We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, relaxing and excellent holiday”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned 20th Aug from a 1 week break with hubby. Check in took 2 mins no paperwork to fill in, no bands to put on brilliant start. Room very clean and adequate, cleaned daily with new towels. No fuss over sunbeds around pool plenty as people used the beach directly opposite. Food brilliant we had roast beef and Y. puds, turkey, lamb full Sunday roasts. Fish chips mushy peas home from home food plenty of choice. Staff always friendly and helpful. Maria and James were brill really friendly and funny James could do with a few dance lessons though :) The Four Tops act were brilliant, Whitney Houston rubbish couldn't sing dont impersonate a legend if you cant sing like her. Daily quizzes and games good. Hotel opp main road it dosnt bother you in the slightest never heard a thing at night. Only neg beds/pillows very hard not comfortable at all. It wasnt all older people age range from 20 plus, the older ones had a good laugh like the rest of us. A great week in the sun in a lovely hotel would go back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 facing pool a good room with patio got very hot 2pm onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1965Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

When me and my partner booked this hotel we werent to sure about it as it was 3* and have had some bad experiences, however we couldn't be anymore wrong. The hotel exceeded all expectations and in my opinion should have a higher star rating. My only nag is the food.. i found that the dinners on friday and saturdays weren't to taste but of course this is different from person to person. Overall however, the food is to a quality expected from a 3* hotel and always had a selecetion to suit many tastes. Another positive is that the hotel is in a prime position, being dead in the middle of two reasonably large towns: Alcudia and C'an Picafort, which i would advise to visit both. C'an Picafort has a small selection of clubs for the younger generation and some great sea front bars including a market. Alcudia is also buzzing although more family orientated with a large selection of restaurants and bars including a market which is along the sea front on selected days - both these towns are in easy reach by bus of 1.50 euros each.

I'm not to sure about why people are complaining about there being a older generation there. Yes the majority of guests are of the older age but there are still plenty of young couples there and other ages - not a 'nursing home' like many others have said. Me and my partner are both 19 and 20 and still felt like we fitted in as we would at any other hotel. Overall, this hotel was great. Have no major nags about the place and no bad experiences, would recommend this hotel and package to others.

Room Tip: Try to get a room between 300 and 400+ (basically floor 3 or 4) to get best possible views. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I visited this hotel with my sister for a week long break. She was visiting me for 6 weeks from Australia and as Majorca is one of my favourite holiday destinations I had to take her there. The Platja d'Or hotel was a fantastic choice. Staff were always very friendly and helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean with a fridge for bottled water. Towels were changed daily if required and food was varied and good quality. James and Maria the entertainment team were brilliant and friendly keeping you entertained with quizzes and activities daily. Vicky an Kayleigh (I think that was her name) the Thompson reps were knowledgable, friendly and approachable and happy to have a chat at any time. The reception area was cool and airy with plenty of seating and the receptionist on our departure date was fantastic, she even let me use her computer to print the boarding passes as it was difficult from the guest computer. Bar team were great, some cheeky chaps, keeping all entertained and supplied with drinks in a matter of moments. Entertainment was great our favourite being the Battle of the American and Uk 70's bands. Overall this was an excellent holiday and the only thing we could recommend for improvement would be softer beds and pillows and perhaps a clock somewhere to keep track of time. ( I had no problem with the clock as I wore a watch but my sister didn't and was forever asking the time) I enjoyed myself so much I ave just booked another 5 days at the Platja d'Or for ctober half term!

Room Tip: Had a room on the pool side of the hotel but didn't hear any traffic noise and had the lovely su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Fantastic adults only hotel, food was excellent always lots of choice and I am picky!! Staff all polite and helpful, Maria and James do a brill job. Few negatives a lot of sunbeds in shade due to position of hotel also pool was cold. No bars near hotel a very busy road if you are at the back of the hotel. Still slept well beds comfortable rooms spotless, fridge in room which is a bonus. Overall we would come back for a quiet week in the sun with great food and drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanandannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We arrived home earlier this week after 10 enjoyable days at the Platja d'Or and would agree with the majority of recent (2013) reviews here - the place is very good but has room for improvement.

Not wanting to restate everything others have said (you will have read about the two minute walk to the beach etc.) this review will just focus on what we found to be good or bad. Brace yourself, this is a long one!.

The check-in procedure could qualify for a tick in either the 'good' or 'bad' column. We arrived around 5:00 in the morning and the process was quick and painless (despite the night man not speaking great English). We were soon unpacking in our room but, having been up for almost 24 hours and travelling for 12 hours, there was no food or drink available. A cuppa would have been nice - or at the least we could have been pointed at the water machine at the end of the bar!

The rooms are reasonable. There isn't too much storage space. Hanging and drawer space are at a premium (and nowhere for your suitcase) but you manage. It's quite novel to have carpets in this type of hotel and the bathroom is adequate, with a shower, bath and hairdryer. It was very hot during our stay and thankfully the air-con was up to the job of keeping the room comfortable. Yes, the beds are somewhat on the firm side, but it didn't really keep me awake at night.

Good: Clean, cool rooms.
Bad: Pillows are paper thin. Walls are thin (some minor noise on the odd night).

After a couple of hours sleep we found our way to the dining room for breakfast. Meal times are long enough to ensure there are always seats available as it was never full to capacity. All meals are a self-service buffet style affair and there is always a varied choice available. What you get is perfectly adequate meals which ensure you're not going to go hungry.

What you don't get (and really shouldn't expect) is cordon bleu dining. Some people clearly were not happy with the food but they were probably in the minority.

Let's be fair here. The hotel caters for an almost exclusive British client-base and the menu is designed to please British tastes. The catering staff are not British and you really shouldn't expect everything to taste like it would at your local hotel restaurant back home. Can your local hotel/restaurant turn out authentic, great tasting paella? Probably not.

For lunch and evening meals, there is a drinks chiller in the dining room stocked with bottles of red, white, and rose wines and bottled San Miguel beer. People can help themselves to beer or wine (by the glass or bottle) to accompany their meal. I enjoy a nice glass of red wine but I didn't really like what was available here. Each to their own though, and many people did seem to like it.

The hotel info states 'long trousers' are required for the evening meal and notices at the door state 'no vests'.

Good: Food choice.
Bad: Dress codes are not enforced. Shorts are commonplace and the odd vest wearer was seen. Those sweaty armpits reaching across the buffet are really something! If you find hair in your food, don't automatically blame the chef.

After breakfast people head for the beach (did you know it's only a 2 minute walk to the beach?) or pool. The beach is everything people have said. It's a very narrow, long beach which is cleaned daily. The pine needles can be a nuisance but won't put you off. For 9 Euros per day you can get two sun loungers and a parasol, and you can reserve them for as long as
you wish.

Some days you get a cool breeze on the beach so you can cool off between dips in the sea (which is like taking a warm bath). The waters are crystal clear and shallow for a long way out.

If you choose to stay at the pool, be warned that it can get very hot out there (no breeze reaches you). The hotel ask you not to reserve sun loungers around the pool, and try to enforce that by preventing access until 8:00, which leads to a pre-breakfast queue of towel carrying guests and a New Years Sale-style rush at 8:00 precisely.

The all-inclusive bar serves from 10:00 until 23:45. You can get drinks to take poolside or across to the beach (it's not far you know). There are notices posted asking you to not take glasses around the pool and large plastic cups are available.

Seats and tables are also available nearer the bar if you want to sit with a glass of something, and some of these are designated as a non-smoking area (though smokers are probably on the sun loungers next to the tables!)

Good: It is what it is.
Bad: Some road noise and occasional fuel smells (there is a petrol station right next to hotel). Some people insist on taking glasses poolside - we didn't see any breakages but it's inevitable that it will happen. Smoking sunbathers are too close to the non-smoking area (not a major problem really but it could be improved).

Entertainment is provided by James and Maria. They put on daily quizzes (quizeses, quizzii?) and games for the poolside crowd and coordinate the evenings. There are cabarets on alternate evenings which, with very few exceptions, are pretty good (the tribute bands are all worth your time over a few drinks). On the other evening James and Maria do their best to entertain you but their limited budget is obvious and they don't attract the same audience the bands draw. Come on Thomsons, these people are doing their best - give them some financial support!

The bar staff work extremely hard and will get through a queue in no time at all. Available drinks are San Miguel beer (on draught - no bottles here), the usual collection of 'local' wines and spirits, a menu of several cocktails, and soft drinks.

For reasons known only to themselves, some people would leave the dining room with hands full of bottles of beer and would sit around swigging from these rather than getting (the same beer) in a glass from the bar. Perhaps they think it looks 'cool'?

The evening's entertainment takes place in an adjacent building which means you have to walk through an outdoor seating area to reach the bar. It's not far but (as a non-smoker) it's not always fun walking through clouds of smoke every time you want a refill. If people want to sit outdoors to chat in the evening (and who can blame them?) perhaps the hotel could consider moving the smoking area.

So, apart from some guests moral compasses not working as they should (vests in the dining room, poolside glasses, one man with his feet on the table in the entertainment room!) this was a very good holiday.

The million dollar question. Would we go back? No. We never go back because it's a big world out there and we like to see as much of it as possible. We would recommend it to others though and we spoke to other guests who have been back more than once!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fitztwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks and it was the quickest two weeks ever it went so fast as i enjoyed myself so much. Its a home from home holiday you bearly need to leave the hotel as it has everything you need. The beach is only across the road and its a beautiful beach! The bar staff are the quickest bar staff ive ever seen. The entertainers were brilliant they ha games all day and quizes also during the day and evening time they got on great with everyone.
Very clean hotel. Food is lovely and there is a large selection to choose from. Rooms are spotlessly clean. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and im planning to go back again nect year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AimeeMcConnellogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I (aged 44 and 48) have just returned from a weeks break at the Plaja D'or and this was the 2nd adults only hotel we have been to. You cannot help but enjoy the mealtimes and poolside without children running around! Having used this website alot, I want to cover as much as possible for other travellers. The age group ranged from 20 somethings (there were a group of lads of this age who did look a bit out of place!) to 80 year olds but I would say the average age was 50.

Hotel and facilities
The hotel has everything that you could require for your holiday. The rooms are large enough for two adults with beds that we found comfy (but that is a personal preference), the best power shower that we have ever experienced, with a bath should you prefer, a safe (available to rent for the week) and a fridge (ideal for keeping your drinking water cold) The air con was satisfactory and, as with every other hotel, will only work when the balcony doors are closed. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels if required. The bed linen was changed once during the week.
We had requested a sea view room but you will see that there are few rooms with a sea view due to the height of the trees. We had a room on the 2nd floor looking over the pool area and we loved it. The road next to the hotel gave very little noise and it was fun to watch the 'human ants' coming out at 8am every morning to lay claim to their sunbeds!!
The reception is bright and airy and very cool. The bar area is well staffed and the staff are amazing, never having to queue for more than a couple of minutes. There are plastic cups available should you wish to take your drinks to the beach or the pool and a water dispenser for fresh drinking water. There are a selection of cocktail to try but no menu card so you dont actually know what is in them!! There is any drink that you could wish for and the measures are huge. The coffee is delicious as is the chocolate milk.
The restaurant is big and spacious and the food was plentiful. We only went to lunch one day (as we were full from breakfast) but there is something there to cover every taste. Yes, it is geared towards the British but every guest here is British so it makes sense. There is show cooking every day and is worth a try. Bottles of San Miguel, bottles of wine and soft drinks are self service at lunch and dinner.
There are "snacks" available every afternoon and evening but this is only a sandwich that has seen better days! They do serve cake and tea/coffee every afternoon between 4 and 5.
Should you feel peckish, there is a huge supermarket directly opposite the hotel and this is the cheapest place to purchase bottle of water (about 25p for 2 litres)
The pool is large enough for the number of guests and plenty of sunbeds available. We only stayed by the pool one morning as there was no breeze so we spent the rest of the week on the beach. There is seating available by the bar/pool with seperate seating for smokers.
The cabaret bar is large and set out like a cruise liner. We only visited this one night (Beatles tribute act which were good) but the entertainment team (we only ever saw Maria) were organising activities all day long with quizzes every day.

Location
This is the selling point for this hotel. It is a 2 minute walk through some tress to the white 5 mile sandy beach. You can hire 2 sunbeds and a parasol for 9 euros a day and we reserved ours for the whole week so there was no worries about finding a bed every day. The sea is shallow for miles and very warm and we recommend going down to feed the fish in the clear blue waters. Beware jellyfish though!!
The resort of Alcudia is about a 15 minute walk away but there was enough to see and do in the evenings for us close to the hotel so we didnt venture far. We do recommend the fum park up the road where there is amazing (yet frustrating) maze.

The only negative points that we could mention are that there are no options for bottles of water to take to the pool. beach or your room and that there are no mosquito plugs in the rooms. Make sure you take plenty of repellent as they were out in force!!

All in all, a wonderful break, lovely weather in a fantastic location. Definatley recommend

Room Tip: We had a pool view room with no problem with road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
37.3 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#26 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing