficient were it hot but it isn't so it wouldn't really matter if Gordon Ramsay were chef!
Alcudia is a lovely area and the hotels location is tremendous but the hotel lacks standards and the dining experience is worse than a school dining hall and the food is largely inedible. I would come back to the area but would not return to the Condesa even if I were offered a free stay.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Skowbel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited after a week on a cruise ship. What a shock! Bar area filthy. Smokers sit just outside bar so you may as well join them. Food worst we've ever had on holiday - inedible at times and we went out to alternative restaurant even though we had paid for AI. This is the ultimate in squeezing as many people into as small a place as possible.All staff very friendly and polite and service good but felt sorry for them having to serve up the bad food. Rooms clean but beware if you don't wan ta long walk to your room - design of hotel very strange so you may have a good way to go once you get to your floor. The drinks were also very poor - it's a bad sign when you can go and pour your own wine/beer from a central island of taps! Do not go here if you want a bit of peace and quiet - the place is overrun with noisy and unsupervised children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed the last week in July and had a great time. My son loved the children's area with the slides spent the whole busy playing. There's also a children burger bar and my son could have drinks and ice creams from here and the service was great. Because the hotel is on the beach, we would spend the afternoon down there and sometimes you could get a nice breeze and the sea is beautiful and shallow for the children you have to walk a bit out before it gets deep. The food at the hotel had such a variety had had no complaints except the wine wasn't very nice but there was beer and spirts at the bar anyway. A very clean hotel spotless. Would recommend. Lots of entertainment going on at night time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amazingfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Visited this hotel as a couple, last week in July I couldnt wait to come home but I will list what i think are the pros and cons honestly as we found it.PROS really nice clean hotel, absoultely brilliant facilities for kids, fantastic animation team, friendly staff from cleaners, shop staff, bar staff and restaurant staff, great location near lovely beach. CONS poor food TERRIBLE alcohol the worst we have tried at any hotel,air conditioning in room rubbish , very very noisy, not enough sunbeds, not enough chairs and tables for evening entertainment ,the entertainment at nights was typical of most hotels except for the brilliant animation team. It is definetly not a hotel for couples but brilliant for families with kids too noisy for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#6 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,055 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
1.9 mi away
Zafiro Tropic
Zafiro Tropic
#12 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condesa de la Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condesa de la Bahia

Address: Calle Roselles 4, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £80 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Condesa de la Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This All Inclusive hotel directly at the beachfront of Alcudia is most suitable for families. Its completely refurbished rooms offer not only excellent comfort but also contemporary style. Without leaving the hotel guests enjoy numerous fun and sports activities, as well as the hotels entertainment programmes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Condesa de la Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condesa De La Bahia Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Condesa Bahia
Hotel Condesa De La Bahia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing