We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good family holiday”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good family holiday”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 children aged 8 & 10) and stayed in a privilege apartment for 11 nights. We did not go all-inclusive, preferring to eat breakfast and a light lunch in the apartment and go to alcudia or port alcudia for dinner in a nice restaurant. Tried the breakfast on a few mornings but at €50 for the 4 of us it wasn't good value for money.

Positives: All staff were helpful and competent. Our apartment had a nice big garden with a hammock. Close to children's clubs and pools. Food was good. Rooms were clean. Kids loved the children's club. Apartment cleaned and tidied well every day and at a time we decided. Close to the beach (5 min walk) and good restaurants. Family oriented.

Negatives: No good water slides for older kids. Apartment was small for the price. No English language TV channels. Wifi was poor in our particular apartment but good elsewhere, for instance reception. Sofa bed for the children.

Room Tip: Get the apartment with the garden and the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellysReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    389
    117
    39
    13
See reviews for
587
226
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Jus back from ten days self-catering. On arrival was impressed with hotel. Booked a premium studio apartment and I emailed hotel requested lower floor as had 2 year old. I understand this is not always possible however was given key and was helped to room. It was on 5th floor and at very end of long corridor. I immediately went to reception and requested lower floor unhelpful female receptionist said this was not possible as only had another one studio available on 4th floor i asked to be move then she changed her mind said this was not available. I was disappointed tho couldnt be bothered arguing. Room was nice very modern cleaned daily though still felt slightly dirty walls had some stains, had good air on and nice enough view. We were self catering though food looked great for all inclusive. Ate lunch twice at bar which was lovely. Great wee shop on site too. Pools were good - kids was fab .. Main pool was great though i had get up at 7am every day and lie on sunbed to make sure got one in sun, was 40mins time scale of leaving beds empty which is positive in a way but it means if we wanted go beach morning and pool afternoon u had no chance getting sunbed. Adults pool looked nice but as had 2year old didnt get use much. Great park wee one loved and bouncy castle too. Only 5min walk from beach and 10 from harbour. Loads of amazing restaurants. Food was unreal every meal 10/10 which made me glad went self catering. Didn't spend any night in hotel went out local bars though did go back hotel for one or two drinks at 11ish and was dead, was able get a drink some nights other times was completely shut down. Cocktails were nice though when did manage get a drink. Loads of activities for kids though my wee one was too wee to get involved though brill for kids aged 3 plus. Hotel is a defo 4 star very clean though our room jus felt slightly neglected possibly rarely used. I would consider returning to hotel only negatives were unhelpful female receptionist at start of holiday (al rest were very helpful) location of room, sunbed availability and timescale.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieLc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
145 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My daughter and her husband booked this hotel for themselves, their 2 sons aged 4 and 17 months, and ourselves. It was not the hotel to visit without children as it was full of them! The waiters were excellent being able to carry trays and avoid scampering children at the same time!
Reception staff spoke excellent English and helpful.
The whole place was very clean. The rooms a good size and the air con worked well. We really appreciated the fridge. I thought hire of the safe rather expensive at 16.50 euros for a week, but at least it was large enough to contain all that we and rest of my family had. My only complaint about the room was no maid service on 2 days a week. It is many years since I have stayed in accommodation without 7 day service.
We stayed B&B. the breakfast was adequate, though the fruit juices very watery.
The children's playground was excellent and the activities well run. The pools were great, though it would have been better to have the pirate ship pool heated as the water was really pretty cold despite temperatures in high thirties. As people have mentioned in other reviews, sunbeds were reserved with towels very early and then left vacant for some considerable time. We did see notices being put out on beds by staff to say towels would be removed if no one sitting there in 40 minutes. But there was only one day when we actually saw towels being removed.
Entertainment in the evenings wasn't bad at all, certainly seen a lot worse at 5 star hotels. Waiter service wasn't too good in the evenings, one time I had to ask more than once for drinks.
However, on the whole I would recommend this hotel (and indeed Alcudia itself) for families.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the street but we didn't find this a problem as it certainly wasn't noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 11 nights at the viva tropic all inc and had a fab time and came home 10lbs heavier :(
The good points are all areas of the hotel are clean, comfortable furnishings, excellent friendly genuine staff, good standard of food at all times of the day either in restaurant or snack bar, branded drinks included in all inc, 4 pool choices, plenty of activities for kids and adults,
free wifi available in rooms and pool area, hotel in great location, good mix of nationalities and guests.
Bad points getting up early for sunbeds but they do operate a removal of towels policy. They only do this if you have not been on them for 90mins but place a 40 min notice on your lounger.
Alcudia is a family resort with plenty aimed at families.
Would certainly visit a viva hotel again. And I am normally a moaner!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the viva tropic again 27th May to 6th June which was partly over the kids holidays, the hotel was quite busy. We stayed self catering with our 6 year old son. Overall we had another great stay, the hotel offers everything we look for in a hotel, nice rooms, good food at the pool restaurant, kids club, a 5 minute walk to the beach and a great kids pool. A couple of things that have begun to dissatisfied myself and my partner, you cannot book at the time of booking a pool view room this has to be done on arrival. For the last 3 stays my partner has emailed and telephoned the hotel to see if he can book a pool view room directly with them and pay over the phone but they wont accept this, they say you can only do it on arrival and it will depend on what rooms are left. The cost of this is 10 euros per day. We have since found out on our latest visit that the German and Danish visitors are allowed to book the pool view rooms at the time of booking !!!! Not sure why the hotel insist on the ridiculous policy. We were lucky again this time to get the last pool view room. But if there were non left we would have had a room looking out onto the street at the bins, which get emptied at some unearthly hour in a morning. I have to say that this whole situation does cause both of us uneccessary stress until we arrive at the hotel and we know we have got the room we wished for. If we hadnt of been able to get a pool view room we would not be looking to stay again. A 4 star hotel should allow you to book this in advance. Another thing we found frustrating was the service at lunch time at the pool restaurant, whilst the food is alway delish and the menu choice is fantastic we found ourselves always having to go and find members of staff to order drinks, to place our orders, to clear our plates and to order desert. The air conditioning in the room is ok but dont expect to get the room like a fridge. On arrival to the room the room had not been cleaned properly and the floor was filthy after 10 mins of us walking around bare feet our feet were black but one quick call to reception sorted this. The lifts could also do with the door closing timer altering so it gives you more time to get in and out especially with children, the doors close far to quickly and on one occasion our little boy had got in the lift and the doors closed gefore one of us to could get inside, the lift took off which meant he was in there on his own so we had to run up the stairs to find him. The things I have raised above are not things that would prevent us from staying at this hotel again they would just make the whole experience better, all the things raised could be rectified quite easily. This is a great hotel to stay at if you have kids. We really enjoyed our stay, our son made lots of friends. You wont be dissapointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the steps at the end of the corridor as the doors bang shut in the wind whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I don't complain at all but feel need to share this....We have just returned from what was supposed to be a 7 night stay at the Viva Tropic, we actually only stayed 5 as when we arrived we were told they had over booked, we arrived at 10.30 at night to be told this news,we had a very tired 9 year old, we were told we could stay at another hotel in the viva chain for one night and return to a studio or 2 nights and be upgraded to a garden room. We chose the 2 nights, were taxied to the a hotel that was in an area we didn't know and had not a lot around it. We couldn't unpack and were very frustrated. Apparently we were chosen as it had less impact on us. We arrived back at the viva tropic as advised at 10.00 two days after our holiday started to be told they didn't have a room ready and we would have to FIND us a room and we may have to wait until 1oclock when the next coach load arrived
This did not go down well, being told that they still didn't have a room for us and would have to find one was ridiculous, we were offered a free drink, we declined as were very frustrated and angry by now, suprise, surprise 5 mins later a room was found, but not a garden room as promised on the first night. we were offered breakfast for the whole stay which we declined as we only book self catering so we are not tied down to meal times. We asked for a free safe which was granted. We were asked to sign copious amounts of paper work to say we accepted, how could we not we needed a room and to start our holiday. Overall not a good experience for us and we travel to majorca twice a year. The hotel was nice in my eyes not 4 star as lots of little details were not of that 4 star standered and this would be my opinion even if we had not had our experience. the bar man was also very rude. The rooms are very good and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonzo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I went to the Viva Tropic with my brother, Mum and Dad from 1st to 11th August 2013. We went because we'd looked round last year and it looked good.

The apartments are nice. They have a television opposite a settee in the living room. The settee sleeps one person on the top and one person on a bed pulled out from underneath. For an extra 200 euros for 10 days we had a private garden with chairs and an umbrella right by the pool. For an extra 800 euros for 10 days you can get an apartment at the top of the hotel with a Jacuzzi and other excitements.

In the hotel, there are three god pols. There is a pol with a pirate ship and eight slides for younger children. There is a pool for any age that starts shallow and gets deeper. Lastly, there is a top pol that has very shallow water for sitting down and much deeper to jump into. There is a waterfall between the pool that gets shallow and the pol that is deeper. You can take inflatables into all the pools.

There is a beach five minutes away and you can rent a pedalo. A twenty minute walk away, there is a great waterpark. There are lots of different coloured slides that are good fun for all the family. A wave pool turns on at specific times and lasts for about 5-10 minutes. There are two new pools for younger children called Neptune and Octopus. A return visit within ten days costs half price!

I recommend this amazing hotel. It's fun for all and has lots of extra things I haven't mentioned like a spa, an adult pool, mini golf and a supermarket. Go and find out more for yourself!
by Natasha aged 10

Room Tip: The entertainment is loud until 10.40pm and can be heard from the rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
Alcudia Garden Aparthotel
#18 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
Seaclub Mediterranean Resort
#11 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Property: Zafiro Tropic
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing