We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alcanada golf course not what i expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcanada Golf Club

Alcanada Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed 18-hole golf course opened in 2003. Situated in the northern part of the mediterranean island of Mallorca, Alcanada is located right by the sea. The 6.499 meter long course blends naturally into the typical mallorcan terrain. The namegiving island with its lighthouse, just off the shore, can be seen from most of the holes. Apart from the splendid sea view, the players are surrounded by pine and olive groves. Even though a young course, Alcanada is already recognized by a number of well known golf magazines and golf guides as one of the finest courses in Spain and Europe.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alcanada golf course not what i expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

played this course 19 9 2013 yes the scenery was lovely the fairways good but i must say the greens was in awful condition & since we payed 111.00 euro's i would expect them to be in top condition played a course a day later was far better & nearly 30.00 euro's cheaper 14 of us played the Alcanada every single one of us said it was over priced for the condition it was in i've played municipal courses with better greens the groundsmen need to sort it out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Mr. Brian S.,

thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment about our golf course on Tripadvisor after playing on the 19th of September 2013. Rest assured that you commment is very important to us, so please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience you made when playing our course. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the condition of the greens! As we have hollow cored the greens just at the end of August/ beginning of September the greens were still very vulnarable and soft and especially for those players who teed off in the mid-day/ afternoon hours in the three weeks after the hollow coring, the green surface suffered more from play and foot prints then usual. Please contact me the next time you are planning to visit our course so we can try to make up for your unpleasant experience!

Kind regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    23
    4
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Humlebæk, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever played!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you go to Mallorca and like playing golf, this course is an absolute must. It is in top condition except for a few spots on some of the greens and is located in a spectacular landscape, surrounded by water and mountains. Apparently it was established by the Porsche family in 2003 for 60 mill €...! Try it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gustav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Gustav,

thank you very much for your kind words! Please spread the word! We are looking forward to seeing you again at Alcanada soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

An outstanding golf course on an unrivaled location with staff and facilities to match! Course was in great shape when we were there during an August heat wave. The views on many holes is outstanding so take a camera. The staff are very helpful and well trained. The restaurant is great by golf course standards. Of course all this does come at a cost...regardless I went back a second time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Paul,

thank you very much for your encouraging words! We hope to see you soon again at Alcanada!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Robert Trent Jones Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Beautiful ,challenging layout in immaculate conditioning. With stunning views of the bay. The changing facilities were very good. The after golf 19th hole was on a terrace with a great view. The only downside was the playing fees at double that of the other 2 courses we played ( E576 a 4 ball).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Alcanada soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY BEST FOR GOLF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

One of the best golf courses in Spain. Everything is top here. Course is great for better players. Stunning views. Fast AND firm greens. Jobs here are All pros. Great organization.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DR-FABIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to put a comment on Tripadvisor about our golf course Alcanada! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the day at Alcanada and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from the Alcanada Golf Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcanada Golf Club also viewed

Capdepera, Majorca
Felanitx, Majorca
 
Capdepera, Majorca
 

Been to Alcanada Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing