We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOUND A REAL PEARL IN PLAYA”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“FOUND A REAL PEARL IN PLAYA”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed here last 2 weeks in sept. had a great time going back again next sept. the hotel is spotless it gleams. the staff are great friendly cannot do enough for you .the pool is great so easy to get into .my husband and i had a really relaxing time cannot wait to go back.most guests have been staying there for years says it all .give it a try you will not regret it .

Room Tip: facing beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    579
    256
    93
    36
See reviews for
135
1,069
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a great 14 days holiday at this hotel, room 445 has brilliant sea view and morning sun. Clean throughout the hotel, friendly helpful staff . Choice of food is excellent and tastes great. Show cooking themed nights are enjoyable. Location could not be better, beach amazing . Entertainment could be better, but we were lucky enough to be in great company and enjoyed ourselves. There were no negatives at all, will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank kazTez017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I staid at this hotel in September,the location couldn't have been better,with a beautiful beach just across the road.and shops near by and a regular bus service to alcudia,the hotel was spotless and the staff in all areas were always polite and helpful.im in my early 50s but did find the daytime entertainment a bit more for the older generation with respect.the night time entertainment was a lot better I sore some good acts while I was their.in all a nice relaxing place to stay.The food was very good catering to all tastes.would I stay again then yes but the only down side but only minor was the daytime entertainment..

Room Tip: Top floor beach side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JerryLole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Room - spacious (i don't know why some people say otherwise). Nice balcony. Beds were firm, which i personally liked and slept well. Bath with shower - really nice bathroom. Telly was small and limited to 3 channels, but you're not on holiday to watch the TV.
Food - excellent. I don't eat meat and there was plenty to eat which i really enjoyed. It wasn't over hot, but hot enough. My parter is lactose intolerant so the head chef, Carlos, went out of his way to check and let us know whether there was any dairy in the food. I noticed that they already cater well for gluten free diets.
Entertainment - we only went to a few things. What we saw was okay.
Drinks - the wine and beer was great and the service very quick and efficient.
Staff - all were really friendly and helpful.
Pool - we didn't go in but it was certainly lovely to sit around it in the afternoon or evening. Very nice, clean environment.
Location - right on the beach. Great beach for walking along, all the way to the port.
Internet - free wifi,but for some reason couldn't access some basic sites like Hotmail.
There is no gym/fitness centre.

Not disappointed with any aspect of the hotel and would go back.again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kev84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day holiday at the Platja d'Or. What's not to like? Amazing location, delicious food (and drink!) great entertainment and a dedicated team of staff who ensure you have a good time.
We are so glad that we were NOT there at the same time as the previous whingers and moaners as they would have spoilt it all.
Maybe if on their future holidays, they try and join in, have some fun and meet people, they MIGHT just find that they are able to enjoy themselves.
We have never previously returned to the same hotel but we will certainly be back next year for another fab time. Thanks again to everyone there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PandP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in late august and we had a great time.The bar staff were the best I have ever seen so fast !!!.we where on the 2nd floor facing the beach we could just about see it. between the trees.the room we stay in was cleaned very well everyday.kitchen and dining room staff were first class could not fault it. Entertainment varied from night to night was not the greatest but the four tops where very good but sorry to say we where glad when elvis left the building.we are looking forward to coming back next year thumbs up

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just spent a week here; this was our first time.

The Hotel generally looks OK without being impressive; it is rated locally as a three star. There is a water feature at the front of the Hotel which appears stagnant and could do with renovation or re-designing. During the week most people we spoke to had been bitten but there is a lake a block away behind the hotel, trees all around and the beach just across the quiet no-through road, so the source of the biting insects is difficult to ascertain. Plus the fact that it was unusually warm for the time of year. Strongly advise that you take insect repellent.

The rooms are adequate but on the small side; the beds were firm and did creak with movement. It helps if the beds are pulled slightly away from the wall and this benefits your neighbours too! Rooms and all communal areas were keep clean.

It is a delight to note that the Hotel was mainly full of older people. No children is a huge bonus. The Bar staff are excellent, fast and efficient. The is an established queuing system which works well. A large screen tv with Sky Sports or UK soaps addressed a need.

We can't comment on the evening entertainment but comments seem to indicate a mixed reception.

The food was perfectly acceptable. It is a serve-yourself establishment and I was surprised that there is no other option (there are lots of external establishments of course). Having said that, we found the food warm enough and with sufficient variety. One cannot expect to have really hot food with a two-hour buffet - even 4/5-star establishments have not cracked this one. There is clearly an effort to cater to "British" tastes but one has to remember that you are not in the UK. I found the fruit crumbles were excellent but no Birds custard!! Ice cream was a fine substitute.

The restaurant staff collect plates efficiently, and are very pleasant. The Restaurant manager makes an effort to speak to everyone and is very approachable. The reception area staff are helpful with nothing too much trouble. Having failed to a hire a car through the reps we hired a Hertz car through reception. This was a very good move. A cheaper package with total insurance and no excess: 108 euros for three days - car delivered to the hotel and left there at the conclusion.

The Hotel is well situated with shops in walking distance left and right or by bus if preferred. The sandy beach is straight out of the door 1 minute away. This is the longest beach I believe on the island, but what looks like a power station on the next headland somewhat spoils the picture. The bay is extremely shallow which must be excellent for families but you must be prepared to walk a long way out if you want to swim in a reasonable depth of water. Water quality appears excellent; it certainly looks clear. Sun beds can be hired for the day from the local authority at 4.50 euros per day. I do not know how regularly this is checked especially at this time of year.

On the whole this hotel delivers what it promises. If one wants hot food with a huge variety served immaculately in tables in secluded areas then go somewhere else. Wherever you go you will be lucky to meet a more friendly and efficient staff and get better value-for-money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have morning sunlight and a quieter outlook. That facing the lake have after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AllanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#12 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#10 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AluaSoul Alcudia Bay
AluaSoul Alcudia Bay
#16 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
514 reviews
22.1 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Property: Platja d'Or
Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing