We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very family orientated hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Tropic & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Tropic & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very family orientated hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My daughter and her husband booked this hotel for themselves, their 2 sons aged 4 and 17 months, and ourselves. It was not the hotel to visit without children as it was full of them! The waiters were excellent being able to carry trays and avoid scampering children at the same time!
Reception staff spoke excellent English and helpful.
The whole place was very clean. The rooms a good size and the air con worked well. We really appreciated the fridge. I thought hire of the safe rather expensive at 16.50 euros for a week, but at least it was large enough to contain all that we and rest of my family had. My only complaint about the room was no maid service on 2 days a week. It is many years since I have stayed in accommodation without 7 day service.
We stayed B&B. the breakfast was adequate, though the fruit juices very watery.
The children's playground was excellent and the activities well run. The pools were great, though it would have been better to have the pirate ship pool heated as the water was really pretty cold despite temperatures in high thirties. As people have mentioned in other reviews, sunbeds were reserved with towels very early and then left vacant for some considerable time. We did see notices being put out on beds by staff to say towels would be removed if no one sitting there in 40 minutes. But there was only one day when we actually saw towels being removed.
Entertainment in the evenings wasn't bad at all, certainly seen a lot worse at 5 star hotels. Waiter service wasn't too good in the evenings, one time I had to ask more than once for drinks.
However, on the whole I would recommend this hotel (and indeed Alcudia itself) for families.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the street but we didn't find this a problem as it certainly wasn't noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    370
    112
    39
    11
See reviews for
562
216
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 11 nights at the viva tropic all inc and had a fab time and came home 10lbs heavier :(
The good points are all areas of the hotel are clean, comfortable furnishings, excellent friendly genuine staff, good standard of food at all times of the day either in restaurant or snack bar, branded drinks included in all inc, 4 pool choices, plenty of activities for kids and adults,
free wifi available in rooms and pool area, hotel in great location, good mix of nationalities and guests.
Bad points getting up early for sunbeds but they do operate a removal of towels policy. They only do this if you have not been on them for 90mins but place a 40 min notice on your lounger.
Alcudia is a family resort with plenty aimed at families.
Would certainly visit a viva hotel again. And I am normally a moaner!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the viva tropic again 27th May to 6th June which was partly over the kids holidays, the hotel was quite busy. We stayed self catering with our 6 year old son. Overall we had another great stay, the hotel offers everything we look for in a hotel, nice rooms, good food at the pool restaurant, kids club, a 5 minute walk to the beach and a great kids pool. A couple of things that have begun to dissatisfied myself and my partner, you cannot book at the time of booking a pool view room this has to be done on arrival. For the last 3 stays my partner has emailed and telephoned the hotel to see if he can book a pool view room directly with them and pay over the phone but they wont accept this, they say you can only do it on arrival and it will depend on what rooms are left. The cost of this is 10 euros per day. We have since found out on our latest visit that the German and Danish visitors are allowed to book the pool view rooms at the time of booking !!!! Not sure why the hotel insist on the ridiculous policy. We were lucky again this time to get the last pool view room. But if there were non left we would have had a room looking out onto the street at the bins, which get emptied at some unearthly hour in a morning. I have to say that this whole situation does cause both of us uneccessary stress until we arrive at the hotel and we know we have got the room we wished for. If we hadnt of been able to get a pool view room we would not be looking to stay again. A 4 star hotel should allow you to book this in advance. Another thing we found frustrating was the service at lunch time at the pool restaurant, whilst the food is alway delish and the menu choice is fantastic we found ourselves always having to go and find members of staff to order drinks, to place our orders, to clear our plates and to order desert. The air conditioning in the room is ok but dont expect to get the room like a fridge. On arrival to the room the room had not been cleaned properly and the floor was filthy after 10 mins of us walking around bare feet our feet were black but one quick call to reception sorted this. The lifts could also do with the door closing timer altering so it gives you more time to get in and out especially with children, the doors close far to quickly and on one occasion our little boy had got in the lift and the doors closed gefore one of us to could get inside, the lift took off which meant he was in there on his own so we had to run up the stairs to find him. The things I have raised above are not things that would prevent us from staying at this hotel again they would just make the whole experience better, all the things raised could be rectified quite easily. This is a great hotel to stay at if you have kids. We really enjoyed our stay, our son made lots of friends. You wont be dissapointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the steps at the end of the corridor as the doors bang shut in the wind whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I don't complain at all but feel need to share this....We have just returned from what was supposed to be a 7 night stay at the Viva Tropic, we actually only stayed 5 as when we arrived we were told they had over booked, we arrived at 10.30 at night to be told this news,we had a very tired 9 year old, we were told we could stay at another hotel in the viva chain for one night and return to a studio or 2 nights and be upgraded to a garden room. We chose the 2 nights, were taxied to the a hotel that was in an area we didn't know and had not a lot around it. We couldn't unpack and were very frustrated. Apparently we were chosen as it had less impact on us. We arrived back at the viva tropic as advised at 10.00 two days after our holiday started to be told they didn't have a room ready and we would have to FIND us a room and we may have to wait until 1oclock when the next coach load arrived
This did not go down well, being told that they still didn't have a room for us and would have to find one was ridiculous, we were offered a free drink, we declined as were very frustrated and angry by now, suprise, surprise 5 mins later a room was found, but not a garden room as promised on the first night. we were offered breakfast for the whole stay which we declined as we only book self catering so we are not tied down to meal times. We asked for a free safe which was granted. We were asked to sign copious amounts of paper work to say we accepted, how could we not we needed a room and to start our holiday. Overall not a good experience for us and we travel to majorca twice a year. The hotel was nice in my eyes not 4 star as lots of little details were not of that 4 star standered and this would be my opinion even if we had not had our experience. the bar man was also very rude. The rooms are very good and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonzo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I went to the Viva Tropic with my brother, Mum and Dad from 1st to 11th August 2013. We went because we'd looked round last year and it looked good.

The apartments are nice. They have a television opposite a settee in the living room. The settee sleeps one person on the top and one person on a bed pulled out from underneath. For an extra 200 euros for 10 days we had a private garden with chairs and an umbrella right by the pool. For an extra 800 euros for 10 days you can get an apartment at the top of the hotel with a Jacuzzi and other excitements.

In the hotel, there are three god pols. There is a pol with a pirate ship and eight slides for younger children. There is a pool for any age that starts shallow and gets deeper. Lastly, there is a top pol that has very shallow water for sitting down and much deeper to jump into. There is a waterfall between the pool that gets shallow and the pol that is deeper. You can take inflatables into all the pools.

There is a beach five minutes away and you can rent a pedalo. A twenty minute walk away, there is a great waterpark. There are lots of different coloured slides that are good fun for all the family. A wave pool turns on at specific times and lasts for about 5-10 minutes. There are two new pools for younger children called Neptune and Octopus. A return visit within ten days costs half price!

I recommend this amazing hotel. It's fun for all and has lots of extra things I haven't mentioned like a spa, an adult pool, mini golf and a supermarket. Go and find out more for yourself!
by Natasha aged 10

Room Tip: The entertainment is loud until 10.40pm and can be heard from the rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomma, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Me and my family has been two years in a row before this one on VIVA PALMA NOVA, we were looking forward have a really good family holiday again. The hotel was exactly the same as VIVA PALMA NOVA. But one thing stood out, I know, I am also a family with a kid, but this is absolutely crazy! Even the middle pool was occupied with children all day. Again, this ia family hotel and the SHOULD be children, but again, this was crazy. The food is very average, I am happy that I did not go for all inclusive. The rule they have when it comes to the fact that it is not allowed to reserver the sun beds for more than 40 minutes are not controlled, one day of the whole week the staff removed some the towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in August 2013 family of 4 (kids aged 7 & 11yrs). We couldn't recommend this hotel enough. You really couldn't ask for more. It had everything for all ages, a small pool with slides for young kids (away from the normal pools so you didn't have screaming kids if you didn't want it). Over 18's only pool with double sunbeds, the main pools had a deep pool & a shallow pool. Plenty of sunbeds which did say you couldn't reserve although when we were there people did everyday and no-one did anything about it. There was daily entertainment in the pool aerobics half an hour everyday (but if you didn't want it it wasn't loud and in your face), they did a kids pool game everyday i.e volleyball. Again this only used a small area of the pool and didn't matter if you didn't want it.
The rooms were a good size, we were self catering and the facilities were ample. We had a rear apartment which we thought would be a bit rubbish as it didn't have the pool view, but actually turned out better as our balcony was shaded all afternoon and evening so the rooms stayed cool. We had a view of the harbour and mountains which we enjoyed.
The aircon in the room was fab.
There was a little shop in the hotel which was reasonably priced and had fresh bread and patisseries everyday.
About 4min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.
Other activities were pool, table tennis, volleyball, football, archery, mini golf (all free).
Evening entertainment was pretty good and finished about 1030pm.
We dined and the pool bar a couple of times at lunchtime and the food was good and not too expensive.
I would highly recommend Moma restaurant by the port of the main road & also Carabela steakhouse, the food service and value was excellent at both.
Alcudia itself was a lovely resort especially for families, the sea was shallow for a long way out and warm. Lovely Port to walk around in the evening and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
574 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
978 reviews
5.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
#18 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Tropic & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Tropic & Spa

Property: Viva Tropic & Spa
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Tropic & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tan solo 200m de la preciosa playa del Puerto de Alcudia, y en pleno centro de su area comercial y de ocio, el Hotel-Apartamentos Viva Tropic dispone de una situacion que ofrece todas las garantias para la mejor estancia vacacional. Renovado en 2010, sus comodas y completas instalaciones son perfectas para unas vacaciones en familia: habitaciones amplias y elegantes, tres piscinas, una general, otra con juegos de agua y un Barco Pirata y, la mas exclusiva, una piscina chill out con camas balinesas, asi como un area de Spa con piscina cubierta, sauna, bano turco y jacuzzi, y una pista polideportiva. Ademas, el Hotel - Apartamentos Viva Tropic cuenta con el mas completo programa de animacion para todas las edades y las mas deliciosas propuestas gastronomicas en sus restaurantes: buffet, snacks y a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Tropic & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Viva Tropic & Spa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing