We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zafiro Tropic
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bahia de Alcudia(Port d'Alcudia)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Palm Garden(Port d'Alcudia)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vanity Hotel Golf(Port d'Alcudia)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Botel Alcudiamar Hotel(Port d'Alcudia)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
477
440
146
44
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
440
146
44
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult only poolself cateringviva hotelpirate shipold townmain poolpool barroyal terrace roombouncy castlekids clubpool viewcycling holidaysgt peppersthe main blockwalk in showerfamily hotelmini golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
646 - 651 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was our first time going on a package holiday with our kids aged 8 and 5. We decided to stay for one week in case we wouldn't like being surrounded by children and kids clubs! How wrong we were. The entertainment team in Viva Tropic are the reason we had such a fantastic holiday. Dascha and Sandra entertained our kids while Barbara made sure there was plenty to do for the adults. I had the option of daily water aerobics and my husband got to play soccer, archery , table tennis etc. It was totally up to us how involved or not we wanted to be. The hotel is well laid out with a separate adults pool which I enjoyed going to. The kids were always nearby and popped in and out of the kids club. This was the first holiday we went on where 'I'm bored' was never mentioned. The place is spotlessly clean, rooms are on the small side but well fitted out and the shower is excellent. Breakfast in the hotel was a bit pricey at 11 euro per head and 5.50 for kids but it was very good. Waiter called Jose was excellent ! He should be allowed to take orders!We ate in the hotel most nights as the kids wanted to part take in the night time shows. Again this meant that we enjoyed our meal while watching them on stage. Bikes and buggies are available to hire and we found the bikes great as the surrounding area is flat so it was an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon. Beach is 5 mins away and has very fine sand so was great also. Dedicated kids pool with slides, playground and bouncy castle all make it a must do holiday if you have kids aged 4 - 12 in my book as you the parent will really feel on holiday too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 635647Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay, self-catering, (4th - 11th June) at Viva Tropic with my fiance and 2 kids (aged 7 and 4). We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were greeted at the reception by Jutta, she was extremely helpful and very welcoming and answered everyone of our questions. First impressions of the hotel were good - with the overall finish very high and were what we’d hoped for.

We had booked to stay in a Premium apartment but were able to upgrade to a room with a pool view room for an extra 10 euros per night, which we thought was well worth it. The check-in process was seamless, despite it being quite busy at the time.

Staying on the 5th (top) floor, our room number was 1535. The room was clean and comfortable with all the things we’d require (Aircon, LCD TV, Microwave, Hob, Kettle, Cutlery, Toaster, Plates - but as someone else pointed out on this site, strangely, no bowls! - good job we brought our own). The room was cleaned pretty much daily and towels were changed provided they were left on the floor in the shower area. The bathroom was well presented, although it didn’t have a bath - just a tiled walk in shower area - but ample for what we needed.

We rarely watched the TV - but on the occasion the kids did (during the rain!) - there weren’t many English channels - and it wasn’t immediately obvious that you needed to change the language to English (From Spanish) on said channels, via a fairly innocuous button on the remote - this wasn’t made clear in the room guide. Disney Channel and CNN were the only real watchable ones.

Our kids were naturally excited with this being their first holiday - but part of the excitement also came from the fact there were so many other families staying in the hotel. From the minute we went for our first walk around, there were kids in the pool, the park, the mini golf etc - admittedly, the majority appeared to be German or Scandinavian - but to kids, this never mattered. The Pirate Ship pool was fantastic - the park (despite its relatively small size), trampoline, bouncy castle, sports pitch and golf, all provided an adequate distraction for when the kids got bored of the slides or the beach.

We didn’t intend to put our kids in the kids club - however, it appeared to be well attended and the people running in seemed to really enjoy their work, with plenty of variation. The entertainment team always went out of their way to greet the kids and really encourage them to get involved with the entertainment, whether that be in English, German or Danish!

The hotel has its own supermarket - which was surprisingly well stocked. Plenty of the usual British groceries - but with plenty of good local produce (meats, pastries, wine!, chocolate, crisps). For kids - its little things like this that really drive home the fact they’re on holiday too. The supermarket didn’t appear to be excessively overpriced as some would expect, and there was no massive reason to shop outside the hotel at a Spar for cost reasons - unless of course you were after something the hotel shop didn’t stock. Asides from groceries - the shop also stocked tourist gifts, maps, beach stuff etc.

Internet access was available in the lobby area - but the wifi range didn’t appear to extend elsewhere within the hotel. My partner would have liked access in the room - but that’s arguably not a bad thing!

Although we were self catering - we eat lunch and dinner in the hotel on occasion - from the bar and from their al a carte menu. The food was of a high quality - and reasonably priced. I say reasonably, the prices were actually in line with what you’d pay in one of the nearby restaurants ( so it cost no more to eat out). Kids meals were what you’d expect (Spaghetti, Burgers, Nuggets etc). We found the waiting staff very friendly - towards ourselves, and towards the kids - which found them very entertaining.

For the first couple of nights we never really watched much of the entertainment - more because it took a day or so of getting into a routine that meant the kids could stay up till 22:00 at night (kids shows start at 20:00). We soon learnt to get back from the beach earlier, let them have a good rest - then go again later. We did watch the entertainment in the latter part of the week and overall it was good with a lot of variety. A lot of stuff we’ve seen before - but a completely new experience for the kids (magic shows, gymnasts etc). Overall - what you’d expect from hotel entertainment, its no X-Factor - but more than ample to pass the nights with a few glasses of Faustino.

There’s not really much more to say - I’ve read most of the reviews for the Viva Tropic on Trip Advisor - and it was one of the number 1 sources of information that helped make our decision to go here. Obviously everyone’s view is subjective - and experiences vary - but overall, we really enjoyed our stay, the kids absolutely loved it - and the hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in. The staff were always happy to help - and we were met with friendly faces. There were a few minor niggles - the beds aren’t the comfiest (but how often does a hotel bed compare to your own), there were no obvious no-smoking areas (appreciate its different in Europe, but even outside, in the dining areas it was very noticeable) , then there’s always the early-morning sun-bed hoarders (again, nothing unusual), apart from that, we’d struggle to think of any real problems we experienced.

Moving away from the hotel itself - Alcudia isn’t the most spectacular resort. There’s plenty of shops, bars and restaurants - but the beach is the clear focal point. The hotel was probably 5 minutes walk from the beach - and this is where we spent most of our time in the day. We’re from the Isle of Man, so we’re well used to beaches (perhaps not the hot weather) - but the Alcudia beach is in a class of its own. Sun beds were 4.50 euro per day, and you could either hire them stand alone or use the ones positioned under a parasol/shade - which were the ones we opted for. The shops were in close proximity (for drinks, ice creams) - and there were a few beach-side bars. There were a couple of downsides, the wasn’t much in the way of toilet provision (a couple by a bar) - and the endless procession of ‘hair braiders’ who guaranteed to give us the best price for getting our hair braided. They became a mild annoyance as we learnt to ignore them - and the kids found it entertaining every time they approached saying the same thing again and again. Plenty of families on the beach - and what more can you say, its a beach. (You could hire beach towels from the hotel for a 10 euro deposit per towel, which was returned at the end of the stay - these could also be swapped for clean ones mon/wed/fri).

Although self-catering, we eat either in the hotel restaurant or eat out in Alcudia. We only sampled a few places - but generally acted on the only proven way of judging a restaurant, by seeing how busy was each night. Our favourite was the Carabela steak house - which was literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel (on the way to the beach). A good menu (range of starters, steaks, kebabs, sea-food - with a good kids menu) - but top notch with very friendly staff. The kids loved eating there - and we thoroughly enjoyed the food (the steaks and kebabs are great). As you’d expect - they were also happy to entertain orders that werent necessarily on the menu - to suit the kids really (ice creams etc). We also eat at the nearby Italian - decent pizzas. There’s a burger king 10 minutes up the road which we tried (don’t laugh - there isn’t one on the Isle of Man) - and there’s a burger joint just by the Carabela which makes some great little burgers. For those who want top class Michelin-style restaurants, my fiance checked out a few reviews of ones located nearby - but having two kids meant it wasn’t practical - but from what we’ve read (on here) - there’s a few decent eateries for those lucky enough to have baby sitters!

One strange thing we noticed when dining out was how, much like the ‘hair braiders’, the street sellers waltzed in and out of the various restaurants selling their goods (tacky hats, flashing sun glasses, teddies - all at the *best* price) with little or no reaction from the restaurant staff or management, despite going round every table - it was almost as if it was quietly permitted for whatever reason - we found this very strange, especially as some diners in the restaurants seemed a little put out by it. Very odd. Again, just dealt with in the same way as the braiders.

The only downside to Alcudia is its about 45-60mins from the airport so be prepared to have some drinks/entertainment for the kids on the coach - or the taxi, which costs about 70 euro from the airport to the hotel. Apart from the hotel, the beach and the shops - there wasn’t much else to do - but that wasn’t an issue. We did the day trip to the Palma Aquarium which was very good - and the shopping in the afternoon was good - if not a bit of an effort with bored kids. Friends also recommended the Pirate Show, which we didnt make.

Spending a fun day at the beach, back at the hotel pool/park - eating out - and then back for the evening’s entertainment suited us down to the ground and made for a fantastic week.

In conclusion really - we’d fully recommend the Viva Tropic as a family destination in Majorca. This was our first family holiday - we really enjoyed it, the kids loved it - and the whole stay was effortless really - which is what we really wanted. The hotel was well presented, safe, clean and very family friendly. Alcudia’s beach is fantastic - and there’s plenty of places to eat if you choose to eat outside the hotel. If the hotel shop isn’t sufficient, there’s plenty of shops and Spars within throwing distance. We’ll be looking at booking our next stay, at either the Viva Tropic or in one of Vivas other hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IsleOfManAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were in the main hotel block in the a 1-bed apartment. The grounds are amazing and the room was very clean. The food was lovely both in the pool bar and in the buffet in teh restaurant at night (€15pp, well worth it). There are plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby, from chinese, to texmex to steakhouses, absolutely gorgeous. Our favourites were the texmex off the harbour and the steakhouse 2min walk from the hotel just before you cross the road to the beach. Hotel is perfect location for beach, walking, eating, etc. We had a one year old with us and he was well catered for and welcomed everywhere. The hotel entertainment was great for children and adults alike.
Only negative is that the bar service was really poor and the bar staff made very little effort with guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanbabe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Having stayed the previous year at the tropics sister hotel the viva blue we were excited to stay at the tropic under the assumption that the" blueprint" for the viva hotels would be the same. The ameneties were pretty much the same what differed was the service..and boy did the hotels differ in that respect! The viva blue is exceptional but located in a very quite area called playa de muro some km from alcudia. Having loved our stay there we thought we would try the livelier Tropic. The staff are rude with the exception of one young lady who had some manners one of the male reception staff is possibly the most inhospitable person i have ever encountered in a hotel. The upgraded rooms are not to our taste...LAMINATED floors and they look as if they have been done up on the cheap. Rock hard beds, mosqitoues in the rooms (dead and alive) paper thin walls etc. The same menu is served at the tropic as is in the blue but the quality of food is light years apart. The pools are fab but as all vivas have the same ameneties and layout I would suggest a visit to another. The beach stinks! Really the smell of "egg" or something is unbearable and the water is murky and as we are beach lovers this was a real blow. The area is beautiful but very pricey but the old town is a must to visit. If you book directly with the hotel and are promised a comp bottle of cava and fruit basket then don't hold your breath..we and at least two other couples brought this to the attention of the very rude reception guy several times and four says later got a basket with four pieces of past their sell by date fruit. I think having read the managenents response to another review that all complaints when staying there and upon your return home are a waste of time...I could go on but am going to spare you the rest. If you havent stayed in a proper 4 star then you will probably find it great...if you have already experienced 4 star then the tropic is a big let down!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rospaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moises_Barbero, Commercial Department at Zafiro Tropic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

First of all we want to say thank you for taking your time in writing a review about your stay that is very important for us and must help to improve our service level.
After that please accept our apologize for not giving you the expected holidays in our hotel because our main aim is the happiness and relax of our customers during the stay in our hotels thing that following your comments and complaints has not happened during your stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to attend you again in our hotel because we have a lot of satisfied customers and we are so worried when one of our customers write his complaints and says us that haven’t had a good stay with us.
Again, please accept our apologies for the issues you found during your holidays and be sure that all your claims have arrived to the correct person in order to be solved quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have stayed here trice now and liked it even more the second time. One good piece of advice is to book a good standard room. A pool view room is a bonus and a premium rather than standard is a good move too. The facilities are great and there is so much for young children. Also a fantastic, clean, child friendly beach 5 mins away and the buzz of the port is lovely n the evening. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book with vivahotels.com to see all room specs
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews