We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd time back and still a good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Tropic & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Tropic & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“3rd time back and still a good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the viva tropic again 27th May to 6th June which was partly over the kids holidays, the hotel was quite busy. We stayed self catering with our 6 year old son. Overall we had another great stay, the hotel offers everything we look for in a hotel, nice rooms, good food at the pool restaurant, kids club, a 5 minute walk to the beach and a great kids pool. A couple of things that have begun to dissatisfied myself and my partner, you cannot book at the time of booking a pool view room this has to be done on arrival. For the last 3 stays my partner has emailed and telephoned the hotel to see if he can book a pool view room directly with them and pay over the phone but they wont accept this, they say you can only do it on arrival and it will depend on what rooms are left. The cost of this is 10 euros per day. We have since found out on our latest visit that the German and Danish visitors are allowed to book the pool view rooms at the time of booking !!!! Not sure why the hotel insist on the ridiculous policy. We were lucky again this time to get the last pool view room. But if there were non left we would have had a room looking out onto the street at the bins, which get emptied at some unearthly hour in a morning. I have to say that this whole situation does cause both of us uneccessary stress until we arrive at the hotel and we know we have got the room we wished for. If we hadnt of been able to get a pool view room we would not be looking to stay again. A 4 star hotel should allow you to book this in advance. Another thing we found frustrating was the service at lunch time at the pool restaurant, whilst the food is alway delish and the menu choice is fantastic we found ourselves always having to go and find members of staff to order drinks, to place our orders, to clear our plates and to order desert. The air conditioning in the room is ok but dont expect to get the room like a fridge. On arrival to the room the room had not been cleaned properly and the floor was filthy after 10 mins of us walking around bare feet our feet were black but one quick call to reception sorted this. The lifts could also do with the door closing timer altering so it gives you more time to get in and out especially with children, the doors close far to quickly and on one occasion our little boy had got in the lift and the doors closed gefore one of us to could get inside, the lift took off which meant he was in there on his own so we had to run up the stairs to find him. The things I have raised above are not things that would prevent us from staying at this hotel again they would just make the whole experience better, all the things raised could be rectified quite easily. This is a great hotel to stay at if you have kids. We really enjoyed our stay, our son made lots of friends. You wont be dissapointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the steps at the end of the corridor as the doors bang shut in the wind whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    358
    110
    37
    11
See reviews for
548
211
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I don't complain at all but feel need to share this....We have just returned from what was supposed to be a 7 night stay at the Viva Tropic, we actually only stayed 5 as when we arrived we were told they had over booked, we arrived at 10.30 at night to be told this news,we had a very tired 9 year old, we were told we could stay at another hotel in the viva chain for one night and return to a studio or 2 nights and be upgraded to a garden room. We chose the 2 nights, were taxied to the a hotel that was in an area we didn't know and had not a lot around it. We couldn't unpack and were very frustrated. Apparently we were chosen as it had less impact on us. We arrived back at the viva tropic as advised at 10.00 two days after our holiday started to be told they didn't have a room ready and we would have to FIND us a room and we may have to wait until 1oclock when the next coach load arrived
This did not go down well, being told that they still didn't have a room for us and would have to find one was ridiculous, we were offered a free drink, we declined as were very frustrated and angry by now, suprise, surprise 5 mins later a room was found, but not a garden room as promised on the first night. we were offered breakfast for the whole stay which we declined as we only book self catering so we are not tied down to meal times. We asked for a free safe which was granted. We were asked to sign copious amounts of paper work to say we accepted, how could we not we needed a room and to start our holiday. Overall not a good experience for us and we travel to majorca twice a year. The hotel was nice in my eyes not 4 star as lots of little details were not of that 4 star standered and this would be my opinion even if we had not had our experience. the bar man was also very rude. The rooms are very good and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonzo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I went to the Viva Tropic with my brother, Mum and Dad from 1st to 11th August 2013. We went because we'd looked round last year and it looked good.

The apartments are nice. They have a television opposite a settee in the living room. The settee sleeps one person on the top and one person on a bed pulled out from underneath. For an extra 200 euros for 10 days we had a private garden with chairs and an umbrella right by the pool. For an extra 800 euros for 10 days you can get an apartment at the top of the hotel with a Jacuzzi and other excitements.

In the hotel, there are three god pols. There is a pol with a pirate ship and eight slides for younger children. There is a pool for any age that starts shallow and gets deeper. Lastly, there is a top pol that has very shallow water for sitting down and much deeper to jump into. There is a waterfall between the pool that gets shallow and the pol that is deeper. You can take inflatables into all the pools.

There is a beach five minutes away and you can rent a pedalo. A twenty minute walk away, there is a great waterpark. There are lots of different coloured slides that are good fun for all the family. A wave pool turns on at specific times and lasts for about 5-10 minutes. There are two new pools for younger children called Neptune and Octopus. A return visit within ten days costs half price!

I recommend this amazing hotel. It's fun for all and has lots of extra things I haven't mentioned like a spa, an adult pool, mini golf and a supermarket. Go and find out more for yourself!
by Natasha aged 10

Room Tip: The entertainment is loud until 10.40pm and can be heard from the rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomma, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Me and my family has been two years in a row before this one on VIVA PALMA NOVA, we were looking forward have a really good family holiday again. The hotel was exactly the same as VIVA PALMA NOVA. But one thing stood out, I know, I am also a family with a kid, but this is absolutely crazy! Even the middle pool was occupied with children all day. Again, this ia family hotel and the SHOULD be children, but again, this was crazy. The food is very average, I am happy that I did not go for all inclusive. The rule they have when it comes to the fact that it is not allowed to reserver the sun beds for more than 40 minutes are not controlled, one day of the whole week the staff removed some the towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in August 2013 family of 4 (kids aged 7 & 11yrs). We couldn't recommend this hotel enough. You really couldn't ask for more. It had everything for all ages, a small pool with slides for young kids (away from the normal pools so you didn't have screaming kids if you didn't want it). Over 18's only pool with double sunbeds, the main pools had a deep pool & a shallow pool. Plenty of sunbeds which did say you couldn't reserve although when we were there people did everyday and no-one did anything about it. There was daily entertainment in the pool aerobics half an hour everyday (but if you didn't want it it wasn't loud and in your face), they did a kids pool game everyday i.e volleyball. Again this only used a small area of the pool and didn't matter if you didn't want it.
The rooms were a good size, we were self catering and the facilities were ample. We had a rear apartment which we thought would be a bit rubbish as it didn't have the pool view, but actually turned out better as our balcony was shaded all afternoon and evening so the rooms stayed cool. We had a view of the harbour and mountains which we enjoyed.
The aircon in the room was fab.
There was a little shop in the hotel which was reasonably priced and had fresh bread and patisseries everyday.
About 4min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.
Other activities were pool, table tennis, volleyball, football, archery, mini golf (all free).
Evening entertainment was pretty good and finished about 1030pm.
We dined and the pool bar a couple of times at lunchtime and the food was good and not too expensive.
I would highly recommend Moma restaurant by the port of the main road & also Carabela steakhouse, the food service and value was excellent at both.
Alcudia itself was a lovely resort especially for families, the sea was shallow for a long way out and warm. Lovely Port to walk around in the evening and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family and I have just returned from another fantastic ten day stay at the Viva Tropic Hotel, in Port d'Alcudia.

I have to agree with most of the reviews on here. Beautiful surrounding/grounds, great pools (Pirate "Splash" Pool, over 18's pool and the main double central pool) and fantastic rooms. This year, we upgraded to the Garden Room, following on from being at the Royal Terrace last year and were not disappointed. The garden was to the rear of the apartment, with a gate leading onto the pool area. It gave us privacy to chill out, whilst being amongst all of the action!!! All of the apartments are equipped with everything you would need if going self catering. We tend to do this, as we prefer to get "out and about" in the resort and like to sample what the many restaurants have to offer (try Como En Casa, Beach Restaurant, S'Alhambra and the restaurant attached to the Vanity Golf hotel - all excellent) .

This is a family hotel, so ignore those negative reviews which have awarded a poor marking because of this (personal responsibility to check where you are booking, people!!) !!! The staff cater for families excellently, with many activities through the days for all age groups. In addition, there is an all weather pitch for tennis, football, etc and a sizable play area equipped with climbing frames, slides and bouncy castle, all within a safe rubber floored area.

All in all, I can only thoroughly recommend this hotel and resort if you are looking for a family break. Having been twice is testament to this!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade upon arrival. Pool view, garden "privilege" room or Royal Terrace to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just returned back from viva tropic ...superb hotel if travelling with children ...we stayed all inclusive and could not fault the food ...the hotel is spotless and staff are always cleaning....if I had one negative it is that the grounds seemed a bit cramped every inch of space was used ..where one thing stopped another one started ...but it is what it is and you can't change the grounds etc ...may have felt more cramped because it was August ...overall we had a fab holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it ...we would definitely consider viva hotels again !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevviecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
5.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Tropic & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Tropic & Spa

Property: Viva Tropic & Spa
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Tropic & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tan solo 200m de la preciosa playa del Puerto de Alcudia, y en pleno centro de su area comercial y de ocio, el Hotel-Apartamentos Viva Tropic dispone de una situacion que ofrece todas las garantias para la mejor estancia vacacional. Renovado en 2010, sus comodas y completas instalaciones son perfectas para unas vacaciones en familia: habitaciones amplias y elegantes, tres piscinas, una general, otra con juegos de agua y un Barco Pirata y, la mas exclusiva, una piscina chill out con camas balinesas, asi como un area de Spa con piscina cubierta, sauna, bano turco y jacuzzi, y una pista polideportiva. Ademas, el Hotel - Apartamentos Viva Tropic cuenta con el mas completo programa de animacion para todas las edades y las mas deliciosas propuestas gastronomicas en sus restaurantes: buffet, snacks y a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Viva Tropic & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Viva Tropic & Spa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing