We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome from hotel receptionist,the hotel was spacious and spotlessly clean.
Our room had all that you could wish for ,great range of toiletries and once again it was spotless....
We were on bed and breakfast basis ,and the breakfast didn't disappoint it was excellent with a fabulous range for all,the service was excellent with staff very helpful.
We spent time relaxing in the indoor pool and spa which was total heaven.
All in all a great place to stay with great facilities,near to the beach and local amenities.
Hope to return back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reesgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We arrived at Viva Tropic on a rainy day but there were so much to do in the hotel it did not ruin our day. The steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and the pools were great. The whole place was very clean and well-kept. Over the next three days, we had good weather and were able to just relax around the pool area. We were there before the peak season so lots of deck chairs to choose from. We could spend a whole day in the hotel without having to venture out. If you are having the buffet, we recommend that you arrive early, otherwise, the food gets a bit over-cooked sitting on the hot plates. The hotel is also close to the beach and there are some pleasant walks along the beach. There are several supermarkets nearby if you are doing self-catering. Great for children as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden and you get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cabradyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 with my friend for a week, we chose the hotel because we found it looked like one of the nicest and good value for money compared to others we'd seen in Alcudia. I was actually quite surprised at how nice it was when we arrived, the lobby area is very modern and well equipped, and every time we walked in to the hotel from outside we were hit with a really nice fresh, flowery smell - had no idea what it actually was but it was lovely! Our room was just as great, we were really pleased with what we got for our money. We had a spacious terrace with table, chairs, clothes dryer...
As far as I'm aware the hotel has the options of all inclusive, half-board and self-catering. We went for self-catering as we hoped there would be a nearby town with plenty of good restaurants to go to - which there was - lots of nice food! But the room had everything we could have possibly wanted or needed on our holiday. Air con was also good! As far as I can remember, I think a maid came everyday and the room was always spotless when we returned the pool or beach! Not that we encountered much of the reception staff, they seemed polite enough and the waiters were all on top form - a couple in particular gave us some hilarious memories! I've noticed on a few other reviews that people felt they were being pushed for tips, I'm not sure if I could agree with this but they do seem to have a slightly strange system at the bar - maybe this was because we weren't all-inclusive, not too sure.

The town is a short walk away, literally 5 or so minutes and you're on the beach - you follow this into the town where there's the usual touristy shops and plenty of restaurants. The beach also was one of the nicest I've ever seen (even in October!), so clean and the sea was beautiful - completely clear and quite shallow very far out, which made a nice change for plunging into cold deep water!

So overall, we had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel in Alcudia! Good value for money, pretty hotel and surroundings. The only thing I could possibly fault would be the freezing cold water in the pool. Maybe it was the time of year we went, but it just never seemed to warm up unlike the sea. Other than this, we couldn't find any complaints.

Room Tip: On check-in, we were offered to pay a little more to have a room with a 'garden view'. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lucytrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have stayed twice at this hotel, once in October and once in August.

Arrived both times on a Tuesday, which is the busiest day for the hotel. Whilst we have had to wait a little to check-in, reception do have a system in place to ensure any delays are minimised.

Due to its location, we have always stayed on a self-catering basis as there is plenty of restaurants around the port area that are reasonably priced. However, the food in the hotel when we have used the facilities has always been nice.

The hotel itself is very clean, well maintained and they are very mindful that most their guests are families, so the evening entertainment ends at about 2230.

Pools early in the day can be a bit on the cool side early in the day, but warm up quickly. The pirate pool is firm favourite with our young son and you can generally always get a bed or seat. Would like to see the pirate ship modified so to have a non-slip floor covering to help prevent any slips. Would also like to see the stairs leading up to the ship replaced with ramps.

Mini-golf whilst basic, has always been a hit with our son. Have never used the kids club, so can't comment on that aspect.

Rooms are spacious and clean with a good level of facilities. Not many english channels, so might want to pack a DVD player.

The hotel is set slightly back from the main road to the port, so traffic noise is minimal at night. About a 5 minute walk to the beach, 10 minutes to the port and about an hour to Alcudia old town. You can walk to the strip where the Bellvue is located in about 30 minutes, but we prefer the port area. Taxis and buses are reasonably priced.

There are plenty of shops within a 10 minute walk if you are self catering and again they tend to be reasonably priced.

As long as the hotel is maintained and run as it has been in the past, I think guests will continue to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of October, and just want to add our praise to the previous reviews.
Hotel location is ideal, only minutes from the beach, and if you're feeling up to it 15 minutes from the Old Town in the other direction. Hotel was clean and the staff all very friendly and helpful.
Room was very well equipped, with maid service all but 2 days of the week. Loved the wet-room with the large shower. Had a balcony looking out onto the main street, with a marina and sea view at a distance.
Loved the over 18 pool area, and when we weren't on the beach we were crashed on the beds surrounding the pool. The indoor pool in the spa was great, and usually warmer than the outside pools.
The on-site supermarket was great for your early-morning pastries, as we were self-catering, but larger local supermarkets were only minutes away.
Enjoyed some of the evening entertainment, in particular the Elvis and Motown tribute shows, and a great way to wind down in the evening.
A previous reviewer mentioned the lack of English TV channels, but we found the majority of the Spanish channels had the option to change the audio to English, with Spanish Subtitles.
Overall, a great place to unwind and relax in the Spanish sun, and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room facing outwards to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pacman1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

brilliant lady on reception when we arrived very on the ball fabulous room we had garden room overlooking garden and pool on top floor great views. everywhere was very clean and fab large comfy bed.. the beach is 5 min walk and lovely long golden beach. everyone was great and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for a week at this hotel with our 18 month old baby.she loved it. There was great kids entertainment. The service was excellent.
We stayed in a studio apartment and it was nice. There was a lovely walk in shower and the room was clean. The only downside is getting charged 28 euros for a cot.
The hotel was very clean and loads to do for ny daughter. The only negative is that the pools were freezing but the inside pool was gorgeous.
We went self catering but ate dinnee twice and it was outstanding. It was all you could eat and great food.
The location was amazing it is ashort walk to a gorgeous beach and all the restaurants are nearby.
Overall a great holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathrynd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
842 reviews
1 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#6 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,055 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
5.7 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £40 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing