We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel for a family holiday”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice hotel for a family holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We just came back from a two weeks holiday at this hotel. We had "all-inclusive" for the entire stay. This is a great family hotel in Alcudia. In general we are very happy about our stay! The hotel is very clean and well kept.

Reception - Very friendly and helpful staff.

Poolbar - Here they served light snack for lunch such as pizzas, salads, hamburgers etc. A very nice alternative to the lunch buffet. In the poolbar you could go and get a drink all day, small bottled water, ice creams and fresh fruit. The bar menu had a wide selection of different drinks with or without alcohol. Waiters was friendly but a little bit pushy on the tipping and this i found a bit uncomfortable. I would have given them more if they didn't asked for it.

Restaurant - Great service! Very patient and proffesional staff. It is unbeliveable how they could keep the restaurant so clean and tidy even with so many children dining there. The breakfast buffet had a great variety of cold cuts, eggs, omelets on request, fresh fruit, nice coffee and several different juices. The lunch and dinner buffet had a great choice of cold and hot dishes, pizzas, paella, desserts, cheese, salads, fresh fruits, bread, childrens buffet etc. They also had evenings especially with seafood, sushi, tapas and so on. Every day the also prepared several choices on request such as lamb, beef, pasta, salmon etc. It was always something for everyone. And the quality was good. The waiters served drinks at the table. Please note that if you want to sit outside you have to be very early in the restaurant. People often queued up 15 minutes before it opened as it was only limited tables outside.

Room - We had a one bedroom apartment. It was very clean and nice. The shower was just great! Our room was facing the street, and it was a little bit noice from the garbage timbers but not to bad. We had a partly ocean view. I am happy that we got a room in the end of the corridor as it was a lot of noice from people passing by the doors. They could definetly do some improvements about the isolation.

Pools - The childrens pool was very good. A lot of fun for the children. The water was a little bit cold, but not to bad at all. Quite a few different slides. It was also a small pool for the youngest children and the main pool was absoutely great. The relax area/pool for 18+ was excellent!

Entertainment - We did not try any of the day activities but we did watch the show almost every evening. The childrens "Bufo show" was ok, but i would have loved to see a little bit more enthusiastic performers. It was almost the same every night, so even though our son loved it i think this is a place for improvement. We also had the same experience for the main show. This was not very impressive.

If you had "all-inclusive" you could rent pool towels for free and you could change them 3 times per week.

The hotel had two washing machines and one dryer that you could use for free. This was great, but be aware that it took more than 2 hours to wash your clothes, and it was not possible to reserve the machines so you just had to go and check if it was available. The hotel also had laundry service and the price was about 15 euro for 5kg (Wash and dry).

The hotel is very close to the beach. Just a short walk. And the beach is just fantastic! This must be one of the best beaches in Europe.

Overall, we had a great holiday and it is possible that we would come back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    404
    127
    41
    14
See reviews for
629
234
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel on Monday 9 September for 5 nights. It is excellent. we stayed in a studio which was a perfect size and very well kitted out and also had the luxury of a balcony.

There are 2 main pools for children which looked great fun, however we chose to hang out mainly at the over 18s pool where are the double beds to sunbathe on with your partner/friend and is more relaxed and peaceful as no children around although you can still of course hear everything around you. It certainly seemed very glamorous in this area and we always managed to get a bed, even if returning from the beach later in the afternoon

Great value for money as well and wonderful service, the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. My only slight moan would be that we had to pay a £7 security deposit for the safe in the room. Usually with other hotels I have stayed in, the safe has been a free facility....

On the whole, this hotel is great. It is very suitable for families with children, however I wouldnt say it unsuitable for couples as we still had a great time and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I recently visited this hotel for 7 nights with my fiance. We choose this hotel because of its location, less than 5 minutes walk to the port and about 2 mintues to the gorgeous beach, the adult only pool with balinese inspired beds and overall because the Viva chain had lots of great reviews.

I knew before I booked that this was a family hotel. We definitly were one of only a few couples without children but that really didnt bother us at any point during the holiday. We spent our days at the beach or at the adult only pool and ate out every evening so we never really came into contact with the kids club. The hotel seemed big enough for children and adults without children.

The hotel had 3 seperate pools. The main pool, a pirate splash pool for the children and an adult only pool with luxury balinese beds. In the adult pool the water was very cold, no heating at all and even the indoor pool was freezing.

Another thing that annoyed us was that every time we went to the adult only pool there was adults trying to sneak in their children. One day a woman brought a sleeping baby in a pushchar, another time a couple brought their tween daughter and on our last day a woman brought her young son. If children sneaked in by themselves well thats just children being children but every single time it was ADULTS knowningly bringing children to the adult pool. Which is rather annoying considering their are big signs up saying 18+ and two other perfectly good pools for children. Okay rant over.

The adult only pool was right next to the pirate splash pool which might put some people off who dont want to listen to screaming children while they chill by the pool. Personally it didnt bother us but it might for some wanting a quiet break.

We opted for a standard self catering room. To be honest it was much better than expected as it was modern and very clean. It had a flat screen tv (not the best quality), a kettle, microwave, stove, toaster, cutlury, pots, pans, etc. The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower.
We stayed self catering but only really made toast in the room as we ate out every meal. The kitchenette area was quite small and although it had hobs I really think it would have been hard to make anything substantial in that kitchen. We enjoyed having a fridge as we could store fruit and yogurt for breakfasts, but apart from that we didnt really use it. The kettle wasn't the best quality as the handle got so hot when it boiled you couldnt pick it up with your bare hand which was dangerous.

There was a supermarker attached to the hotel where you could buy everything you needed and they sold delicious pastries.

The bed was huge. I think it was two double beds tied together but we didnt care as it was extremely comfy and really wide.

The housekeeping did not clean our rooms on Sunday and Wednesday. For a 4 star hotel I think that is pretty poor. All you want when you come back to your room from a busy day is to take a warm shower with a clean towel and climb into a freshly made bed, not to have that on 2 out of 6 days was dissapointing. Although on the days they did clean our room was spotless.

We ate breakfast in the hotel on our first morning to see what the food was like. It was 16.50 euros each for a buffet breakfast. Thats around £30 for breakfast for two people. It was dissapointing, there was smoked bacon, german sausage, small hash brown type potato things, fried tomato, scrambled and fried eggs, a selection of breads, yogurt, a small selection of fruit, some cold meats and a selection of pastries. Adequate but we didn't eat there again.
We did have a little nosey around the dinner buffet to see if we could be tempted but it didn't really look great so we never ate dinner there.

The hotel was beautiful and the grounds were clean and well kept. They had entertainment every night with a different theme, Elvis, Beatles, Oh, what a night, Boybands, etc. It wasn't really our thing to be honest so we never bothered to watch any, except for the last night when we saw alittle bit of Rock All Ages which was quite entertaining.

Staff around the hotel were friendly especially the cleaning staff. At checkout, we handed our key cards back and were told to put our luggage in the back room untill we left and that was it. No thanks for staying with us or hope you enjoyed your stay. Nothing.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, the location was brilliant for the beach and the port, the adult only pool with balinese inspired beds was lovely and added a bit of luxury, and the hotel was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The viva tropic is a great hotel but is let down by very poor service and awful management. I stayed for a week with my extended family (6 adults, 2 toddlers, 1 baby) and had numerous issues including lifts breaking trapping me inside and ants infesting a 4th storey bedroom. The staff are rude and obnoxous and did not care let alone want to help. One to avoid based purely on their staff, not a real taste of majorcan hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Tropic, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and queries. It is very important to us as it improves the service level of our hotel.Now let me apologise that you were not given the holiday you expected. Our aim here in Viva is to ensure that your holiday is an extremely happy one.
We pride ourselves in having many returning, satisfied customers. When we do have a complaint we treat all correspondence seriously. I’ll hope next time you can come at the reception and ask for me to solve any problem that you have, because in our complex there are eight different types of room, and we want that our guests enjoy their holidays.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Hotels Viva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 children aged 8 & 10) and stayed in a privilege apartment for 11 nights. We did not go all-inclusive, preferring to eat breakfast and a light lunch in the apartment and go to alcudia or port alcudia for dinner in a nice restaurant. Tried the breakfast on a few mornings but at €50 for the 4 of us it wasn't good value for money.

Positives: All staff were helpful and competent. Our apartment had a nice big garden with a hammock. Close to children's clubs and pools. Food was good. Rooms were clean. Kids loved the children's club. Apartment cleaned and tidied well every day and at a time we decided. Close to the beach (5 min walk) and good restaurants. Family oriented.

Negatives: No good water slides for older kids. Apartment was small for the price. No English language TV channels. Wifi was poor in our particular apartment but good elsewhere, for instance reception. Sofa bed for the children.

Room Tip: Get the apartment with the garden and the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellysReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Jus back from ten days self-catering. On arrival was impressed with hotel. Booked a premium studio apartment and I emailed hotel requested lower floor as had 2 year old. I understand this is not always possible however was given key and was helped to room. It was on 5th floor and at very end of long corridor. I immediately went to reception and requested lower floor unhelpful female receptionist said this was not possible as only had another one studio available on 4th floor i asked to be move then she changed her mind said this was not available. I was disappointed tho couldnt be bothered arguing. Room was nice very modern cleaned daily though still felt slightly dirty walls had some stains, had good air on and nice enough view. We were self catering though food looked great for all inclusive. Ate lunch twice at bar which was lovely. Great wee shop on site too. Pools were good - kids was fab .. Main pool was great though i had get up at 7am every day and lie on sunbed to make sure got one in sun, was 40mins time scale of leaving beds empty which is positive in a way but it means if we wanted go beach morning and pool afternoon u had no chance getting sunbed. Adults pool looked nice but as had 2year old didnt get use much. Great park wee one loved and bouncy castle too. Only 5min walk from beach and 10 from harbour. Loads of amazing restaurants. Food was unreal every meal 10/10 which made me glad went self catering. Didn't spend any night in hotel went out local bars though did go back hotel for one or two drinks at 11ish and was dead, was able get a drink some nights other times was completely shut down. Cocktails were nice though when did manage get a drink. Loads of activities for kids though my wee one was too wee to get involved though brill for kids aged 3 plus. Hotel is a defo 4 star very clean though our room jus felt slightly neglected possibly rarely used. I would consider returning to hotel only negatives were unhelpful female receptionist at start of holiday (al rest were very helpful) location of room, sunbed availability and timescale.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieLc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My daughter and her husband booked this hotel for themselves, their 2 sons aged 4 and 17 months, and ourselves. It was not the hotel to visit without children as it was full of them! The waiters were excellent being able to carry trays and avoid scampering children at the same time!
Reception staff spoke excellent English and helpful.
The whole place was very clean. The rooms a good size and the air con worked well. We really appreciated the fridge. I thought hire of the safe rather expensive at 16.50 euros for a week, but at least it was large enough to contain all that we and rest of my family had. My only complaint about the room was no maid service on 2 days a week. It is many years since I have stayed in accommodation without 7 day service.
We stayed B&B. the breakfast was adequate, though the fruit juices very watery.
The children's playground was excellent and the activities well run. The pools were great, though it would have been better to have the pirate ship pool heated as the water was really pretty cold despite temperatures in high thirties. As people have mentioned in other reviews, sunbeds were reserved with towels very early and then left vacant for some considerable time. We did see notices being put out on beds by staff to say towels would be removed if no one sitting there in 40 minutes. But there was only one day when we actually saw towels being removed.
Entertainment in the evenings wasn't bad at all, certainly seen a lot worse at 5 star hotels. Waiter service wasn't too good in the evenings, one time I had to ask more than once for drinks.
However, on the whole I would recommend this hotel (and indeed Alcudia itself) for families.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the street but we didn't find this a problem as it certainly wasn't noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
987 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Property: Zafiro Tropic
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing