We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf course but very poor service in restaurant”
Review of Alcanada Golf Club

Alcanada Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed 18-hole golf course opened in 2003. Situated in the northern part of the mediterranean island of Mallorca, Alcanada is located right by the sea. The 6.499 meter long course blends naturally into the typical mallorcan terrain. The namegiving island with its lighthouse, just off the shore, can be seen from most of the holes. Apart from the splendid sea view, the players are surrounded by pine and olive groves. Even though a young course, Alcanada is already recognized by a number of well known golf magazines and golf guides as one of the finest courses in Spain and Europe.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We played 18 holes at this golf course and were impressed by the views and the conditions of the course. We finished playing around eight o'clock and went to the restaurant. We ordered drinks and asked for the menu. The problem was that no one came to us to take the order. The head waiter indicated that he would come to us but he never did. After half an hour of waiting we asked for the bill for the drinks and confronted the headwaiter with the very poor service he displayed. He indicated that he had he had to serve the other restaurant guests first. I thought this was a golf club first of all and by the time we go the the restaurant we have already spent 260 euros for playing 18 holes (this is without buggy of 40 euro's). Probably more than the average guest will spend at the end of his evening in this restaurant. Apparently this does not count once you enter the restaurant you are ignored and restaurant guests go first. So unfortunately this becaume in the end a very unpleasant experience after a very nice game of golf.

1  Thank MuiderbergTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good day!

Thank you very much for your positive comment on our golf course Alcanada.
I am sorry to hear though that you were not happy with the service you received in our club restaurant. Please accept my apologies! As I would like to find out more about your restaurant experience to address the problem with the company running our restaurant I will contact you in private to further discuss your visit.

Kind regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 7 reviews
"immaculate condition"
in 5 reviews
"robert trent jones"
in 4 reviews
"son gual"
in 3 reviews
"training camp"
in 3 reviews
"excellent golf"
in 3 reviews
"tee boxes"
in 3 reviews
"golfing experience"
in 2 reviews
"practice facilities"
in 2 reviews
"golf staff"
in 2 reviews
"lovely layout"
in 2 reviews
"fast greens"
in 2 reviews
"club restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"buy tokens"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful views across the bay"
in 2 reviews
"tees"
in 10 reviews
"challenging"
in 17 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a truly great place even if you don't ply golf. Go for lunch and some shopping in a golf shop on the premises - very nice selection of sports' attire. The food is well above avarage however very affordable and as a bonus a breathtaking views from the terrace.

Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Anna,

thank you very much for this great comment! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Club de Golf Alcanada.

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We decided to take a trip up here for some lunch! 10euro in a taxi from Bellevue complex. Unfortunately, I could not eat anything as I cannot eat gluten, and their menu was very fussy, but that didn't stop us having a drink on the open veranda under the parasols and taking in the beautiful views that were on offer. The breeze was delightful and the golf club itself was kept in immaculate condition! :) I would definitely recommend a walk around and to go and see those views!

1  Thank Caro-Cupake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Anna,

thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Alcanada golf course!

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A well manicured course, beautifully presented. Any golfers dream
Fairways but to perfection, no weeds, set in magnificent scenery, with some difficult challenging holes. Our second visit to this course and would have no hesitation in returning.

1  Thank RCLEMENTS212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback towards Club de Golf Alcanada!
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf
Club de Golf Alcanada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I played this course recently and whilst impressed with the course was disappointed at the condition. This is a premier facility with amazing views and location - the clubhouse veranda is amongst the best I've been to - the fact that I mention this tells you all about course and how it should be.

Thank Swith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristoff B, Manager at Alcanada Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on our golf course Alcanada! We appreciate your positive words while we are surprised about you disappointment. As you don´t explain in detail what was disappointing about the course condition (or when you played exaclty) we only can asume that this was due to the hollow coring of the greens that took place at the end of May and usually take the greens 3 to 4 weeks at our course to fully recover. Rest assured that the course is back to "normal" conditions now that the greens have fully recovered from this necesary manintenance works.
Sorry again to hear that you were not 100% satisfied when playing. We hope to see you soon again and hope that you will then have a better experience at our course!

Best regards,

Kristoff Both
Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcanada Golf Club also viewed

 
Capdepera, Majorca
 

Been to Alcanada Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing