We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hol ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Condes de Alcudia
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great time couldn't fault the food and staff were excellent as my hubby is gluten free they were very happy to help with meals DVD Lizzy and Lewis were amazing put so much time in to make are holiday fab great for family's hope to see u guys soon xxx

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guesta ,
we appreciate that you take your valued time to make a comment about your stay with us Hotel Condes Alcudia.
we are pleased that you had such a great time on your holiday
We will relay your comments to the entertainment team.
We thank you so much and we will be pleased to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

First of all, I NEVER write reviews, even if I love a place. But, I am so determined to express how good this hotel is, as there are some bad reviews which I feel, from the experience of my whole family (11 of us), do not reflect the hotel truthfully! But, each to their own, so here is mine!

First of all, the hotel is a good hotel for its price, rooms were basic but clean, showers were always warm which hasn't been the case in some hotels! Our balcony looked over the beach which is a stone's throw away! We had a double room with air conditioning which was needed! There was a great choice in food for all inclusive, and I enjoyed them all!

The pool/bar area is spacious enough and there were plenty of sunbeds to go around. Again, great self service bar area and VERY helpful staff with a smile on their face!

The reception staff are superb for helping with excursions and any problems you may have, the team are lovely!

But, the best part about this trip was the lovely Lizzy, DVD and Lewis (the entertainment). They are hands down the happiest, most entertaining team I have ever seen. They have all the time in the world for all their guests, and are constantly keeping the children entertained. They never stop! As insignificant as this sounds, they remember the names of all the children, which makes a big difference to them. Lizzy is a great singer! I miss Lewis's zest for life, and DVD is hilarious! They have a range of entertainment to cater for all personalities and are so professional and entertaining. What a trio!

All in all a fantastic holiday and I would recommend it to anyone, but especially families, your children will love it! and that's what we want, right?!

Room Tip: We had a double room with A/C which overlooked the pool/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vici2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Clients,
thank you so much for taking yor valued time to make a comments regarding your stay with us
We are please to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us, Condes de Alcudia
it is with such comments that gives us the enthusiasm to keep our good service
The entertainment eam will be pleased to know that you did enjoy their shows games and activities for all age lebels
We serve a wide variety of foods in the restaurant as well as the snack bar in the pool área.
We appreciate that you spend your time in writing your comments for all the other guests to see.

Thank you and we certainly hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family once again in the nearest future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were here in June for 10 days. Excellent holiday. Hotel very good. Food variation was excellent. Clean rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was brilliant. Lewis, Lizzy and DVD (applaudo) do an excellent job, catering for all ages. Very friendly and approachable. Enjoyed our holiday so much, can't wait to go back - we have now booked another 10 days holiday in September. Looking forward to meeting Lewis, Lizzy and DVD again. Only downside were the people off the street selling glasses etc while we were sat in resort. Full marks to the hotel and especially the entertainment team!

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors gives a fantastic view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank world99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Client

Thank you very much for taking the time and commented about your stay at the Condes de Alcudia

Your comments are very valuable for us and give us a great opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our guests.

We are very happy that you had a great time in Mallorca and at our hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Condes de Alcudia

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I'll warn anyone reading this now that this is a very lengthy review, I figured it was better to be detailed and honest so that others don't have the same disappointment we did...!

We have just returned from a week in Alcudia and whilst the beach/resort and the old town were all very nice indeed, the hotel was very poor and we would not ever recommend to anyone to stay here and we will certainly never return here unless there are drastic changes.

Prior to booking I had of course read the poor reviews from last season about this hotel and thought we'd take a chance on it, what a mistake.. before our holiday I noticed that this seasons reviews were much more positive although most of the time this seemed to relate to the entertainment team rather than the hotel itself.

Once we saw the entertainment for ourselves, we were frankly astonished that people had written such positive comments.

The positive things first:

Location is great, 2 minute to the beautiful beach from the hotel and the port/marina with its bars/restaurants and shops. Plenty of choice of places to eat and prices are reasonable.
Alcudia beach stretches for miles and has beautiful white soft sand with a gently shelving beach, the water was warm and safe for children and non-confidant swimmers. All along the beach there are pink sun loungers and parasols which are marked Ajuntament (I think..) and seem to be owned by the council, a lady came round most mornings to take payment for them 4.50 euros per day, but on a few occasions we went down mid afternoon and nobody came for payment so we presumed must only be in the mornings that they do this.
There are blue sunloungers as well that you can move around and these seemed to be free.

We had a double and a single room. Both rooms were an adequate size as were the balconies. The bathroom in the double was a fine size, the single room was terrible, but I'll come back to that.

The view from our room towards the port was beautiful apart from two power stations, one either end of the beach. The coal fired power station at the port apparently serves the whole island and as such is a necessary evil but in all honesty despite it being a blot on their landscape the view was otherwise superb.

The maid service was ok.

We went half board and the food for a 3 star on the whole was ok, reasonable choice and some really nice carvery roasts served up.

Transfer from airport only 1 hour. We did the Palmba bus with 'No Frills' - half the price of our tour company! and was a super day out. The Pirates trip was also good, don't bother getting anything more expensive than the cheap seats (still 54-56 euros) as we had a great view as most people did. The extra 50 euros for the 'captains table' weren't worth it in the slightest.
The Old Town is gorgeous, little alley ways and cobbled squares. Lots of sangria and coffee drinking going on, well worth a look.

Ok so that's the positives. Here's the unfortunately long list of negatives:

I think no matter what your taste or age group there are 3 things that should be available

(1) Clean towels
(2) Air conditioning (since it was advertised as having this..)
(3) Decent bar/lounge area

The towels are old and STAINED!. I see this was a feature in previous reviews too. I noticed on our first day that our bath towels looked dirty/stained and hoped it was a one off, but unfortunately on 4 out of our 7 days the two bath towels were ALL noticeably stained. Not pleasant at all.

The air conditioning in our room didn't work, to their credit they came and fixed it within 15 mins or so, but it was the most ridiculously poor AC I've ever experienced. The single room was the same.

The hotel lobby/restaurant area were roasting. I asked our rep at the welcome meeting why the hotel was so hot and she said that 'she had pleaded with the hotel manager to turn the AC on but it is only meant to be for the guest rooms'. !!!! As a consequence the fairly presentable lounge area was off limits unless you wanted sweat dripping down your nose.

The dining room was incredibly hot. We finally spotted towards the back of the room that two of the overhead vents had a paltry stream of cold air coming from them so we tried to aim for tables nearest them but it was still made for unpleasant dining. It is completely unacceptable in that climate that the AC wasn't switched on all over the hotel -- a cheap money saving ploy I assume. One waitress said to us that the AC was broken --- after 7 days it must then still have been broken as it was still like an oven, in fact it was cooler outside the hotel

And now the bar -- the lounge bar area inside the hotel was closed the entire time we were there, so the only bar available was the pool bar. I note this was also mentioned in previous reviews. There was no chance whatsoever of enjoying a drink at the pool bar as it was so noisy, the music blaring out all the time and when the entertainment team did come on they were simply dreadful.

So they're the three basic functions I think the hotel should have no matter whether you're young or old, they should be available.

The bathroom in the single room was a total joke. I can't believe they actually expect people to shower in there. It was the smallest bathroom I've ever seen, more like a cupboard! The shower curtain kept sticking to you and you were bumping the shower taps on and off.
Also as mentioned in previous reviews there are very few plugs. There was one in our bathroom and two more by the TV but that was it. Not a major problem for us but in the single room the only plug available was right next to the one the TV was plugged into -- about 8 foot off the ground!!! Totally inaccessible to all of us! Consequently Mum couldn't use her travel kettle as zero place to plug it in! And her phone didn't work either and the balcony door lock was broken...

Now for the rest of it, if you're still reading this and not got a numb backside..

I have stayed in all sorts of classes of hotel and never have I seen such a dire entertainment team comprised of only 3 people. It is incredible and frankly shameful that they peddled this mediocre and embarrassing 'entertainment' to the hotel guests. We will be writing to our tour operator to complain about this too.

The fact that the activities are listed as 'adult entertainment' should strike alarm bells with anyone! And this is a total nonsense anyway because people don't just suddenly jettison their children when they're on holiday at 2100 hours at night! there were lots of kids watching this mind numbing rubbish.

The first night was a drinking game, the second night similar, adults running around with balloons tied to their ankles, other nights included out of tune singing and sketch shows that were trashy, vulgar and not even funny.

I'm only 31 years old and I would certainly be in their target audience,and whilst I am no prude and enjoy a laugh same as everybody else, the whole lot was frankly embarrassing and sad to watch. And to make it worse every time they were on the entertainment team peddled trip advisor to the people --saying make sure you rate us excellent. I have videos of how poor quality the entertainment was but there doesn't seem to be a way of sharing these here sadly. We left the hotel every night to go elsewhere as many others seemed to do as well. We found a traditional flamenco show that was simply brilliant right round the corner.

The only other thing to mention -- I noticed the all inclusive guests were getting their drinks in plastic beaker style cups, needless to say there were many unhappy campers at warm beer in a plastic cup.

We asked for the house cava on the first night and was told their was none, only the Freixenet at 15 euros a bottle >>> the sample cava is on sale in the shops all over resort for 3.95!!!!
The house cava was only 7.95 so clearly we thought we'd try that first.
So the next night we asked for it again and was told there was still none, so I asked if there would be some in tomorrow night, surely after 2 days it would have been restocked and she said 'maybe'. All very suspicious! On the next night we asked again and she said there was none so we ordered soft drinks (by this time we are of course assuming that they are just trying to get us to take the expensive bottle) and then suddenly she reappeared and they said they had some at the pool bar! But too late.
So the next night we finally tried the 'house cava' which was a sweet sparkling wine and was quite palatable. Not actually a cava though!
All a bit dodgy really. Another money making venture for them.

You have to pay for a safe -- 25 euros a week and 10 deposit on top.
Wifi is also charged in the rooms. Only free in the sweltering lobby area.
The lifts are not air conditioned and hold only 4 people, totally inadequate.

The whole hotel is dated and needs a huge injection of cash to bring it up to modern standards. We will not ever return to this hotel unless it is refurbished and gets its act together. It's got so much potential to be superb, and they should promptly sack their entertainment team or at least get them some professional help to up their game.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview, highest possible floor to get away from the dreadful pool noise/entertainment. bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time and trouble to write about your holiday. We take your comments very seriously and they do help to improve our standards and services.

I am sorry that on certain levels your holiday did not live up to your expectations. I do hope I can address all the points that you have raised.

We know that holidays are special and do our best to make them completely enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have visited this hotel for many, many years; pre 1990 until the present day - and until the last couple of years twice a year, for two weeks each time until the group decided to close on 30 September, please, please extend your season. A refurbishment for this hotel is well over due, but after saying that our room was perfectly cleaned and the bed and bathroom linen changed very frequently. We are always quite amazed at the quality service and wide range of food on offer in the hotel. We stay half board and our dilemma is always what shall we NOT have to eat, the choice is always tremendous. The head waiter William and his team look after us as if we were in a 5 star establishment. It's time that the air conditioning in the restaurant was fixed/re-newed to enable your guests to enjoy the food and your staff to work in more comfortable conditions. From our arrival at reception to our departure we once again have had our Condes fix for this year.

Room Tip: Request a sea view on a high floor - the views of the bay and the marina are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 661bernadettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

, Dear Client

Thank you very much for taking the time and commented about your stay at the Condes de Alcudia

Your comments are very valuable for us and give us a great opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our guests.

We are very happy that you had a great time in Mallorca and at our hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Condes de Alcudia

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Condes with my girlfriend. We arrived at the Condes in the early hours of Saturday morning to be greeted by.... no one. The man at the desk was no where to be seen for 10 minutes and when he did return he could find no trace of us on the system for a while, luckily he kept trying for a further 5 minutes and eventually found us. Being on the 8th floor we needed to use the lift with all the cases. This is when we discovered that the lifts were extremely claustrophic and struggled to fit 2 people in with 2 cases. This was one of the only opportunities we had to use the lift because they never seemed to come to the 8th floor due to the demand. As we entered the bedroom it looked like we had been placed in the broom cupboard there was barely room for the double bed never mind two cases. I have been to numerous hotels over the years and never been placed in a room so small. This room was more reminiscent to the size of a bathroom at other hotels I have stayed in. Our bathroom was slightly better than the room, but didn't include a bath and when taking a shower you had to leave the shower curtain open otherwise you would be swallowed by it (due to shower being extremely small). On the wall was a small 1960's tele that would often lag. On the plus side the room was extremely clean and you don't spend too much time in the room on the holiday so it wasn't too big of an issue.

The food in the hotel was very good. There was a wide range of meats and salads etc. and the food was varied everyday. The puddings aren't as good as the main meals and could do with improving, as often most of the pudding on offer tasted the same. The restaurant was nice and clean and you could sit where you wanted on the whole, which was good. The restaurant staff on the whole were miserable and didn't seem to speak to many guests at all from general observations.

I particularly liked the barcode system for drinks in the hotel and found that his minimised the queue's I have encountered at bars in other hotels. There was a wide range of drinks you could choose how much of each measure you wanted and help yourself. We along with other guests found it was effective to go down the spar and buy some pint glasses because this saved you going to the bar numerous times with them silly small plastic glasses. This system could be problematic if you have children because technically they weren't allowed in the bar area due to the booze and therefore if you are a parent it might not be fun continually getting your children drinks.

The entertainment team were very good and made the holiday for a number of guests. Lizzy, Lewis and DVD were always extremely happy, friendly and approachable. If you like taking part in games or activities you could, but if you didn't want to you were by no means forced as all 3 were extremely nice if you declined. The night time entertainment could be improved by having all 3 singing less, as it often wasn't very good singing. However some of the other nightly entertainment like challenge the entertainer was much more interesting. I think getting guests involved was their strongpoint so maybe more night time entertainment needs to be based around the guests.

Overall a good holiday with nice food, nice weather and decent entertainment.There was never any major rush for sunbeds I always got up at 8.30 and always managed to get one in the place I wanted. We liked to go out for a walk in the morning and the hotel was situated in an ideal place near the beach, the port and the old town. A few tweaks and this hotel could be a lot better maybe we were just unlucky with the bedroom we were given.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first few floors. If you are shoved on the 8th floor on the end of the corridor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Telford16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Clients,
thank you so much for taking yor valued time to make a comments regarding your stay with us.
We are plesed to know that you had a pleasant holiday with us Hotel Condes de Alcudia
I am sorry that on certain levels your holiday did not live up to your expectations. I do hope I can address all the points that you have raised.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the variety of quality cuisine that the chef had thoughtfully prepared for all our dear guests.

True that the hotel is located on an ideal location , close to the harbuor and near to numerous shops, that caters to different likings
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Condes de Alcudia

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and two teenage lads stayed here for one week. My lads were glad to get home as not a lot to do! This hotel is great for young families but like I said I have teenagers and they were bored!!
The check in system took ages. One man on his own trying to do four jobs at once! The lifts are far too small. The pool is far too small for the size of the hotel! 6people and a lilo and the pool is full! The maid service is great and the maids are lovely! The restaurant staff work hard and are friendly! The hotel needs up dating it's looking dated!
I was extremely disappointed with the all inclusive system! A bar code tag is put round your wrist and only the people over 18 can get drinks ice creams etc! This was no good for us!! I wanted to be on the beach lads wanted to be at the pool! That should be fine but cos they couldn't get through the barrier they couldn't get any drinks!!!!! No point in me paying for all inclusive at all!!!! Very disappointed! I ended up spending a fortune! Lovely weather and lovely beach but don't rate the hotel at all!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 133karren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Condes de Alcudia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time and commented about your stay at the Condes de Alcudia
Please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble you had. Our aim is to provide an excellent service and a high quality product.
Your comments are very valuable for us and give us a great opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry that on certain levels your holiday did not live up to your expectations. I do hope I can address all the points that you have raised.

We know that holidays are special and do our best to make them completely enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.2 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piscis
Hotel Piscis
#24 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,180 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
0.1 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Condes de Alcudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Condes de Alcudia

Address: Avenida de la Playa, 4, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £73 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Condes de Alcudia 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a few unforgettable days in one of the most beautiful areas of Majorca, that's what we can offer you in this magnificent location in Puerto de Alcudia. Walks near the port, unforgettable evenings, and historic city walls are just a few of the opportunities for unbeatable experiences. Located in the center of Puerto de Alcudia at only 150m from the beach and 200m from the pedestrian area of Puerto de Alcudia. 244 rooms with balcony, with air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower and toilet. 1 adults pool and one for children, with a varied evening entertainment program and day time activities. Golf, water sports, cycling are just a few of the local activities that you can find near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Condes de Alcudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condes De Alcudia Puerto
Hotel Condes De Alcudia
Condes Alcudia
Condes De Alcudia Hotel
Globales Condes De Alcudia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing