We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One happy family”
Review of Viva Sunrise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Sunrise
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been to Viva-hotels previously and knew what we might expect, but despite this we were pleasantly surprised. All-inclusive is recommended.

Excellent service throughout, from reception to housekeeping, from dining to entertainment of the children.

Room Tip: Room 237, view towards the stage where the entertainment takes place in the evening. Sunny in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Viva Sunrise
We are just back from our 6th year at Viva Sunrise and are already counting down to 2014 which is already booked.
Once again we had a fantastic holiday and met up with many other returning guests of all nationalities. Each year the hotel is making improvements and this year was no different. More rooms have been upgraded to the new modern look with fresh new furniture.
When we arrived, we got a beautiful poolside view (our favourite room from a previous year) and waiting in the room was a 'welcome back' note, a large bottle of Cava, a big bowl of fruit and a fridge of drinks (mineral and beers).
We found both management and staff to be both helpful and courteous as always and they gave us a big welcome back.
All in all, it was a brilliant holiday and the countdown is already on for 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawk69_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was actually our honeymoon/1st abroad holiday as a family. Myself and my husband brought our 19 month old daughter and she absolutely loved it. We booked a studio and on arrival they had upgraded us to a 1 bedroom apartment. (i previously emailed the hotel direct to inform them that it was our honeymoon and only receiving a confirmation email back I didnt expect this to happen)...............When we entered our room there was a lovely bottle of cava with a compliments slip saying 'we hope you enjoy your honeymoon'

I cant comment on the food as we was self catering. All I can say is that when we walked through the eating area to the pool it looked very fresh and appetizing. (I must say that the upgrade was expensive and I dont think it was worth the money. Maybe if I had 2 kids over 6 then I may consider going AI

The splash pool was brilliant for my daughter. She just loved it. It made us feel at ease that she could walk about in it with out us having to constantly hold on to her (although we were always a step behind her!!) She loved the frog slide!!

The rooms were really nice and modern and the beds/towels were changed 5/7 days. Even on arrival my daughter received a little welcome pack with teddy bear!!

The only negative I have is that the hotel guests seemed to of a mixed nationality. The reason I say this as a negative is because my daughter being 19 month old constantly would be saying hello and waving to the little boys and girls. If they were foreign the parents wouldn't acknowledge her or wouldn't encourage their kids to say hello back. If I know what Hello or good day is in German then they will definitely know how to say it in English!!!! I just thought that the non english were quite rude.

The hotel wasnt far away from the main area, but it was far enough not to be in the hustle and bustle. the marina was lovely too. People would say its about 15 min walk. I would double that as you dont want to be doing a brisk walk along the beach. A nice walk along the beach would take 25 mins at least.........one night we took the horse and carriage which was 15 euros one way!! It was better than walking again in 32 degree heat, and thats at night

We didnt stay in the hotel for the entertainment as we wasnt all inc. The drinks were expensive. There seemed to be a disco on for the kids each night and a different show on for the adults/family. We did listen to the entertainment from our balcony when we put our daughter to bed and it seemed ok.

All in all we had a really lovely time

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is not our first stay in a VIVA hotel. We've been to VIVA Tropic before, so we weren't afraid to try Sunrise this time. We weren't disappointed.
The staff is very attentative and hardworking. Claus (who manages the waiters in the resturant, cafe and buffet) runs a tight ship. I would say his people are one of the main reasons why this hotel is so great.
The people who runs the kids disco and entertainment are equally great and enthustiastic. Credit to them for giving everything every single day and evening. Even our 5 year old started dancing to Bufo after watching it a couple of evening.
We had booked at standard room, which is ok in size for two adults and two smaller children. We did ask for an upgrade to a balcony room. We had to wait a couple of days until one of those rooms became available. for 80€ extra per night we decided, to spend the extra money.

The balcony room is much nicer. The bathroom has a bigger shower, two sinks and is recently refurbished. We did not regret the decision to upgrade. The balcony is huge as well. Unfortunately it also comes with some negatives. The jacuzzi (which we only used once) runs a cleaning program all the time. Three nights in a row we had to ask the reception to turn it off, because it made some noise. They recognised this nuisance with some fruit and a small bottle of wine. The beds are VERY firm. I like a firm mattress, but this was too much. Consider bringing your own pillow as well. They are either very flat or high.

There was a huge tree in front of the balcony which meant we couldn't see the entertainment stage from our balcony. Trim the tree and fix the jacuzzi and everything would have been perfect.

We had all inclusive, which we didn't regret. The kids enjoyed the ice cream and my wife and I enjoyed the sangria for lunch and a decent selection of wine, cocktails, spirits and beer. (Mojitos, Manhattans, Black Russians and so forth are included.)

We would return again (especially if we can get a balcony room). I would recommend this hotel to friends and family as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0cutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay with our 2 children (ages 8 and 9) and have had a fantastic week. The hotel itself is lovely, very clean and modern, reception staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a one bedroom appartment on the 4th floor facing the canal which gave us great veiws. The room was spatious, clean and had everthing we needed.
The three pools were all good, our children spent most of the time in the largest, which we liked as they could stand up even the deapest end.we always found sunbeds even when we didnt make it down to the pool until late morning.
Staff were all friendly, we never felt like anywhere was overcrowded. Childrens entertainment was good, with extremely hard working entertainers.
All in all an excellent hotel
We were allinclusive and were very impressed with the choice and variety of food.

All in all a excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room facing the canal had great veiws and was quiet in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssjk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

not sure what the last reviewer was expecting from a hotel, perhaps they were hoping for a holiday without their own children, the balcony was perfectly safe, as were the pool areas, the last reviewer obviously didn't want to have to keep an eye on their own children, on a family holiday, some on its not up to the hotel to look after your children on your holiday!!

so back to it, perfect hotel, staff were exceptional and the bedroom was fabulous as was the balcony complete with Jacuzzi and furniture, i couldn't possibly find a hotel in the uk for this price at this standard, it was absolutely wonderful and perfect for families with young children, the restaurants near by cater for all tastes and the town is not far away to walk, please do not let the last review ruin your holiday, i would come back again and again, perfect.

Room Tip: royal apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Got back from Viva Sunrise about a week ago. Myself, my wife and three children, age 10,8 and 5. Had seen a lot of good reviews about this place hence the choice. Lets start with the negatives first as there were quite a few. Asked for a ground floor apt and didn't get one. Actually there are no ground floor apts to get. The ground floor consists of reception and the bar/facilities area. The next five floors above that are choc full of apartments/rooms so its a six storey building which I did not know either. Majorly disappointed with this as we were put on the fourth floor with a low rail balcony which would scare the bejaysus out of you. Needless to say if you have kids our ages, you will not sleep soundly. You will not even have lunch or breakfast in your apartment soundly as the fear of them running around the balcony would send you cuckoo. The corridors to these apartments are also about five hundred yards long and it looks like something out of the second world war. The pictures of this place on the sites give a different impression so be warned!!! Another big gripe is the Hotel is a good mile and a half from the Port which is where the main restaurants are. Don't be fooled by what anyone else says, there are other restaurants near the hotel, quite a lot actually, but they offer poor fare, and expensive too. Get a taxi to the Port, have a nice meal (not on the seafront as the restaurants there are also poor). Taxi costs about 5 euro and you can walk back the promenade - about a half hour walk. The other place to eat is the Old Roman Town of Alcudia, which in fairness is amazing. Lots of nice restaurants here but this is about 2.5 miles from the hotel so taxi back and forth is required at a cost of about 7 euro each way. Check trip advisor for good restaurants in both places as that is what we did and it didn't let us down. The hotel holds about 840 to 1000 people so its a busy spot which makes the pool busy. Talking of the pool, our little one isn't fully swimming yet. There are three pools and you cant keep watch of all of them at the same time which was annoying as you spend your time wondering where she was and having to keep a close eye. I personally do not find this relaxing. They do have one shallow pool area with slides which is great for small kids (about 3 to 5 year olds). Back to the room and the shock of being four floors up. It was also poor from a self catering point of view. No oven, poor utensils from a cooking perspective which I guess is designed to turn you off cooking and make you eat downstairs. Entertainment for the kids was ok but the kids club was a bit sloppy in that even if they were signed in, the kids seemed to be able to head off whenever they want and often wandered back to us under no supervision. Mine were old enough for that but some folk would not like it. Some positives - the food was good in the A la Carte menu area when we did eat there. Most people there seemed to choose the all inclusive which didn't seem much value to me and I still cant understand how people actually buy into that stuff - stuck eating and drinking in the same place for two weeks doesn't tickle my tonsils nor most normal people I know. Added to that it doesn't seem cheaper either so why bother. The staff were also nice and the layout around the pool in terms of food area and stage etc was good. However the negatives far outweigh the positives and I certainly will not be back to this hotel but will return to Alcudia as the beach and Old Town and Port area are well up to top class standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Familyman120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Viva Sunrise, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Appreciated Guests,

We are extremely sorry not having been able to achieve our goal with you.
We sincerely appreciate your comments, which are very important for us and show us the aspects we should pay more attention to keep improving our services.
Anyway I would like to point out that your reservation was a Premium Apartment, and these type of Apartment are located on the 4th and 5th floors.
The hotel consists in 6 floors; 5 floors comprises all the rooms and the ground floor the common areas.
All the balconies are completely safe measuring over 1.10 meters tall, that is what the spanish law requires and all the tour operator we work with.

Hopefully give us a chance in the future to welcome you once again and in this way to show our commitment towards our services and customer satisfaction,
seal of guarantee and quality of our family Viva Hotels & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zafiro Tropic
Zafiro Tropic
#12 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sunrise

Address: Avenida Mexico S/N, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#2 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#5 Best Value Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £39 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Sunrise 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Viva Sunrise is the perfect family destination in Port of Alcudia. Peaceful, comfortable and inviting, it features magnificent swimming pools, including a children’s pool with a Pirate Boat and water games, a sports ground, mini-club, children’s playground and a full program of entertainment events. It lies just 400 m from the bay of Alcudia and is ideally located in the heart of the shopping district. The attractions on offer are completed by the delicious selection of dishes in Viva Sunrise’s buffet and a la carte restaurants, plus a varied drinks menu and spectacular themed dinners. In Viva Sunrise your enjoyment is guaranteed. Children can dance to their favourite tunes every evening in the mini-disco. And for the adults, every night is party night with live performances and many other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Sunrise Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Sunrise Puerto Alcudia
Viva Sunrise Alcudia
Viva Sunrise Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing