We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf course, disappointing drop in standard of service.”
Review of Alcanada Golf Club

Alcanada Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed 18-hole golf course opened in 2003. Situated in the northern part of the mediterranean island of Mallorca, Alcanada is located right by the sea. The 6.499 meter long course blends naturally into the typical mallorcan terrain. The namegiving island with its lighthouse, just off the shore, can be seen from most of the holes. Apart from the splendid sea view, the players are surrounded by pine and olive groves. Even though a young course, Alcanada is already recognized by a number of well known golf magazines and golf guides as one of the finest courses in Spain and Europe.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great golf course, disappointing drop in standard of service.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have played this course many times since it opened and it is without doubt one of the best courses around. It is also stunningly beautiful. It is disappoiinting that the standard of service in the bar has deteriorated since my visits last year. Perhaps the catering has been outsourced? Orders we placed for food and drinks were forgotten and the electronic gadgets on the tables on the terrace (designed to attract the attention of the bar staff) seem to have zero effect. Anyone turning up here expecting to get bar food before 12.30 will be disappointed, unlike the other clubs I have visited on the island. I still think it is well worth a visit (and I will definitely return) but it is at the higher end of the price range and should strive to be best in every class. Stuart Mott

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mr. Mott,

thank you for your comment on tripadvisor after having played on the 18th and 22nd of October 2013. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with the overall quality and service at Alcanada.

As commented already on the day you played at our course, the opening hours of our club restaurant (and the “kitchen hours”) as well as the company running the club restaurant have been the same since we first opened in 2003.

We are sorry to hear that your weren´t happy with neither the service in the restaurant nor the opening hours of the kitchen. Please rest assured that we will pass your comment on to the restaurant tenant and discuss the option to change the opening hours with him to being able to serve warm food before 12.30 hrs apart from the takeaway “bocallidos”/ bread rolls that are served as of 10.00 hrs.

We hope, that when you visit Alcanada next time you will again be 100% satisfied with your golfing experience. Please accept once again our apologies for the unpleasant experience when visiting the club restaurant at Alcanada golf course.

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    25
    5
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's a challenging course”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Played at Alcanada in Sept 2013 and it is a challenging course. Overall well maintained but as mentioned before some of the greens were in poor condition. Location is excellent with stunning views particularly from the elevated tees looking out towards the sea. Not many flat fairways so you can play all your best shots from uphill/downhill/above feet/below feet whatever you like !! As well as elevated tees on some holes you are also playing to elevated greens as well so you certainly have the opportunity to hit all your shots(plus some you may not have played before! ) during the course of your round. Enjoyed sitting on the restaurant terrace after the round with a nice cold beer and lunch was excellent. Yes, a bit more expensive than most of the other courses (booked through SimplyMallorcaGolf.com it was 110 euros and 99 euros for the second round) but it was well worth playing. I should add that we had to change our tee time at short notice and SimplyMallorcaGolf managed this with no problem and no extra charges.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jostcjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are working very close with SimplyMallorca so we try to be as flexible as posible with posible with changes!
Sorry to hear that you were not 100% happy with the greens. I can reasure you that now, the greens are back to normal (perfect) conditions and I only can asume that you played close to the dates we hollow cored the greens . We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Alcanada!

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“didn't play just walked”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

the golf course is fantastic an well maintained throughout. the course is in the valley between the mountains and the sea, so which ever way you look the views are breath taking

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hinto50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We hope that next time you visit you will have a chance to play the course!

Best regards from sunny Alcanada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alcanada golf course not what i expected”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

played this course 19 9 2013 yes the scenery was lovely the fairways good but i must say the greens was in awful condition & since we payed 111.00 euro's i would expect them to be in top condition played a course a day later was far better & nearly 30.00 euro's cheaper 14 of us played the Alcanada every single one of us said it was over priced for the condition it was in i've played municipal courses with better greens the groundsmen need to sort it out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Mr. Brian S.,

thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment about our golf course on Tripadvisor after playing on the 19th of September 2013. Rest assured that you commment is very important to us, so please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience you made when playing our course. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the condition of the greens! As we have hollow cored the greens just at the end of August/ beginning of September the greens were still very vulnarable and soft and especially for those players who teed off in the mid-day/ afternoon hours in the three weeks after the hollow coring, the green surface suffered more from play and foot prints then usual. Please contact me the next time you are planning to visit our course so we can try to make up for your unpleasant experience!

Kind regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humlebæk, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever played!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you go to Mallorca and like playing golf, this course is an absolute must. It is in top condition except for a few spots on some of the greens and is located in a spectacular landscape, surrounded by water and mountains. Apparently it was established by the Porsche family in 2003 for 60 mill €...! Try it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gustav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Gustav,

thank you very much for your kind words! Please spread the word! We are looking forward to seeing you again at Alcanada soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcanada Golf Club also viewed

Felanitx, Majorca
Capdepera, Majorca
 
Sant Jordi, Majorca
 

Been to Alcanada Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing